                                                                      EXHIBIT 1

                            COGNIZANT CORPORATION

                                     and

                   FIRST CHICAGO TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORK,

                               as Rights Agent

                               Rights Agreement

                         Dated as of October 15, 1996

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

                                                               Page
                                                               ----
Section 1.   Certain Definitions . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  2

Section 2.   Appointment of Rights Agent . . . . . . . . . . .  9

Section 3.   Issue of Right Certificates . . . . . . . . . . .  9

Section 4.   Form of Right Certificates. . . . . . . . . . . . 12

Section 5.   Countersignature and Registration . . . . . . . . 13

Section 6.   Transfer, Split Up, Combination and Exchange of
             Right Certificates; Mutilated, Destroyed, Lost or
             Stolen Right Certificates . . . . . . . . . . . . 14

Section 7.   Exercise of Rights, Purchase Price; Expiration
             Date of Rights. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16

Section 8.   Cancellation and Destruction of Right
             Certificates. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18

Section 9.   Availability of Shares of Preferred Stock . . . . 19

Section 10.  Preferred Stock Record Date . . . . . . . . . . . 22

Section 11.  Adjustment of Purchase Price, Number of Shares
             and Number of Rights. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 22

Section 12.  Certificate of Adjusted Purchase Price or Number
             of Shares . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 42

Section 13.  Consolidation, Merger or Sale or Transfer of
             Assets or Earnings Power. . . . . . . . . . . . . 42

Section 14.  Fractional Rights and Fractional Shares . . . . . 50

Section 15.  Rights of Action. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 53

Section 16.  Agreement of Right Holders. . . . . . . . . . . . 54

Section 17.  Right Certificate Holder Not Deemed a
             Stockholder . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 55

Section 18.  Concerning the Rights Agent . . . . . . . . . . . 55

Section 19.  Merger or Consolidation or Change of Name of
             Rights Agent. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 56

Section 20.  Duties of Rights Agent. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 57

Section 21.  Change of Rights Agent. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 62

Section 22.  Issuance of New Right Certificates. . . . . . . . 64



                                      -i-
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<TABLE>
Section 23.  Redemption. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 64

Section 24.  Exchange. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 66

Section 25.  Notice of Certain Events. . . . . . . . . . . . . 68

Section 26.  Notices . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 70

Section 27.  Supplements and Amendments. . . . . . . . . . . . 70

Section 28.  Successors. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 72

Section 29.  Benefits of this Agreement. . . . . . . . . . . . 72

Section 30.  Determinations and Actions by the Board of
             Directors . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 72

Section 31.  Severability. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 73

Section 32.  Governing Law . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 73

Section 33.  Counterparts. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 73

Section 34.  Descriptive Headings. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 73

                                RIGHTS AGREEMENT

          Agreement, dated as of October 15, 1996 between Cognizant Corporation,
a Delaware corporation (the "Company"), and First Chicago Trust Company of New
York, (the "Rights Agent").

          The Board of Directors of the Company has authorized and declared a
dividend of one preferred share purchase right (a "Right") for each share of
Common Stock (as hereinafter defined) of the Company outstanding as of the close
of business (as defined below) on October 23, 1996 (the "Record Date") each
Right representing the right to purchase one-thousandth (subject to adjustment)
of a share of Preferred Stock (as hereinafter defined), upon the terms and
subject to the conditions herein set forth, and the Board of Directors has
further authorized and directed the issuance of one Right (subject to adjustment
as provided herein) with respect to each share of Common Stock that shall become
outstanding between the Record Date and the earliest of the Distribution Date,
the Redemption Date and the Final Expiration Date (as such terms are hereinafter
defined); provided, however, that Rights may be issued with respect to shares of
Common Stock that shall become outstanding after the Distribution Date and prior
to the Redemption Date and the Final Expiration Date in accordance with Section
22.

          Accordingly, in consideration of the premises and the mutual
agreements herein set forth, the parties hereby agree as follows:

          Section 1.  Certain Definitions.  For purposes of this
Agreement, the following terms have the meaning indicated:

          (a) "Acquiring Person" shall mean any Person (as such term is
     hereinafter defined) who or which shall be the Beneficial Owner (as such
     term is hereinafter defined) of 15% or more of the shares of Common Stock
     then outstanding, but shall not include an Exempt Person (as such term is
     hereinafter defined); provided, however, that if the Board of Directors of
     the Company determines in good faith that a Person who would otherwise be
     an "Acquiring Person" has become such inadvertently (including, without
     limitation, because (i) such Person was unaware that it beneficially owned
     a percentage of Common Stock that would otherwise cause such Person to be
     an "Acquiring Person" or (ii) such Person was aware of the extent of its
     Beneficial Ownership of Common Stock but had no actual knowledge of the
     consequences of such Beneficial Ownership under this Rights Agreement) and
     without any intention of changing or influencing control of the Company,
     and such Person, as promptly as practicable after being advised of such
     determination divested or divests himself or itself of Beneficial Ownership
     of a sufficient number of shares of Common Stock so that such Person would
     no longer be an Acquiring Person, then such Person shall not be deemed to
     be or to have become an "Acquiring Person" for any purposes of this
     Agreement. Notwithstanding the foregoing, (i) the sole stockholder of the
     Company at the time of the adoption of
     this Agreement will not be deemed an Acquiring Person for any purposes of
     this Agreement prior to the distribution by such Person of the Company's
     outstanding Common Stock to the stockholders of such Person and (ii) no
     Person shall become an "Acquiring Person" as the result of an acquisition
     of shares of Common Stock by the Company which, by reducing the number of
     shares outstanding, increases the proportionate number of shares
     beneficially owned by such Person to 15% or more of the shares of Common
     Stock then outstanding, provided, however, that if a Person shall become
     the Beneficial Owner of 15% or more of the shares of Common Stock then
     outstanding by reason of such share acquisitions by the Company and
     thereafter becomes the Beneficial Owner of any additional shares of Common
     Stock (other than pursuant to a dividend or distribution paid or made by
     the Company on the outstanding Common Stock in shares of Common Stock or
     pursuant to a split or subdivision of the outstanding Common Stock), then
     such Person shall be deemed to be an "Acquiring Person" unless upon the
     consummation of the acquisition of such additional shares of Common Stock
     such Person does not own 15% or more of the shares of Common Stock then
     outstanding. For all purposes of this Agreement, any calculation of the
     number of shares of Common Stock outstanding at any particular time,
     including for purposes of determining the particular percentage of such
     outstanding shares of Common Stock of which any Person is the Beneficial
     Owner, shall be made in accordance with the
     last sentence of Rule 13d-3(d)(1)(i) of the General Rules and Regulations
     under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act"),
     as in effect on the date hereof.

          (b) "Affiliate" and "Associate" shall have the respective meanings
     ascribed to such terms in Rule 12b-2 of the General Rules and Regulations
     under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act"),
     as in effect on the date of this Agreement.

          (c) A Person shall be deemed the "Beneficial Owner" of, shall be
     deemed to have "Beneficial Ownership" of and shall be deemed to
     "beneficially own" any securities:

               (i) which such Person or any of such Person's Affiliates or
          Associates is deemed to beneficially own, directly or indirectly
          within the meaning of Rule 13d-3 of the General Rules and Regulations
          under the Exchange Act as in effect on the date of this Agreement;

              (ii) which such Person or any of such Person's Affiliates or
          Associates has (A) the right to acquire (whether such right is
          exercisable immediately or only after the passage of time) pursuant to
          any agreement, arrangement or understanding (other than customary
          agreements with and between underwriters and selling group members
          with respect to a bona fide public offering of securities), or upon
          the exercise of conversion rights, exchange rights, rights, warrants
          or options, or otherwise; provided, however, that a Person
          shall not be deemed the Beneficial Owner of, or to beneficially own,
          (x) securities tendered pursuant to a tender or exchange offer made by
          or on behalf of such Person or any of such Person's Affiliates or
          Associates until such tendered securities are accepted for purchase,
          (y) securities which such Person has a right to acquire on the
          exercise of Rights at any time prior to the time a Person becomes an
          Acquiring Person or (z) securities issuable upon exercise of Rights
          from and after the time a Person becomes an Acquiring Person if such
          Rights were acquired by such Person or any of such Person's Affiliates
          or Associates prior to the Distribution Date or pursuant to Section
          3(a) or Section 22 hereof ("original Rights") or pursuant to Section
          11(i) or Section 11(n) with respect to an adjustment to original
          Rights; or (B) the right to vote pursuant to any agreement,
          arrangement or understanding; provided, however, that a Person shall
          not be deemed the Beneficial Owner of, or to beneficially own, any
          security by reason of such agreement, arrangement or understanding if
          the agreement, arrangement or understanding to vote such security (1)
          arises solely from a revocable proxy or consent given to such Person
          in response to a public proxy or consent solicitation made pursuant
          to, and in accordance with, the applicable rules and regulations
          promulgated under the Exchange Act and (2) is not also
          then reportable on Schedule 13D under the Exchange Act (or any
          comparable or successor report); or

               (iii) which are beneficially owned, directly or indirectly, by
          any other Person with which such Person or any of such Person's
          Affiliates or Associates has any agreement, arrangement or
          understanding (other than customary agreements with and between
          underwriters and selling group members with respect to a bona fide
          public offering of securities) for the purpose of acquiring, holding,
          voting (except to the extent contemplated by the proviso to Section
          1(c)(ii)(B)) or disposing of any securities of the Company.

          (d) "Business Day" shall mean any day other than a Saturday, a
     Sunday, or a day on which banking institutions in the State of New York,
     or the State in which the principal office of the Rights Agent is located,
     are authorized or obligated by law or executive order to close.

          (e) "close of business" on any given date shall mean 5:00 P.M., New
     York City time, on such date; provided, however, that if such date is not a
     Business Day it shall mean 5:00 P.M., New York City time, on the next
     succeeding Business Day.

          (f) "Common Stock" when used with reference to the Company shall mean
     the common stock, par value $.01, of the Company (but shall not include the
     Series Common Stock, par value $.01 of the Company). "Common Stock" when
     used with reference to any Person other than the Company shall mean
     the capital stock (or, in the case of an unincorporated entity, the
     equivalent equity interest) with the greatest voting power of such other
     Person or, if such other Person is a subsidiary of another Person, the
     Person or Persons which ultimately control such first-mentioned Person.

          (g) "Distribution Date" shall have the meaning set forth in Section 3
     hereof.

          (h) "equivalent preferred shares" shall have the meaning set forth in
     Section 11(b) hereof.

          (i) "Exempt Person" shall mean the Company, any Subsidiary (as such
     term is hereinafter defined) of the Company, in each case including,
     without limitation, in its fiduciary capacity, or, any employee benefit
     plan of the Company or of any Subsidiary of the Company, or any entity or
     trustee holding Common Stock for or pursuant to the terms of any such plan
     or for the purpose of funding any such plan or funding other employee
     benefits for employees of the Company or of any Subsidiary of the Company.

          (j) "Final Expiration Date" shall have the meaning set forth in
     Section 7 hereof.

          (k) "New York Stock Exchange" shall mean the New York Stock Exchange,
     Inc.

          (l) "Person" shall mean any individual, firm, corporation or other
     entity, and shall include any successor (by merger or otherwise) of such
     entity.

          (m) "Preferred Stock" shall mean the Series A Junior Participating
     Preferred Stock, without par value, of the

     Company having the rights and preferences set forth in the Form of
     Certificate of Designation attached to this Agreement as Exhibit A.

          (n) "Record Date" shall have the meaning set forth in the preamble to
     this Agreement.

          (o) "Redemption Date" shall have the meaning set forth in Section 7
     hereof.

          (p) "Securities Act" shall mean the Securities Act of 1933, as
     amended.

          (q) "Stock Acquisition Date" shall mean the first date of public
     announcement (which for purposes of this definition, shall include, without
     limitation, a report filed pursuant to Section 13(d) of the Exchange Act)
     by the Company or an Acquiring Person that an Acquiring Person has become
     such or such earlier date as a majority of the Board of Directors shall
     become aware of the existence of an Acquiring Person.

          (r) "Subsidiary" of any Person shall mean any corporation or other
     entity of which securities or other ownership interests having ordinary
     voting power sufficient to elect a majority of the board of directors or
     other persons performing similar functions are beneficially owned, directly
     or indirectly, by such Person, and any corporation or other entity that is
     otherwise controlled by such Person.

          Section 2. Appointment of Rights Agent. The Company hereby appoints
the Rights Agent to act as agent for the Company and the holders of the Rights
(who, in accordance with Section 3
hereof, shall prior to the Distribution Date also be the holders of Common
Stock) in accordance with the terms and conditions hereof, and the Rights Agent
hereby accepts such appointment. The Company may from time to time appoint such
co-Rights Agents as it may deem necessary or desirable.

          Section 3. Issue of Right Certificates. (a) Until the earlier of (i)
the tenth day after the Stock Acquisition Date or (ii) the tenth business day
(or such later date as may be determined by action of the Board of Directors
prior to such time as any Person becomes an Acquiring Person) after the date of
the commencement by any Person (other than an Exempt Person) of, or of the first
public announcement of the intention of such Person (other than an Exempt
Person) to commence, a tender or exchange offer the consummation of which would
result in any Person (other than an Exempt Person) becoming the Beneficial Owner
of shares of Common Stock aggregating 15% or more of the Common Stock then
outstanding (including any such date which is after the date of this Agreement
and prior to the issuance of the Rights), the earlier of such dates being herein
referred to as the "Distribution Date"), (x) the Rights will be evidenced
(subject to the provisions of Section 3(b) hereof) by the certificates for
Common Stock registered in the names of the holders thereof and not by separate
Right Certificates, and (y) the Rights will be transferable only in connection
with the transfer of Common Stock. As soon as practicable after the Distribution
Date, the Company will prepare and execute, the Rights Agent will countersign,
and the Company will send or cause to be sent (and
the Rights Agent will, if requested, send) by first-class, insured,
postage-prepaid mail, to each record holder of Common Stock as of the close of
business on the Distribution Date (other than any Acquiring Person or any
Associate or Affiliate of an Acquiring Person), at the address of such holder
shown on the records of the Company, a Right Certificate, in substantially the
form of Exhibit B hereto (a "Right Certificate"), evidencing one Right (subject
to adjustment as provided herein) for each share of Common Stock so held. As of
the Distribution Date, the Rights will be evidenced solely by such Right
Certificates.

          (b) On the Record Date, or as soon as practicable thereafter, the
Company will send a copy of a Summary of Rights to Purchase Shares of Preferred
Stock, in substantially the form of Exhibit C hereto (the "Summary of Rights"),
by first-class, postage-prepaid mail, to each record holder of Common Stock as
of the close of business on the Record Date (other than any Acquiring Person or
any Associate or Affiliate of any Acquiring Person), at the address of such
holder shown on the records of the Company. With respect to certificates for
Common Stock outstanding as of the Record Date, until the Distribution Date, the
Rights will be evidenced by such certificates registered in the names of the
holders thereof together with the Summary of Rights. Until the Distribution Date
(or the earlier of the Redemption Date or the Final Expiration Date), the
surrender for transfer of any certificate for Common Stock outstanding on the
Record Date, with or without a copy of the Summary of Rights, shall also
constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with the Common Stock
represented thereby.

          Certificates issued for Common Stock (including, without limitation,
upon transfer of outstanding Common Stock, disposition of Common Stock out of
treasury stock or issuance or reissuance of Common Stock out of authorized but
unissued shares) after the Record Date but prior to the earliest of the
Distribution Date, the Redemption Date or the Final Expiration Date shall have
impressed on, printed on, written on or otherwise affixed to them the following
legend:

          This certificate also evidences and entitles the holder hereof to
          certain rights as set forth in a Rights Agreement between Cognizant
          Corporation and First Chicago Trust Company of New York, dated as of
          October 15, 1996 as the same may be amended from time to time (the
          "Rights Agreement"), the terms of which are hereby incorporated herein
          by reference and a copy of which is on file at the principal executive
          offices of Cognizant Corporation. Under certain circumstances, as set
          forth in the Rights Agreement, such Rights will be evidenced by
          separate certificates and will no longer be evidenced by this
          certificate. Cognizant Corporation will mail to the holder of this
          certificate a copy of the Rights Agreement without charge after
          receipt of a written request therefor. Under certain circumstances, as
          set forth in the Rights Agreement, Rights owned by or transferred to
          any Person who becomes an Acquiring Person (as defined in the Rights
          Agreement) and certain transferees thereof will become null and void
          and will no longer be transferable.

With respect to such certificates containing the foregoing legend, until the
Distribution Date, the Rights associated with the Common Stock represented by
such certificates shall be evidenced by such certificates alone, and the
surrender for
transfer of any such certificate, except as otherwise provided herein, shall
also constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with the Common Stock
represented thereby. In the event that the Company purchases or otherwise
acquires any Common Stock after the Record Date but prior to the Distribution
Date, any Rights associated with such Common Stock shall be deemed cancelled and
retired so that the Company shall not be entitled to exercise any Rights
associated with the Common Stock which are no longer outstanding.

          Notwithstanding this paragraph (c), the omission of a legend shall not
affect the enforceability of any part of this Agreement or the rights of any
holder of the Rights.

          Section 4. Form of Right Certificates. The Right Certificates (and the
forms of election to purchase shares and of assignment to be printed on the
reverse thereof) shall be substantially in the form set forth in Exhibit B
hereto and may have such marks of identification or designation and such
legends, summaries or endorsements printed thereon as the Company may deem
appropriate and as are not inconsistent with the provisions of this Agreement,
or as may be required to comply with any applicable law or with any rule or
regulation made pursuant thereto or with any rule or regulation of the New York
Stock Exchange or of any other stock exchange or automated quotation system on
which the Rights may from time to time be listed, or to conform to usage.
Subject to the provisions of Sections 11, 13 and 22 hereof, the Right
Certificates shall entitle the holders thereof to purchase such number of one
one-
thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock as shall be set forth therein at the
price per one one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock set forth therein
(the "Purchase Price"), but the number of such one one-thousandths of a share of
Preferred Stock and the Purchase Price shall be subject to adjustment as
provided herein.

          Section 5. Countersignature and Registration. (a) The Right
Certificates shall be executed on behalf of the Company by the Chairman of the
Board of Directors, the President, any of the Vice Presidents, the Treasurer or
the Controller of the Company, either manually or by facsimile signature, shall
have affixed thereto the Company's seal or a facsimile thereof, and shall be
attested by the Secretary or an Assistant Secretary of the Company, either
manually or by facsimile signature. The Right Certificates shall be manually
countersigned by the Rights Agent and shall not be valid for any purpose unless
countersigned. In case any officer of the Company who shall have signed any of
the Right Certificates shall cease to be such officer of the Company before
countersignature by the Rights Agent and issuance and delivery by the Company,
such Right Certificates, nevertheless, may be countersigned by the Rights Agent
and issued and delivered by the Company with the same force and effect as though
the Person who signed such Right Certificates had not ceased to be such officer
of the Company; and any Right Certificate may be signed on behalf of the Company
by any Person who, at the actual date of the execution of such Right
Certificate, shall be a proper officer of the Company to
sign such Right Certificate, although at the date of the execution of this
Agreement any such Person was not such an officer.

          (b) Following the Distribution Date, the Rights Agent will keep or
cause to be kept, at an office or agency designated for such purpose, books for
registration and transfer of the Right Certificates issued hereunder. Such books
shall show the names and addresses of the respective holders of the Right
Certificates, the number of Rights evidenced on its face by each of the Right
Certificates and the date of each of the Right Certificates.

          Section 6. Transfer, Split Up, Combination and Exchange of Right
Certificates; Mutilated, Destroyed, Lost or Stolen Right Certificates. (a)
Subject to the provisions of Sections 7(e), 11(a)(ii) and 14 hereof, at any time
after the close of business on the Distribution Date, and prior to the close of
business on the earlier of the Redemption Date or the Final Expiration Date, any
Right Certificate or Right Certificates may be transferred, split up, combined
or exchanged for another Right Certificate or Right Certificates, entitling the
registered holder to purchase a like number of one one-thousandths of a share of
Preferred Stock as the Right Certificate or Right Certificates surrendered then
entitled such holder to purchase. Any registered holder desiring to transfer,
split up, combine or exchange any Right Certificate or Right Certificates shall
make such request in writing delivered to the Rights Agent, and shall surrender
the Right Certificate or Right

Certificates to be transferred, split up, combined or exchanged at the office
or agency of the Rights Agent designated for such purpose. Thereupon the Rights
Agent shall countersign and deliver to the Person entitled thereto a Right
Certificate or Right Certificates, as the case may be, as so requested. The
Company may require payment of a sum sufficient to cover any tax or governmental
charge that may be imposed in connection with any transfer, split up,
combination or exchange of Right Certificates.

          (b) Subject to the provisions of Section 11(a)(ii) hereof, at any time
after the Distribution Date and prior to the close of business on the earlier of
the Redemption Date or the Final Expiration Date, upon receipt by the Company
and the Rights Agent of evidence reasonably satisfactory to them of the loss,
theft, destruction or mutilation of a Right Certificate, and, in case of loss,
theft or destruction, of indemnity or security reasonably satisfactory to them,
and, at the Company's request, reimbursement to the Company and the Rights Agent
of all reasonable expenses incidental thereto, and upon surrender to the Rights
Agent and cancellation of the Right Certificate if mutilated, the Company will
make and deliver a new Right Certificate of like tenor to the Rights Agent for
delivery to the registered holder in lieu of the Right Certificate so lost,
stolen, destroyed or mutilated.

          Section 7. Exercise of Rights, Purchase Price; Expiration Date of
Rights. (a) Except as otherwise provided herein, the Rights shall become
exercisable on the Distribution

Date, and thereafter the registered holder of any Right Certificate may, subject
to Section 11(a)(ii) hereof and except as otherwise provided herein, exercise
the Rights evidenced thereby in whole or in part upon surrender of the Right
Certificate, with the form of election to purchase on the reverse side thereof
duly executed, to the Rights Agent at the office or agency of the Rights Agent
designated for such purpose, together with payment of the Purchase Price for
each one one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock as to which the Rights are
exercised, at any time which is both after the Distribution Date and prior to
the earliest of (i) the close of business on October 23, 2006 (the "Final
Expiration Date"), (ii) the time at which the Rights are redeemed as provided in
Section 23 hereof (the "Redemption Date") or (iii) the time at which such Rights
are exchanged as provided in Section 24 hereof.

          (b) The Purchase Price shall be initially $210 for each one
one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock purchasable upon the exercise of a
Right. The Purchase Price and the number of one one-thousandths of a share of
Preferred Stock or other securities or property to be acquired upon exercise of
a Right shall be subject to adjustment from time to time as provided in Sections
11 and 13 hereof and shall be payable in lawful money of the United States of
America in accordance with paragraph (c) of this Section 7.

          (c) Except as otherwise provided herein, upon receipt of a Right
Certificate representing exercisable Rights, with the form of election to
purchase duly executed, accompanied by
payment of the aggregate Purchase Price for the shares of Preferred Stock to be
purchased and an amount equal to any applicable transfer tax required to be paid
by the holder of such Right Certificate in accordance with Section 9 hereof, in
cash or by certified check, cashier's check or money order payable to the order
of the Company, the Rights Agent shall thereupon promptly (i) (A) requisition
from any transfer agent of the Preferred Stock certificates for the number of
shares of Preferred Stock to be purchased and the Company hereby irrevocably
authorizes its transfer agent to comply with all such requests, or (B)
requisition from the depositary agent depositary receipts representing interests
in such number of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock as are to be
purchased (in which case certificates for the Preferred Stock represented by
such receipts shall be deposited by the transfer agent with the depositary
agent) and the Company hereby directs the depositary agent to comply with such
request, (ii) when appropriate, requisition from the Company the amount of cash
to be paid in lieu of issuance of fractional shares in accordance with Section
14 hereof, (iii) promptly after receipt of such certificates or depositary
receipts, cause the same to be delivered to or upon the order of the registered
holder of such Right Certificate, registered in such name or names as may be
designated by such holder and (iv) when appropriate, after receipt, promptly
deliver such cash to or upon the order of the registered holder of such Right
Certificate.

          (d) Except as otherwise provided herein, in case the registered holder
of any Right Certificate shall exercise less than all the Rights evidenced
thereby, a new Right Certificate evidencing Rights equivalent to the exercisable
Rights remaining unexercised shall be issued by the Rights Agent to the
registered holder of such Right Certificate or to his duly authorized assigns,
subject to the provisions of Section 14 hereof.

          (e) Notwithstanding anything in this Agreement to the contrary,
neither the Rights Agent nor the Company shall be obligated to undertake any
action with respect to a registered holder of Rights upon the occurrence of any
purported transfer or exercise of Rights pursuant to Section 6 hereof or this
Section 7 unless such registered holder shall have (i) completed and signed the
certificate contained in the form of assignment or election to purchase set
forth on the reverse side of the Rights Certificate surrendered for such
transfer or exercise and (ii) provided such additional evidence of the identity
of the Beneficial Owner (or former Beneficial Owner) thereof as the Company
shall reasonably request.

          Section 8. Cancellation and Destruction of Right Certificates. All
Right Certificates surrendered for the purpose of exercise, transfer, split up,
combination or exchange shall, if surrendered to the Company or to any of its
agents, be delivered to the Rights Agent for cancellation or in cancelled form,
or, if surrendered to the Rights Agent, shall be cancelled by it, and no Right
Certificates shall be issued in lieu thereof except as expressly permitted by
any of the provisions of this

Agreement. The Company shall deliver to the Rights Agent for cancellation and
retirement, and the Rights Agent shall so cancel and retire, any other Right
Certificate purchased or acquired by the Company otherwise than upon the
exercise thereof. The Rights Agent shall deliver all cancelled Right
Certificates to the Company, or shall, at the written request of the Company,
destroy such cancelled Right Certificates, and in such case shall deliver a
certificate of destruction thereof to the Company.

          Section 9.  Availability of Shares of Preferred Stock.

          (a) The Company covenants and agrees that it will cause to be reserved
and kept available out of its authorized and unissued shares of Preferred Stock
or any shares of Preferred Stock held in its treasury, the number of shares of
Preferred Stock that will be sufficient to permit the exercise in full of all
outstanding Rights.

          (b) So long as the shares of Preferred Stock (and, following the time
that a Person becomes an Acquiring Person, shares of Common Stock and other
securities) issuable upon the exercise of Rights may be listed or admitted to
trading on the New York Stock Exchange or listed on any other national
securities exchange or quotation system, the Company shall use its best efforts
to cause, from and after such time as the Rights become exercisable, all shares
reserved for such issuance to be listed or admitted to trading on the New York
Stock Exchange or listed on any other exchange or quotation system upon official
notice of issuance upon such exercise.

          (c) From and after such time as the Rights become exercisable, the
Company shall use its best efforts, if then necessary to permit the issuance of
shares of Preferred Stock (and following the time that a Person first becomes an
Acquiring Person, shares of Common Stock and other securities) upon the exercise
of Rights, to register and qualify such shares of Preferred Stock (and following
the time that a Person first becomes an Acquiring Person, shares of Common Stock
and other securities) under the Securities Act and any applicable state
securities or "Blue Sky" laws (to the extent exemptions therefrom are not
available), cause such registration statement and qualifications to become
effective as soon as possible after such filing and keep such registration and
qualifications effective until the earlier of the date as of which the Rights
are no longer exercisable for such securities and the Final Expiration Date. The
Company may temporarily suspend, for a period of time not to exceed 90 days, the
exercisability of the Rights in order to prepare and file a registration
statement under the Securities Act and permit it to become effective. Upon any
such suspension, the Company shall issue a public announcement stating that the
exercisability of the Rights has been temporarily suspended, as well as a public
announcement at such time as the suspension is no longer in effect.
Notwithstanding any provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Rights
shall not be exercisable in any jurisdiction unless the requisite qualification
in such jurisdiction shall have been obtained and until a registration
statement under the Securities Act (if required) shall have been declared
effective.

          (d) The Company covenants and agrees that it will take all such action
as may be necessary to ensure that all shares of Preferred Stock (and, following
the time that a Person becomes an Acquiring Person, shares of Common Stock and
other securities) delivered upon exercise of Rights shall, at the time of
delivery of the certificates therefor (subject to payment of the Purchase
Price), be duly and validly authorized and issued and fully paid and
nonassessable shares.

          (e) The Company further covenants and agrees that it will pay when due
and payable any and all federal and state transfer taxes and charges which may
be payable in respect of the issuance or delivery of the Right Certificates or
of any shares of Preferred Stock (or shares of Common Stock or other securities)
upon the exercise of Rights. The Company shall not, however, be required to pay
any transfer tax which may be payable in respect of any transfer or delivery of
Right Certificates to a Person other than, or the issuance or delivery of
certificates or depositary receipts for the Preferred Stock (or shares of Common
Stock or other securities) in a name other than that of, the registered holder
of the Right Certificate evidencing Rights surrendered for exercise or to issue
or deliver any certificates or depositary receipts for Preferred Stock (or
shares of Common Stock or other securities) upon the exercise of any Rights
until any such tax shall have been paid (any such tax being payable by that
holder of such Right Certificate at the time of surrender)
or until it has been established to the Company's reasonable satisfaction that
no such tax is due.

          Section 10. Preferred Stock Record Date. Each Person in whose name any
certificate for Preferred Stock is issued upon the exercise of Rights shall for
all purposes be deemed to have become the holder of record of the shares of
Preferred Stock represented thereby on, and such certificate shall be dated, the
date upon which the Right Certificate evidencing such Rights was duly
surrendered and payment of the Purchase Price (and any applicable transfer
taxes) was made; provided, however, that if the date of such surrender and
payment is a date upon which the Preferred Stock transfer books of the Company
are closed, such Person shall be deemed to have become the record holder of such
shares on, and such certificate shall be dated, the next succeeding Business Day
on which the Preferred Stock transfer books of the Company are open. Prior to
the exercise of the Rights evidenced thereby, the holder of a Right Certificate
shall not be entitled to any rights of a holder of Preferred Stock for which the
Rights shall be exercisable, including, without limitation, the right to vote or
to receive dividends or other distributions, and shall not be entitled to
receive any notice of any proceedings of the Company, except as provided herein.

          Section 11. Adjustment of Purchase Price, Number of Shares and Number
of Rights. The Purchase Price, the number of shares of Preferred Stock or other
securities or property purchasable upon exercise of each Right and the number of
Rights
outstanding are subject to adjustment from time to time as provided in this
Section 11.

          (a) (i) In the event the Company shall at any time after the date of
          this Agreement (A) declare a dividend on the Preferred Stock payable
          in shares of Preferred Stock, (B) subdivide the outstanding Preferred
          Stock, (C) combine the outstanding Preferred Stock into a smaller
          number of Preferred Stock or (D) issue any shares of its capital stock
          in a reclassification of the Preferred Stock (including any such
          reclassification in connection with a consolidation or merger in which
          the Company is the continuing or surviving corporation), except as
          otherwise provided in this Section 11(a), the Purchase Price in effect
          at the time of the record date for such dividend or of the effective
          date of such subdivision, combination or reclassification, and the
          number and kind of shares of capital stock issuable on such date,
          shall be proportionately adjusted so that the holder of any Right
          exercised after such time shall be entitled to receive the aggregate
          number and kind of shares of capital stock which, if such Right had
          been exercised immediately prior to such date and at a time when the
          Preferred Stock transfer books of the Company were open, the holder
          would have owned upon such exercise and been entitled to receive by
          virtue of such dividend, subdivision, combination or reclassification;

          provided, however, that in no event shall the consideration to be paid
          upon the exercise of one Right be less than the aggregate par value of
          the shares of capital stock of the Company issuable upon exercise of
          one Right.

               (ii) Subject to Section 24 of this Agreement, in the event that
          any Person becomes an Acquiring Person, then (A) the Purchase Price
          shall be adjusted to be the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior
          to such Person becoming an Acquiring Person multiplied by the number
          of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock for which a Right
          was exercisable immediately prior to such Person becoming an Acquiring
          Person, whether or not such Right was then exercisable, and (B) each
          holder of a Right, except as otherwise provided in this Section
          11(a)(ii) and Subsection 11(a)(iii), hereof, shall thereafter have the
          right to receive, upon exercise at a price equal to the Purchase Price
          (as so adjusted), in accordance with the terms of this Agreement and
          in lieu of shares of Preferred Stock, such number of shares of Common
          Stock (or at the option of the Company, such number of one
          one-thousandths of shares of Preferred Stock) as shall equal the
          result obtained by (x) multiplying the then current Purchase Price by
          the number of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock for
          which a Right is then exercisable and dividing that product by (y) 50%
          of the
          then current per share market price of the Company's Common Stock
          (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) on the date such Person
          became an Acquiring Person; provided, however, that the Purchase Price
          and the number of shares of Common Stock so receivable upon exercise
          of a Right shall thereafter be subject to further adjustment as
          appropriate in accordance with Section 11(f) hereof. Notwithstanding
          anything in this Agreement to the contrary, however, from and after
          the time (the "invalidation time") when any Person first becomes an
          Acquiring Person, any Rights that are beneficially owned by (x) any
          Acquiring Person (or any Affiliate or Associate of any Acquiring
          Person), (y) a transferee of any Acquiring Person (or any such
          Affiliate or Associate) who becomes a transferee after the
          invalidation time or (z) a transferee of any Acquiring Person (or any
          such Affiliate or Associate) who became a transferee prior to or
          concurrently with the invalidation time pursuant to either (I) a
          transfer from the Acquiring Person to holders of its equity securities
          or to any Person with whom it has any continuing agreement,
          arrangement or understanding regarding the transferred Rights or (II)
          a transfer which the Board of Directors has determined is part of a
          plan, arrangement or understanding which has the purpose or effect of
          avoiding the provisions of this paragraph, and subsequent transferees
          of such Persons,
          shall be void without any further action and any holder of such Rights
          shall thereafter have no rights whatsoever with respect to such Rights
          under any provision of this Agreement. The Company shall use all
          reasonable efforts to ensure that the provisions of this Section
          11(a)(ii) are complied with, but shall have no liability to any holder
          of Right Certificates or other Person as a result of its failure to
          make any determinations with respect to an Acquiring Person or its
          Affiliates, Associates or transferees hereunder. From and after the
          invalidation time, no Right Certificate shall be issued pursuant to
          Section 3 or Section 6 hereof that represents Rights that are or have
          become void pursuant to the provisions of this paragraph, and any
          Right Certificate delivered to the Rights Agent that represents Rights
          that are or have become void pursuant to the provisions of this
          paragraph shall be cancelled. From and after the occurrence of an
          event specified in Section 13(a) hereof, any Rights that theretofore
          have not been exercised pursuant to this Section 11(a)(ii) shall
          thereafter be exercisable only in accordance with Section 13 and not
          pursuant to this Section 11(a)(ii).

               (iii) The Company may at its option substitute for a share of
          Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of Rights in accordance with
          the foregoing subparagraph (ii) such number or fractions of shares of
          Preferred

          Stock having an aggregate current market value equal to the current
          per share market price of a share of Common Stock. In the event that
          there shall not be sufficient shares of Common Stock issued but not
          outstanding or authorized but unissued to permit the exercise in full
          of the Rights in accordance with the foregoing subparagraph (ii), the
          Board of Directors shall, to the extent permitted by applicable law
          and any material agreements then in effect to which the Company is a
          party (A) determine the excess of (1) the value of the shares of
          Common Stock issuable upon the exercise of a Right in accordance with
          the foregoing subparagraph (ii) (the "Current Value") over (2) the
          then current Purchase Price multiplied by the number of one
          onethousandths of shares of Preferred Stock for which a Right was
          exercisable immediately prior to the time that the Acquiring Person
          became such (such excess, the "Spread"), and (B) with respect to each
          Right (other than Rights which have become void pursuant to Section
          11(a)(ii)), make adequate provision to substitute for the shares of
          Common Stock issuable in accordance with subparagraph (ii) upon
          exercise of the Right and payment of the applicable Purchase Price,
          (1) cash, (2) a reduction in the Purchase Price, (3) shares of
          Preferred Stock or other equity securities of the Company (including,
          without limitation, shares or fractions of shares of preferred stock
          which, by virtue
          of having dividend, voting and liquidation rights substantially
          comparable to those of the shares of Common Stock, are deemed in good
          faith by the Board of Directors to have substantially the same value
          as the shares of Common Stock (such shares of preferred stock and
          shares or fractions of shares of preferred stock are hereinafter
          referred to as "Common Stock equivalents"), (4) debt securities of the
          Company, (5) other assets, or (6) any combination of the foregoing,
          having a value which, when added to the value of the shares of Common
          Stock actually issued upon exercise of such Right, shall have an
          aggregate value equal to the Current Value (less the amount of any
          reduction in the Purchase Price), where such aggregate value has been
          determined by the Board of Directors upon the advice of a nationally
          recognized investment banking firm selected in good faith by the Board
          of Directors; provided, however, if the Company shall not make
          adequate provision to deliver value pursuant to clause (B) above
          within thirty (30) days following the date that the Acquiring Person
          became such (the "Section 11(a)(ii) Trigger Date"), then the Company
          shall be obligated to deliver, to the extent permitted by applicable
          law and any material agreements then in effect to which the Company is
          a party, upon the surrender for exercise of a Right and without
          requiring payment of the Purchase Price, shares of Common Stock

          (to the extent available), and then, if necessary, such number or
          fractions of shares of Preferred Stock (to the extent available) and
          then, if necessary, cash, which shares and/or cash have an aggregate
          value equal to the Spread. If, upon the date any Person becomes an
          Acquiring Person, the Board of Directors shall determine in good faith
          that it is likely that sufficient additional shares of Common Stock
          could be authorized for issuance upon exercise in full of the Rights,
          then, if the Board of Directors so elects, the thirty (30) day period
          set forth above may be extended to the extent necessary, but not more
          than ninety (90) days after the Section 11(a)(ii) Trigger Date, in
          order that the Company may seek stockholder approval for the
          authorization of such additional shares (such thirty (30) day period,
          as it may be extended, is herein called the "Substitution Period"). To
          the extent that the Company determines that some action need be taken
          pursuant to the second and/or third sentence of this Section
          11(a)(iii), the Company (x) shall provide, subject to Section
          11(a)(ii) hereof and the last sentence of this Section 11(a)(iii)
          hereof, that such action shall apply uniformly to all outstanding
          Rights and (y) may suspend the exercisability of the Rights until the
          expiration of the Substitution Period in order to seek any
          authorization of additional shares and/or to decide the appropriate
          form of distribution
          to be made pursuant to such second sentence and to determine the value
          thereof. In the event of any such suspension, the Company shall issue
          a public announcement stating that the exercisability of the Rights
          has been temporarily suspended, as well as a public announcement at
          such time as the suspension is no longer in effect. For purposes of
          this Section 11(a)(iii), the value of the shares of Common Stock shall
          be the current per share market price (as determined pursuant to
          Section 11(d)(i)) on the Section 11(a)(ii) Trigger Date and the per
          share or fractional value of any "Common Stock equivalent" shall be
          deemed to equal the current per share market price of the Common
          Stock. The Board of Directors of the Company may, but shall not be
          required to, establish procedures to allocate the right to receive
          shares of Common Stock upon the exercise of the Rights among holders
          of Rights pursuant to this Section 11(a)(iii).


          (b) In case the Company shall fix a record date for the issuance of
     rights, options or warrants to all holders of Preferred Stock entitling
     them (for a period expiring within 45 calendar days after such record date)
     to subscribe for or purchase Preferred Stock (or shares having similar
     rights, privileges and preferences as the Preferred Stock ("equivalent
     preferred shares")) or securities convertible into Preferred Stock or
     equivalent preferred shares at a price per share of Preferred Stock or
     equivalent preferred
     shares (or having a conversion price per share, if a security convertible
     into shares of Preferred Stock or equivalent preferred shares) less than
     the then current per share market price of the Preferred Stock (determined
     pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) on such record date, the Purchase Price
     to be in effect after such record date shall be determined by multiplying
     the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to such record date by a
     fraction, the numerator of which shall be the number of shares of Preferred
     Stock and equivalent preferred shares outstanding on such record date plus
     the number of shares of Preferred Stock and equivalent preferred shares
     which the aggregate offering price of the total number of shares of
     Preferred Stock and/or equivalent preferred shares so to be offered (and/or
     the aggregate initial conversion price of the convertible securities so to
     be offered) would purchase at such current market price, and the
     denominator of which shall be the number of shares of Preferred Stock and
     equivalent preferred shares outstanding on such record date plus the number
     of additional shares of Preferred Stock and/or equivalent preferred shares
     to be offered for subscription or purchase (or into which the convertible
     securities so to be offered are initially convertible); provided, however,
     that in no event shall the consideration to be paid upon the exercise of
     one Right be less than the aggregate par value of the shares of capital
     stock of the Company issuable upon exercise of one Right. In case such
     subscription price may
     be paid in a consideration part or all of which shall be in a form other
     than cash, the value of such consideration shall be as determined in good
     faith by the Board of Directors of the Company, whose determination shall
     be described in a statement filed with the Rights Agent. Shares of
     Preferred Stock and equivalent preferred shares owned by or held for the
     account of the Company shall not be deemed outstanding for the purpose of
     any such computation. Such adjustment shall be made successively whenever
     such a record date is fixed; and in the event that such rights, options or
     warrants are not so issued, the Purchase Price shall be adjusted to be the
     Purchase Price which would then be in effect if such record date had not
     been fixed.

          (c) In case the Company shall fix a record date for the making of a
     distribution to all holders of the Preferred Stock (including any such
     distribution made in connection with a consolidation or merger in which the
     Company is the continuing or surviving corporation) of evidences of
     indebtedness or assets (other than a regular quarterly cash dividend or a
     dividend payable in Preferred Stock) or subscription rights or warrants
     (excluding those referred to in Section 11(b) hereof), the Purchase Price
     to be in effect after such record date shall be determined by multiplying
     the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to such record date by a
     fraction, the numerator of which shall be the then current per share market
     price of the Preferred Stock (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof)
     on such
     record date, less the fair market value (as determined in good faith by the
     Board of Directors of the Company whose determination shall be described in
     a statement filed with the Rights Agent) of the portion of the assets or
     evidences of indebtedness so to be distributed or of such subscription
     rights or warrants applicable to one share of Preferred Stock, and the
     denominator of which shall be such current per share market price
     (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) of the Preferred Stock;
     provided, however, that in no event shall the consideration to be paid upon
     the exercise of one Right be less than the aggregate par value of the
     shares of capital stock of the Company to be issued upon exercise of one
     Right. Such adjustments shall be made successively whenever such a record
     date is fixed; and in the event that such distribution is not so made, the
     Purchase Price shall again be adjusted to be the Purchase Price which would
     then be in effect if such record date had not been fixed.

          (d) (i) Except as otherwise provided herein, for the purpose of any
     computation hereunder, the "current per share market price" of any security
     (a "Security" for the purpose of this Section 11(d)(i)) on any date shall
     be deemed to be the average of the daily closing prices per share of such
     Security for the 30 consecutive Trading Days (as such term is hereinafter
     defined) immediately prior to such date; provided, however, that in the
     event that the current per share market price of the Security is determined
     during a
     period following the announcement by the issuer of such Security of (A) a
     dividend or distribution on such Security payable in shares of such
     Security or securities convertible into such shares, or (B) any
     subdivision, combination or reclassification of such Security, and prior to
     the expiration of 30 Trading Days after the ex-dividend date for such
     dividend or distribution, or the record date for such subdivision,
     combination or reclassification, then, and in each such case, the current
     per share market price shall be appropriately adjusted to reflect the
     current market price per share equivalent of such Security. The closing
     price for each day shall be the last sale price, regular way, or, in case
     no such sale takes place on such day, the average of the closing bid and
     asked prices, regular way, in either case as reported by the principal
     consolidated transaction reporting system with respect to securities listed
     or admitted to trading on the New York Stock Exchange or, if the Security
     is not listed or admitted to trading on the New York Stock Exchange, as
     reported in the principal consolidated transaction reporting system with
     respect to securities listed on the principal national securities exchange
     on which the Security is listed or admitted to trading or, if the Security
     is not listed or admitted to trading on any national securities exchange,
     the last quoted price or, if not so quoted, the average of the high bid and
     low asked prices in the over-the-counter market, as reported by NASDAQ or
     such other system then in use, or, if on any
     such date the Security is not quoted by any such organization, the average
     of the closing bid and asked prices as furnished by a professional market
     maker making a market in the Security selected by the Board of Directors of
     the Company. The term "Trading Day" shall mean a day on which the principal
     national securities exchange on which the Security is listed or admitted to
     trading is open for the transaction of business or, if the Security is not
     listed or admitted to trading on any national securities exchange, a
     Business Day.

          (ii) For the purpose of any computation hereunder, if the Preferred
     Stock is publicly traded, the "current per share market price" of the
     Preferred Stock shall be determined in accordance with the method set forth
     in Section 11(d)(i). If the Preferred Stock is not publicly traded but the
     Common Stock is publicly traded, the "current per share market price" of
     the Preferred Stock shall be conclusively deemed to be the current per
     share market price of the Common Stock as determined pursuant to Section
     11(d)(i) multiplied by one thousand (appropriately adjusted to reflect any
     stock split, stock dividend or similar transaction occurring after the date
     hereof). If neither the Common Stock nor the Preferred Stock is publicly
     traded, "current per share market price" shall mean the fair value per
     share as determined in good faith by the Board of Directors of the Company,
     whose determination shall be described in a statement filed with the Rights
     Agent.

          (e) No adjustment in the Purchase Price shall be required unless such
     adjustment would require an increase or decrease of at least 1% in the
     Purchase Price; provided, however, that any adjustments which by reason of
     this Section 11(e) are not required to be made shall be carried forward and
     taken into account in any subsequent adjustment. All calculations under
     this Section 11 shall be made to the nearest cent or to the nearest one
     ten-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock or share of Common Stock or
     other share or security as the case may be. Notwithstanding the first
     sentence of this Section 11(e), any adjustment required by this Section 11
     shall be made no later than the earlier of (i) three years from the date of
     the transaction which requires such adjustment or (ii) the date of the
     expiration of the right to exercise any Rights.

          (f) If as a result of an adjustment made pursuant to Section 11(a)
     hereof, the holder of any Right thereafter exercised shall become entitled
     to receive any shares of capital stock of the Company other than the
     Preferred Stock, thereafter the Purchase Price and the number of such other
     shares so receivable upon exercise of a Right shall be subject to
     adjustment from time to time in a manner and on terms as nearly equivalent
     as practicable to the provisions with respect to the Preferred Stock
     contained in Sections 11(a), 11(b), 11(c), 11(e), 11(h), 11(i) and 11(m)
     and the provisions of Sections 7, 9, 10, 13 and 14 hereof with
     respect to the Preferred Stock shall apply on like terms to any such other
     shares.

          (g) All Rights originally issued by the Company subsequent to any
     adjustment made to the Purchase Price hereunder shall evidence the right to
     purchase, at the adjusted Purchase Price, the number of one one-thousandths
     of a share of Preferred Stock purchasable from time to time hereunder upon
     exercise of the Rights, all subject to further adjustment as provided
     herein.

          (h) Unless the Company shall have exercised its election as provided
     in Section 11(i), upon each adjustment of the Purchase Price as a result of
     the calculations made in Sections 11(b) and (c), each Right outstanding
     immediately prior to the making of such adjustment shall thereafter
     evidence the right to purchase, at the adjusted Purchase Price, that number
     of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock (calculated to the
     nearest one tenthousandth of a share of Preferred Stock) obtained by (i)
     multiplying (x) the number of one one-thousandths of a share covered by a
     Right immediately prior to such adjustment by (y) the Purchase Price in
     effect immediately prior to such adjustment of the Purchase Price and (ii)
     dividing the product so obtained by the Purchase Price in effect
     immediately after such adjustment of the Purchase Price.

          (i) The Company may elect on or after the date of any adjustment of
     the Purchase Price to adjust the number of Rights, in substitution for any
     adjustment in the number of
     one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock purchasable upon the
     exercise of a Right. Each of the Rights outstanding after such adjustment
     of the number of Rights shall be exercisable for the number of one
     one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock for which a Right was
     exercisable immediately prior to such adjustment. Each Right held of record
     prior to such adjustment of the number of Rights shall become that number
     of Rights (calculated to the nearest one ten-thousandth) obtained by
     dividing the Purchase Price in effect immediately prior to adjustment of
     the Purchase Price by the Purchase Price in effect immediately after
     adjustment of the Purchase Price. The Company shall make a public
     announcement of its election to adjust the number of Rights, indicating the
     record date for the adjustment, and, if known at the time, the amount of
     the adjustment to be made. This record date may be the date on which the
     Purchase Price is adjusted or any day thereafter, but, if the Right
     Certificates have been issued, shall be at least 10 days later than the
     date of the public announcement. If Right Certificates have been issued,
     upon each adjustment of the number of Rights pursuant to this Section
     11(i), the Company may, as promptly as practicable, cause to be distributed
     to holders of record of Right Certificates on such record date Right
     Certificates evidencing, subject to Section 14 hereof, the additional
     Rights to which such holders shall be entitled as a result of such
     adjustment, or, at the option of the Company, shall
     cause to be distributed to such holders of record in substitution and
     replacement for the Right Certificates held by such holders prior to the
     date of adjustment, and upon surrender thereof, if required by the Company,
     new Right Certificates evidencing all the Rights to which such holders
     shall be entitled after such adjustment. Right Certificates so to be
     distributed shall be issued, executed and countersigned in the manner
     provided for herein and shall be registered in the names of the holders of
     record of Right Certificates on the record date specified in the public
     announcement.

          (j) Irrespective of any adjustment or change in the Purchase Price or
     the number of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock issuable
     upon the exercise of the Rights, the Right Certificates theretofore and
     thereafter issued may continue to express the Purchase Price and the number
     of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock which were expressed
     in the initial Right Certificates issued hereunder.

          (k) Before taking any action that would cause an adjustment reducing
     the Purchase Price below the then par value, if any, of the Preferred Stock
     or other shares of capital stock issuable upon exercise of the Rights, the
     Company shall take any corporate action which may, in the opinion of its
     counsel, be necessary in order that the Company may validly and legally
     issue fully paid and
     nonassessable shares of Preferred Stock or other such shares at such
     adjusted Purchase Price.

          (l) In any case in which this Section 11 shall require that an
     adjustment in the Purchase Price be made effective as of a record date for
     a specified event, the Company may elect to defer until the occurrence of
     such event the issuing to the holder of any Right exercised after such
     record date of the Preferred Stock and other capital stock or securities of
     the Company, if any, issuable upon such exercise over and above the
     Preferred Stock and other capital stock or securities of the Company, if
     any, issuable upon such exercise on the basis of the Purchase Price in
     effect prior to such adjustment; provided, however, that the Company shall
     deliver to such holder a due bill or other appropriate instrument
     evidencing such holder's right to receive such additional shares upon the
     occurrence of the event requiring such adjustment.

          (m) Anything in this Section 11 to the contrary notwithstanding, the
     Company shall be entitled to make such reductions in the Purchase Price, in
     addition to those adjustments expressly required by this Section 11, as and
     to the extent that it in its sole discretion shall determine to be
     advisable in order that any consolidation or subdivision of the Preferred
     Stock, issuance wholly for cash of any shares of Preferred Stock at less
     than the current market price, issuance wholly for cash or Preferred Stock
     or securities which by their terms are convertible into or
     exchangeable for Preferred Stock, dividends on Preferred Stock payable in
     shares of Preferred Stock or issuance of rights, options or warrants
     referred to hereinabove in Section 11(b), hereafter made by the Company to
     holders of its Preferred Stock shall not be taxable to such stockholders.

          (n) Anything in this Agreement to the contrary notwithstanding, in the
     event that at any time after the date of this Agreement and prior to the
     Distribution Date, the Company shall (i) declare or pay any dividend on the
     Common Stock payable in Common Stock or (ii) effect a subdivision,
     combination or consolidation of the Common Stock (by reclassification or
     otherwise than by payment of a dividend payable in Common Stock) into a
     greater or lesser number of Common Stock, then in any such case, the number
     of Rights associated with each share of Common Stock then outstanding, or
     issued or delivered thereafter, shall be proportionately adjusted so that
     the number of Rights thereafter associated with each share of Common Stock
     following any such event shall equal the result obtained by multiplying the
     number of Rights associated with each share of Common Stock immediately
     prior to such event by a fraction the numerator of which shall be the total
     number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately prior to the
     occurrence of the event and the denominator of which shall be the total
     number of shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately following the
     occurrence of such event.

          (o) The Company agrees that, after the earlier of the Distribution
     Date or the Stock Acquisition Date, it will not, except as permitted by
     Sections 23, 24 or 27 hereof, take (or permit any Subsidiary to take) any
     action if at the time such action is taken it is reasonably foreseeable
     that such action will diminish substantially or eliminate the benefits
     intended to be afforded by the Rights.

          Section 12. Certificate of Adjusted Purchase Price or Number of
Shares. Whenever an adjustment is made as provided in Section 11 or 13 hereof,
the Company shall promptly (a) prepare a certificate setting forth such
adjustment, and a brief statement of the facts accounting for such adjustment,
(b) file with the Rights Agent and with each transfer agent for the Common Stock
or the Preferred Stock a copy of such certificate and (c) mail a brief summary
thereof to each holder of a Right Certificate in accordance with Section 25
hereof (if so required under Section 25 hereof). The Rights Agent shall be fully
protected in relying on any such certificate and on any adjustment therein
contained and shall not be deemed to have knowledge of any such adjustment
unless and until it shall have received such certificate.

          Section 13. Consolidation, Merger or Sale or Transfer of Assets or
Earnings Power. (a) In the event, directly or indirectly, at any time after any
Person has become an Acquiring Person, (i) the Company shall merge with and into
any other Person, (ii) any Person shall consolidate with the Company, or any
Person shall merge with and into the Company and the Company shall be the
continuing or surviving corporation of such merger
and, in connection with such merger, all or part of the Common Stock shall be
changed into or exchanged for stock or other securities of any other Person (or
of the Company) or cash or any other property, or (iii) the Company shall sell
or otherwise transfer (or one or more of its Subsidiaries shall sell or
otherwise transfer), in one or more transactions, assets or earning power
aggregating 50% or more of the assets or earning power of the Company and its
Subsidiaries (taken as a whole) to any other Person (other than the Company or
one or more of its wholly-owned Subsidiaries), then upon the first occurrence of
such event, proper provision shall be made so that: (A) each holder of record of
a Right (other than Rights which have become void pursuant to Section 11(a)(ii))
shall thereafter have the right to receive, upon the exercise thereof at a price
equal to the then current Purchase Price multiplied by the number of one
one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock for which a Right was exercisable
(whether or not such Right was then exercisable) immediately prior to the time
that any Person first became an Acquiring Person (each as subsequently adjusted
thereafter pursuant to Sections 11(a)(i), 11(b), 11(c), 11(h), 11(i) and 11(m)),
in accordance with the terms of this Agreement and in lieu of Preferred Stock,
such number of validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable and freely
tradeable shares of Common Stock of the Principal Party (as defined herein) not
subject to any liens, encumbrances, rights of first refusal or other adverse
claims, as shall be equal to the result obtained by (1) multiplying the then
current Purchase Price by the number of one
one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock for which a Right was exercisable
immediately prior to the time that any Person first became an Acquiring Person
(as subsequently adjusted thereafter pursuant to Sections 11(a)(i), 11(b),
11(c), 11(h), 11(i) and 11(m)) and (2) dividing that product by 50% of the then
current per share market price of the Common Stock of such Principal Party
(determined pursuant to Section 11(d)(i) hereof) on the date of consummation of
such consolidation, merger, sale or transfer; provided that the Purchase Price
and the number of shares of Common Stock of such Principal Party issuable upon
exercise of each Right shall be further adjusted as provided in Section 11(f) of
this Agreement to reflect any events occurring in respect of such Principal
Party after the date of the such consolidation, merger, sale or transfer; (B)
such Principal Party shall thereafter be liable for, and shall assume, by virtue
of such consolidation, merger, sale or transfer, all the obligations and duties
of the Company pursuant to this Agreement; (C) the term "Company" shall
thereafter be deemed to refer to such Principal Party; and (D) such Principal
Party shall take such steps (including, but not limited to, the reservation of a
sufficient number of its shares of Common Stock in accordance with Section 9
hereof) in connection with such consummation of any such transaction as may be
necessary to assure that the provisions hereof shall thereafter be applicable,
as nearly as reasonably may be, in relation to the shares of its Common Stock
thereafter deliverable upon the exercise of the Rights; provided that, upon the
subsequent occurrence of any consolidation,
merger, sale or transfer of assets or other extraordinary transaction in respect
of such Principal Party, each holder of a Right shall thereupon be entitled to
receive, upon exercise of a Right and payment of the Purchase Price as provided
in this Section 13(a), such cash, shares, rights, warrants and other property
which such holder would have been entitled to receive had such holder, at the
time of such transaction, owned the Common Stock of the Principal Party
receivable upon the exercise of a Right pursuant to this Section 13(a), and such
Principal Party shall take such steps (including, but not limited to,
reservation of shares of stock) as may be necessary to permit the subsequent
exercise of the Rights in accordance with the terms hereof for such cash,
shares, rights, warrants and other property.

          (b)  "Principal Party" shall mean

               (i) in the case of any transaction described in (i) or (ii) of
     the first sentence of Section 13(a) hereof: (A) the Person that is the
     issuer of the securities into which the shares of Common Stock are
     converted in such merger or consolidation, or, if there is more than one
     such issuer, the issuer the shares of Common Stock of which have the
     greatest aggregate market value of shares outstanding, or (B) if no
     securities are so issued, (x) the Person that is the other party to the
     merger, if such Person survives said merger, or, if there is more than one
     such Person, the Person the shares of Common Stock of which have the
     greatest aggregate market value of shares outstanding or (y) if the

     Person that is the other party to the merger does not survive the merger,
     the Person that does survive the merger (including the Company if it
     survives) or (z) the Person resulting from the consolidation; and

               (ii) in the case of any transaction described in (iii) of the
     first sentence in Section 13(a) hereof, the Person that is the party
     receiving the greatest portion of the assets or earning power transferred
     pursuant to such transaction or transactions, or, if each Person that is a
     party to such transaction or transactions receives the same portion of the
     assets or earning power so transferred or if the Person receiving the
     greatest portion of the assets or earning power cannot be determined,
     whichever of such Persons as is the issuer of Common Stock having the
     greatest aggregate market value of shares outstanding;

provided, however, that in any such case described in the foregoing clause
(b)(i) or (b)(ii), if the Common Stock of such Person is not at such time or has
not been continuously over the preceding 12-month period registered under
Section 12 of the Exchange Act, then (1) if such Person is a direct or indirect
Subsidiary of another Person the Common Stock of which is and has been so
registered, the term "Principal Party" shall refer to such other Person, or (2)
if such Person is a Subsidiary, directly or indirectly, of more than one Person,
and the Common Stocks of all of such persons have been so registered, the term
"Principal Party" shall refer to whichever of such Persons is the issuer of
Common Stock having the greatest aggregate market value
of shares outstanding, or (3) if such Person is owned, directly or indirectly,
by a joint venture formed by two or more Persons that are not owned, directly or
indirectly, by the same Person, the rules set forth in clauses (1) and (2) above
shall apply to each of the owners having an interest in the venture as if the
Person owned by the joint venture was a Subsidiary of both or all of such joint
venturers, and the Principal Party in each such case shall bear the obligations
set forth in this Section 13 in the same ratio as its interest in such Person
bears to the total of such interests.

          (c) The Company shall not consummate any consolidation, merger, sale
or transfer referred to in Section 13(a) hereof unless prior thereto the Company
and the Principal Party involved therein shall have executed and delivered to
the Rights Agent an agreement confirming that the requirements of Sections 13(a)
and (b) hereof shall promptly be performed in accordance with their terms and
that such consolidation, merger, sale or transfer of assets shall not result in
a default by the Principal Party under this Agreement as the same shall have
been assumed by the Principal Party pursuant to Sections 13(a) and (b) hereof
and providing that, as soon as practicable after executing such agreement
pursuant to this Section 13, the Principal Party will:

               (i) prepare and file a registration statement under the
     Securities Act, if necessary, with respect to the Rights and the securities
     purchasable upon exercise of the Rights on an appropriate form, use its
     best efforts to cause
     such registration statement to become effective as soon as practicable
     after such filing and use its best efforts to cause such registration
     statement to remain effective (with a prospectus at all times meeting the
     requirements of the Securities Act) until the Final Expiration Date, and
     similarly comply with applicable state securities laws;

               (ii) use its best efforts, if the Common Stock of the Principal
     Party shall be listed or admitted to trading on the New York Stock Exchange
     or on another national securities exchange, to list or admit to trading (or
     continue the listing of) the Rights and the securities purchasable upon
     exercise of the Rights on the New York Stock Exchange or such securities
     exchange, or, if the Common Stock of the Principal Party shall not be
     listed or admitted to trading on the New York Stock Exchange or a national
     securities exchange, to cause the Rights and the securities receivable upon
     exercise of the Rights to be reported by such other system then in use;

               (iii) deliver to holders of the Rights historical financial
     statements for the Principal Party which comply in all respects with the
     requirements for registration on Form 10 (or any successor form) under the
     Exchange Act; and

               (iv) obtain waivers of any rights of first refusal or preemptive
     rights in respect of the Common Stock of the Principal Party subject to
     purchase upon exercise of outstanding Rights.

          (d) In case the Principal Party has provision in any of its authorized
securities or in its certificate of incorporation or by-laws or other instrument
governing its corporate affairs, which provision would have the effect of (i)
causing such Principal Party to issue (other than to holders of Rights pursuant
to this Section 13), in connection with, or as a consequence of, the
consummation of a transaction referred to in this Section 13, shares of Common
Stock of such Principal Party at less than the then current market price per
share thereof (determined pursuant to Section 11(d) hereof) or securities
exercisable for, or convertible into, Common Stock of such Principal Party at
less than such then current market price, or (ii) providing for any special
payment, tax or similar provision in connection with the issuance of the Common
Stock of such Principal Party pursuant to the provisions of Section 13, then, in
such event, the Company hereby agrees with each holder of Rights that it shall
not consummate any such transaction unless prior thereto the Company and such
Principal Party shall have executed and delivered to the Rights Agent a
supplemental agreement providing that the provision in question of such
Principal Party shall have been cancelled, waived or amended, or that the
authorized securities shall be redeemed, so that the applicable provision will
have no effect in connection with, or as a consequence of, the consummation of
the proposed transaction.

          (e) The Company covenants and agrees that it shall not, at any time
after a Person first becomes an Acquiring Person
enter into any transaction of the type contemplated by (i) (iii) of Section
13(a) hereof if (x) at the time of or immediately after such consolidation,
merger, sale, transfer or other transaction there are any rights, warrants or
other instruments or securities outstanding or agreements in effect which would
substantially diminish or otherwise eliminate the benefits intended to be
afforded by the Rights, (y) prior to, simultaneously with or immediately after
such consolidation, merger, sale, transfer of other transaction, the
stockholders of the Person who constitutes, or would constitute, the Principal
Party for purposes of Section 13(a) hereof shall have received a distribution of
Rights previously owned by such Person or any of its Affiliates or Associates or
(z) the form or nature of organization of the Principal Party would preclude or
limit the exercisability of the Rights.

          Section 14. Fractional Rights and Fractional Shares. (a) The Company
shall not be required to issue fractions of Rights or to distribute Right
Certificates which evidence fractional Rights (except prior to the Distribution
Date in accordance with Section 11(n) hereof). In lieu of such fractional
Rights, there shall be paid to the registered holders of the Right Certificates
with regard to which such fractional Rights would otherwise be issuable, an
amount in cash equal to the same fraction of the current market value of a whole
Right. For the purposes of this Section 14(a), the current market value of a
whole Right shall be the closing price of the Rights for the Trading Day
immediately prior to the date on which such
fractional Rights would have been otherwise issuable. The closing price for
any day shall be the last sale price, regular way, or, in case no such
sale takes place on such day, the average of the closing bid and asked prices,
regular way, in either case as reported in the principal consolidated
transaction reporting system with respect to securities listed or admitted to
trading on the New York Stock Exchange or, if the Rights are not listed or
admitted to trading on the New York Stock Exchange, as reported in the principal
consolidated transaction reporting system with respect to securities listed on
the principal national securities exchange on which the Rights are listed or
admitted to trading or, if the Rights are not listed or admitted to trading on
any national securities exchange, the last quoted price or, if not so quoted,
the average of the high bid and low asked prices in the over-the-counter market,
as reported by NASDAQ or such other system then in use or, if on any such date
the Rights are not quoted by any such organization, the average of the closing
bid and asked prices as furnished by a professional market maker making a market
in the Rights selected by the Board of Directors of the Company. If on any such
date no such market maker is making a market in the Rights, the fair value of
the Rights on such date as determined in good faith by the Board of Directors of
the Company shall be used.

          (b) The Company shall not be required to issue fractions of Preferred
Stock (other than fractions which are integral multiples of one one-thousandth
of a share of Preferred Stock) upon exercise of the Rights or to distribute
certificates
which evidence fractional shares of Preferred Stock (other than fractions which
are integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock).
Interests in fractions of Preferred Stock in integral multiples of one
one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock may, at the election of the
Company, be evidenced by depositary receipts, pursuant to an appropriate
agreement between the Company and a depositary selected by it; provided, that
such agreement shall provide that the holders of such depositary receipts shall
have all the rights, privileges and preferences to which they are entitled as
beneficial owners of the Preferred Stock represented by such depositary
receipts. In lieu of fractional shares of Preferred Stock that are not integral
multiples of one one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock, the Company shall
pay to the registered holders of Right Certificates at the time such Rights are
exercised as herein provided an amount in cash equal to the same fraction of the
current market value of one share of Preferred Stock. For the purposes of this
Section 14(b), the current market value of a share of Preferred Stock shall be
the closing price of a share of Preferred Stock (as determined pursuant to
Section 11(d)(i) hereof) for the Trading Day immediately prior to the date of
such exercise.

          (c) The Company shall not be required to issue fractions of shares of
Common Stock or to distribute certificates which evidence fractional shares of
Common Stock upon the exercise or exchange of Rights. In lieu of such fractional
shares of Common Stock, the Company shall pay to the registered
holders of the Right Certificates with regard to which such fractional shares of
Common Stock would otherwise be issuable in an amount in cash equal to the same
fraction of the current market value of a whole share of Common Stock (as
determined in accordance with Section 14(a) hereof) for the Trading Day
immediately prior to the date of such exercise or exchange.

          (d) The holder of a Right by the acceptance of the Right expressly
waives his right to receive any fractional Rights or any fractional shares upon
exercise of a Right (except as provided above).

          Section 15. Rights of Action. All rights of action in respect of this
Agreement, excepting the rights of action given to the Rights Agent under
Section 18 hereof, are vested in the respective registered holders of the Right
Certificates (and, prior to the Distribution Date, the registered holders of the
Common Stock); and any registered holder of any Right Certificate (or, prior to
the Distribution Date, of the Common Stock), without the consent of the Rights
Agent or of the holder of any other Right Certificate (or, prior to the
Distribution Date, of the Common Stock), on his own behalf and for his own
benefit, may enforce, and may institute and maintain any suit, action or
proceeding against the Company to enforce, or otherwise act in respect of, his
right to exercise the Rights evidenced by such Right Certificate (or, prior to
the Distribution Date, such Common Stock) in the manner provided in such Right
Certificate and in this Agreement. Without limiting the foregoing or any
remedies available to the holders of Rights, it is specifically
acknowledged that the holders of Rights would not have an adequate remedy at law
for any breach of this Agreement and will be entitled to specific performance of
the obligations under, and injunctive relief against actual or threatened
violations of, the obligations of any Person subject to this Agreement.

          Section 16. Agreement of Right Holders. Every holder of a Right, by
accepting the same, consents and agrees with the Company and the Rights Agent
and with every other holder of a Right that:

          (a) prior to the Distribution Date, the Rights will be transferable
     only in connection with the transfer of the Common Stock;

          (b) after the Distribution Date, the Right Certificates are
     transferable only on the registry books of the Rights Agent if surrendered
     at the office or agency of the Rights Agent designated for such purpose,
     duly endorsed or accompanied by a proper instrument of transfer; and

          (c) the Company and the Rights Agent may deem and treat the Person in
     whose name the Right Certificate (or, prior to the Distribution Date, the
     Common Stock certificate) is registered as the absolute owner thereof and
     of the Rights evidenced thereby (notwithstanding any notations of ownership
     or writing on the Right Certificates or the Common Stock certificate made
     by anyone other than the Company or the Rights Agent) for all purposes
     whatsoever, and neither the Company nor the Rights Agent shall be affected
     by any notice to the contrary.

          Section 17. Right Certificate Holder Not Deemed a Stockholder. No
holder, as such, of any Right Certificate shall be entitled to vote, receive
dividends or be deemed for any purpose the holder of the Preferred Stock or any
other securities of the Company which may at any time be issuable on the
exercise of the Rights represented thereby, nor shall anything contained herein
or in any Right Certificate be construed to confer upon the holder of any Right
Certificate, as such, any of the rights of a stockholder of the Company or any
right to vote for the election of directors or upon any matter submitted to
stockholders at any meeting thereof, or to give or withhold consent to any
corporate action, or to receive notice of meetings or other actions affecting
stockholders (except as provided in this Agreement), or to receive dividends or
subscription rights, or otherwise, until the Rights evidenced by such Right
Certificate shall have been exercised in accordance with the provisions hereof.

          Section 18. Concerning the Rights Agent. (a) The Company agrees to pay
to the Rights Agent reasonable compensation for all services rendered by it
hereunder and, from time to time, on demand of the Rights Agent, its reasonable
expenses and counsel fees and other disbursements incurred in the administration
and execution of this Agreement and the exercise and performance of its duties
hereunder. The Company also agrees to indemnify the Rights Agent for, and to
hold it harmless against, any loss, liability or expense, incurred without
negligence, bad faith or willful misconduct on the part of the

Rights Agent, for anything done or omitted by the Rights Agent in connection
with the acceptance and administration of this Agreement, including the costs
and expenses of defending against any claim of liability arising therefrom,
directly or indirectly.

          (b) The Rights Agent shall be protected and shall incur no liability
for, or in respect of any action taken, suffered or omitted by it in connection
with, its administration of this Agreement in reliance upon any Right
Certificate or certificate for the Preferred Stock or Common Stock or for other
securities of the Company, instrument of assignment or transfer, power of
attorney, endorsement, affidavit, letter, notice, direction, consent,
certificate, statement, or other paper or document believed by it to be genuine
and to be signed, executed and, where necessary, verified or acknowledged, by
the proper Person or Persons, or otherwise upon the advice of counsel as set
forth in Section 20 hereof.

          Section 19. Merger or Consolidation or Change of Name of Rights Agent.
(a) Any corporation into which the Rights Agent or any successor Rights Agent
may be merged or with which it may be consolidated, or any corporation resulting
from any merger or consolidation to which the Rights Agent or any successor
Rights Agent shall be a party, or any corporation succeeding to the stock
transfer or corporate trust powers of the Rights Agent or any successor Rights
Agent, shall be the successor to the Rights Agent under this Agreement without
the execution or filing of any paper or any further act on the part of any of
the parties hereto; provided, that such corporation
would be eligible for appointment as a successor Rights Agent under the
provisions of Section 21 hereof. In case at the time such successor Rights Agent
shall succeed to the agency created by this Agreement, any of the Right
Certificates shall have been countersigned but not delivered, any such successor
Rights Agent may adopt the countersignature of the predecessor Rights Agent and
deliver such Right Certificates so countersigned; and in case at that time any
of the Right Certificates shall not have been countersigned, any successor
Rights Agent may countersign such Right Certificates either in the name of the
predecessor Rights Agent or in the name of the successor Rights Agent; and in
all such cases such Right Certificates shall have the full force provided in the
Right Certificates and in this Agreement.

          (b) In case at any time the name of the Rights Agent shall be changed
and at such time any of the Right Certificates shall have been countersigned but
not delivered the Rights Agent may adopt the countersignature under its prior
name and deliver Right Certificates so countersigned; and in case at that time
any of the Right Certificates shall not have been countersigned, the Rights
Agent may countersign such Right Certificates either in its prior name or in its
changed name and in all such cases such Right Certificates shall have the full
force provided in the Right Certificates and in this Agreement.

          Section 20. Duties of Rights Agent. The Rights Agent undertakes the
duties and obligations imposed by this Agreement upon the following terms and
conditions, by all of which the

Company and the holders of Right Certificates, by their acceptance thereof,
shall be bound:

          (a) The Rights Agent may consult with legal counsel (who may be legal
     counsel for the Company), and the opinion of such counsel shall be full and
     complete authorization and protection to the Rights Agent as to any action
     taken or omitted by it in good faith and in accordance with such opinion.

          (b) Whenever in the performance of its duties under this Agreement the
     Rights Agent shall deem it necessary or desirable that any fact or matter
     be proved or established by the Company prior to taking or suffering any
     action hereunder, such fact or matter (unless other evidence in respect
     thereof be herein specifically prescribed) may be deemed to be conclusively
     proved and established by a certificate signed by any one of the Chairman
     of the Board of Directors, the President, any Vice President, the
     Treasurer, the Controller or the Secretary of the Company and delivered to
     the Rights Agent; and such certificate shall be full authorization to the
     Rights Agent for any action taken or suffered in good faith by it under the
     provisions of this Agreement in reliance upon such certificate.

          (c) The Rights Agent shall be liable hereunder to the Company and any
     other Person only for its own negligence, bad faith or wilful misconduct.

          (d) The Rights Agent shall not be liable for or by reason of any of
     the statements of fact or recitals contained in this Agreement or in the
     Right Certificates (except its countersignature thereof) or be required to
     verify the same, but all such statements and recitals are and shall be
     deemed to have been made by the Company only.

          (e) The Rights Agent shall not be under any responsibility in respect
     of the validity of this Agreement or the execution and delivery hereof
     (except the due execution hereof by the Rights Agent) or in respect of the
     validity or execution of any Right Certificate (except its countersignature
     thereof); nor shall it be responsible for any breach by the Company of any
     covenant or condition contained in this Agreement or in any Right
     Certificate; nor shall it be responsible for any change in the
     exercisability of the Rights (including the Rights becoming void pursuant
     to Section 11(a)(ii) hereof) or any adjustment in the terms of the Rights
     (including the manner, method or amount thereof) provided for in Sections
     3, 11, 13, 23 and 24, or the ascertaining of the existence of facts that
     would require any such change or adjustment (except with respect to the
     exercise of Rights evidenced by Right Certificates after receipt of a
     certificate furnished pursuant to Section 12, describing such change or
     adjustment); nor shall it by any act hereunder be deemed to make any
     representation or warranty as to the authorization or reservation of any
     shares of Preferred Stock or other securities to be issued
     pursuant to this Agreement or any Right Certificate or as to whether any
     shares of Preferred Stock or other securities will, when issued, be validly
     authorized and issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (f) The Company agrees that it will perform, execute, acknowledge and
     deliver or cause to be performed, executed, acknowledged and delivered all
     such further and other acts, instruments and assurances as may reasonably
     be required by the Rights Agent for the carrying out or performing by the
     Rights Agent of the provisions of this Agreement.

          (g) The Rights Agent is hereby authorized and directed to accept
     instructions with respect to the performance of its duties hereunder from
     any person reasonably believed by the Rights Agent to be one of the
     Chairman of the Board of Directors, the President, the Chief Financial
     Officer or the Secretary of the Company, and to apply to such officers for
     advice or instructions in connection with its duties, and it shall not be
     liable for any action taken or suffered by it in good faith in accordance
     with instructions of any such officer or for any delay in acting while
     waiting for those instructions. Any application by the Rights Agent for
     written instructions from the Company may, at the option of the Rights
     Agent, set forth in writing any action proposed to be taken or omitted by
     the Rights Agent under this Agreement and the date on and/or after which
     such action shall be taken or such omission shall be effective. The Rights
     Agent shall not be liable for any action taken by, or
     omission of, the Rights Agent in accordance with a proposal included in any
     such application on or after the date specified in such application (which
     date shall not be less than five Business Days after the date any officer
     of the Company actually receives such application, unless any such officer
     shall have consented in writing to an earlier date) unless, prior to taking
     any such action (or the effective date in the case of an omission), the
     Rights Agent shall have received written instructions in response to such
     application specifying the action to be taken or omitted.

          (h) The Rights Agent and any stockholder, director, officer or
     employee of the Rights Agent may buy, sell or deal in any of the Rights or
     other securities of the Company or become pecuniarily interested in any
     transaction in which the Company may be interested, or contract with or
     lend money to the Company or otherwise act as fully and freely as though it
     were not Rights Agent under this Agreement. Nothing herein shall preclude
     the Rights Agent from acting in any other capacity for the Company or for
     any other legal entity.

          (i) The Rights Agent may execute and exercise any of the rights or
     powers hereby vested in it or perform any duty hereunder either itself or
     by or through its attorneys or agents, and the Rights Agent shall not be
     answerable or accountable for any act, default, neglect or misconduct of
     any such attorneys or agents or for any loss to the Company resulting from
     any such act, default, neglect or misconduct,
     provided reasonable care was exercised in the selection and continued
     employment thereof.

          (j) If, with respect to any Rights Certificate surrendered to the
     Rights Agent for exercise or transfer, the certificate contained in the
     form of assignment or the form of election to purchase set forth on the
     reverse thereof, as the case may be, has not been completed to certify the
     holder is not an Acquiring Person (or an Affiliate or Associate thereof),
     the Rights Agent shall not take any further action with respect to such
     requested exercise or transfer without first consulting with the Company.

          Section 21. Change of Rights Agent. The Rights Agent or any successor
Rights Agent may resign and be discharged from its duties under this Agreement
upon 30 days' notice in writing mailed to the Company and to each transfer agent
of the Common Stock or Preferred Stock by registered or certified mail, and,
following the Distribution Date, to the holders of the Right Certificates by
first-class mail. The Company may remove the Rights Agent or any successor
Rights Agent upon 30 days' notice in writing, mailed to the Rights Agent or
successor Rights Agent, as the case may be, and to each transfer agent of the
Common Stock or Preferred Stock by registered or certified mail, and, following
the Distribution Date, to the holders of the Right Certificates by first-class
mail. If the Rights Agent shall resign or be removed or shall otherwise become
incapable of acting, the Company shall appoint a successor to the Rights

Agent. If the Company shall fail to make such appointment within a period of 30
days after giving notice of such removal or after it has been notified in
writing of such resignation or incapacity by the resigning or incapacitated
Rights Agent or by the holder of a Right Certificate (who shall, with such
notice, submit his Right Certificate for inspection by the Company), then the
registered holder of any Right Certificate may apply to any court of competent
jurisdiction for the appointment of a new Rights Agent. Any successor Rights
Agent, whether appointed by the Company or by such a court, shall be (A) a
corporation organized and doing business under the laws of the United States or
any State thereof, which is authorized under such laws to exercise corporate
trust or stock transfer powers and is subject to supervision or examination by
federal or state authority and which has at the time of its appointment as
Rights Agent a combined capital and surplus of at least $50 million or (B) an
affiliate of a corporation described in clause (A) of this sentence. After
appointment, the successor Rights Agent shall be vested with the same powers,
rights, duties and responsibilities as if it had been originally named as Rights
Agent without further act or deed; but the predecessor Rights Agent shall
deliver and transfer to the successor Rights Agent any property at the time held
by it hereunder, and execute and deliver any further assurance, conveyance, act
or deed necessary for the purpose. Not later than the effective date of any such
appointment the Company shall file notice thereof in writing with the
predecessor Rights Agent and each transfer agent of the

Common Stock or Preferred Stock, and, following the Distribution Date, mail a
notice thereof in writing to the registered holders of the Right Certificates.
Failure to give any notice provided for in this Section 21, however, or any
defect therein, shall not affect the legality or validity of the resignation or
removal of the Rights Agent or the appointment of the successor Rights Agent, as
the case may be.

          Section 22. Issuance of New Right Certificates. Notwithstanding any of
the provisions of this Agreement or of the Rights to the contrary, the Company
may, at its option, issue new Right Certificates evidencing Rights in such forms
as may be approved by its Board of Directors to reflect any adjustment or change
in the Purchase Price and the number or kind or class of shares or other
securities or property purchasable under the Right Certificates made in
accordance with the provisions of this Agreement. In addition, in connection
with the issuance or sale of Common Stock following the Distribution Date and
prior to the earlier of the Redemption Date and the Final Expiration Date, the
Company may with respect to shares of Common Stock so issued or sold pursuant to
(i) the exercise of stock options, (ii) under any employee plan or arrangement,
(iii) upon the exercise, conversion or exchange of securities, notes or
debentures issued by the Company or (iv) a contractual obligation of the Company
in each case existing prior to the Distribution Date, issue Rights Certificates
representing the appropriate number of Rights in connection with such issuance
or sale.

          Section 23. Redemption. (a) The Board of Directors of the Company may,
at any time prior to such time as any Person first becomes an Acquiring Person,
redeem all but not less than all the then outstanding Rights at a redemption
price of $.01 per Right, appropriately adjusted to reflect any stock split,
stock dividend or similar transaction occurring after the date hereof (the
redemption price being hereinafter referred to as the "Redemption Price"). The
redemption of the Rights may be made effective at such time, on such basis and
with such conditions as the Board of Directors in its sole discretion may
establish. The Company may, at its option, pay the Redemption Price in cash,
shares of Common Stock (based on the current market price of the Common Stock at
the time of redemption) or any other form of consideration deemed appropriate by
the Board of Directors.

          (b) Immediately upon the action of the Board of Directors ordering the
redemption of the Rights pursuant to paragraph (a) of this Section 23 (or at
such later time as the Board of Directors may establish for the effectiveness of
such redemption), and without any further action and without any notice, the
right to exercise the Rights will terminate and the only right thereafter of the
holders of Rights shall be to receive the Redemption Price. The Company shall
promptly give public notice of any such redemption; provided, however, that the
failure to give, or any defect in, any such notice shall not affect the validity
of such redemption. Within 10 days after such action of the Board of Directors
ordering the redemption of the Rights (or such later time as the Board of
Directors may
establish for the effectiveness of such redemption), the Company shall mail a
notice of redemption to all the holders of the then outstanding Rights at their
last addresses as they appear upon the registry books of the Rights Agent or,
prior to the Distribution Date, on the registry books of the transfer agent for
the Common Stock. Any notice which is mailed in the manner herein provided shall
be deemed given, whether or not the holder receives the notice. Each such notice
of redemption shall state the method by which the payment of the Redemption
Price will be made.

          Section 24. Exchange. (a) The Board of Directors of the Company may,
at its option, at any time after any Person first becomes an Acquiring Person,
exchange all or part of the then outstanding and exercisable Rights (which shall
not include Rights that have not become effective or that have become void
pursuant to the provisions of Section 11(a)(ii) hereof) for shares of Common
Stock at an exchange ratio of one share of Common Stock per Right, appropriately
adjusted to reflect any stock split, stock dividend or similar transaction
occurring after the date hereof (such amount per Right being hereinafter
referred to as the "Exchange Ratio"). Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Board
of Directors shall not be empowered to effect such exchange at any time (1)
after any Person (other than an Exempt Person), together with all Affiliates and
Associates of such Person, becomes the Beneficial Owner of shares of Common
Stock aggregating 50% or more of the shares of Common Stock then outstanding.
From and after the occurrence of an event specified
in Section 13(a) hereof, any Rights that theretofore have not been exchanged
pursuant to this Section 24(a) shall thereafter be exercisable only in
accordance with Section 13 and may not be exchanged pursuant to this Section
24(a). The exchange of the Rights by the Board of Directors may be made
effective at such time, on such basis and with such conditions as the Board of
Directors in its sole discretion may establish.

          (b) Immediately upon the effectiveness of the action of the Board of
Directors of the Company ordering the exchange of any Rights pursuant to
paragraph (a) of this Section 24 and without any further action and without any
notice, the right to exercise such Rights shall terminate and the only right
thereafter of a holder of such Rights shall be to receive that number of shares
of Common Stock equal to the number of such Rights held by such holder
multiplied by the Exchange Ratio. The Company shall promptly give public notice
of any such exchange; provided, however, that the failure to give, or any defect
in, such notice shall not affect the validity of such exchange. The Company
shall promptly mail a notice of any such exchange to all of the holders of the
Rights so exchanged at their last addresses as they appear upon the registry
books of the Rights Agent. Any notice which is mailed in the manner herein
provided shall be deemed given, whether or not the holder receives the notice.
Each such notice of exchange will state the method by which the exchange of the
shares of Common Stock for Rights will be effected and, in the event of any
partial exchange, the number of Rights which will be exchanged. Any partial
exchange shall be
effected pro rata based on the number of Rights (other than Rights which have
become void pursuant to the provisions of Section 11(a)(ii) hereof) held by each
holder of Rights.

          (c) The Company may at its option and, in the event that there shall
not be sufficient shares of Common Stock issued but not outstanding or
authorized but unissued to permit an exchange of Rights as contemplated in
accordance with this Section 24, the Company shall substitute to the extent of
such insufficiency, for each share of Common Stock that would otherwise be
issuable upon exchange of a Right, a number of shares of Preferred Stock or
fraction thereof (or equivalent preferred shares as such term is defined in
Section 11(b)) such that the current per share market price (determined pursuant
to Section 11(d) hereof) of one share of Preferred Stock (or equivalent
preferred share) multiplied by such number or fraction is equal to the current
per share market price of one share of Common Stock (determined pursuant to
Section 11(d) hereof) as of the date of such exchange).

          Section 25. Notice of Certain Events. (a) In case the Company shall at
any time after the earlier of the Distribution Date or the Stock Acquisition
Date propose (i) to pay any dividend payable in stock of any class to the
holders of its Preferred Stock or to make any other distribution to the holders
of its Preferred Stock (other than a regular quarterly cash dividend), (ii) to
offer to the holders of its Preferred Stock rights or warrants to subscribe for
or to purchase any additional shares of Preferred Stock or shares of stock of
any class or any
other securities, rights or options, (iii) to effect any reclassification of its
Preferred Stock (other than a reclassification involving only the subdivision or
combination of outstanding Preferred Stock), (iv) to effect the liquidation,
dissolution or winding up of the Company, or (v) to declare or pay any dividend
on the Common Stock payable in Common Stock or to effect a subdivision,
combination or consolidation of the Common Stock (by reclassification or
otherwise than by payment of dividends in Common Stock), then, in each such
case, the Company shall give to each holder of a Right Certificate, in
accordance with Section 26 hereof, a notice of such proposed action, which shall
specify the record date for the purposes of such stock dividend, or distribution
of rights or warrants, or the date on which such liquidation, dissolution or
winding up is to take place and the date of participation therein by the holders
of the Common Stock and/or Preferred Stock, if any such date is to be fixed, and
such notice shall be so given in the case of any action covered by clause (i) or
(ii) above at least 10 days prior to the record date for determining holders of
the Preferred Stock for purposes of such action, and in the case of any such
other action, at least 10 days prior to the date of the taking of such proposed
action or the date of participation therein by the holders of the Common Stock
and/or Preferred Stock, whichever shall be the earlier.

          (b) In case any event described in Section 11(a)(ii) or Section 13
shall occur then the Company shall as soon as practicable thereafter give to
each holder of a Right Certificate

(or if occurring prior to the Distribution Date, the holders of the Common
Stock) in accordance with Section 26 hereof, a notice of the occurrence of such
event, which notice shall describe such event and the consequences of such event
to holders of Rights under Section 11(a)(ii) and Section 13 hereof.

          Section 26. Notices. Notices or demands authorized by this Agreement
to be given or made by the Rights Agent or by the holder of any Right
Certificate to or on the Company shall be sufficiently given or made if sent by
first-class mail, postage prepaid, addressed (until another address is filed in
writing with the Rights Agent) as follows:

               Cognizant Corporation
               200 Nyala Farms
               Westport, CT  06880
               Attention:  General Counsel

Subject to the provisions of Section 21 hereof, any notice or demand authorized
by this Agreement to be given or made by the Company or by the holder of any
Right Certificate to or on the Rights Agent shall be sufficiently given or made
if sent by first-class mail, postage prepaid, addressed (until another address
is filed in writing with the Company) as follows:

               First Chicago Trust Company of New York
               525 Washington Boulevard - Suite 4660
               Jersey City, NJ  07310
               Attention:  Tenders & Exchanges Administration

Notices or demands authorized by this Agreement to be given or made by the
Company or the Rights Agent to the holder of any Right Certificate shall be
sufficiently given or made if sent by first-class mail, postage prepaid,
addressed to such holder at
the address of such holder as shown on the registry books of the Company.

          Section 27. Supplements and Amendments. Except as otherwise provided
in this Section 27, for so long as the Rights are then redeemable, the Company
may in its sole and absolute discretion, and the Rights Agent shall if the
Company so directs, supplement or amend any provision of this Agreement in any
respect without the approval of any holders of the Rights. At any time when the
Rights are no longer redeemable, except as otherwise provided in this Section
27, the Company may, and the Rights Agent shall, if the Company so directs,
supplement or amend this Agreement without the approval of any holders of Rights
Certificates in order to (i) cure any ambiguity, (ii) correct or supplement any
provision contained herein which may be defective or inconsistent with any other
provisions herein, (iii) shorten or lengthen any time period hereunder, or (iv)
change or supplement the provisions hereunder in any manner which the Company
may deem necessary or desirable; provided that no such supplement or amendment
shall adversely affect the interests of the holders of Rights as such (other
than an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate of an Acquiring Person),
and no such amendment may cause the rights again to become redeemable or cause
the Agreement again to become amendable other than in accordance with this
sentence. Notwithstanding anything contained in this Agreement to the contrary,
no supplement or amendment shall be made which decreases the Redemption Price.
Upon the delivery of a certificate from an appropriate officer of
the Company which states that the proposed supplement or amendment is in
compliance with the terms of this Section 27, the Rights Agent shall execute
such supplement or amendment.

          Section 28. Successors. All the covenants and provisions of this
Agreement by or for the benefit of the Company or the Rights Agent shall bind
and inure to the benefit of their respective successors and assigns hereunder.

          Section 29. Benefits of this Agreement. Nothing in this Agreement
shall be construed to give to any Person other than the Company, the Rights
Agent and the registered holders of the Right Certificates (and, prior to the
Distribution Date, the Common Stock) any legal or equitable right, remedy or
claim under this Agreement; but this Agreement shall be for the sole and
exclusive benefit of the Company, the Rights Agent and the registered holders of
the Right Certificates (and, prior to the Distribution Date, the Common Stock).

          Section 30. Determinations and Actions by the Board of Directors. The
Board of Directors of the Company shall have the exclusive power and authority
to administer this Agreement and to exercise the rights and powers specifically
granted to the Board of Directors of the Company or to the Company, or as may be
necessary or advisable in the administration of this Agreement, including,
without limitation, the right and power to (i) interpret the provisions of this
Agreement and (ii) make all determinations deemed necessary or advisable for the
administration of this Agreement (including, without limitation, a determination
to redeem or not redeem the Rights or to amend
this Agreement). All such actions, calculations, interpretations and
determinations (including, for purposes of clause (y) below, all omissions with
respect to the foregoing) that are done or made by the Board of Directors of the
Company in good faith, shall (x) be final, conclusive and binding on the
Company, the Rights Agent, the holders of the Rights, as such, and all other
parties, and (y) not subject the Board of Directors to any liability to the
holders of the Rights.

          Section 31. Severability. If any term, provision, covenant or
restriction of this Agreement or applicable to this Agreement is held by a court
of competent jurisdiction or other authority to be invalid, void or
unenforceable, the remainder of the terms, provisions, covenants and
restrictions of this Agreement shall remain in full force and effect and shall
in no way be affected, impaired or invalidated.

          Section 32. Governing Law. This Agreement and each Right Certificate
issued hereunder shall be deemed to be a contract made under the laws of the
State of Delaware and for all purposes shall be governed by and construed in
accordance with the laws of such State applicable to contracts to be made and
performed entirely within such State.

          Section 33. Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in any number
of counterparts and each of such counterparts shall for all purposes be deemed
to be an original, and all such counterparts shall together constitute but one
and the same instrument.

          Section 34. Descriptive Headings. Descriptive headings of the several
Sections of this Agreement are inserted for convenience only and shall not
control or affect the meaning or construction of any of the provisions hereof.

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties hereto have caused this Agreement to
be duly executed and attested, all as of the day and year first above written.


Attest:                            COGNIZANT CORPORATION

By____________________________     By____________________________
  Name:                              Name:
  Title:                             Title:

Attest:                            FIRST CHICAGO TRUST COMPANY OF

                                    NEW YORK

By____________________________     By____________________________
  Name:                              Name:
  Title:                             Title:

                                                                       Exhibit A

                                      FORM

                                       OF

                           CERTIFICATE OF DESIGNATION

                                       OF

                  Series A JUNIOR PARTICIPATING PREFERRED STOCK

                                       OF

                              Cognizant Corporation

                         (Pursuant to Section 151 of the
                General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware)

                               -------------------



          Cognizant Corporation, a corporation organized and existing under the
General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware (hereinafter called the
"Company"), hereby certifies that the following resolution was duly adopted by
the Board of Directors of the Company as required by Section 151 of the General
Corporation Law of the State of Delaware at a meeting duly called and held on
October 15, 1996:

          RESOLVED, that pursuant to the authority granted to and vested in the
Board of Directors of the Company (hereinafter called the "Board of Directors"
or the "Board") in accordance with the provisions of the Company's Certificate
of Incorporation, as amended to date (hereinafter called the "Certificate of
Incorporation"), the Board of Directors hereby creates a series of Preferred
Stock, par value $.01 per share, of the Company and hereby states the
designation and number of shares, and fixes the relative rights, powers and
preferences thereof, and the limitations thereof, as follows:

          Section 1. Designation and Amount. The shares of such series shall be
designated as "Series A Junior Participating Preferred Stock" (the "Series A
Preferred Stock") and the number of shares constituting the Series A Preferred
Stock shall be 400,000. Such number of shares may be increased or decreased by
resolution of the Board of Directors; provided, that no decrease shall reduce
the number of shares of Series A Preferred Stock to a number less than the
number of shares then outstanding plus the number of shares reserved for
issuance upon the exercise of outstanding options, rights or warrants or upon
the conversion of any outstanding securities issued by the Company convertible
into Series A Preferred Stock.

          Section 2. Dividends and Distributions.

          (A) Subject to the rights of the holders of any shares of any series
of Preferred Stock of the Company (the "Preferred Stock") (or any similar stock)
ranking prior and superior to the Series A Preferred Stock with respect to
dividends, the holders of shares of Series A Preferred Stock, in preference to
the holders of Common Stock, par value $.01 per share, of the Company (the
"Common Stock") and of any other stock of the Company ranking junior to the
Series A Preferred Stock, shall be entitled to receive, when, as and if declared
by the Board of Directors out of funds legally available for the purpose,
quarterly dividends payable in cash on the last day of January, April, July, and
October in each year (each such date being referred to herein as a "Dividend
Payment Date"), commencing on the first Dividend Payment Date after the first
issuance of a share or fraction of a share of Series A Preferred Stock, in an
amount per share (rounded to the nearest cent) equal to the greater of (a) $10
or (b) subject to the provision for adjustment hereinafter set forth, 1000 times
the aggregate per share amount of all cash dividends, and 1000 times the
aggregate per share amount (payable in kind) of all non-cash dividends or other
distributions other than a dividend payable in shares of Common Stock, declared
on the Common Stock since the immediately preceding Dividend Payment Date or,
with respect to the first Dividend Payment Date, since the first issuance of any
share or fraction of a share of Series A Preferred Stock. In the event the
Company shall at any time after October 15, 1996 declare or pay any dividend on
the Common Stock payable in shares of Common Stock, or effect a subdivision or
combination or consolidation of the outstanding shares of Common Stock (by
reclassification or otherwise than by payment of a dividend in shares of Common
Stock) into a greater or lesser number of shares of Common Stock, then in each
such case the amount to which holders of shares of Series A Preferred Stock were
entitled immediately prior to such event under clause (b) of the preceding
sentence shall be adjusted by multiplying such amount by a fraction, the
numerator of which is the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding
immediately after such event and the denominator of which is the number of
shares of Common Stock that were outstanding immediately prior to such event.

          (B) The Company shall declare a dividend or distribution on the Series
A Preferred Stock as provided in paragraph (A) of this Section immediately after
it declares a dividend or distribution on the Common Stock (other than a
dividend payable in shares of Common Stock); provided that, in the event no
dividend or distribution shall have been declared on the Common Stock during the
period between any Dividend Payment Date and the next subsequent Dividend
Payment Date, a dividend of $10 per share on the Series A Preferred Stock shall
nevertheless be payable, when, as and if declared, on such subsequent Dividend
Payment Date.

          (C) Dividends shall begin to accrue and be cumulative, whether or not
earned or declared, on outstanding shares of Series A Preferred Stock from the
Dividend Payment Date next preceding the date of issue of such shares, unless
the date of issue of such shares is prior to the record date for the first
Dividend Payment Date, in which case dividends on such shares shall begin to
accrue from the date of issue of such shares, or unless the date of issue is a
Dividend Payment Date or is a date after the record date for the determination
of holders of shares of Series A Preferred Stock entitled to receive a quarterly
dividend and before such Dividend Payment Date, in either of which events such
dividends shall begin to accrue and be cumulative from such Dividend Payment
Date. Accrued but unpaid dividends shall not bear interest. Dividends paid on
the shares of Series A Preferred Stock in an amount less than the total amount
of such dividends at the time accrued and payable on such shares shall be
allocated pro rata on a share-by-share basis among all such shares at the time
outstanding. The Board of Directors may fix a record date for the determination
of holders of shares of Series A Preferred Stock entitled to receive payment of
a dividend or distribution declared thereon, which record date shall be not more
than 60 days prior to the date fixed for the payment thereof.

          Section 3. Voting Rights. The holders of shares of Series A Preferred
Stock shall have the following voting rights;

          (A) Subject to the provision for adjustment hereinafter set forth and
     except as otherwise provided in the Certificate of Incorporation or
     required by law, each share of Series A Preferred Stock shall entitle the
     holder thereof to 1000 votes on all matters upon which the holders of the
     Common Stock of the Company are entitled to vote. In the event the Company
     shall at any time after October 15, 1996 declare or pay any dividend on the
     Common Stock payable in shares of Common Stock, or effect a subdivision or
     combination or consolidation of the outstanding shares of Common Stock (by
     reclassification or otherwise than by payment of a dividend in shares of
     Common Stock) into a greater or lesser number of shares of Common Stock,
     then in each such case the number of votes per share to which holders of
     shares of Series A Preferred Stock were entitled immediately prior to such
     event shall be adjusted by multiplying such number by a fraction, the
     numerator of which is the number of shares of Common Stock outstanding
     immediately after such event and the denominator of which is the number of
     shares of Common Stock that were outstanding immediately prior to such
     event.

          (B) Except as otherwise provided herein, in the Certificate of
     Incorporation or in any other Certificate of Designations creating a series
     of Preferred Stock or any similar stock, and except as otherwise required
     by law, the holders of shares of Series A Preferred Stock and the
     holders of shares of Common Stock and any other capital stock of the
     Company having general voting rights shall vote together as one class on
     all matters submitted to a vote of stockholders of the Company.

          (C) Except as set forth herein, or as otherwise provided by law,
     holders of Series A Preferred Stock shall have no special voting rights and
     their consent shall not be required (except to the extent they are entitled
     to vote with holders of Common Stock as set forth herein) for taking any
     corporate action.

          Section 4.  Certain Restrictions.

          (A) Whenever quarterly dividends or other dividends or distributions
     payable on the Series A Preferred Stock as provided in Section 2 are in
     arrears, thereafter and until all accrued and unpaid dividends and
     distributions, whether or not earned or declared, on shares of Series A
     Preferred Stock outstanding shall have been paid in full, the Company shall
     not:

               (i) declare or pay dividends, or make any other distributions, on
          any shares of stock ranking junior (as to dividends) to the Series A
          Preferred Stock;

              (ii) declare or pay dividends, or make any other distributions, on
          any shares of stock ranking on a parity (as to dividends) with the
          Series A Preferred Stock, except dividends paid ratably on the Series
          A Preferred Stock and all such parity stock on which dividends are
          payable or in arrears in proportion to the total amounts to which the
          holders of all such shares are then entitled;

             (iii) redeem or purchase or otherwise acquire for consideration
          shares of any stock ranking junior (either as to dividends or upon
          liquidation, dissolution or winding up) to the Series A Preferred
          Stock, provided that the Company may at any time redeem, purchase or
          otherwise acquire shares of any such junior stock in exchange for
          shares of any stock of the Company ranking junior (as to dividends and
          upon dissolution, liquidation or winding up) to the Series A Preferred
          Stock or rights, warrants or options to acquire such junior stock;

              (iv) redeem or purchase or otherwise acquire for consideration any
          shares of Series A Preferred Stock, or any shares of stock ranking on
          a parity (either as to dividends or upon liquidation, dissolution or
          winding up) with the Series A Preferred Stock, except in accordance
          with a purchase offer made in writing or by publication (as determined
          by the Board of

          Directors) to all holders of such shares upon such terms as the Board
          of Directors, after consideration of the respective annual dividend
          rates and other relative rights and preferences of the respective
          series and classes, shall determine in good faith will result in fair
          and equitable treatment among the respective series or classes.

          (B) The Company shall not permit any subsidiary of the Company to
     purchase or otherwise acquire for consideration any shares of stock of the
     Company unless the Company could, under paragraph (A) of this Section 4,
     purchase or otherwise acquire such shares at such time and in such manner.

          Section 5. Reacquired Shares. Any shares of Series A Preferred Stock
purchased or otherwise acquired by the Company in any manner whatsoever shall be
retired and cancelled promptly after the acquisition thereof. All such shares
shall upon their retirement become authorized but unissued shares of Preferred
Stock and may be reissued as part of a new series of Preferred Stock to be
created by resolution or resolutions of the Board of Directors, subject to any
conditions and restrictions on issuance set forth herein.

          Section 6. Liquidation, Dissolution or Winding Up. Upon any
liquidation, dissolution or winding up of the Company, no distribution shall be
made (A) to the holders of the Common Stock or of shares of any other stock of
the Company ranking junior, upon liquidation, dissolution or winding up, to the
Series A Preferred Stock unless, prior thereto, the holders of shares of Series
A Preferred Stock shall have received $100 per share, plus an amount equal to
accrued and unpaid dividends and distributions thereon, whether or not earned or
declared, to the date of such payment, provided that the holders of shares of
Series A Preferred Stock shall be entitled to receive an aggregate amount per
share, subject to the provision for adjustment hereinafter set forth, equal to
1000 times the aggregate amount to be distributed per share to holders of shares
of Common Stock, or (B) to the holders of shares of stock ranking on a parity
upon liquidation, dissolution or winding up with the Series A Preferred Stock,
except distributions made ratably on the Series A Preferred Stock and all such
parity stock in proportion to the total amounts to which the holders of all such
shares are entitled upon such liquidation, dissolution or winding up. In the
event, however, that there are not sufficient assets available to permit payment
in full of the Series A liquidation preference and the liquidation preferences
of all other classes and series of stock of the Company, if any, that rank on a
parity with the Series A Preferred Stock in respect thereof, then the assets
available for such distribution shall be distributed ratably to the holders of
the Series A Preferred Stock and the holders of such parity shares in the
proportion to their respective liquidation preferences. In the event the Company
shall at any time after October 15, 1996 declare or pay any
dividend on the Common Stock payable in shares of Common Stock, or effect a
subdivision or combination or consolidation of the outstanding shares of Common
Stock (by reclassification or otherwise than by payment of a dividend in shares
of Common Stock) into a greater or lesser number of shares of Common Stock, then
in each such case the aggregate amount to which holders of shares of Series A
Preferred Stock were entitled immediately prior to such event under the proviso
in clause (A) of the preceding sentence shall be adjusted by multiplying such
amount by a fraction the numerator of which is the number of shares of Common
Stock outstanding immediately after such event and the denominator of which is
the number of shares of Common Stock that were outstanding immediately prior to
such event.

          Section 7. Consolidation, Merger, etc. In case the Company shall enter
into any consolidation, merger, combination or other transaction in which the
shares of Common Stock are converted into, exchanged for or changed into other
stock or securities, cash and/or any other property, then in any such case each
share of Series A Preferred Stock shall at the same time be similarly converted
into, exchanged for or changed into an amount per share (subject to the
provision for adjustment hereinafter set forth) equal to 1000 times the
aggregate amount of stock, securities, cash and/or any other property (payable
in kind), as the case may be, into which or for which each share of Common Stock
is converted, exchanged or converted. In the event the Company shall at any time
after October 15, 1996 declare or pay any dividend on the Common Stock payable
in shares of Common Stock, or effect a subdivision or combination or
consolidation of the outstanding shares of Common Stock (by reclassification or
otherwise than by payment of a dividend in shares of Common Stock) into a
greater or lesser number of shares of Common Stock, then in each such case the
amount set forth in the preceding sentence with respect to the conversion,
exchange or change of shares of Series A Preferred Stock shall be adjusted by
multiplying such amount by a fraction, the numerator of which is the number of
shares of Common Stock outstanding immediately after such event and the
denominator of which is the number of shares of Common Stock that were
outstanding immediately prior to such event.

          Section 8. No Redemption. The shares of Series A Preferred Stock shall
not be redeemable from any holder.

          Section 9. Rank. The Series A Preferred Stock shall rank, with respect
to the payment of dividends and the distribution of assets upon liquidation,
dissolution or winding up of the Company, junior to all other series of
Preferred Stock and senior to the Common Stock.

          Section 10. Amendment. If any proposed amendment to the Certificate of
Incorporation (including this Certificate of Designations) would alter, change
or repeal any of the preferences, powers or special rights given to the Series A

Preferred Stock so as to affect the Series A Preferred Stock adversely, then the
holders of the Series A Preferred Stock shall be entitled to vote separately
as a class upon such amendment, and the affirmative vote of two-thirds of the
outstanding shares of the Series A Preferred Stock, voting separately as a
class, shall be necessary for the adoption thereof, in addition to such other
vote as may be required by the General Corporation Law of the State of Delaware.

          Section 11. Fractional Shares. Series A Preferred Stock may be issued
in fractions of a share that shall entitle the holder, in proportion to such
holder's fractional shares, to exercise voting rights, receive dividends,
participate in distributions and to have the benefit of all other rights of
holders of Series A Preferred Stock.

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Certificate of Designations is executed on
behalf of the Company by its                                  and attested by
its Secretary this 15th day of October, 1996.

                                             -----------------------------
                                                         [Title]

Attest:

----------------------
Secretary

                                                                       Exhibit B

                            Form of Right Certificate

Certificate No. R- ____                                ___ Rights

     NOT EXERCISABLE AFTER OCTOBER 23, 2006 OR EARLIER IF REDEMPTION OR EXCHANGE
     OCCURS. THE RIGHTS ARE SUBJECT TO REDEMPTION AT $.01 PER RIGHT AND TO
     EXCHANGE ON THE TERMS SET FORTH IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT. UNDER CERTAIN
     CIRCUMSTANCES, AS SET FORTH IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT, RIGHTS OWNED BY OR
     TRANSFERRED TO ANY PERSON WHO BECOMES AN ACQUIRING PERSON (AS DEFINED IN
     THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT) AND CERTAIN TRANSFEREES THEREOF WILL BECOME NULL AND
     VOID AND WILL NO LONGER BE TRANSFERABLE.

                                Right Certificate

                              COGNIZANT CORPORATION

          This certifies that ___________ or registered assigns, is the
registered owner of the number of Rights set forth above, each of which entitles
the owner thereof, subject to the terms, provisions and conditions of the Rights
Agreement, dated as of October 15, 1996 as the same may be amended from time to
time (the "Rights Agreement"), between Cognizant Corporation, a Delaware
corporation (the "Company"), and First Chicago Trust Company of New York (the
"Rights Agent"), to purchase from the Company at any time after the Distribution
Date (as such term is defined in the Rights Agreement) and prior to 5:00 P.M.,
New York City time, on October 23, 2006 at the office or agency of the Rights
Agent designated for such purpose, or of its successor as Rights Agent, one
one-thousandth of a fully paid non-assessable share of Series A Junior
Participating Preferred Stock, par value $.01 per share (the "Preferred Stock"),
of the Company, at a purchase price of $210 per one one-thousandth of a share
of Preferred Stock (the "Purchase Price"), upon presentation and surrender of
this Right Certificate with the Form of Election to Purchase duly executed. The
number of Rights evidenced by this Rights Certificate (and the number of one
one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock which may be purchased upon
exercise hereof) set forth above, and the Purchase Price set forth above, are
the number and Purchase Price as of October 15, 1996 based on the Preferred
Stock as constituted at such date. As provided in the Rights Agreement, the
Purchase Price, the number of one one-thousandths of a share of Preferred Stock
(or other securities or property) which may be purchased upon the exercise of
the Rights and the number of Rights evidenced by this Right Certificate are
subject to modification and adjustment upon the happening of certain events.

          This Right Certificate is subject to all of the terms, provisions and
conditions of the Rights Agreement, which terms, provisions and conditions are
hereby incorporated herein by reference and made a part hereof and to which
Rights Agreement reference is hereby made for a full description of the rights,
limitations of rights, obligations, duties and immunities hereunder of the
Rights Agent, the Company and the holders of the Right Certificates. Copies of
the Rights Agreement are on file at the principal executive offices of the
Company and the above-mentioned office or agency of the Rights Agent. The
Company will mail to the holder of this Right Certificate a copy of the Rights
Agreement without charge after receipt of a written request therefor.

          This Right Certificate, with or without other Right Certificates, upon
surrender at the office or agency of the Rights Agent designated for such
purpose, may be exchanged for another Right Certificate or Right Certificates of
like tenor and date evidencing Rights entitling the holder to purchase a like
aggregate number of shares of Preferred Stock as the Rights evidenced by the
Right Certificate or Right Certificates surrendered shall have entitled such
holder to purchase. If this Right Certificate shall be exercised in part, the
holder shall be entitled to receive upon surrender hereof another Right
Certificate or Right Certificates for the number of whole Rights not exercised.

          Subject to the provisions of the Rights Agreement, the Rights
evidenced by this Certificate (i) may be redeemed by the Company at a redemption
price of $.01 per Right or (ii) may be exchanged in whole or in part for shares
of Preferred Stock or shares of the Company's Common Stock, par value $.01 per
share.

          No fractional shares of Preferred Stock or Common Stock will be issued
upon the exercise or exchange of any Right or Rights evidenced hereby (other
than fractions of Preferred Stock which are integral multiples of one
one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock, which may, at the election of the
Company, be evidenced by depositary receipts), but in lieu thereof a cash
payment will be made, as provided in the Rights Agreement.

          No holder of this Right Certificate, as such, shall be entitled to
vote or receive dividends or be deemed for any purpose the holder of the
Preferred Stock or of any other securities of the Company which may at any time
be issuable on the exercise or exchange hereof, nor shall anything contained in
the Rights Agreement or herein be construed to confer upon the holder hereof, as
such, any of the rights of a stockholder of the Company or any right to vote for
the election of directors or upon any matter submitted to stockholders at any
meeting thereof, or to give or withhold consent to any corporate action, or to
receive notice of meetings or other actions affecting stockholders (except as
provided in the Rights Agreement) or to
receive dividends or subscription rights, or otherwise, until the Right or
Rights evidenced by this Right certificate shall have been exercised as
provided in the Rights Agreement.

          This Right Certificate shall not be valid or obligatory for any
purpose until it shall have been countersigned by the Rights Agent.

          WITNESS the facsimile signature of the proper officers
of the Company and its corporate seal.  Dated as of

-------------.



ATTEST:                            COGNIZANT CORPORATION

By __________________              By __________________

Countersigned:

_______________________,
as Rights Agent

By _________________________
   Authorized Signature

            Form of Reverse Side of Right Certificate

                               FORM OF ASSIGNMENT

        (To be executed by the registered holder if such
        holder desires to transfer the Right Certificate)

          FOR VALUE RECEIVED _________________________ hereby
sells, assigns and transfer unto ___________________________

____________________________________________________________
          (Please print name and address of transferee)

____________________________________________________________
Rights represented by this Right Certificate, together with all right, title and
interest therein, and does hereby irrevocably constitute and appoint
___________________ Attorney, to transfer said Rights on the books of the
within-named Company, with full power of substitution.

Dated: _________________

                              ______________________________
                                    Signature

Signature Guaranteed:

          Signatures must be guaranteed by a bank, trust company, broker, dealer
or other eligible institution participating in a recognized signature guarantee
medallion program

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                (To be completed)

          The undersigned hereby certifies that the Rights evidenced by this
Right Certificate are not beneficially owned by, were not acquired by the
undersigned from, and are not being assigned to, an Acquiring Person or an
Affiliate or Associate thereof (as defined in the Rights Agreement).

                              ________________________
                                    Signature

                          FORM OF ELECTION TO PURCHASE

          (To be executed if holder desires to exercise
          Rights represented by the Rights Certificate)

To Cognizant Corporation:

          The undersigned hereby irrevocably elects to exercise
__________________ Rights represented by this Right Certificate to purchase the
shares of Preferred Stock (or other securities or property) issuable upon the
exercise of such Rights and requests that certificates for such shares of
Preferred Stock (or such other securities) be issued in the name of:

______________________________________________________________
                         (Please print name and address)

______________________________________________________________

If such number of Rights shall not be all the Rights evidenced by this Right
Certificate, a new Right Certificate for the balance remaining of such Rights
shall be registered in the name of and delivery to:

Please insert social security
or other identifying number

______________________________________________________________
                         (Please print name and address)

______________________________________________________________


Dated:  ____________________

                                        ________________________
                                        Signature

(Signature must conform to holder specified on Right Certificate)

Signature Guaranteed:

          Signature must be guaranteed by bank, trust company, broker, dealer or
other eligible institution participating in a recognized signature guarantee
medallion program.

______________________________________________________________
                                (To be completed)

          The undersigned certifies that the Rights evidenced by this Right
Certificate are not beneficially owned by, and were not acquired by the
undersigned from, an Acquiring Person or an Affiliate or Associate thereof (as
defined in the Rights Agreement)

                                        ______________________
                                             Signature

______________________________________________________________

                                     NOTICE

          The signature in the Form of Assignment or Form of Election to
Purchase, as the case may be, must conform to the name as written upon the face
of this Right Certificate in every particular, without alteration or enlargement
or any change whatsoever.

          In the event the certification set forth above in the Form of
Assignment or the Form of Election to Purchase, as the case may be, is not
completed, such Assignment or Election to Purchase will not be honored.

                                                                       Exhibit C

     UNDER CERTAIN CIRCUMSTANCES, AS SET FORTH IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT, RIGHTS
     OWNED BY OR TRANSFERRED TO ANY PERSON WHO BECOMES AN ACQUIRING PERSON (AS
     DEFINED IN THE RIGHTS AGREEMENT) AND CERTAIN TRANSFEREES THEREOF WILL
     BECOME NULL AND VOID AND WILL NO LONGER BE TRANSFERABLE.

                          SUMMARY OF RIGHTS TO PURCHASE

                            Shares of Preferred Stock

          On October 15, 1996 the Board of Directors of Cognizant Corporation
(the "Company") declared a dividend of one preferred share purchase right (a
"Right") for each outstanding share of common stock, par value $.01 per share of
the Company (the "Common Stock"). The dividend is payable on October 23, 1996
(the "Record Date") to the stockholders of record on that date. Each Right
entitles the registered holder to purchase from the Company one one-thousandth
of a share of Series A Junior Participating Preferred Stock, par value $.01 per
share (the "Preferred Stock") of the Company at a price of $210 per one
one-thousandth of a share of Preferred Stock (as the same may be adjusted, the
"Purchase Price"), subject to adjustment. The description and terms of the
Rights are set forth in a Rights Agreement dated as of October 15, 1996 as the
same may be amended from time to time (the "Rights Agreement"), between the
Company and First Chicago Trust Company of New York as Rights Agent (the "Rights
Agent").

          Until the earlier to occur of (i) 10 days following a public
announcement that a person or group of affiliated or associated persons (with
certain exceptions an "Acquiring Person") have acquired beneficial ownership of
15% or more of the outstanding shares of Common Stock or (ii) 10 business days
(or such later date as may be determined by action of the Board of Directors
prior to such time as any person or group of affiliated persons becomes an
Acquiring Person) following the commencement of, or announcement of an intention
to make, a tender offer or exchange offer the consummation of which would result
in the beneficial ownership by a person or group of 15% or more of the
outstanding shares of Common Stock (the earlier of such dates being called the
"Distribution Date"), the Rights will be evidenced by such Common Stock
certificate together with a copy of this Summary of Rights.

          The Rights Agreement provides that, until the Distribution Date (or
earlier redemption or expiration of the Rights), the Rights will be transferred
with and only with the Common Stock. Until the Distribution Date (or earlier
redemption or expiration of the Rights), Common Stock certificates will contain
a notation incorporating the Rights Agreement by reference. Until the
Distribution Date (or earlier redemption or expiration of the Rights), the
surrender for transfer of any certificates for shares of Common Stock
outstanding as of the Record Date, even without such notation or a copy of this
Summary
of Rights, will also constitute the transfer of the Rights associated with the
shares of Common Stock represented by such certificate. As soon as practicable
following the Distribution Date, separate certificates evidencing the Rights
("Right Certificates") will be mailed to holders of record of the Common Stock
as of the close of business on the Distribution Date and such separate Right
Certificates alone will evidence the Rights.

          The Rights are not exercisable until the Distribution Date. The Rights
will expire on October 23, 2006 (the "Final Expiration Date"), unless the Final
Expiration Date is advanced or extended or unless the Rights are earlier
redeemed or exchanged by the Company, in each case as described below.

          The Purchase Price payable, and the number of shares of Preferred
Stock or other securities or property issuable, upon exercise of the Rights are
subject to adjustment from time to time to prevent dilution (i) in the event of
a stock dividend on, or a subdivision, combination or reclassification of, the
Preferred Stock, (ii) upon the grant to holders of the Preferred Stock of
certain rights or warrants to subscribe for or purchase Preferred Stock at a
price, or securities convertible into Preferred Stock with a conversion price,
less than the then-current market price of the Preferred Stock or (iii) upon the
distribution to holders of the Preferred Stock of evidences of indebtedness or
assets (excluding regular periodic cash dividends or dividends payable in
Preferred Stock) or of subscription rights or warrants (other than those
referred to above).

          The Rights are also subject to adjustment in the event of a stock
dividend on the Common Stock payable in shares of Common Stock or subdivisions,
consolidations or combinations of the Common Stock occurring, in any such case,
prior to the Distribution Date.

          Shares of Preferred Stock purchasable upon exercise of the Rights will
not be redeemable. Each share of Preferred Stock will be entitled, when, as and
if declared, to a minimum preferential quarterly dividend payment of $10 per
share but will be entitled to an aggregate dividend of 1000 times the dividend
declared per share of Common Stock. In the event of liquidation, dissolution or
winding up of the Company, the holders of the Preferred Stock will be entitled
to a minimum preferential liquidation payment of $100 per share (plus any
accrued but unpaid dividends) but will be entitled to an aggregate payment of
1000 times the payment made per share of Common Stock. Each share of Preferred
Stock will have 1000 votes, voting together with the Common Stock. Finally, in
the event of any merger, consolidation or other transaction in which shares of
Common Stock are converted or exchanged, each share of Preferred Stock will be
entitled to receive 1000 times the amount received per share of Common Stock.
These rights are protected by customary antidilution provisions.

          Because of the nature of the Preferred Stock's dividend, liquidation
and voting rights, the value of the one one-thousandth interest in a share of
Preferred Stock purchasable upon exercise of each Right should approximate the
value of one share of Common Stock.

          In the event that any person or group of affiliated or associated
persons becomes an Acquiring Person, each holder of a Right, other than Rights
beneficially owned by the Acquiring Person (which will thereupon become void),
will thereafter have the right to receive upon exercise of a Right and payment
of the Purchase Price, that number of shares of Common Stock having a market
value of two times the Purchase Price.

          In the event that, after a person or group has become an Acquiring
Person, the Company is acquired in a merger or other business combination
transaction or 50% or more of its consolidated assets or earning power are sold,
proper provision will be made so that each holder of a Right (other than Rights
beneficially owned by an Acquiring Person which will have become void) will
thereafter have the right to receive, upon the exercise thereof at the then
current exercise price of the Right, that number of shares of common stock of
the person with whom the Company has engaged in the foregoing transaction (or
its parent), which number of shares at the time of such transaction will have a
market value of two times the Purchase Price.

          At any time after any person or group becomes an Acquiring Person and
prior to the acquisition by such person or group of 50% or more of the
outstanding shares of Common Stock or the occurrence of an event described in
the prior paragraph, the Board of Directors of the Company may exchange the
Rights (other than Rights owned by such person or group which will have become
void), in whole or in part, at an exchange ratio of one share of Common Stock,
or a fractional share of Preferred Stock (or of a share of a similar class or
series of the Company's preferred stock having similar rights, preferences and
privileges) of equivalent value, per Right (subject to adjustment).

          With certain exceptions, no adjustment in the Purchase Price will be
required until cumulative adjustments require an adjustment of at least 1% in
such Purchase Price. No fractional shares of Preferred Stock will be issued
(other than fractions which are integral multiples of one one-thousandth of a
share of Preferred Stock, which may, at the election of the Company, be
evidenced by depositary receipts) and in lieu thereof, an adjustment in cash
will be made based on the market price of the Preferred Stock on the last
trading day prior to the date of exercise.

          At any time prior to the time an Acquiring Person becomes such, the
Board of Directors of the Company may redeem the Rights in whole, but not in
part, at a price of $.01 per Right (the "Redemption Price"). The redemption of
the Rights may
be made effective at such time, on such basis and with such conditions as the
Board of Directors in its sole discretion may establish. Immediately upon any
redemption of the Rights, the right to exercise the Rights will terminate and
the only right of the holders of Rights will be to receive the Redemption Price.

          For so long as the Rights are then redeemable, the Company may, except
with respect to the redemption price, amend the Rights in any manner. After the
Rights are no longer redeemable, the Company may, except with respect to the
redemption price, amend the Rights in any manner that does not adversely affect
the interests of holders of the Rights.

          Until a Right is exercised, the holder thereof, as such, will have no
rights as a stockholder of the Company, including, without limitation, the right
to vote or to receive dividends.

          A copy of the Rights Agreement has been filed with the Securities and
Exchange Commission as an Exhibit to a Registration Statement on Form 8-A dated
October 15, 1996. A copy of the Rights Agreement is available free of charge
from the Company. This summary description of the Rights does not purport to be
complete and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the Rights Agreement,
as the same may be amended from time to time, which is hereby incorporated
herein by reference.