Exhibit 99.1

Contact:	Press	Investors
	Jim Sheehan	Mary T. Conway
	SeaChange	Conway Communications
	1-978-897-0100 x3064	1-781-772-1679
	jim.sheehan@schange.com	marytconway@comcast.net

SEACHANGE INTERNATIONAL REPORTS

FIRST QUARTER FISCAL 2018 RESULTS

ACTON, Mass. (June 6, 2017) – SeaChange International, Inc. (NASDAQ: SEAC) today reported first quarter fiscal 2018 revenue of $16.7 million and U.S. GAAP loss from operations of $5.5 million, or $0.16 per basic share, compared to first quarter fiscal 2017 revenue of $21.6 million and U.S. GAAP loss from operations of $9.6 million, or $0.28 per basic share.

The Company’s U.S. GAAP first quarter fiscal 2018 results included non-GAAP charges of $3.8 million, which consisted primarily of severance and other restructuring costs of $2.1 million, stock-based compensation of $0.9 million and amortization of intangible assets from prior acquisitions of $0.6 million, while the first quarter fiscal 2017 results included $2.8 million of similar non-GAAP charges. The non-GAAP loss from operations for the first quarter of fiscal 2018 was $1.7 million, or $0.05 per basic share, compared to the first quarter of fiscal 2017 non-GAAP loss from operations of $6.8 million, or $0.20 per share.

Ed Terino, Chief Executive Officer, SeaChange, said, “In the first quarter of fiscal 2018, we saw success with existing and new customers for IP video and cloud-based deployments, as well as green field customer opportunities globally for our end-to-end solutions, all of which are collectively strengthening our pipeline for the year. At the same time, our ongoing restructuring initiatives yielded positive results more quickly. We continue to be focused on achieving a return to profitability, positive cash flow and revenue growth in the second half of this fiscal year.”

Peter Faubert, Chief Financial Officer, SeaChange, said, “We are pleased with our progress starting out the fiscal year, as we achieved revenue within our guidance range, but as importantly, well exceeded our forecast for non-GAAP EPS results due to higher margins and lower operating expense. Our gross profit margin was 59 percent, progressing to our goal of attaining margins in the low 60s on a recurring basis, especially as our revenue mix continues to transition from perpetual licenses to a monthly recurring revenue or SaaS basis.”

“We’re on target to achieve a total of $38 million in cost savings on an annual run-rate basis from the program we started last year, which will include approximately $17 million to $18 million in annual run-rate savings in fiscal 2018,” Faubert added. “As Ed notes, we remain focused on returning the company to profitability and revenue growth in the second half of fiscal 2018. While we expect that the transition to subscription-based revenue models for more opportunities will pressure our top-line results in the short term, we believe this will improve both the visibility into and predictability of our revenue growth.”

SeaChange ended the first quarter of fiscal 2018 with cash, cash equivalents, restricted cash and marketable securities of approximately $37 million, and no debt outstanding.

Outlook

SeaChange anticipates second quarter fiscal 2018 revenue to be in the range of $17 million to $20 million, U.S. GAAP loss from operations to be in the range of $0.13 to $0.07 per basic share, and non-GAAP loss from operations to be in the range of $0.09 to $0.03 per basic share. For full fiscal 2018, SeaChange continues to anticipate revenue to be in the range of $80 million to $90 million, and U.S. GAAP loss from operations to be in the range of $0.37 to $0.25 per basic share and non-GAAP operating income to be in the range of a loss of $0.10 per basic share to income of $0.02 per diluted share.

These GAAP estimates are subject to a number of variables that are outside of management’s control, including the size of restructuring expenses, which are influenced by the timing of certain non-U.S. restructuring activities, and stock price fluctuations. The Company has made no provision for restructuring expense in its outlook for the second quarter of fiscal 2018.

Conference Call

The Company will host a conference call to discuss its first quarter fiscal 2018 results at 5:00 p.m. ET today, Tuesday, June 6, 2017. The call may be accessed by dialing 877-407-8037 (U.S.) and 201-689-8037 (international) and via live webcast at www.schange.com/IR. The webcast replay will be archived on the investor relations section of the Company’s website at www.schange.com/IR.

About SeaChange International

Enabling our customers to deliver billions of premium video streams across a matrix of pay-TV and OTT platforms, SeaChange (Nasdaq:SEAC) empowers service providers, broadcasters, content owners and brand advertisers to entertain audiences, engage consumers and expand business opportunities. As an Emmy winning organization with nearly 25 years of experience, we give media businesses the content management, delivery and monetization capabilities they need to craft an individualized branded experience for every viewer that sets the pace for quality and value worldwide. For more information, please visit www.schange.com.

Safe Harbor Provision

Any statements contained in this press release that do not describe historical facts, including regarding anticipated revenue, income from operations, cost savings and other financial matters, are neither promises nor guarantees and may constitute “forward-looking statements” as that term is defined in the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements may include words such as “may,” “might,” “will,” “should,” “expects,” “plans,” “anticipates,” “believes,” “estimates,” “predicts,” “potential” or “continue,” the negative of these terms and other comparable terminology. Any such forward-looking statements contained herein are based on current assumptions, estimates and expectations, but are subject to a number of known and unknown risks and significant business, economic and competitive uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ materially from expectations. Numerous factors could cause actual future results to differ materially from current expectations expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements, including, without limitation, the following: the continued spending by the Company’s customers on video systems and services and expenses we may incur in fulfilling customer arrangements; the continued development of the multiscreen video and OTT market; the success of our efforts to introduce SaaS-based multiscreen service offerings; the Company’s ability to successfully introduce new products or enhancements to existing products and the rate of decline in revenue attributable to our legacy products; the Company’s transition to being a company that primarily provides software solutions; worldwide economic cycles; measures taken to address the variability in the market for our products and services; the loss of or reduction in demand, or the return of product, by one of the Company’s large customers or the failure of revenue acceptance criteria in a given fiscal quarter; consolidation in the television service providers industry; the cancellation or deferral of purchases of the Company’s products; the length of the Company’s sales cycles; any decline in demand or average selling prices for our products and services; failure to manage product transitions; failure to achieve our financial forecasts due to inaccurate sales forecasts or other factors, including due to expenses we may incur in fulfilling customer arrangements; net losses incurred by the Company and potential reduction in its cash position; the implementation of restructuring programs; the Company’s ability to manage its growth; the risks associated with international operations; the ability of the Company and its intermediaries to comply with the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act; foreign currency fluctuation; the Company’s ability to protect its intellectual property rights and the expenses that may be incurred by the Company to protect its intellectual property rights; an unfavorable result of current or future litigation relating to the Company’s intellectual property; content providers limiting the scope of content licensed for use in the video-on-demand and OTT market or other limitations in materials we use to provide our products and services; the Company’s ability to obtain necessary licenses, services or distribution rights for third-party technology; the Company’s ability to compete in its marketplace; the Company’s ability to respond to changing technologies; the Company’s ability to realize the benefits of completed or future acquisitions; the impact of acquisitions, divestitures or investments made by the Company; the Company’s ability to raise additional funds through capital markets on favorable terms and in a timely manner; the Company’s ability to access sufficient funding to finance desired growth and operations; the performance of the companies in which the Company has taken non-controlling equity positions; any impairment of the Company’s assets; the impact of changes in the market on the value of our investments; changes in the regulatory environment; the Company’s ability to hire and retain highly skilled employees; the availability of shares to provide adequate equity incentives to employees of the Company; the ability of the Company to manage and oversee the outsourcing of engineering work; additional tax liabilities to which the Company may be subject; any breach of the Company’s security measures and customer data or our data being obtained unlawfully; service interruptions or delays from our third-party data center hosting facilities; disruptions to the Company’s information technology systems; uncertainties of regulation of Internet and data traveling over the Internet; the volatility of our stock; actions that may be taken by significant stockholders; if securities analysts do not publish favorable research or reports about our business; our use of non-GAAP reporting; the ability of the Company to remediate identified material weaknesses in certain internal controls over financial reporting; the Company’s use of estimates in accounting for the Company’s contracts; the performance of the Company’s third-party vendors; the Company’s entry into fixed price contracts and the related risk of cost overruns; the risks associated with purchasing material components from sole suppliers and using a limited number of third-party manufacturers; compliance with conflict minerals regulations; terrorist acts, conflicts, wars and geopolitical uncertainties; the Company’s Delaware anti-takeover provisions; and the effect on revenue and reported results of a change in financial accounting standards. These risks and other risk factors that could cause actual results to differ from those anticipated are detailed

in various publicly available documents filed by the Company from time to time with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC), which are available at www.sec.gov, including but not limited to, such information appearing under the caption “Risk Factors” in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the SEC on April 17, 2017. Any forward-looking statements should be considered in light of those risk factors. The Company cautions readers not to rely on any such forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date they are made. The Company disclaims any intent or obligation to publicly update or revise any such forward-looking statements to reflect any change in Company expectations or future events, conditions or circumstances on which any such forward-looking statements may be based, or that may affect the likelihood that actual results may differ from those set forth in such forward-looking statements.

SeaChange International, Inc.

Preliminary Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets

(Amounts in thousands)

	April 30,	January 31,
	2017	2017
	(Unaudited)
Assets
Cash and cash equivalents	$26,843	$28,302
Restricted cash	7	109
Marketable securities	10,234	10,244
Accounts and other receivables, net	15,225	25,985
Unbilled receivables	7,280	6,553
Inventories, net	597	770
Prepaid expenses and other current assets	2,415	2,393
Property and equipment, net	11,156	11,485
Goodwill and intangible assets, net	25,905	25,890
Other assets	4,019	4,336

Total assets	$103,681	$116,067

Liabilities and Stockholders’ Equity
Accounts payable and other current liabilities	$9,904	$14,906
Deferred revenues	11,669	14,936
Deferred tax liabilities and income taxes payable	16,584	16,159
Other long term liabilities	544	530

Total liabilities	38,701	46,531

Total stockholders’ equity	64,980	69,536

Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity	$103,681	$116,067

SeaChange International, Inc.

Preliminary Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations

(Unaudited, amounts in thousands, except per share data)

	Three Months Ended
	April 30,
	2017	2016
Revenues:
Products	$2,749	$4,200
Services	13,918	17,370

Total revenues	16,667	21,570

Cost of revenues:
Products	554	1,574
Services	5,807	10,459
Provision for loss contract	173	—
Amortization of intangible assets	254	316
Stock-based compensation expense	2	72

Total cost of revenues	6,790	12,421

Gross profit	9,877	9,149

Operating expenses:
Research and development	5,378	8,699
Selling and marketing	2,937	3,557
General and administrative	3,643	4,071
Amortization of intangible assets	344	450
Stock-based compensation expense	875	40
Professional fees - other	21	132
Severance and other restructuring costs	2,147	1,775

Total operating expenses	15,345	18,724

Loss from operations	(5,468)	(9,575)
Other income, net	366	922

Loss before income taxes	(5,102)	(8,653)
Income tax provision	269	254

Net loss	$(5,371)	$(8,907)

Net loss per share:
Basic	$(0.15)	$(0.26)

Diluted	$(0.15)	$(0.26)

Weighted average common shares outstanding:
Basic	35,309	34,354

Diluted	35,309	34,354

SeaChange International, Inc.

Preliminary Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows

(Unaudited, amounts in thousands)

	Three Months Ended
	April 30,
	2017	2016
Cash flows from operating activities:
Net loss	$(5,371)	$(8,907)
Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash used in operating activities:
Depreciation and amortization of property and equipment	620	794
Provision for loss contract	173	—
Amortization of intangible assets	598	766
Stock-based compensation expense	877	112
Deferred income taxes	388	—
Other non-cash reconciling items, net	(92)	40
Changes in operating assets and liabilities, excluding impact of acquisition:
Accounts receivable	10,869	5,363
Unbilled receivables	(630)	(664)
Inventories	154	(91)
Prepaid expenses and other assets	403	853
Accounts payable	(1,717)	(1,736)
Accrued expenses	(3,865)	(2,125)
Deferred revenues	(3,310)	80
Other operating activities	(14)	29

Total cash used in operating activities	(917)	(5,486)

Cash flows from investing activities:
Purchases of property and equipment	(196)	(159)
Purchases of marketable securities	—	(502)
Other investing activities	221	(106)

Total provided by (used in) in investing activities	25	(767)

Cash flows from financing activities:
Proceeds from issuance of common stock	26	33
Payments of withholding tax on RSU vesting	(9)	(76)
Other financing activities	—	(3)

Total cash provided by (used in) financing activities	17	(46)

Effect of exchange rate changes on cash	(584)	(922)

Net decrease in cash and cash equivalents	(1,459)	(7,221)

Cash and cash equivalents, beginning of period	28,302	58,733

Cash and cash equivalents, end of period	$26,843	$51,512

Non-GAAP Measures.

We define non-GAAP (loss) income from operations as U.S. GAAP operating loss plus stock-based compensation expenses, amortization of intangible assets, provision for loss contract, non-operating expense professional fees and severance and other restructuring costs. We discuss non-GAAP (loss) income from operations in our quarterly earnings releases and certain other communications as we believe non-GAAP operating (loss) income from operations is an important measure that is not calculated according to U.S. GAAP. We use non-GAAP (loss) income from operations in internal forecasts and models when establishing internal operating budgets, supplementing the financial results and forecasts reported to our Board of Directors, determining a component of bonus compensation for executive officers and other key employees based on operating performance and evaluating short-term and long-term operating trends in our operations. We believe that the non-GAAP (loss) income from operations financial measure assists in providing an enhanced understanding of our underlying operational measures to manage the business, to evaluate performance compared to prior periods and the marketplace, and to establish operational goals. We believe that the non-GAAP financial adjustments are useful to investors because they allow investors to evaluate the effectiveness of the methodology and information used by management in our financial and operational decision-making.

Non-GAAP (loss) income from operations is a non-GAAP financial measure and should not be considered in isolation or as a substitute for financial information provided in accordance with U.S. GAAP. This non-GAAP financial measure may not be computed in the same manner as similarly titled measures used by other companies. We expect to continue to incur expenses similar to the financial adjustments described above in arriving at non-GAAP (loss) income from operations and investors should not infer from our presentation of this non-GAAP financial measure that these costs are unusual, infrequent or non-recurring.

In managing and reviewing our business performance, we exclude a number of items required by U.S. GAAP. Management believes that excluding these items is useful in understanding the trends and managing our operations. We provide these supplemental non-GAAP measures in order to assist the investment community in seeing SeaChange through the “eyes of management,” and therefore enhance the understanding of SeaChange’s operating performance. Non-GAAP financial measures should be viewed in addition to, not as an alternative to, our reported results prepared in accordance with U.S. GAAP. Our non-GAAP financial measures reflect adjustments based on the following items:

Provision for Loss Contract. We entered a fixed-price customer contract on a multi-year arrangement, which included multiple vendors. As the system integrator on the project, we are subject to any cost overruns or increases with these vendors resulting in delays of acceptance by our customer. Delays of customer acceptance on this project result in incremental expenditures and require us to recognize a loss on this project in the period the determination is made. As a result, we recorded an estimated loss of $9.2 million in fiscal 2016. Subsequently, because of changes in the scope of the project and negotiations with the fixed-price customer, we recorded adjustments since fiscal 2016 totaling $3.9 million to reduce this estimated loss. We believe that the exclusion of this expense allows a comparison of operating results that would otherwise impair comparability between periods.

Amortization of Intangible Assets. We incur amortization expense of intangible assets related to various acquisitions that have been made in recent years. These intangible assets are valued at the time of acquisition, are then amortized over a period of several years after the acquisition and generally cannot be changed or influenced by management after the acquisition. We believe that exclusion of these expenses allows comparisons of operating results that are consistent over time for the Company’s newly-acquired and long-held businesses.

Stock-based Compensation Expense. We incur expenses related to stock-based compensation included in our U.S. GAAP presentation of cost of revenues and operating expenses. Although stock-based compensation is an expense we incur and is viewed as a form of compensation, the expense varies in amount from period to period, and is affected by market forces that are difficult to predict and are not within the control of management, such as the market price and volatility of our shares, risk-free interest rates and the expected term and forfeiture rates of the awards.

Professional Fees - Other. We have excluded the effect of legal and other professional costs associated with our acquisitions, divestitures, litigation and strategic alternatives because the amounts are considered significant non-operating expenses.

Severance and Other Restructuring Costs. We incur charges due to the restructuring of our business, including severance charges and facility reductions resulting from our restructuring and streamlining efforts and any changes due to revised estimates, which we generally would not have otherwise incurred in the periods presented as part of our continuing operations.

The following table includes the reconciliations of our U.S. GAAP loss from operations, the most directly comparable U.S. GAAP financial measure, to our non-GAAP (loss) income from operations for the three months ended April 30, 2017 and 2016 (amounts in thousands, except per share and percentage data):

SeaChange International, Inc.

Preliminary Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP

(Unaudited, amounts in thousands, except per share data and percentages)

	Three Months Ended			Three Months Ended
	April 30, 2017			April 30, 2016
	GAAP			GAAP
	As Reported	Adjustments	Non-GAAP	As Reported	Adjustments	Non-GAAP
Revenues:
Products	$2,749	$—	$2,749	$4,200	$—	$4,200
Services	13,918	—	13,918	17,370	—	17,370

Total revenues	16,667	—	16,667	21,570	—	21,570

Cost of revenues:
Products	554	—	554	1,574	—	1,574
Services	5,807	—	5,807	10,459	—	10,459
Provision for loss contract	173	(173)	—	—	—	—
Amortization of intangible assets	254	(254)	—	316	(316)	—
Stock-based compensation	2	(2)	—	72	(72)	—

Total cost of revenues	6,790	(429)	6,361	12,421	(388)	12,033

Gross profit	9,877	429	10,306	9,149	388	9,537

Gross profit percentage	59.3%	2.6%	61.9%	42.4%	1.8%	44.2%
Operating expenses:
Research and development	5,378	—	5,378	8,699	—	8,699
Selling and marketing	2,937	—	2,937	3,557	—	3,557
General and administrative	3,643	—	3,643	4,071	—	4,071
Amortization of intangible assets	344	(344)	—	450	(450)	—
Stock-based compensation expense	875	(875)	—	40	(40)	—
Professional fees - other	21	(21)	—	132	(132)	—
Severance and other restructuring costs	2,147	(2,147)	—	1,775	(1,775)	—

Total operating expenses	15,345	(3,387)	11,958	18,724	(2,397)	16,327

(Loss) income from operations	$(5,468)	$3,816	$(1,652)	$(9,575)	$2,785	$(6,790)

(Loss) income from operations percentage	(32.8%)	22.9%	(9.9%)	(44.4%)	12.9%	(31.5%)
Weighted average common shares outstanding:
Basic	35,309	35,309	35,309	34,354	34,354	34,354

Diluted	35,309	35,410	35,309	34,354	34,492	34,354

Non-GAAP operating (loss) income per share:
Basic	$(0.16)	$0.11	$(0.05)	$(0.28)	$0.08	$(0.20)

Diluted	$(0.16)	$0.11	$(0.05)	$(0.28)	$0.08	$(0.20)

SeaChange International, Inc.

Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Gross Margins

(Unaudited, amounts in thousands except percentage data)

	Three Months Ended			Three Months Ended
	April 30, 2017			April 30, 2016
	Total	Product	Service	Total	Product	Service
Revenue	$16,667	$2,749	$13,918	$21,570	$4,200	$17,370
GAAP Gross Profit	$9,877	$2,169	$7,708	$9,149	$2,544	$6,605
Exclude Provision for Loss Contract	173	—	173	—	—	—
Exclude amortization of intangible assets	254	26	228	316	82	234
Exclude stock based compensation	2	—	2	72	—	72

Non-GAAP Gross Profit	$10,306	$2,195	$8,111	$9,537	$2,626	$6,911

Non-GAAP Gross Profit, %	61.8%	79.8%	58.3%	44.2%	62.5%	39.8%

The following table reconciles the Company’s forecasted U.S. GAAP loss from operations to the Company’s forecasted non-GAAP loss from operations for the Company’s second fiscal quarter and full fiscal 2018:

SeaChange International, Inc.

Reconciliation of GAAP to Non-GAAP Guidance

(Unaudited, amounts in thousands except per share data)

	Three Months Ended			Twelve Months Ended
	July 31, 2017			January 31, 2018
GAAP revenue guidance	$17,000	to	$20,000	$80,000	to	$90,000
GAAP loss from operations per basic share	$(0.13)		$(0.07)	$(0.37)		$(0.25)
Exclude stock compensation expense	0.02		0.02	0.08		0.08
Exclude amortization of intangible assets	0.02		0.02	0.08		0.08
Exclude professional fees associated with divestitures	—		—	—		—
Exclude restructuring costs	—		—	0.11		0.11

Non-GAAP (loss) income from operations per basic or diluted share	$(0.09)		$(0.03)	$(0.10)		$0.02

SeaChange International, Inc.

Supplemental Schedule - Revenue Breakout

(Unaudited, amounts in thousands)

	Three Months Ended
	April 30,
	2017	2016
Product Revenues:
Video Platform	$1,848	$2,566
Advertising	—	121
User Experience	118	376
Hardware	684	526
Third-party Products	99	611

Total Product Revenues	2,749	4,200

Service Revenues:
Maintenance and Support	8,264	9,676
SaaS	1,394	987
Professional Services - Video Platform	4,182	4,712
User Experience	78	1,995

Total Service Revenues	13,918	17,370

Total Revenues	$16,667	$21,570