Exhibit 99.1

NEWS RELEASE
October 22nd, 2012
Trading Symbols:
AMM :TSX, AAU : NYSE MKT
www.almadenminerals.com

ALMADEN DRILLING HITS 25.7 METERS OF 3.4 G/T AUEQ (0.86 G/T AU, 127.8 G/T AG) ON NORTHEAST EXTENSION, HITS ON IXTACA NORTH ZONE
AND EXPANDS MAIN IXTACA ZONE TO NORTHEAST

Almaden Minerals Ltd. (“Almaden” or “the Company”; AMM: TSX; AAU: NYSE MKT) is pleased to announce further results from the on-going exploration drill program at the Company’s 100% owned Tuligtic project, Mexico with holes TU-12-176, 181, 186, 188 to 195, 197 to, 200, 203, 205, 206, 209 and 216. The holes were drilled as part of Almaden’s on-going four drill exploration program which has been designed to enable the calculation of a preliminary resource estimate. The intersections reported today demonstrate the continuity of the known mineralisation as well as the presence of high grades locally. Highlights from the holes released today include the following intercepts (a more complete list of intercepts is shown in the table below):

Hole TU-12-181                                           IXTACA NORTH ZONE SECTION 10+850N:
102.70 meters @ 0.32 g/t gold and 60.3 g/t silver (1.5 g/t gold equivalent)
Including                      11.40 meters @ 0.24 g/t gold and 402.7 g/t silver (8.3 g/t gold equivalent)
And                      3.55 meters @ 0.54 g/t gold and 928.4 g/t silver (19.1 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-186                                           NORTHEAST EXTENSION SECTION 498+35N:
65.91 meters @ 0.49 g/t gold and 12.8 g/t silver (0.7 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-190                                           NORTHEAST EXTENSION SECTION 500+50N:
42.15 meters @ 1.06 g/t gold and 47.4 g/t silver (2.0 g/t gold equivalent)
Including                      7.00 meters @ 1.34 g/t gold and 72.0 g/t silver (2.8 g/t gold equivalent)
And                      11.80 meters @ 1.67 g/t gold and 71.7 g/t silver (3.1 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-191                                           NORTHEAST EXTENSION SECTION 498+35N:
86.76 meters @ 0.31 g/t gold and 22.6 g/t silver (0.8 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-194                                           NORTHEAST EXTENSION SECTION 500+50N:
58.80 meters @ 1.04 g/t gold and 19.4 g/t silver (1.4 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-198                                           IXTACA NORTH ZONE SECTION 10+200E:
35.85 meters @ 0.73 g/t gold and 2.2 g/t silver (0.8 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-199                                           NORTHEAST EXTENSION SECTION 500+50N:
79.80 meters @ 0.84 g/t gold and 20.6 g/t silver (1.3 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-205                                           NORTHEAST EXTENSION SECTION 500+50N:
51.00 meters @ 0.51 g/t gold and 6.0 g/t silver (0.6 g/t gold equivalent)
Including                      4.50 meters @ 3.41 g/t gold and 6.1 g/t silver (3.5 g/t gold equivalent)
39.00 meters @ 0.61 g/t gold and 88.8 g/t silver (2.4 g/t gold equivalent)
Including                      25.70 meters @ 0.86 g/t gold and 127.8 g/t silver (3.4 g/t gold equivalent)
7.00 meters @ 0.19 g/t gold and 207.2 g/t silver (4.3 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole TU-12-216                                           MAIN IXTACA ZONE SECTION 10+950 E:
90.50 meters @ 0.61 g/t gold and 2.4 g/t silver (0.7 g/t gold equivalent)
Including                      7.0 meters @ 1.54 g/t gold and 3.4 g/t silver (1.6 g/t gold equivalent)

Hole #	From (m)	To (m)	Interval (m)	Au (g/t)	Ag (g/t)	AuEq (g/t)	AgEq (g/t)	SECTION
TU-12-176	124.45	126.90	2.45	0.33	1.5	0.4	18	TU-12-176
TU-12-181	64.40	167.10	102.70	0.32	60.3	1.5	76	10+850E
including	134.60	164.10	29.50	0.14	183.4	3.8	190
including	152.20	163.60	11.40	0.24	402.7	8.3	415
including	152.20	155.75	3.55	0.54	928.4	19.1	955
TU-12-181	175.95	192.10	16.15	0.05	38.9	0.8	41
TU-12-181	207.10	224.94	17.84	0.30	47.2	1.2	62
including	220.30	224.94	4.64	0.85	131.3	3.5	174
TU-12-186	18.29	84.20	65.91	0.49	12.8	0.7	37	498+35N
including	24.00	37.70	13.70	0.83	36.5	1.6	78
including	61.20	67.20	6.00	0.82	4.9	0.9	46
TU-12-188	90.22	109.00	18.78	0.22	0.2	0.2	11	10+100E
TU-12-188	139.00	158.50	19.50	0.32	3.1	0.4	19
TU-12-188	264.80	267.30	2.50	0.24	8.2	0.4	20
TU-12-189	144.00	148.35	4.35	0.60	0.0	0.6	30	TU-12-189
TU-12-190	85.00	89.00	4.00	0.25	0.5	0.3	13	500+50N
TU-12-190	100.00	112.00	12.00	0.17	1.9	0.2	11
TU-12-190	259.00	272.90	13.90	0.17	12.3	0.4	21
TU-12-190	278.85	321.00	42.15	1.06	47.4	2.0	101
including	293.50	300.50	7.00	1.34	72.0	2.8	139
including	306.00	317.80	11.80	1.67	71.7	3.1	155
including	310.00	314.00	4.00	2.45	116.4	4.8	239
TU-12-190	377.90	386.00	8.10	0.24	2.8	0.3	15
TU-12-191	15.24	102.00	86.76	0.31	22.6	0.8	38	498+35N
including	70.40	84.40	14.00	0.16	48.5	1.1	56
including	93.90	97.00	3.10	0.25	117.0	2.6	129
TU-12-192	141.50	145.00	3.50	0.32	0.9	0.3	17	10+100E
TU-12-192	237.60	240.60	3.00	0.80	1.5	0.8	42
TU-12-193	67.00	96.00	29.00	0.53	3.4	0.6	30	10+250E
TU-12-193	107.50	112.50	5.00	0.22	3.1	0.3	14
TU-12-194	83.50	87.50	4.00	0.46	2.8	0.5	26	500+50N
TU-12-194	112.60	124.00	11.40	0.22	4.4	0.3	16
TU-12-194	272.50	279.50	7.00	0.15	40.9	1.0	49
TU-12-194	294.50	300.00	5.50	0.14	81.1	1.8	88
TU-12-194	313.00	371.80	58.80	1.04	19.4	1.4	71
including	317.60	347.00	29.40	1.63	23.9	2.1	106
TU-12-195	51.25	58.30	7.05	0.22	2.1	0.3	13	10+250E
TU-12-195	181.00	186.50	5.50	0.23	2.0	0.3	14
TU-12-197	173.00	177.00	4.00	0.52	0.7	0.5	27	10+250E
TU-12-198	57.00	92.85	35.85	0.73	2.2	0.8	39	10+200E
including	68.50	90.00	21.50	1.04	2.9	1.1	55
TU-12-198	112.00	117.00	5.00	0.21	8.3	0.4	19
TU-12-198	171.50	180.30	8.80	0.12	12.0	0.4	18
TU-12-199	66.00	70.00	4.00	0.26	2.4	0.3	15	500+50N
TU-12-199	91.00	93.80	2.80	0.19	3.0	0.3	13
TU-12-199	344.20	424.00	79.80	0.84	20.6	1.3	63
including	365.70	385.70	20.00	1.19	25.6	1.7	85
including	396.50	402.50	6.00	1.43	16.0	1.8	88
including	408.30	423.40	15.10	1.48	37.6	2.2	112
including	414.30	416.10	1.80	4.90	175.5	8.4	421
TU-12-200	29.00	33.00	4.00	0.27	1.0	0.3	15	10+200E
TU-12-200	41.00	48.16	7.16	0.37	2.6	0.4	21
TU-12-200	54.75	65.60	10.85	0.24	4.1	0.3	16
TU-12-200	100.00	103.00	3.00	0.24	1.0	0.3	13
TU-12-203	48.00	49.70	1.70	0.24	1.5	0.3	14	10+200E
TU-12-205	81.00	132.00	51.00	0.51	6.0	0.6	32	500+50N
including	101.50	106.00	4.50	3.41	6.1	3.5	177
TU-12-205	254.50	293.50	39.00	0.61	88.8	2.4	119
including	255.50	281.20	25.70	0.86	127.8	3.4	171
including	256.00	272.40	16.40	1.08	164.8	4.4	219
including	256.00	265.00	9.00	1.57	244.5	6.5	323
TU-12-205	312.00	319.00	7.00	0.19	207.2	4.3	217
TU-12-206	175.00	191.00	16.00	0.57	80.4	2.2	109	10+475E
TU-12-209	143.00	145.00	2.00	0.10	10.8	0.3	16	10+475E
TU-12-209	152.00	154.20	2.20	0.08	8.3	0.2	12
TU-12-209	168.50	174.40	5.90	0.17	9.2	0.4	18
TU-12-216	14.63	33.00	18.37	0.33	1.9	0.4	19	10+950E
TU-12-216	62.50	153.00	90.50	0.61	2.4	0.7	33
including	79.50	86.50	7.00	1.54	3.4	1.6	80
including	97.00	100.50	3.50	1.02	2.7	1.1	54
TU-12-216	203.10	216.60	13.50	0.34	19.9	0.7	37

J.D. Poliquin, Chairman of Almaden commented, “These new results show the continued expansion of the overall Ixtaca vein system. The potential for growth is shown by Hole TU-12-216 which represents a 70 meter step out to the northeast from previous drilling in the Main Ixtaca Zone.”

The Company currently has four drills operating on the Tuligtic project. Almaden plans to continue drilling operations throughout 2012. Below is a plan map, relevant sections and table of significant intervals which will be posted to the Company’s website (www.almadenminerals.com).

About the Ixtaca Property
The 100% owned Ixtaca zone is a blind discovery made by the Company in 2010. The Main Ixtaca and Ixtaca North Zones of veining are thought to have a north-easterly trend. Holes to date suggest that the Main Ixtaca and Ixtaca North Zones are sub vertical with local variations. This interpretation suggests that true widths range from approximately 35% of intersected widths for a -70 degree hole to 94% of intersected widths for a -20 degree hole. The drilling completed to date has traced mineralisation over 1,000 meters along this northeast trend. Based upon observations at surface and of core as drilling progresses, there seems to be a variety of veinlet orientations within the Northeast Extension Zone however overall the zone is currently interpreted to be dipping shallowly to the west and striking roughly north-south.

Mr. Norm Dircks, P.Geo., a qualified person (“QP”) under the meaning of NI 43-101, is the QP and project manager of Almaden’s Ixtaca program and reviewed the technical information in this news release. The analyses reported were carried out at ALS Chemex Laboratories of North Vancouver using industry standard analytical techniques. For gold, samples are first analysed by fire assay and atomic absorption spectroscopy (“AAS”). Samples that return values greater than 10 g/t gold using this technique are then re-analysed by fire assay but with a gravimetric finish. Silver is first analysed by Inductively Coupled Plasma - Atomic Emission Spectroscopy (“ICP-AES”). Samples that return values greater than 100 g/t silver by ICP-AES are then re analysed by HF-HNO3-HCLO4 digestion with HCL leach and ICP-AES finish. Of these samples those that return silver values greater than 1,500 g/t are further analysed by fire assay with a gravimetric finish.

Blanks, field duplicates and certified standards were inserted into the sample stream as part of Almaden’s quality assurance and control program which complies with National Instrument 43-101 requirements. Gold equivalent (“AuEq” or “Gold Eq.”) and silver equivalent (“AgEq” or “Silver Eq.”) values were calculated using silver to gold ratios of 50 to 1. The ratio of 50 to 1 was used for the sake of consistency with past news releases. Intervals that returned assays below detection were assigned zero values. Metallurgical recoveries and net smelter returns are assumed to be 100% for these calculations.

About Almaden
Almaden is a well-financed (cash, gold inventory and equity investments totalling approximately $35.6 MM as of July 4, 2012) mineral exploration company working in North America. The company has assembled mineral exploration projects, including the Ixtaca Zone and the Tuligtic project, through its grass roots exploration efforts. While the properties are largely at early stages of development they represent exciting opportunities for the discovery of significant gold, silver and copper deposits as evidenced at Ixtaca. Almaden’s business model is to find and acquire mineral properties and develop them by seeking option agreements with others who can acquire an interest in a project by making payments and exploration expenditures. Through this means the company has been able to expose its shareholders to discovery and capital gain without the funding and consequent share dilution that would be required if the company were to have developed these projects without a partner. The company intends to expand this business model, described by some as prospect generation, by more aggressively exploring several of its projects including the Ixtaca Zone.

On Behalf of the Board of Directors

“Morgan Poliquin”
Morgan J. Poliquin, Ph.D., P.Eng.
President, CEO and Director
Almaden Minerals Ltd.

Neither the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) nor the NYSE MKT have reviewed or accepted responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of the contents of this news release which has been prepared by management.. Except for the statements of historical fact contained herein, certain information presented constitutes "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995 and Canadian securities laws. Such forward-looking statements, including but not limited to, those with respect to potential expansion of mineralization, potential size of mineralized zone, and size and timing of exploration and development programs, estimated project capital and other project costs  and the timing of submission and receipt and availability

of regulatory approvals involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors which may cause the actual results, performance or achievement of Almaden to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Such factors include, among others, risks related to international operations and joint ventures, the actual results of current exploration activities, conclusions of economic evaluations, uncertainty in the estimation of mineral resources, changes in project parameters as plans continue to be refined, environmental risks and hazards, increased infrastructure and/or operating costs, labour and employment matters, and government regulation and permitting requirements as well as those factors discussed in the section entitled "Risk Factors" in Almaden's Annual Information form and Almaden's latest Form 20-F on file with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission in Washington, D.C. Although Almaden has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially, there may be other factors that cause results not to be as anticipated, estimated or intended. There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate as actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Almaden disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, other than as required pursuant to applicable securities laws. Accordingly, readers should not place undue reliance on forward-looking statements.