Exhibit 99.1

Sirona Announces $100 Million Share Repurchase Authorization

Long Island City, New York, August 22, 2011 - Sirona (Nasdaq: SIRO), the dental technology leader, today announced that the Company’s Board of Directors has authorized the repurchase of up to $100 million of the Company’s common stock.

Jost Fischer, Chairman and CEO of Sirona commented: “The initiation of the share repurchase program reflects our confidence in the business and our ongoing commitment to increase shareholder value. Given the strong growth Sirona has experienced in the first nine months of fiscal 2011, and current low net debt levels, the share buyback program represents an excellent use of the Company’s substantial cash flow generating capabilities.”

The program is effective immediately and runs through September 30, 2014. Purchases may be made in the open market or in privately negotiated transactions from time to time, as determined by Sirona’s management and in accordance with the requirements of the Securities and Exchange Commission. As of August 3, 2011, the number of shares outstanding of Sirona’s Common Stock, par value $.01 per share, was 56,207,781.

About Sirona Dental Systems, Inc.

Sirona, the dental technology leader, has served dealers and dentists worldwide for more than 130 years. Sirona develops, manufactures, and markets a complete line of dental products, including CAD CAM restoration systems (CEREC), digital intra-oral, panoramic and 3D imaging systems, dental treatment centers and handpieces. Visit http://www.sirona.com for more information about Sirona and its products.

Contact information:

John Sweeney, CFA

Vice President, Investor Relations

Sirona Dental Systems, Inc.

+1 718 482 2184

john.sweeney@sirona.com

This press release contains forward-looking information about Sirona Dental Systems, Inc.’s financial results, guidance and estimates, business prospects, and products and services that involve substantial risks and uncertainties or other factors that may cause actual results, performance or achievements to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. You can identify these statements by the use of words such as “may,” “could,” “estimate,” “will,” “believe,” “anticipate,” “think,” “intend,” “expect,” “project,” “plan,” “target,” “forecast”, and similar words and expressions which identify forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such statements are not guarantees of future performance and involve known and unknown risks and uncertainties, and other factors. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on such statements,

which speak only as of the date hereof. For a discussion of such risks, uncertainties and other matters that could cause actual results to differ materially, including risks relating to, among other factors, the market for dental product and services, pricing, future sales volume of the Company’s products, the possibility of changing economic, market and competitive conditions, dependence on products, dependence on key personnel, technological developments, intense competition, market uncertainties, dependence on distributors, ability to manage growth, dependence on key suppliers, dependence on key members of management, government regulation, acquisitions and affiliations and currency exchange rate fluctuations, readers are urged to carefully review and consider various disclosures made by the Company in its Annual Report on Form 10-K and in its reports on Forms 10-Q and 8-K filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, which can be accessed through the SEC’s website, www.sec.gov. This presentation contains non GAAP financial measures, which should not be viewed in isolation and do not purport to be an alternative to net income (loss) as an indicator of operating performance or an alternative to cash flows from operating activities as a measure of liquidity. The Company assumes no obligation to and expressly disclaims any obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements contained in this document to reflect new information or future events or developments after the date any such statement is made.