Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

    Attention Business Editors:
    Goldbelt announces award of 9 new exploration licenses in Burkina Faso
    which replace the previous Belahouro exploration permit

    TORONTO, July 20 /CNW/ - Goldbelt Resources Ltd. (TSXV: GLD) reports that
9 new exploration permits have been awarded by the Burkina Faso government to
Goldbelt Resources (West Africa) SARL, a wholly owned subsidiary of Goldbelt
Resources Ltd.. These new exploration permits replace the original Belahouro
exploration permit which had expired in April 2006.
    The Belahouro license permit was a single permit that covered an area of
1,187 km(2) and contained the Inata and other known Belahouro resource
projects namely, Minfo, Sayouba, Pali West, Souma Village, BSF1, BSF16,
N'Darga, Gassel Garafo, Dumsa and Fete Kole. The 9 new exploration permits
cover all of the original Belahouro tenement area and extends into highly
prospective areas surrounding Belahouro. The total area covered by the new
permits is 2,250 km(2). Goldbelt has two existing exploration permits (Oka
Gakinde and Gusselnay) adjacent to Belahouro which add a further 496 km(2) to
its control in this strategic region. Belahouro is approximately 220 km north
of Ouagadougou, the capital of Burkina Faso.
    Other Goldbelt's exploration tenements within Burkina Faso include 1,155
km(2) at Hound (Karba, Kopio, Bouhaoun, Lamou, Wakui), 500 km(2) at
Bougouriba (Mandiasso and Diosso) and 65 km(2) at Koupelo (Ouedrogo). Total
exploration permit area controlled by Goldbelt in Burkina Faso is now 4,466
km(2).
    Goldbelt's Inata trend deposits currently have an estimated NI 43-101
resource of 15.65 million tonnes grading an average of 1.9 g/t gold (948,000
oz Au) in the measured and indicated categories and 4.06 million tonnes
grading 1.4 g/t gold (190,000 oz Au) in the inferred category, as reported in
the April 24, 2006 press release, available at www.goldbeltresources.com.
    In December 2005, Goldbelt submitted to the Burkina Faso government its
application for an Exploitation permit (Mining License) over the Inata
deposit. This application is now in the latter stage of evaluation and a
decision is expected early in the fourth quarter of 2006.

    Current drill program
    ---------------------
    Goldbelt is currently carrying out a 35,000 meter resource expansion
drilling program at Inata and other Belahouro projects. Results from this
drilling program were reported in the June 22 and July 18, 2006 press
releases, available at www.goldbeltresources.com.
    Additionally, Goldbelt has commenced a 6,000 meter drilling program at
its other major exploration centre at Hound (Karba) and Bougouriba (Mandiasso
and Diosso) which is approximately 250 km southwest of Ouagadougou. Results
from earlier exploration work at Mandiasso and Diosso were reported in the May
23, 2006 press release, available at www.goldbeltresources.com.

    GOLDBELT RESOURCES LTD.

    Per: "Collin Ellison"
    Collin Ellison, President and CEO

    The TSX Venture Exchange has not reviewed and does not accept
    responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this news release. No
    stock exchange, securities commission or other regulatory authority has
    approved or disapproved the information contained herein. Certain
    statements contained in this disclosure document constitute forward-
    looking statements which are not historical facts and are made pursuant
    to the "safe harbor" provisions under the United States Private
    Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. When used in this document,
    words like "anticipate", "believe", "estimate" and "expect" and similar
    expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements.

    Information concerning exploration results and mineral reserve and
resource estimates may also be deemed to be forward-looking statements, as it
constitutes a prediction of what might be found to be present when and if a
project is actually developed. These forward-looking statements are
necessarily based upon a number of estimates and assumptions that, while
considered reasonable at the time they are made, are inherently subject to a
variety of risks and uncertainties which could cause actual events or results
to differ materially from those reflected in the forward-looking statements,
including, without limitation: uncertainties related to raising sufficient
financing to fund the planned work in a timely manner and on acceptable terms;
changes in planned work resulting from logistical, technical or other factors;
the possibility that results of work will not fulfill projections/expectations
and realize the perceived potential of the Company's projects; uncertainties
involved in the interpretation of drilling results and other tests and the
estimation of gold reserves and resources; risk of accidents, equipment
breakdowns and labour disputes or other unanticipated difficulties or
interruptions; the possibility of environmental issues at the Company's
projects; the possibility of cost overruns or unanticipated expenses in work
programs; the need to obtain permits and comply with environmental laws and
regulations and other government requirements; fluctuations in the price of
gold and other risks and uncertainties.

    The United States Securities and Exchange Commission permits mining
companies in their filings with the SEC to disclose only those mineral
deposits that a company can economically and legally extract or produce. We
may use certain terms in this disclosure document such as resources that are
prescribed by Canadian regulatory policy and guidelines but are not provided
for in the SEC guidelines on publications and filings.

    Forward-looking statements are based on the beliefs, estimates and
opinions of the Company's management or its independent professional
consultants on the date the statements are made. The reader is cautioned that
actual results, performance or achievements may be materially different from
those implied or expressed in such statements.

    %SEDAR: 00004199E          %CIK: 0001013785

    /For further information: For additional information, please visit the
Company's website www.goldbeltresources.com or contact Laura Sandilands,
Investor Relations or Collin Ellison, President and CEO at (416) 364-0557 or
by email to lsandilands(at)goldbeltresources.com/
    (GLD.)

CO:  Goldbelt Resources Ltd.

CNW 14:55e 20-JUL-06