                                  EXHIBIT 99.1

                F A C I L I T Y  L E A S E  A G R E E M E N T

                      MEDITRUST ACQUISITION CORPORATION III

                            (A Delaware Corporation)

                                       as
                                     Lessor

                                       AND

                                ALS LEASING, INC.

                            (A Delaware Corporation)

                                       as
                                     Lessee

                          Dated As Of December 30, 1996

                             For Premises Located At
                                Northampton Manor
                            65 Newtown Richboro Road
                        Richboro, Bucks County, PA 18954

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

                                                                                                                Page No.
                                                                                                                --------

ARTICLE 1           LEASED PROPERTY; TERM; EXTENSIONS                                                             1
         1.1        Leased Property                                                                               1
         1.2        Term                                                                                          2
         1.3        Extended Terms                                                                                2

ARTICLE 2           DEFINITIONS AND RULES OF CONSTRUCTION                                                         3
         2.1        Definitions                                                                                   3
         2.2        Rules of Construction                                                                        19

ARTICLE 3           RENT                                                                                         20
         3.1        Rent for Land, Leased Improvements, Related Rights and Fixtures                              20
                    3.1.1  Base Rent                                                                             20
                    3.1.2  Additional Rent                                                                       20
         3.2        Calculation and Payment of Additional Rent; Annual Reconciliation                            20
                    3.2.1  Estimates and Payments                                                                20
                    3.2.2  Annual Statement                                                                      21
                    3.2.3  Deficits                                                                              21
                    3.2.4  Overpayments                                                                          21
                    3.2.5  Final Determination                                                                   21
                    3.2.6  Best Efforts To Maximize                                                              21
         3.3        Confirmation and Audit of Additional Rent                                                    22
                    3.3.1  Maintain Accounting Systems                                                           22
                    3.3.2  Audit By Lessor                                                                       22
                    3.3.3  Deficiencies and Overpayment                                                          22
                    3.3.4  Survival                                                                              23
         3.4        Additional Charges                                                                           23
         3.5        Leasing Commitment Fee                                                                       23
         3.6        Net Lease                                                                                    23
         3.7        No Lessee Termination or Offset                                                              24
                    3.7.1  No Termination                                                                        24
                    3.7.2  Waiver                                                                                24
                    3.7.3  Independent Covenants                                                                 24
         3.8        Abatement of Rent Limited                                                                    24

ARTICLE 4           IMPOSITIONS; TAXES; UTILITIES;
                    INSURANCE PAYMENTS                                                                           25
         4.1        Payment of Impositions                                                                       25
                    4.1.1  Lessee To Pay                                                                         25
                    4.1.2  Installment Elections                                                                 25

                    4.1.3  Returns and Reports                                                                   25
                    4.1.4  Refunds                                                                               26
                    4.1.5  Protest                                                                               26
         4.2        Notice of Impositions                                                                        26
         4.3        Adjustment of Impositions                                                                    26
         4.4        Utility Charges                                                                              26
         4.5        Insurance Premiums                                                                           27
         4.6        Deposits                                                                                     27
                    4.6.1  Lessor's Option                                                                       27
                    4.6.2  Use of Deposits                                                                       28
                    4.6.3  Deficits                                                                              28
                    4.6.4  Other Properties                                                                      29
                    4.6.5  Transfers                                                                             29
                    4.6.6  Security                                                                              29
                    4.6.7  Return                                                                                29
                    4.6.8  Receipts                                                                              29

ARTICLE 5           OWNERSHIP OF LEASED PROPERTY AND PERSONAL
                    PROPERTY; INSTALLATION, REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT
                    OF PERSONAL PROPERTY                                                                         30
         5.1        Ownership of the Leased Property                                                             30
         5.2        Personal Property; Removal and Replacement of Personal Property                              30
                    5.2.1  Lessee To Equip Facility                                                              30
                    5.2.2  Sufficient Personal Property                                                          30
                    5.2.3  Removal and Replacement; Lessor's Option to Purchase                                  30

ARTICLE 6           SECURITY FOR LEASE OBLIGATIONS                                                               31

         6.1        Security for the Lessee's Obligations; Permitted Prior Security
                    Interests                                                                                    31
                    6.1.1  Security                                                                              31
                    6.1.2  Purchase-Money Security Interests aLeasesipment                                       32
         6.2        Cash Collateral                                                                              33
                    6.2.1  Cash Collateral.                                                                      33
                    6.2.2  Application of Cash Collateral.                                                       33
                    6.2.3  Replenishment of Cash Collateral.                                                     33
         6.3        Guaranty                                                                                     33

ARTICLE 7           CONDITION AND USE OF LEASED PROPERTY;
                    MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS                                                                        34
         7.1        Condition of the Leased Property                                                             34
         7.2        Use of the Leased Property; Compliance; Management                                           35
                    7.2.1  Obligation to Operate                                                                 35
                    7.2.2  Permitted Uses                                                                        35

                    7.2.3  Compliance With Insurance Requirements                                                35
                    7.2.4  No Waste                                                                              35
                    7.2.5  No Impairment                                                                         35
                    7.2.6  No Liens                                                                              35
         7.3        Compliance with Legal Requirements                                                           36
         7.4        Management Agreements                                                                        36

ARTICLE 8           REPAIRS; RESTRICTIONS                                                                        37
         8.1        Maintenance and Repair                                                                       37
                    8.1.1  Lessee's Responsibility                                                               37
                    8.1.2  No Lessor Obligation                                                                  38
                    8.1.3  Lessee May Not Obligate Lessor                                                        38
                    8.1.4  Lessee's Obligation to Perform Upgrade Renovations                                    39
         8.2        Encroachments; Title Restrictions                                                            40

ARTICLE 9           MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK AND
                    CAPITAL ADDITIONS                                                                            40
         9.1        Lessor's Approval                                                                            40
         9.2        General Provisions as to Capital Additions and Certain Material
                    Structural Work                                                                              41
                    9.2.1  No Liens                                                                              41
                    9.2.2  Lessee's Proposal Regarding Capital Additions and
                           Material Structural Work                                                              41
                    9.2.3  Lessor's Options Regarding Capital Additions and
                           Material Structural Work                                                              41
                    9.2.4  Lessor May Elect to Finance Capital Additions or
                           Material Structural Work                                                              42
                    9.2.5  Legal Requirements; Quality of Work                                                   42
         9.3        Capital Additions and Material Structural Work Financed by Lessor                            42
                    9.3.1  Lessee's Financing Request                                                            42
                    9.3.2  Lessor's General Requirements                                                         42
                    9.3.3  Payment of Costs                                                                      44
         9.4        General Limitations                                                                          44
         9.5        Non-Capital Additions                                                                        45
         9.6        Permitted Work                                                                               45

ARTICLE 10          WARRANTIES AND REPRESENTATIONS                                                               46
         10.1       Representations and Warranties                                                               46
                    10.1.1 Existence; Power; Qualification                                                       46
                    10.1.2 Valid and Binding                                                                     46
                    10.1.3 Single Purpose                                                                        46
                    10.1.4 No Violation                                                                          46
                    10.1.5 Consents and Approvals                                                                47

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<TABLE>
                    10.1.6  No Liens or Insolvency Proceedings                                                   47
                    10.1.7  No Burdensome Agreements                                                             47
                    10.1.8  Commercial Acts                                                                      47
                    10.1.9  Adequate Capital, Not Insolvent                                                      47
                    10.1.10 Not Delinquent                                                                       48
                    10.1.11 No Affiliate Debt                                                                    48
                    10.1.12 Taxes Current                                                                        48
                    10.1.13 Financials Complete and Accurate                                                     48
                    10.1.14 Pending Actions, Notices and Reports                                                 49
                    10.1.15 Compliance with Legal and Other Requirements                                         50
                    10.1.16 No Action By Governmental Authority                                                  50
                    10.1.17 Property Matters                                                                     50
                    10.1.18 Third Party Payor Agreements                                                         52
                    10.1.19 Rate Limitations                                                                     52
                    10.1.20 Free Care                                                                            52
                    10.1.21 No Proposed Changes                                                                  53
                    10.1.22 ERISA                                                                                53
                    10.1.23 No Broker                                                                            53
                    10.1.24 No Improper Payments                                                                 53
                    10.1.25 Nothing Omitted                                                                      54
                    10.1.26 No Margin Security                                                                   54
                    10.1.27 No Default                                                                           54
                    10.1.28 Principal Place of Business                                                          54
                    10.1.29 Labor Matters                                                                        54
                    10.1.30 Intellectual Property                                                                55
                    10.1.31 Management Agreements                                                                55
                    10.1.32 Fiscal Year                                                                          55
                    10.1.33Rates                                                                                 55
         10.2       Continuing Effect of Representations and Warranties                                          55

ARTICLE 11          FINANCIAL AND OTHER COVENANTS                                                                56
         11.1       Status Certificates                                                                          56
         11.2       Financial Statements; Reports; Notice and Information                                        56
                    11.2.1 Obligation To Furnish                                                                 56
                    11.2.2 Responsible Officer                                                                   60
                    11.2.3 No Material Omission                                                                  60
                    11.2.4 Confidentiality                                                                       60
         11.3       Financial Covenants                                                                          61
                    11.3.1 Rent Coverage Ratio                                                                   61
                    11.3.2 [Intentionally Omitted]                                                               61
                    11.3.3 [Intentionally Omitted]                                                               61
                    11.3.4 [Intentionally Omitted]                                                               61
                    11.3.5 Current Ratio - Guarantor                                                             61

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<TABLE>
                    11.3.6 [Intentionally Omitted].                                                              62
                    11.3.7 Tangible Net Worth - Guarantor                                                        62
                    11.3.8 No Indebtedness.                                                                      62
                    11.3.9 No Guaranties                                                                         62
         11.4       Affirmative Covenants                                                                        62
                    11.4.1 Maintenance of Existence                                                              62
                    11.4.2 Materials                                                                             63
                    11.4.3 Compliance With Legal Requirements And Applicable
                           Agreements                                                                            63
                    11.4.4 Books And Records                                                                     63
                    11.4.5 Participation in Third Party Payor Programs                                           63
                    11.4.6 Conduct of its Business                                                               63
                    11.4.7 Address                                                                               64
                    11.4.8 Subordination of Affiliate Transactions                                               64
                    11.4.9 Inspection                                                                            64
                    11.4.10 Additional Property                                                                  64
                    11.4.11 Acceptable Licensed Operator                                                         65
                    11.4.12 [Intentionally Omitted].                                                             65
         11.5       Additional Negative Covenants                                                                65
                    11.5.1 Restrictions Relating to Lessee                                                       65
                    11.5.2 No Liens                                                                              66
                    11.5.3 Limits on Affiliate Transactions                                                      67
                    11.5.4 Non-Competition                                                                       67
                    11.5.5 No Default                                                                            68
                    11.5.6 Restrictions Relating to the Guarantor                                                68
                    11.5.7 [Intentionally Omitted]                                                               69
                    11.5.8 ERISA                                                                                 69
                    11.5.9 Forgiveness of Indebtedness                                                           69
                    11.5.10 Value of Assets                                                                      69
                    11.5.11 Changes in Fiscal Year and Accounting Procedures.                                    69
                    11.5.12 [Intentionally Omitted]                                                              69

ARTICLE 12          INSURANCE AND INDEMNITY                                                                      70
         12.1       General Insurance Requirements                                                               70
                    12.1.1 Types and Amounts of Insurance                                                        70
                    12.1.2 Insurance Company Requirements                                                        72
                    12.1.3 Policy Requirements                                                                   72
                    12.1.4 Notices; Certificates and Policies                                                    73
                    12.1.5 Lessor's Right to Place Insurance                                                     73
                    12.1.6 Payment of Proceeds                                                                   73
                    12.1.7 Irrevocable Power of Attorney                                                         74
                    12.1.8 Blanket Policies.                                                                     74
                    12.1.9 No Separate Insurance                                                                 74



                                        v


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<TABLE>
                    12.1.10 Assignment of Unearned Premiums                                                      74
         12.2       Indemnity                                                                                    75
                    12.2.1 Indemnification                                                                       75
                    12.2.2 Indemnified Parties                                                                   76
                    12.2.3 Defense of Actions by the Lessee                                                      76
                    12.2.4 Limitation on Lessor Liability                                                        76
                    12.2.5 Risk of Loss                                                                          76

ARTICLE 13          FIRE AND CASUALTY                                                                            77
         13.1       Restoration Following Fire or Other Casualty                                                 77
                    13.1.1 Following Fire or Casualty                                                            77
                    13.1.2 Procedures                                                                            77
                    13.1.3 Disbursement of Insurance Proceeds                                                    78
         13.2       Disposition of Insurance Proceeds                                                            82
                    13.2.1 Proceeds To Be Released to Pay For Work                                               82
                    13.2.2 Proceeds Not To Be Released                                                           83
                    13.2.3 Lessee Responsible for Short-Fall                                                     84
         13.3       Tangible Personal Property                                                                   84
         13.4       Restoration of Certain Improvements and the Tangible Personal
                    Property                                                                                     84
         13.5       No Abatement of Rent                                                                         84
         13.6       Termination of Certain Rights                                                                84
         13.7       Waiver                                                                                       84
         13.8       Application of Rent Loss and/or Business Interruption Insurance                              84
         13.9       Obligation To Account                                                                        85

ARTICLE 14          CONDEMNATION                                                                                 86
         14.1       Parties' Rights and Obligations                                                              86
         14.2       Total Taking                                                                                 86
         14.3       Partial or Temporary Taking                                                                  86
         14.4       Restoration                                                                                  87
         14.5       Award Distribution                                                                           87
         14.6       Control of Proceedings                                                                       87

ARTICLE 15          PERMITTED CONTESTS                                                                           88
         15.1       Lessee's Right to Contest                                                                    88
         15.2       Lessor's Cooperation                                                                         88
         15.3       Lessee's Indemnity                                                                           89

ARTICLE 16          DEFAULT                                                                                      89
         16.1       Events of Default                                                                            89
         16.2       Remedies                                                                                     94
         16.3       Damages                                                                                      95



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<TABLE>
         16.4       Lessee Waivers                                                                               96
         16.5       Application of Funds                                                                         97
         16.6       Intentionally Omitted                                                                        97
         16.7       Lessor's Right to Cure                                                                       97
         16.8       No Waiver By Lessor                                                                          97
         16.9       Right of Forbearance                                                                         98
         16.10      Cumulative Remedies                                                                          98

ARTICLE 17          SURRENDER OF LEASED PROPERTY OR LEASE; HOLDING
                    OVER                                                                                         99
         17.1       Surrender                                                                                    99
         17.2       Transfer of Permits and Contracts                                                            99
         17.3       No Acceptance of Surrender                                                                  100
         17.4       Holding Over                                                                                100

ARTICLE 18          RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL TO PURCHASE THE LEASED
                    PROPERTY                                                                                    100
         18.1       Right of First Refusal to Purchase the Leased Property                                      100

ARTICLE 19          SUBLETTING AND ASSIGNMENT                                                                   101
         19.1       Subletting and Assignment                                                                   101
         19.2       Permitted Subleases                                                                         101
         19.3       Attornment                                                                                  101

ARTICLE 20          TITLE TRANSFERS AND LIENS GRANTED BY LESSOR                                                 102
         20.1       No Merger of Title                                                                          102
         20.2       Transfers By Lessor                                                                         102
         20.3       Lessor May Grant Liens                                                                      102
         20.4       Subordination and Non-Disturbance                                                           102

ARTICLE 21          LESSOR OBLIGATIONS                                                                          104
         21.1       Quiet Enjoyment                                                                             104
         21.2       Memorandum of Lease                                                                         104
         21.3       Default by Lessor                                                                           104

ARTICLE 22          NOTICES                                                                                     105

ARTICLE 23          LIMITATION OF MEDITRUST LIABILITY                                                           106

ARTICLE 24          MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS                                                                    106
         24.1       Broker's Fee Indemnification                                                                106
         24.2       No Joint Venture or Partnership                                                             107
         24.3       Amendments, Waivers and Modifications                                                       107



                                       vii


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<TABLE>
         24.4       Captions and Heading                                                                        108
         24.5       Time is of the Essence                                                                      108
         24.6       Counterparts                                                                                108
         24.7       Entire Agreement                                                                            108
         24.8       WAIVER OF JURY TRIAL                                                                        108
         24.9       Successors and Assigns                                                                      108
         24.10      No Third Party Beneficiaries                                                                109
         24.11      Governing Law                                                                               109
         24.12      General                                                                                     109
         24.13      Intention of Parties                                                                        110
         24.14      Appraisal                                                                                   110
                    24.14.1 Designation of Appraisers                                                           110
                    24.14.2 Appraisal Process                                                                   110
                    24.14.3 Specific Enforcement and Costs                                                      111

EXHIBIT A           LEGAL DESCRIPTION OF THE LAND                                                               113

EXHIBIT B           PERMITTED ENCUMBRANCES                                                                      115

EXHIBIT C           LIST OF SHAREHOLDERS                                                                        116

EXHIBIT D           NATIONAL ACCOUNTS AND LOCAL DISCOUNTS                                                       117

EXHIBIT E           OPEN COST REPORTS                                                                           118

EXHIBIT F           RATE LIMITATIONS                                                                            119

EXHIBIT G           FREE CARE REQUIREMENTS                                                                      120

EXHIBIT H           CURRENT RATES                                                                               121

EXHIBIT I           RENT COVERAGE RATIO CALCULATION                                                             122

EXHIBIT J           [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED]                                                                     123

EXHIBIT K           RELATED PARTY OBLIGATIONS                                                                   124

                            FACILITY LEASE AGREEMENT

This FACILITY LEASE AGREEMENT ("Lease") is dated as of the 30th day of December,
1996 and is between MEDITRUST ACQUISITION CORPORATION III ("Lessor"), a Delaware
corporation having its principal office at 197 First Avenue, Needham Heights,
Massachusetts 02194, and ALS LEASING, INC. ("Lessee"), a Delaware corporation,
having its principal office at 450 N. Sunnyslope Road, Suite 300, Brookfield,
Wisconsin 53005, Attn: Mr. William F. Lasky.

                                     ARTICLE

                        LEASED PROPERTY; TERM; EXTENSIONS

         1.1        LEASED PROPERTY. Upon and subject to the terms and
conditions hereinafter set forth, the Lessor leases to the Lessee and the Lessee
rents and leases from the Lessor all of the Lessor's rights and interests in and
to the following real and personal property (collectively, the "Leased
Property"):

                  (A) the real property described in EXHIBIT A attached hereto
         (the "Land");

                  (B) all buildings, structures, Fixtures (as hereinafter
         defined) and other improvements of every kind including, but not
         limited to, alleyways and connecting tunnels, sidewalks, utility pipes,
         conduits and lines, and parking areas and roadways appurtenant to such
         buildings and structures presently or hereafter situated upon the Land
         (collectively, the "Leased Improvements");

                  (C) all easements, rights and appurtenances of every nature
         and description now or hereafter relating to or benefitting any or all
         of the Land and the Leased Improvements; and

                  (D) all equipment, machinery, building fixtures, and other
         items of property (whether realty, personalty or mixed), including all
         components thereof, now or hereafter located in, on or used in
         connection with, and permanently affixed to or incorporated into the
         Leased Improvements, including, without limitation, all furnaces,
         boilers, heaters, electrical equipment, heating, plumbing, lighting,
         ventilating, refrigerating, incineration, air and water pollution
         control, waste disposal, air-cooling and air-conditioning systems and
         apparatus, sprinkler systems and fire and theft protection equipment,
         and built-in oxygen and vacuum systems, all of which, to the greatest
         extent permitted by law, are hereby deemed by the parties hereto to
         constitute real estate, together with all replacements, modifications,
         alterations and additions thereto, but specifically excluding all items
         included within the category of Tangible Personal Property (as
         hereinafter defined) which are not permanently affixed to or
         incorporated in the Leased Property (collectively, the "Fixtures").

         The Leased Property is leased in its present condition, AS IS, without
representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, by the Lessor and
subject to: (I) the rights of parties in possession; (II) the existing state of
title including all covenants, conditions, Liens (as hereinafter defined) and
other matters of record (including, without limitation, the matters set forth in
EXHIBIT B); (III) all applicable laws; and (IV) all matters, whether or not of a
similar nature, which would be disclosed by an inspection of the Leased Property
or by an accurate survey thereof.

          1.2       TERM. The term of this Lease shall consist of: the "Initial
Term", which shall commence on December 31, 1996 (the "Commencement Date") and
end on December 31, 2008 (the "Expiration Date"); provided, however, that this
Lease may be sooner terminated as hereinafter provided. In addition, the Lessee
shall have the option(s) to extend the Term (as hereinafter defined) as provided
for in Section 1.3.

          1.3       EXTENDED TERMS. Provided that this Lease has not been
previously terminated, and as long as there exists no Lease Default (as
hereinafter defined) at the time of exercise and on the last day of the Initial
Term or the then current Extended Term (as hereinafter defined), as the case may
be, the Lessee is hereby granted the option to extend the Initial Term of this
Lease for three (3) additional periods (collectively, the "Extended Terms") as
follows: three (3) successive five (5) year periods for a maximum Term, if all
such options are exercised, which ends on December 31, 2023. The Lessee's
extension options shall be exercised by the Lessee by giving written notice to
the Lessor of the Lessee's exercise of each such extension at least one hundred
eighty (180) days, but not more than three hundred sixty (360) days, prior to
the termination of the Initial Term or the then current Extended Term, as the
case may be. The Lessee shall have no right to rescind any such notice once
given. The Lessee may not exercise its option for more than one Extended Term at
a time. During each effective Extended Term, all of the terms and conditions of
this Lease shall continue in full force and effect, except that the Base Rent
(as hereinafter defined) for each such Extended Term shall be adjusted as set
forth in Section 3.1.1.

         Notwithstanding anything to the contrary set forth herein, the Lessee's
rights to exercise the options granted in this Section 1.3 are subject to the
further condition that concurrently with the exercise of any extension option
hereunder, the Lessee shall have exercised its option to extend the terms of all
of the Related Leases in accordance with the provisions of the Agreement
Regarding Related Lease Transactions and the provisions of Section 1.3 of each
of the Related Leases.

                                     ARTICLE

                      DEFINITIONS AND RULES OF CONSTRUCTION

         2.1        DEFINITIONS. For all purposes of this Lease and the other
Lease Documents (as hereinafter defined), except as otherwise expressly provided
or unless the context otherwise requires, (I) the terms defined in this Article
have the meanings assigned to them in this Article and include the plural as
well as the singular and (II) all references in this Lease or any of the other
Lease Documents to designated "Articles", "Sections" and other subdivisions are
to the designated Articles, Sections and other subdivisions of this Lease or the
other applicable Lease Document.

         ACCEPTABLE LICENSED OPERATOR: (A) The Current Manager, (B) the Lessee,
or (C) any Sublessee or Manager of the Facility (pursuant to a Sublease or
Management Agreement approved by the Lessor) that is wholly-owned by Alternative
Living Services, Inc. and is, during the Term, engaged in no business or venture
other than the ownership and/or operation of any health care facility owned or
financed by any Meditrust Entity; provided, however, that the Current Manager
shall not continue to manage the Facility for more than six (6) months after the
Commencement Date and shall not be deemed an Acceptable Licensed Operator beyond
such six-month term.

         ACCOUNTS: As defined in the UCC.

         ACCREDITATION BODY: All Persons having jurisdiction over the
accreditation, certification, evaluation or operation of the Facility. The
Lessor understands that neither the Lessee nor any Sublessee nor the Facility is
currently under the jurisdiction, or is otherwise subject to the rules, of any
Accreditation Body and that, accordingly, the provisions of this Lease relating
in any way to an Accreditation Body are presently inapplicable to this
transaction; however, in the event that at any time during the Term, any of the
Lessee, any Sublessee or the Facility falls under the jurisdiction of, or
otherwise becomes subject to the rules of, any Accreditation Body, then all such
provisions of this Lease and the other Lease Documents relating to an
Accreditation Body shall apply with full force and effect.

         ADDENDUM TO LEASE: The addendum attached to this Lease, dated of even
date herewith by and between the Lessor and the Lessee.

         ADDITIONAL RENT:  As defined in Section 3.1.2.

         ADDITIONAL RENT COMMENCEMENT DATE:  As defined in Section 3.1.2.

         ADDITIONAL CHARGES:  As defined in Section 3.2.

         ADDITIONAL LAND:  As defined in Section 9.3.

         AFFILIATE: With respect to any Person (I) any other Person which,
directly or indirectly, controls or is controlled by or is under common control
with such Person, (II) any other Person that owns, beneficially, directly or
indirectly, five percent (5%) or more of the outstanding capital stock, shares
or equity interests of such Person, or (III) any officer, director, employee,
general partner or trustee of such Person, or any other Person controlling,
controlled by, or under common control with, such Person (excluding trustees and
Persons serving in a fiduciary or similar capacity who are not otherwise an
Affiliate of such Person). For the purposes of this definition, "control"
(including the correlative meanings of the terms "controlled by" and "under
common control with"), as used with respect to any Person, shall mean the
possession, directly or indirectly, of the power to direct or cause the
direction of the management and policies of such Person, through the ownership
of voting securities, partnership interests or other equity interests.

         AFFILIATED PARTY SUBORDINATION AGREEMENT: That certain Affiliated Party
Subordination Agreement of even date by and among the Lessee, the Guarantor, and
various Affiliates of the Lessor.

         AGREEMENT REGARDING RELATED LEASE TRANSACTIONS: That certain Agreement
Regarding Related Lease Transactions of even date by and among the Lessee, the
Lessor and any Related Party that is a party to any Related Lease. The Lessor
and the Lessee anticipated that the Agreement Regarding Related Lease
Transactions will be amended from time to time in connection with future
transactions in order to include Affiliates of the Lessor and the Lessee as
parties thereto.

         ANNUAL FACILITY UPGRADE EXPENDITURE: The aggregate amount spent on
Upgrade Renovations during any Lease Year.

         APPURTENANT AGREEMENTS: Collectively, all instruments, documents and
other agreements that now or hereafter create any utility, access or other
rights or appurtenances benefiting or relating to the Leased Property.

         AWARD: All compensation, sums or anything of value awarded, paid or
received on a total or partial Condemnation.

         BANKRUPTCY CODE: Subsection 365(h) of the United States Bankruptcy
Code, 11 U.S.C. ss.365(h), as the same may hereafter be amended and including
any successor provision thereto.

         BASE RENT: As defined in Section 3.1.1 and adjusted pursuant to
Sections 3.1.1.

         BUSINESS DAY: Any day which is not a Saturday or Sunday or a public
holiday under the laws of the United States of America, the Commonwealth of
Massachusetts, the State or the state in which the Lessor's depository bank is
located.

         CAPITAL ADDITIONS: Collectively, all new buildings and additional
structures annexed to any portion of any of the Leased Improvements and material
expansions of any of the Leased

Improvements which are constructed on any portion of the Land during the Term,
including, without limitation, the construction of a new wing or new story, the
renovation of any of the Leased Improvements on the Leased Property in order to
provide a functionally new facility that is needed or used to provide services
not previously offered, and any expansion, construction, renovation or
conversion or in order to (I) increase the unit capacity of a Facility, (II)
change the purpose for which such units are utilized and/or (III) change the
utilization of any material portion of any of the Leased Improvements.

         CAPITAL ADDITION COST: The cost of any Capital Addition made by the
Lessee whether paid for by the Lessee or the Lessor. Such cost shall include all
costs and expenses of every nature whatsoever incurred directly or indirectly in
connection with the development, permitting, construction and financing of a
Capital Addition as reasonably determined by, or to the reasonable satisfaction
of, the Lessor.

         CASH COLLATERAL:  As defined in Section 6.2.1.

         CASH FLOW: The Consolidated Net Income (or Consolidated Net Loss),
arising solely from the operation of the Leased Property, before federal and
state income taxes for any period plus (I) the amount of the provision for
depreciation and amortization actually deducted on the books of the applicable
Person for the purposes of computing such Consolidated Net Income (or
Consolidated Net Loss) for the period involved, plus (II) Rent and interest on
all other payments with respect to all Indebtedness and/or other obligations
(including, without limitation, management fees) which are fully subordinated to
the Lease Obligations pursuant to the Affiliated Party Subordination Agreement.

         CASUALTY:  As defined in Section 13.1.1.

         CHATTEL PAPER:  As defined in the UCC.

         CODE:  The Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended.

         COLLATERAL: All of the property in which security interests are granted
to the Lessor and the other Meditrust Entities pursuant to the Lease Documents
and the Related Party Agreements to secure the Lease Obligations, including,
without limitation, the Cash Collateral and the Receivables.

         COMMENCEMENT DATE:  As defined in Section 1.2.

         COMPETITIVE ACTIVITY:  As defined in Section 11.5.4.

         CONDEMNATION: With respect to the Leased Property or any interest
therein or right accruing thereto or use thereof (I) the exercise by a
Condemnor, whether by legal proceedings or otherwise, resulting in a Taking or
(II) a voluntary sale or transfer by the Lessor to any Condemnor, either under
threat of Condemnation or Taking or while legal proceedings for a Taking are
pending.

         CONDEMNOR: Any public or quasi-public authority, or private corporation
or individual, having the power of condemnation.

         CONSOLIDATED AND CONSOLIDATING: When used with reference to any term
otherwise defined herein, means such term as applied to the consolidated and
consolidating accounts of the relevant Person and its Subsidiaries consolidated
in accordance with GAAP.

         CONSOLIDATED FINANCIALS: For any fiscal year or other accounting period
for any Person and its consolidated Subsidiaries, statements of earnings and
retained earnings and of changes in financial position for such period and for
the period from the beginning of the respective fiscal year to the end of such
period and the related balance sheet as at the end of such period, together with
the notes thereto, all in reasonable detail and setting forth in comparative
form the corresponding figures for the corresponding period in the preceding
fiscal year, and prepared in accordance with GAAP.

         CONSULTANTS: Collectively, the architects, engineers, inspectors,
surveyors and other consultants that are engaged from time to time by the Lessor
to perform services for the Lessor in connection with this Lease.

         CONSUMER PRICE ADJUSTMENT FACTOR: A fraction, the numerator of which is
the Consumer Price Index in effect as of first day of the Lease Year for which
the Annual Facility Upgrade Expenditure increase is being calculated and the
denominator of which is the Consumer Price Index in effect as of the
Commencement Date.

         CONSUMER PRICE INDEX: The Consumer Price Index for Urban Wage Earners
and Clerical Workers, All Items-U.S. Cities Average (1982-84=100), published by
the Bureau of Labor Statistics, U.S. Department of Labor; provided, that, if the
compilation of the Consumer Price Index in its present form and calculated on
its present basis is discontinued or transferred to any other Governmental
Authority, then, the index most similar to the Consumer Price Index published by
the Bureau of Labor Statistics shall be used. If there is no such similar index,
a substitute index which is then generally recognized as being similar to the
Consumer Price Index shall be used, with such substitute index to be reasonably
selected by the Lessor and reasonably approved by the Lessee.

         CONTRACTS: All agreements (including, without limitation, Provider
Agreements and Resident Agreements), contracts, (including without limitation,
construction contracts, subcontracts, and architects' contracts,) contract
rights, warranties and representations, franchises, and records and books of
account benefiting, relating to or affecting the Leased Property or the
ownership, construction, development, maintenance, management, repair, use,
occupancy, possession, or operation thereof, or the operation of any programs or
services in conjunction with the Leased Property and all renewals, replacement
and substitutions therefor, now or hereafter issued by or entered into with any
Governmental Authority, Accreditation Body or Third Party Payor or maintained or
used by any member of the Leasing Group or entered into by any member of the
Leasing Group with any third Person.

         CURRENT ASSETS: All assets of any Person which would, in accordance
with GAAP, be classified as current assets of a Person.

         CURRENT LIABILITIES: All liabilities of any Person which would, in
accordance with GAAP, be classified as current liabilities of a Person.

         CURRENT MANAGEMENT AGREEMENT: That certain Management Agreement of even
date herewith by and between the Lessee and the Current Manager.

         CURRENT MANAGER: CCCI/Northampton Limited Partnership, a Pennsylvania
limited partnership.

         DATE OF TAKING: The date the Condemnor has the right to possession of
the property being condemned.

         DECLARATION: As defined in Article 23.

         DEPOSIT PLEDGE AGREEMENT: The pledge and security agreement so
captioned and dated as of even date herewith between the Lessee and the Lessor.

         DOCUMENTS:  As defined in the UCC.

         ENCUMBRANCE:  As defined in Section 20.3.

         ENVIRONMENTAL INDEMNITY AGREEMENT: The Environmental Indemnity
Agreement of even date herewith by and among the Lessee, the Guarantor and the
Lessor.

         ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS: As defined in the Environmental Indemnity
Agreement.

         ERISA: The Employment Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as
amended.

         EVENT OF DEFAULT: As defined in Section 16.1.

         EXCESS GROSS REVENUES: Gross Revenues for a calendar year less the
Gross Revenues for the immediately preceding calendar year.

         EXCLUDED FACILITIES:  As defined in Section 11.5.4.

         EXPIRATION DATE:  As defined in Section 1.2.

         EXTENDED TERMS:  As defined in Section 1.3.

         FACILITY: The one hundred two (102) unit, fully licensed (to the extent
licensing is required by the State) assisted living facility (known for
regulatory purposes in the State as a personal care

home) known as Northampton Manor and located in Richboro, Bucks County,
Pennsylvania, on the Land (together with related parking and other amenities).

         FAILURE TO OPERATE:  As defined in Section 16.1.

         FAILURE TO PERFORM:  As defined in Section 16.1.

         FAIR MARKET ADDED VALUE: The Fair Market Value of the Leased Property
(including all Capital Additions) minus the Fair Market Value of the Leased
Property determined as if no Capital Additions paid for by the Lessee had been
constructed.

         FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE CAPITAL ADDITION: The amount by which the Fair
Market Value of the Leased Property upon the completion of a particular Capital
Addition exceeds the Fair Market Value of the Leased Property just prior to the
construction of the particular Capital Addition.

         FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE LEASED PROPERTY: The fair market value of the
Leased Property, including all Capital Additions, and including the Land and all
other portions of the Leased Property, and (A) assuming the same is unencumbered
by this Lease, (B) determined in accordance with the appraisal procedures set
forth in Section 24.14 or in such other manner as shall be mutually acceptable
to the Lessor and the Lessee and (C) not taking into account any reduction in
value resulting from any Lien to which the Leased Property is subject and which
Lien the Lessee or the Lessor is otherwise required to remove at or prior to
closing of the transaction. However, the positive or negative effect on the
value of the Leased Property attributable to the interest rate, amortization
schedule, maturity date, prepayment provisions and other terms and conditions of
any Lien on the Leased Property which is not so required or agreed to be removed
shall be taken into account in determining the Fair Market Value of the Leased
Property. The Fair Market Value of the Leased Property shall be determined as
the overall value based on due consideration of the "income" approach, the
"comparable sales" approach and the "replacement cost" approach.

         FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK: The amount by which
the Fair Market Value of the Leased Property upon the completion of any
particular Material Structural Work exceeds the Fair Market Value of the Leased
Property just prior to the construction of the applicable Material Structural
Work.

         FEE MORTGAGE:  As defined in Section 20.3.

         FEE MORTGAGEE:  As defined in Section 20.3.

         FINANCING PARTY: Any Person who is or may be participating with the
Lessor in any way in connection with the financing of any Capital Addition.

         FINANCING STATEMENTS: Uniform Commercial Code financing statements
evidencing the security interests granted to the Lessor in connection with the
Lease Documents.

         FISCAL QUARTER: Each of the three (3) month periods commencing on
January 1st, April 1st, July 1st and October 1st.

         FISCAL YEAR: The twelve (12) month period from January 1st to December
31st.

         FIXTURES: As defined in Section 1.1.

         GAAP: Generally accepted accounting principles, consistently applied
throughout the relevant period.

         GENERAL INTANGIBLES: As defined in the UCC.

         GOVERNMENTAL AUTHORITIES: Collectively, all agencies, authorities,
bodies, boards, commissions, courts, instrumentalities, legislatures, and
offices of any nature whatsoever of any government, quasi-government unit or
political subdivision, whether with a federal, state, county, district,
municipal, city or otherwise and whether now or hereinafter in existence.

         GROSS REVENUES: Collectively, all revenues generated by reason of the
operation of the Leased Property (including any Capital Additions), whether or
not directly or indirectly received or to be received by the Lessee, including,
without limitation, all resident revenues received or receivable for the use of,
or otherwise by reason of, all rooms, units and other facilities provided, meals
served, services performed, space or facilities subleased or goods sold on or
from the Leased Property and further including, without limitation, except as
otherwise specifically provided below, any consideration received under any
subletting, licensing, or other arrangements with any Person relating to the
possession or use of the Leased Property and all revenues from all ancillary
services provided at or relating to the Leased Property; provided, however, that
Gross Revenues shall not include non-operating revenues such as interest income
or gain from the sale of assets not sold in the ordinary course of business; and
provided, further, that there shall be excluded or deducted (as the case may be)
from such revenues:

                  (I)   contractual allowances (relating to any period during
         the Term of this Lease and thereafter until the Rent hereunder is paid
         in full) for billings not paid by or received from the appropriate
         Governmental Agencies or Third Party Payors,

                  (II)  allowances according to GAAP for uncollectible accounts,

                  (III) all proper resident billing credits and adjustments
         according to GAAP relating to health care accounting,

                  (IV)  federal, state or local sales, use, gross receipts and
         excise taxes and any tax based upon or measured by said Gross Revenues
         which is added to or made a part of the amount billed to the resident
         or other recipient of such services or goods, whether included in the
         billing or stated separately, and

                  (V) deposits refundable to residents of the Facility.

         To the extent that the Leased Property is subleased or occupied by an
Affiliate of the Lessee, Gross Revenues calculated for all purposes of this
Lease (including, without limitation, the determination of the Additional Rent
payable under this Lease) shall include the Gross Revenues of such Sublessee
with respect to the premises demised under the applicable Sublease (i.e., the
Gross Revenues generated from the operations conducted on such subleased portion
of the Leased Property) and the rent received or receivable from such Sublessee
pursuant to such Subleases shall be excluded from Gross Revenues for all such
purposes. As to any Sublease between the Lessee and a non-Affiliate of the
Lessee, only the rental actually received by the Lessee from such non-Affiliate
shall be included in Gross Revenues.

         GUARANTOR: Alternative Living Services, Inc. and its successors and
assigns.

         GUARANTY: The Guaranty of even date executed by Guarantor in favor of
the Lessor, relating to the Lease Obligations.

         HAZARDOUS SUBSTANCES: As defined in the Environmental Indemnity
Agreement.

         IMPOSITIONS: Collectively, all taxes (including, without limitation,
all capital stock and franchise taxes of the Lessor, all ad valorem, property,
sales, use, single business, gross receipts, transaction privilege, rent or
similar taxes), assessments (including, without limitation, all assessments for
public improvements or benefits, whether or not commenced or completed prior to
the date hereof and whether or not to be completed within the Term), ground
rents, water and sewer rents, water charges or other rents and charges, excises,
tax levies, fees (including, without limitation, license, permit, inspection,
authorization and similar fees), transfer taxes and recordation taxes imposed as
a result of the conveyance of the Land to the Lessor (and/or the conveyance of
the Leased Property to the Lessee pursuant to the terms of this Lease), this
Lease or any extensions hereof, and all other governmental charges, in each case
whether general or special, ordinary or extraordinary, or foreseen or
unforeseen, of every character in respect of either or both of the Leased
Property and the Rent (including all interest and penalties thereon due to any
failure in payment by the Lessee), which at any time prior to, during or in
respect of the Term hereof and thereafter until the Leased Property is
surrendered to the Lessor as required by the terms of this Lease, may be
assessed or imposed on or in respect of or be a Lien upon (A) the Lessor or the
Lessor's interest in the Leased Property, (B) the Leased Property or any rent
therefrom or any estate, right, title or interest therein, or (C) any occupancy,
operation, use or possession of, sales from, or activity conducted on, or in
connection with, the Leased Property or the leasing or use of the Leased
Property. Notwithstanding the foregoing, nothing contained in this Lease shall
be construed to require the Lessee to pay (1) any tax based on net income
(whether denominated as a franchise or capital stock or other tax) imposed on
the Lessor or any other Person, except the Lessee or its successors, (2) any net
revenue tax of the Lessor or any other Person, except the Lessee and its
successors, (3) any tax imposed with respect to the sale, exchange or other
disposition by the Lessor of the Leased Property or the proceeds thereof, (4)
any tax imposed with respect to any Fee

Mortgage or any Fee Mortgagee, (5) except as expressly provided elsewhere in
this Lease, any principal or interest on any Encumbrance on the Leased Property,
or (6) any portion of assessments which are assessed during the Term of this
Lease and amortized over a period which extends beyond the Term of this Lease
provided the Lessee (and not the Lessor) shall be responsible for that portion
of the amortized assessment due and owing during the Term and any and all
finance charges and/or penalties which accrue as a result of amortizing any such
assessments, including, without limitation, any finance charges and/or penalties
(other than penalties which accrue as a result of late payment after the
expiration of the Term of this Lease) which accrue after the expiration of the
Term of this Lease; provided, however, the provisos set forth in clauses (1) and
(2) of this sentence shall not be applicable to the extent that any tax,
assessment, tax levy or charge which the Lessee is obligated to pay pursuant to
the first sentence of this definition and which is in effect at any time during
the Term hereof is totally or partially repealed, and a tax, assessment, tax
levy or charge set forth in clause (1) or (2) is levied, assessed or imposed
expressly in lieu thereof. In computing the amount of any franchise tax or
capital stock tax which may be or become an Imposition, the amount payable by
the Lessee shall be equitably apportioned based upon all properties owned by the
Lessor that are located within the particular jurisdiction subject to any such
tax.

         INDEBTEDNESS: The total of all obligations of a Person, whether current
or long-term, which in accordance with GAAP, would be included as liabilities
upon such Person's balance sheet at the date as of which Indebtedness is to be
determined.

         INDEMNIFIED PARTIES:  As defined in Section 12.2.2.

         INDEX: The rate of interest of actively traded marketable United States
Treasury Securities bearing a fixed rate of interest adjusted for a constant
maturity of ten (10) years as calculated by the Federal Reserve Board.

         INITIAL TERM:  As defined in Section 1.2.

         INSTRUMENTS:  As defined in the UCC.

         INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS: All terms of any insurance policy required by
this Lease, all requirements of the issuer of any such policy with respect to
the Leased Property and the activities conducted thereon and the requirements of
any insurance board, association or organization or underwriters' regulations
pertaining to the Leased Property.

         JCAHO: The Joint Commission on Accreditation of Health Care
Organizations.

         LAND: As defined in Article 1.

         LEASE: As defined in the preamble of this Lease.

         LEASE DEFAULT: The occurrence of any default or breach of condition
continuing beyond any applicable notice and/or grace and/or cure periods under
this Lease and/or any of the other Lease Documents.

         LEASE DOCUMENTS: Collectively, this Lease, the Guaranty, the Security
Agreement, the Deposit Pledge Agreement, the Pledge Agreement, the Agreement
Regarding Related Lease Transactions, the Permits Assignment, the Financing
Statements, the Affiliated Party Subordination Agreement, the Environmental
Indemnity Agreement, the other Facility Lease Agreements of even date herewith
by and between the Lessor and the Lessee, the Certification Regarding Entity
Ownership of even date herewith from the Guarantor to the Lessor and any and all
other instruments, documents, certificates or agreements now or hereafter (I)
executed or furnished by any member of the Leasing Group in connection with the
transactions evidenced by this Lease and/or any of the foregoing documents
and/or (II) evidencing or securing any of the Lessee's obligations relating to
the Leased Property, including, without limitation, the Lessee's obligations
hereunder.

         LEASE OBLIGATIONS: Collectively, all indebtedness, covenants,
liabilities, obligations, agreements and undertakings (other than the Lessor's
obligations) under this Lease and the other Lease Documents.

         LEASE YEAR: A twelve-month period ending on December 31 of each year;
provided, that the first Lease Year shall begin on the Commencement Date and
shall end on December 31, 1997.

         LEASED IMPROVEMENTS:  As defined in Article 1.

         LEASED PROPERTY:  As defined in Article 1.

         LEASING COMMITMENT FEE:  ONE HUNDRED EIGHT THOUSAND THREE

HUNDRED SIXTY-ONE AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($108,361.00).

         LEASING GROUP: Collectively, the Lessee, the Guarantor, any Sublessee
which is an Affiliate of the Lessee or the Guarantor and any Manager which is an
Affiliate of the Lessee or the Guarantor.

         LEGAL REQUIREMENTS: Collectively, all statutes, ordinances, by-laws,
codes, rules, regulations, restrictions, orders, judgments, decrees and
injunctions (including, without limitation, all applicable building, health
code, zoning, subdivision, and other land use and assisted living licensing
statutes, ordinances, by-laws, codes, rules and regulations), whether now or
hereafter enacted, promulgated or issued by any Governmental Authority,
Accreditation Body or Third Party Payor affecting any member of the Leasing
Group and relating to the Leased Property or the ownership, construction,
development, maintenance, management, repair, use, occupancy, possession or
operation thereof or the operation of any programs or services in connection
with the Leased Property, including, without limitation, any of the foregoing
which may (I) require repairs, modifications or alterations in or to the Leased
Property, (II) in any way affect (adversely or otherwise) the use and enjoyment
of the Leased Property or (III) require the assessment, monitoring,
clean-up, containment, removal, remediation or other treatment of any Hazardous
Substances on, under or from the Leased Property. Without limiting the
foregoing, the term Legal Requirements includes all Environmental Laws and shall
also include all Permits and Contracts issued or entered into by any
Governmental Authority, any Accreditation Body and/or any Third Party Payor and
all Permitted Encumbrances, but shall exclude any non-binding or non-mandatory
rules or guidelines promulgated by an Accreditation Body or Third Party Payor.

         LESSEE: As defined in the preamble of this Lease and its successors and
assigns.

         LESSEE'S ELECTION NOTICE: As defined in Section 14.3.

         LESSOR: As defined in the preamble of this Lease and its successors and
assigns.

         LIEN: With respect to any real or personal property, any mortgage, deed
of trust, easement, restriction, lien, pledge, collateral assignment,
hypothecation, charge, security interest, title retention agreement, levy,
execution, seizure, attachment, garnishment or other encumbrance of any kind in
respect of such property, whether or not choate, vested or perfected.

         LIMITED PARTIES: As defined in Section 11.5.4; provided, however, in no
event shall the term Limited Parties include any Person in its capacity as a
shareholder of a public entity, unless such shareholder is a member of the
Leasing Group or an Affiliate of any member of the Leasing Group.

         MANAGED CARE PLANS: All health maintenance organizations, preferred
provider organizations, individual practice associations, competitive medical
plans, and similar arrangements.

         MANAGEMENT AGREEMENT: Any agreement, whether written or oral, between
the Lessee or any Sublessee and any other Person pursuant to which the Lessee or
such Sublessee provides any payment, fee or other consideration to any other
Person to operate or manage the Facility.

         MANAGER: Any Person who has entered into a Management Agreement with
the Lessee or any Sublessee.

         MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK: Any (I) structural alteration, (II)
structural repair or (III) structural renovation to the Leased Property that
would require (A) the design and/or involvement of a structural engineer and/or
architect and/or (B) the issuance of a Permit.

         MAXIMUM RENT ADJUSTMENT:  As defined in Section 3.1.2.

         MEDICAID: The medical assistance program established by Title XIX of
the Social Security Act (42 USC Section. Section. 1396 et seq.) and any statute
succeeding thereto.

         MEDICARE: The health insurance program for the aged and disabled
established by Title XVIII of the Social Security Act (42 USC Section. Section
1395 et seq.) and any statute succeeding thereto.

         MEDITRUST:  As defined in Article 23.

         MEDITRUST ENTITIES: Collectively, Meditrust, the Lessor and any other
Affiliate of the Lessor which may now or hereafter be a party to any Related
Party Agreement.

         MEDITRUST INVESTMENT: The sum of (I) the Original Meditrust Investment
plus (II) the aggregate amount of all Subsequent Investments.

         MONTHLY DEPOSIT DATE: As defined in Section 4.6.1.

         NET INCOME (OR NET LOSS): The net income (or net loss, expressed as a
negative number) of a Person for any period, after all taxes actually paid or
accrued and all expenses and other charges determined in accordance with GAAP.

         OBLIGATIONS: Collectively, the Lease Obligations and the Related Party
Obligations.

         OFFER:  As defined in Section 18.1.

         OFFERED PROPERTY:  As defined in Section 18.1.

         OFFICER'S CERTIFICATE: A certificate of the Lessee signed on behalf of
the Lessee by the Chairman of the Board of Directors, the President, any Vice
President or the Treasurer of the Lessee, or another officer authorized to so
sign by the Board of Directors or By-Laws of the Lessee, or any other Person
whose power and authority to act has been authorized by delegation in writing by
any of the Persons holding the foregoing offices.

         ORIGINAL MEDITRUST INVESTMENT: TEN MILLION EIGHT HUNDRED THIRTY-SIX
THOUSAND ONE HUNDRED FIFTEEN AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($10,836,115.00).

         OTHER PERMITTED USES: To the extent the Lessee elects, in its sole
discretion, to engage in same and then only if permitted under Legal
Requirements and under Insurance Requirements, and so long as the same do not
detract in any material manner from the Primary Intended Use, (I) medical or
dental offices or clinics, (II) medical or dental laboratories, (III) day care
center, (IV) hospitals, (V) pharmacy, (VI) medical services and physical
therapy, (VII) florists and card shops which do not have a separate entrance,
(VIII) ancillary parking and (IX) beauty salons, and (X) other similar ancillary
uses currently being conducted at the Facility.

         OVERDUE RATE: On any date, a rate of interest per annum equal to the
greater of: (I) a variable rate of interest per annum equal to one hundred
twenty percent (120%) of the Prime Rate, or (II) eighteen percent (18%) per
annum; provided, however, in no event shall the Overdue Rate be greater than the
maximum rate then permitted under applicable law to be charged by the Lessor.

         PBGC: Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation.

         PERMITS: Collectively, all permits, licenses, approvals,
qualifications, rights, variances, permissive uses, accreditations,
certificates, certifications, consents, agreements, contracts, contract rights,
franchises, interim licenses, permits and other authorizations of every nature
whatsoever required by, or issued under, applicable Legal Requirements
benefiting, relating or affecting the Leased Property or the construction,
development, maintenance, management, use or operation thereof, or the operation
of any programs or services in conjunction with the Leased Property and all
renewals, replacements and substitutions therefor, now or hereafter required or
issued by any Governmental Authority, Accreditation Body or Third Party Payor to
any member of the Leasing Group, or maintained or used by any member of the
Leasing Group, or entered into by any member of the Leasing Group with any third
Person.

         PERMITS ASSIGNMENT: The Collateral Assignment of Permits, Licenses and
Contracts of even date granted by the Lessee to the Lessor.

         PERMITTED ENCUMBRANCES:  As defined in Section 10.1.17.

         PERMITTED PRIOR SECURITY INTERESTS:  As defined in Section 6.1.2.

         PERSON: Any individual, corporation, general partnership, limited
partnership, joint venture, stock company or association, company, bank, trust,
trust company, land trust, business trust, unincorporated organization,
unincorporated association, Governmental Authority or other entity of any kind
or nature.

         PLANS AND SPECIFICATIONS:  As defined in Section 13.1.2.

         PLEDGE AGREEMENT: The Stock Pledge Agreement of even date by and
between the Guarantor, the Lessee and the Lessor.

         PRIMARY INTENDED USE: The use of the Facility as an assisted living
facility (known for regulatory purposes in the State as a personal care home)
with one hundred two (102) licensed assisted living units and such ancillary
uses as are permitted by law and may be necessary in connection therewith or
incidental thereto.

         PRIME RATE: The variable rate of interest per annum from time to time
announced by the Reference Bank as its prime rate of interest and in the event
that the Reference Bank no longer announces a prime rate of interest, then the
Prime Rate shall be deemed to be the variable rate of interest per annum which
is the prime rate of interest or base rate of interest from time to time
announced by any other major bank or other financial institution reasonably
selected by the Lessor.

         PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS:  As defined in Section 10.1.28.

         PROCEEDS:  As defined in the UCC.

         PROVIDER AGREEMENTS: All participation, provider and reimbursement
agreements or arrangements now or hereafter in effect for the benefit of the
Lessee or any Sublessee in connection with the operation of the Facility
relating to any right of payment or other claim arising out of or in connection
with the Lessee's or such Sublessee's participation in any Third Party Payor
Program.

         PURCHASER:  As defined in Section 11.5.4.

         RECEIVABLES: Collectively, all (I) Instruments, Documents, Accounts,
Proceeds, General Intangibles and Chattel Paper and (II) rights to payment for
goods sold or leased or services rendered by the Lessee or any other party in
connection with the operation of the Facility, whether now in existence or
arising from time to time hereafter and whether or not yet earned by
performance, including, without limitation, obligations evidenced by an account,
note, contract, security agreement, chattel paper, or other evidence of
indebtedness.

         REFERENCE BANK:  Fleet Bank of Connecticut, N.A.

         RELATED LEASES: All leases for the facilities listed in Exhibits A and
B to the Agreement Regarding Related Lease Transactions, as amended from time to
time.

         RELATED PARTIES: Collectively, each Person that may now or hereafter be
a party to any Related Party Agreement other than the Meditrust Entities.

         RELATED PARTY AGREEMENT: Any agreement, document or instrument now or
hereafter evidencing or securing any Related Party Obligation, including,
without limitation, the Related Leases and any agreements listed in Schedule 2.6
of the Security Agreement.

         RELATED PARTY DEFAULT: The occurrence of a default or breach of
condition continuing beyond the expiration of any applicable notice and grace
and cure periods, if any, under the terms of any Related Party Agreement.

         RELATED PARTY OBLIGATIONS: Collectively, all indebtedness, covenants,
liabilities, obligations, agreements and undertakings due to, or made for the
benefit of, the Lessor or any of the other Meditrust Entities by the Lessee or
any other member of the Leasing Group or any of their respective Affiliates;
whether such indebtedness, covenants, liabilities, obligations, agreements
and/or undertakings are direct or indirect, absolute or contingent, liquidated
or unliquidated, due or to become due, joint, several or joint and several,
primary or secondary, now existing or hereafter arising, including, without
limitation, the obligations set forth on EXHIBIT K.

         RENT: Collectively, the Base Rent, the Additional Rent, the Additional
Charges and all other sums payable under this Lease and the other Lease
Documents.

         RENT ADJUSTMENT DATE: The first day of each Extended Term.

         RENT ADJUSTMENT RATE: Three hundred thirty (330) basis points over the
Index.

         RENT COVERAGE RATIO: The ratio of (I) Cash Flow for each applicable
period to (II) the total of all Rent paid or payable during such period or
accrued for such period.

         RENT INSURANCE PROCEEDS:  As defined in Section 13.8.

         RENT SHORTFALL:  As defined in Section 3.1.

         RENT SURPLUS:  As defined in Section 3.1.

         RESIDENT AGREEMENTS: Collectively, all Subleases now or hereafter
executed or entered into by or on behalf of any Person allowing such Person to
reside at the Facility.

         RETAINAGE:  As defined in Section 13.1.3.

         RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL:  As defined in Section 18.1.

         SECURITY AGREEMENT: The Security Agreement as of even date herewith
between the Lessee and the Lessor.

         STATE: The state or commonwealth in which the Leased Property is
located.

         STATED AMOUNT: An amount equal to three (3) months Base Rent during the
first Lease Year.

         SUBLEASE: Collectively, all subleases, licenses, use agreements,
concession agreements, tenancy at will agreements, rentals of other facilities
of the Leased Property and all other occupancy agreements of every kind and
nature (including all Resident Agreements), whether oral or in writing, now in
existence or subsequently entered into by the Lessee, encumbering or affecting
the Leased Property.

         SUBLESSEE: Any sublessee, licensee, concessionaire, tenant or other
occupant under any of the Subleases, but excluding any resident of the Facility
under any Resident Agreement.

         SUBSEQUENT INVESTMENTS: The aggregate amount of all sums expended and
liabilities incurred by the Lessor in connection with Capital Additions.

         SUBSIDIARY OR SUBSIDIARIES: With respect to any Person, any corporation
or other entity of which such Person, directly, or indirectly, through another
entity or otherwise, owns, or has the right to control or direct the voting of,
fifty percent (50%) or more of the outstanding capital stock or other ownership
interest having general voting power (under ordinary circumstances).

         TAKING: A taking or voluntary conveyance during the Term of the Leased
Property, or any interest therein or right accruing thereto, or use thereof, as
the result of, or in settlement of, any Condemnation or other eminent domain
proceeding affecting the Leased Property.

         TANGIBLE NET WORTH: An amount determined in accordance with GAAP equal
to the total assets of any Person, excluding the total intangible assets of such
Person, minus the total liabilities of such Person. Total intangible assets
shall be deemed to include, but shall not be limited to, the excess of cost over
book value of acquired businesses accounted for by the purchase method,
formulae, trademarks, trade names, patents, patent rights and deferred expenses
(including, but not limited to, unamortized debt discount and expense,
organizational expense and experimental and development expenses).

         TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY: All vehicles, machinery, equipment,
furniture, furnishings, movable walls or partitions, computers or trade
fixtures, goods, inventory, supplies, and other personal property owned or
leased (pursuant to equipment leases) by the Lessee and used in connection with
the operation of the Leased Property.

         TERM: Collectively, the Initial Term and each Extended Term which has
become effective pursuant to Section 1.3, as the context may require, unless
earlier terminated pursuant to the provisions hereof.

         THIRD PARTY PAYOR PROGRAMS: Collectively, all third party payor
programs in which the Lessee or any Sublessee presently or in the future may
participate, including without limitation, Medicare, Medicaid, Blue Cross and/or
Blue Shield, Managed Care Plans, other private insurance plans and employee
assistance programs.

         THIRD PARTY PAYORS: Collectively, Medicare, Medicaid, Blue Cross and/or
Blue Shield, private insurers and any other Person which presently or in the
future maintains Third Party Payor Programs.

         UCC: The Uniform Commercial Code as in effect from time to time in the
State.

         UNAVOIDABLE DELAYS: Delays due to strikes, lockouts, inability to
procure materials, power failure, acts of God, governmental restrictions, enemy
action, civil commotion, fire, unavoidable casualty or other causes beyond the
control of the party responsible for performing an obligation hereunder,
provided that lack of funds shall not be deemed a cause beyond the control of
either party hereto.

         UNITED STATES TREASURY SECURITIES: The uninsured treasury securities
issued by the United States Federal Reserve Bank.

         UNSUITABLE FOR ITS PRIMARY INTENDED USE: As used anywhere in this
Lease, the term "Unsuitable For Its Primary Intended Use" shall mean that, by
reason of Casualty, or a partial or temporary Taking by Condemnation, as jointly
determined by the Lessor and the Lessee in good faith, the Facility cannot be
operated on a commercially practicable basis for the Primary Intended Use,
taking into account, among other relevant factors, the number of usable units
affected by such Casualty or partial or temporary Taking.

         UPGRADE RENOVATIONS:  As defined in Section 8.1.4.

         WORK:  As defined in Section 13.1.1.

         WORK CERTIFICATES:  As defined in Section 13.1.3.

         2.2     RULES OF CONSTRUCTION. The following rules of construction
shall apply to the Lease and each of the other Lease Documents: (A) references
to "herein", "hereof" and "hereunder" shall be deemed to refer to this Lease or
the other applicable Lease Document, and shall not be limited to the particular
text or section or subsection in which such words appear; (B) the use of any
gender shall include all genders and the singular number shall include the
plural and vice versa as the context may require; (C) references to the Lessor's
attorneys shall be deemed to include, without limitation, special counsel and
local counsel for the Lessor; (D) reference to attorneys' fees and expenses
shall be deemed to include only actual attorneys' fees reasonably incurred and
only actual costs reasonably incurred for administrative, paralegal and other
support staff; (E) references to Leased Property shall be deemed to include
references to all of the Leased Property and references to any portion thereof;
(F) references to the Lease Obligations shall be deemed to include references to
all of the Lease Obligations and references to any portion thereof; (G)
references to the Obligations shall be deemed to include references to all of
the Obligations and references to any portion thereof; (H) the term "including",
when following any general statement, will not be construed to limit such
statement to the specific items or matters as provided immediately following the
term "including" (whether or not non-limiting language such as "without
limitation" or "but not limited to" or words of similar import are also used),
but rather will be deemed to refer to all of the items or matters that could
reasonably fall within the broadest scope of the general statement; (I) any
requirement that financial statements be Consolidated in form shall apply only
to such financial statements as relate to a period during any portion of which
the relevant Person has one or more Subsidiaries; (J) all accounting terms not
specifically defined in the Lease Documents shall be construed in accordance
with GAAP; and (K) all exhibits annexed to any of the Lease Documents as
referenced therein shall be deemed incorporated in such Lease Document by such
annexation and/or reference.

                                     ARTICLE

                                      RENT

                 RENT FOR LAND, LEASED IMPROVEMENTS, RELATED RIGHTS AND
FIXTURES. The Lessee will pay to the Lessor, in lawful money of the United
States of America, at the Lessor's address set forth herein or at such other
place or to such other Person as the Lessor from time to time may designate in
writing not less than five (5) Business Days in advance, rent for the Leased
Property, as follows.

                 3.1.1     BASE RENT: The Lessee shall pay to the Lessor a base
         rent (the "Base Rent") per annum that is equal to * , subject to
         adjustment as provided herein, payable in advance in equal, consecutive
         monthly installments due on the first day of each calendar month,
         commencing on January 1, 1997, provided that from the date hereof
         through December 31, 1996 the Lessee shall pay to the Lessor a prorated
         portion of the Base Rent; and provided further that on each Rent
         Adjustment Date, the Base Rent shall be adjusted to equal the greater
         of (i) the then current Base Rent or (ii) an amount equal to the
         Meditrust Investment multiplied by the Rent Adjustment Rate then in
         effect on such Rent Adjustment Date.

                 3.1.2     ADDITIONAL RENT. In addition to the Base Rent, the
         Lessee shall pay to the Lessor additional rent (the "Additional Rent")
         in an amount equal to * percent (*%) of Excess Gross Revenues for each
         calendar year during the Term. Additional Rent shall accrue commencing
         on January 1, 1998, and shall be payable during the Term, quarterly in
         arrears, commencing on April 20, 1998 ("Additional Rent Commencement
         Date") and there shall be an annual reconciliation as provided in
         Section 3.2 below. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in no event shall the
         Additional Rent for any calendar year exceed * percent (*%) of the
         total of Base Rent and Additional Rent paid for the immediately
         preceding calendar year.

         3.2     CALCULATION AND PAYMENT OF ADDITIONAL RENT; ANNUAL
                 RECONCILIATION.

                 3.2.1     ESTIMATES AND PAYMENTS. Commencing on January 1,
         1998, Additional Rent to be paid during each calendar year during the
         Term shall be paid quarterly in arrears (in equal installments on the
         20th day of April, July, October and January) based on the actual
         increase in Gross Revenues over the comparable fiscal quarter for the
         immediately preceding calendar year, to be adjusted at the end of each
         such year based on the actual Excess Gross Revenues calculated for that
         calendar year. Additional Rent due for any portion of any calendar year
         shall be prorated accordingly.

                 3.2.2     ANNUAL STATEMENT. In addition, on or before the first
         day of April of each year following any calendar year for which
         Additional Rent is payable hereunder, the Lessee shall deliver to the
         Lessor an Officer's Certificate, reasonably acceptable to the Lessor
         and certified by the chief financial officer of the Lessee, setting
         forth the Gross Revenues for the immediately preceding calendar year.

                 3.2.3     DEFICITS. If the Additional Rent, as finally
         determined for any calendar year (or portion thereof), exceeds
         the sum of the quarterly payments of Additional Rent previously paid by
         the Lessee with respect to said calendar year, within thirty (30) days
         after such determination is required to be made hereunder, the Lessee
         shall pay such deficit to the Lessor and, if the deficit exceeds five
         percent (5%) of the Additional Rent which was previously paid to the
         Lessor with respect to said calendar year, then the Lessee shall also
         pay the Lessor interest on such deficit at the Overdue Rate from the
         applicable quarterly date that such payment should have originally been
         made by the Lessee to the date that the Lessor receives such payment.

--------
         *Confidential portions omitted and filed separately with the Commission

                 3.2.4     OVERPAYMENTS. If the Additional Rent, as finally
         determined for any calendar year (or portion thereof), is less than the
         amount previously paid with respect thereto by the Lessee, and if no
         Lease Default exists, the Lessee shall notify the Lessor either (A) to
         pay to the Lessee an amount equal to such difference or (B) to grant
         the Lessee a credit against Additional Rent next coming due in the
         amount of such difference.

                 3.2.5     FINAL DETERMINATION. The obligation to pay Additional
         Rent shall survive the expiration or earlier termination of the Term
         (as to Additional Rent payments that are due and payable with respect
         to periods prior to the expiration or earlier termination of the Term
         and during any periods that the Lessee remains in possession of the
         Leased Property), and a final reconciliation, taking into account,
         among other relevant adjustments, any contractual allowances which
         related to Gross Revenues that accrued prior to the date of such
         expiration or earlier termination, but which have been determined to be
         not payable. The Lessee's good faith best estimate of the amount of any
         unresolved contractual allowances shall be made not later than two (2)
         years after said expiration or termination date. Within sixty (60) days
         after the expiration or earlier termination of the Term, the Lessee
         shall advise the Lessor of the Lessee's best estimate of the
         approximate amount of such adjustments, which estimate shall not be
         binding on the Lessee or have any legal effect whatsoever.

                 3.2.6     BEST EFFORTS TO MAXIMIZE. The Lessee further
         covenants that the operation of the Facility shall be conducted in a
         manner consistent with the prevailing standards and practices
         recognized in the assisted living industry as those customarily
         utilized by first class business operations. Subject to any applicable
         Legal Requirements, the members of the Leasing Group shall use their
         best efforts to maximize the Facility's Gross Revenues for the purpose
         of maximizing earnings.

         3.3     CONFIRMATION AND AUDIT OF ADDITIONAL RENT.

                 3.3.1     MAINTAIN ACCOUNTING SYSTEMS. The Lessee shall
         utilize, or cause to be utilized, an accounting system for the Leased
         Property in accordance with usual and customary practices in the
         assisted living industry and in accordance with GAAP which will
         accurately record all Gross Revenues. The Lessee shall retain, for at
         least three (3) years after the expiration of each calendar year (and
         in any event until the final reconciliation described in Section 3.2
         above has been made), adequate records conforming to such accounting
         system showing all Gross Revenues for such calendar year.

                 3.3.2     AUDIT BY LESSOR. The Lessor, at its own expense
         except as provided hereinbelow, shall have the right from time to time
         to have its accountants or representatives audit the information set
         forth in the Officer's Certificate referred to in Section 3.2 and in
         connection with such audits, to examine the Lessee's records with
         respect thereto (including supporting data, income tax and sales tax
         returns), subject to any prohibitions or limitations on disclosure of
         any such data under applicable law or regulations, including without
         limitation, any duly enacted "Patients' Bill of Rights" or similar
         legislation, including such
         limitations as may be necessary to preserve the confidentiality of any
         Facility-patient relationship and any physician-patient privilege.

                 3.3.3     DEFICIENCIES AND OVERPAYMENTS. If any such audit
         discloses a deficiency in the reporting of Gross Revenues and either
         the Lessee agrees with the result of such audit or the matter is
         compromised, the Lessee shall forthwith pay to the Lessor the amount of
         the deficiency in Additional Rent which would have been payable by it
         had such deficiency in reporting Gross Revenues not occurred, as
         finally agreed or determined, together with interest on the Additional
         Rent which should have been payable by it, calculated at the Overdue
         Rate, from the date when said payment should have been made by the
         Lessee to the date that the Lessor receives such payment.
         Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein, with respect to any
         audit that is commenced more than two (2) years after the date Gross
         Revenues for any calendar year are reported by the Lessee to the
         Lessor, the deficiency, if any, with respect to Additional Rent shall
         bear interest as permitted herein only from the date such determination
         of deficiency is made, unless such deficiency is the result of gross
         negligence or willful misconduct on the part of the Lessee (or any
         Affiliate thereof). If any audit conducted for the Lessor pursuant to
         the provisions hereof discloses that (A) the Gross Revenues actually
         received by the Lessee for any calendar year exceed those reported by
         the Lessee by more than five percent (5%), the Lessee shall pay the
         reasonable cost of such audit and examination or (B) the Lessee has
         overpaid Additional Rent, and if no Lease Default exists, the Lessor
         shall so notify the Lessee and the Lessee shall direct the Lessor
         either (I) to refund the overpayment to the Lessee or (II) grant a
         credit against Additional Rent next coming due in the amount of such
         difference.

                 3.3.4     SURVIVAL.  The obligations of the Lessor and the
         Lessee contained in this Section shall survive the expiration
         or earlier termination of this Lease.

         3.4     ADDITIONAL CHARGES. Subject to the rights to contest as set
forth in Article 15, in addition to the Base Rent and the Additional Rent, (A)
the Lessee will also pay and discharge as and when due and payable all
Impositions, all amounts, liabilities and obligations under the Appurtenant
Agreements due from or payable by the owner of the Leased Property, all amounts,
liabilities and obligations under the Permitted Encumbrances due from or payable
by the owner of the Leased Property and all other amounts, liabilities and
obligations which the Lessee assumes or agrees to pay under this Lease, and (B)
in the event of any failure on the part of the Lessee to pay any of those items
referred to in clause (a) above, the Lessee will also promptly pay and discharge
every fine, penalty, interest and cost which may be added for non-payment or
late payment of such items (the items referred to in clauses (a) and (b) above
being referred to herein collectively as the "Additional Charges"), and the
Lessor shall have all legal, equitable and contractual rights, powers and
remedies
provided in this Lease, by statute or otherwise, in the case of non-payment of
the Additional Charges, as well as the Base Rent and the Additional Rent. To the
extent that the Lessee pays any Additional Charges to the Lessor pursuant to any
requirement of this Lease, the Lessee shall be relieved of its obligation to pay
such Additional Charges to any other Person to which such Additional Charges
would otherwise be due, and the Lessor shall be obligated to pay such Additional
Charges to any Person to whom such Additional Charges are due promptly and prior
to any additional costs or expenses being incurred.

         3.5     LEASING COMMITMENT FEE: The Lessee shall pay to the Lessor the
Leasing Commitment Fee simultaneously with the execution of this Lease;
provided, however, that, at the Lessor's option, the Leasing Commitment Fee
shall be held in an escrow account established with a Person designated by the
Lessor pursuant to an escrow arrangement satisfactory to the Lessor, with
interest thereon benefiting the Lessor. If the Lessor exercises its option to
require that the Leasing Commitment Fee be held in such an escrow account (A)
the Leasing Commitment Fee shall be disbursed from said escrow account only upon
the joint instructions of the Lessee and the Lessor (which instructions from the
Lessee shall be immediately given upon the request of the Lessor) and in no
event shall the Leasing Commitment Fee be disbursed therefrom, in whole or in
part, unless and until so requested by the Lessor and (B) the Lessor shall bear
the risk of loss of or misappropriation of the Leasing Commitment Fee by such
escrow agent.

         3.6     NET LEASE. The Rent shall be paid absolutely net to the Lessor,
so that this Lease shall yield to the Lessor the full amount of the installments
of Base Rent, the Additional Rent and the payments of Additional Charges
throughout the Term.

         3.7     NO LESSEE TERMINATION OR OFFSET.

                 3.7.1     NO TERMINATION. Except as may be otherwise
         specifically and expressly provided in Article 13 or Article 14 of this
         Lease, the Lessee, to the extent not prohibited by applicable law,
         shall remain bound by this Lease in accordance with its terms and shall
         neither take any action without the consent of the Lessor to modify,
         surrender or terminate the same, nor seek nor be entitled to any
         abatement, deduction, deferment or reduction of Rent, or set-off
         against the Rent, nor shall the respective obligations of the Lessor
         and the Lessee be otherwise affected by reason of (A) any Casualty or
         any Taking of the Leased Property, (B) the lawful or unlawful
         prohibition of, or restriction upon, the Lessee's use of the Leased
         Property or the interference with such use by any Person (other than
         the Lessor, except to the extent permitted hereunder) or by reason of
         eviction by paramount title; (C) any claim that the Lessee has or might
         have against the Lessor, (D) any default or breach of any warranty by
         the Lessor or any of the other Meditrust Entities under this Lease, any
         other Lease Document or any Related Party Agreement, (E) any
         bankruptcy, insolvency, reorganization, composition, readjustment,
         liquidation, dissolution, winding up or other proceedings affecting the
         Lessor or any assignee or transferee of the Lessor or (F) any other
         cause whether similar or dissimilar to any of the foregoing, other than
         a discharge of the Lessee from any of the Lease Obligations as a matter
         of law.

                 3.7.2     WAIVER. The Lessee, to the fullest extent not
         prohibited by applicable law, hereby specifically waives all rights,
         arising from any occurrence whatsoever, which may now or hereafter be
         conferred upon it by law to (A) modify, surrender or terminate this
         Lease or quit or surrender the Leased Property or (B) entitle the
         Lessee to any abatement, reduction, suspension or deferment of the Rent
         or other sums payable by the Lessee hereunder, except as otherwise
         specifically and expressly provided in this Lease.

                  3.7.3    INDEPENDENT COVENANTS. The obligations of the Lessor
         and the Lessee hereunder shall be separate and independent covenants
         and agreements and the Rent and all other sums payable by the Lessee
         hereunder shall continue to be payable in all events unless the
         obligations to pay the same shall be terminated pursuant to the express
         provisions of this Lease or (except in those instances where the
         obligation to pay expressly survives the termination of this Lease) by
         termination of this Lease other than by reason of an Event of Default.

         3.8     ABATEMENT OF RENT LIMITED. There shall be no abatement of Rent
on account of any Casualty, Taking or other event, except that in the event of a
partial Taking or a temporary Taking as described in Section 14.3 or in the
event of a Casualty described in Section 13.1.1, the Base Rent shall be abated
as follows: (A) in the case of such a partial Taking, the Meditrust Investment
shall be reduced for the purposes of calculating Base Rent pursuant to Section
3.1 by subtracting therefrom, as applicable, the net amount of the Award
received by the Lessor; (B) in the case of such a temporary Taking, by reducing
the Base Rent for the period of such a temporary Taking, by the net amount of
the Award received by the Lessor; and (C) in the event of a Casualty which is
not the result of the gross negligence or willful misconduct of any member of
the Leasing Group and which the Lessee is proceeding to restore in accordance
with the provisions of this Lease, by reducing the Base Rent during the period
the Lessee is unable to use the Leased Property for the Primary Intended Use by
the net amount of rent loss and/or business interruption insurance received by
the Lessor.

         For the purposes of this Section 3.6, the "net amount of the Award
received by the Lessor" shall mean the Award paid to the Lessor on account of
such Taking, minus all costs and expenses incurred by the Lessor in connection
therewith, and minus any amounts paid to or for the account of the Lessee to
reimburse for the costs and expenses of reconstructing the Facility following
such Taking in order to create a viable and functional Facility under all of the
circumstances.

                                     ARTICLE

                         IMPOSITIONS; TAXES; UTILITIES;
                               INSURANCE PAYMENTS

         4.1     PAYMENT OF IMPOSITIONS.

                 4.1.1.    LESSEE TO PAY. Subject to the provisions of Section
         4.1.2 and Article 15, the Lessee will pay or cause to be paid all
         Impositions before any fine, penalty, interest or cost may be added for
         non-payment, such payments to be made directly to the taxing authority
         where feasible, and the Lessee, upon request by the Lessor, will
         promptly furnish the Lessor copies of official receipts or other
         satisfactory proof evidencing payment not later than the last day on
         which the same may be paid without penalty or interest. The Lessor
         shall promptly forward to the Lessee for payment any and all bills or
         invoices it receives with respect to Impositions.

                 4.1.2     INSTALLMENT ELECTIONS. If any such Imposition may, at
         the option of the taxpayer, lawfully be paid in installments (whether
         or not interest shall accrue on the unpaid balance of such Imposition),
         the Lessee may exercise the option to pay the same (and any accrued
         interest on the unpaid balance of such Imposition) in installments and,
         in such event, shall pay such installments during the Term hereof
         (subject to the Lessee's right to contest pursuant to the provisions of
         Section 4.1.5 below) as the same respectively become due and before any
         fine, penalty, premium, further interest or cost may be added thereto.

                 4.1.3     RETURNS AND REPORTS. The Lessor, at its expense,
         shall, to the extent permitted by applicable law, prepare and file all
         tax returns and reports as may be required by Governmental Authorities
         in respect of the Lessor's net income, gross receipts, franchise taxes
         and taxes on its capital stock, and the Lessee, at its expense, shall,
         to the extent permitted by applicable laws and regulations, prepare and
         file all other tax returns and reports in respect of any Imposition as
         may be required by Governmental Authorities. The Lessor and the Lessee
         shall, upon request of the other, provide such data as is maintained by
         the party to whom the request is made with respect to the Leased
         Property as may be necessary to prepare any required returns and
         reports. In the event that any Governmental Authority classifies any
         property covered by this Lease as personal property, the Lessee shall
         file all personal property tax returns in such jurisdictions where it
         may legally so file. The Lessor, to the extent it possesses the same,
         and the Lessee, to the extent it possesses the same, will provide the
         other party, upon request, with cost and depreciation records necessary
         for filing returns for any portion of Leased Property so classified as
         personal property. Where the Lessor is legally required to file
         personal property tax returns, if the Lessee notifies the Lessor of the
         obligation to do so in each year at least thirty (30) days prior to the
         date any
         protest must be filed, the Lessee will be provided with copies of
         assessment notices so as to enable the Lessee to file a protest.

                 4.1.4     REFUNDS. If no Lease Default shall have occurred and
         be continuing, any refund due from any taxing authority in respect of
         any Imposition paid by the Lessee shall be paid over to or retained by
         the Lessee. If a Lease Default shall have occurred and be continuing,
         at the Lessor's option, such funds shall be paid over to the Lessor
         and/or retained by the Lessor and applied toward the Obligations in
         accordance with the Lease Documents and/or the Related Party
         Agreements.

                 4.1.5     PROTEST. Upon giving notice to the Lessor, at the
         Lessee's option and sole cost and expense, and subject to compliance
         with the provisions of Article 15, the Lessee may contest, protest,
         appeal, or institute such other proceedings as the Lessee may deem
         appropriate to effect a reduction of any Imposition and the Lessor, at
         the Lessee's cost and expense as aforesaid, shall fully cooperate in a
         reasonable manner with the Lessee in connection with such protest,
         appeal or other action.

         4.2     NOTICE OF IMPOSITIONS. The Lessor shall give prompt notice to
the Lessee of all Impositions payable by the Lessee hereunder of which the
Lessor at any time has knowledge, but the Lessor's failure to give any such
notice shall in no way diminish the Lessee's obligations hereunder to pay such
Impositions.

         4.3     ADJUSTMENT OF IMPOSITIONS. Impositions imposed in respect of
the period during which the expiration or earlier termination of the Term occurs
shall be adjusted and prorated between the Lessor and the Lessee, whether or not
such Impositions are imposed before or after such expiration or termination, and
the Lessee's obligation to pay and the Lessor's obligation to refund their
respective prorated share thereof shall survive such expiration or termination.

         4.4     UTILITY CHARGES. The Lessee will pay or cause to be paid all
charges for electricity, power, gas, oil, water, telephone and other utilities
used in the Leased Property during the Term and thereafter until the Lessee
surrenders the Leased Property in the manner required by this Lease. If the
Lessee is required to pay a deposit to any of the utility providers serving the
Leased Property, any and all such deposits shall become the property of the
Lessee at the expiration of the Term (as opposed to an earlier termination of
this Lease) if and when the Lessee surrenders the Leased Property in the manner
required by this Lease.

         4.5     INSURANCE PREMIUMS. The Lessee will pay or cause to be paid all
premiums for the insurance coverage required to be maintained pursuant to
Article 12 during the Term, and thereafter until the Lessee yields up the Leased
Property in the manner required by this Lease. All such premiums shall be paid
annually in advance and the Lessee, at the Lessor's request, shall furnish the
Lessor with evidence satisfactory to the Lessor that all such premiums have been
so paid prior to the
commencement of the Term and thereafter at least thirty (30) days prior to the
due date of each premium which thereafter becomes due. Notwithstanding the
foregoing, the Lessee may pay such insurance premiums to the insurer in monthly
installments so long as the applicable insurer is contractually obligated to
give the Lessor not less than a sixty (60) days notice of non-payment and so
long as no Lease Default has occurred and is continuing. In the event of the
failure of the Lessee either to comply with the insurance requirements in
Article 12, or to pay the premiums for such insurance, or to deliver such
policies or certificates thereof to the Lessor at the times required hereunder,
the Lessor shall be entitled, but shall have no obligation, to effect such
insurance and pay the premiums therefor, which premiums shall be a demand
obligation of the Lessee to the Lessor.

         4.6     DEPOSITS.

                 4.6.1     LESSOR'S OPTION. At the option of the Lessor, which
         may be exercised at any time after an Event of Default occurs, the
         Lessee shall, upon written request of the Lessor, on the first day on
         the calendar month immediately following such request, and on the first
         day of each calendar month thereafter during the Term (each of which
         dates is referred to as a "Monthly Deposit Date"), pay to and deposit
         with the Lessor a sum equal to one-twelfth (1/12th) of the Impositions
         to be levied, charged, filed, assessed or imposed upon or against the
         Leased Property within one (1) year after said Monthly Deposit Date and
         a sum equal to one-twelfth (1/12th) of the premiums for the insurance
         policies required pursuant to Article 12 which are payable within one
         (1) year after said Monthly Deposit Date. If the amount of the
         Impositions to be levied, charged, assessed or imposed or insurance
         premiums to be paid within the ensuing one (1) year period shall not be
         fixed upon any Monthly Deposit Date, such amount for the purpose of
         computing the deposit to be made by the Lessee hereunder shall be
         reasonably estimated by the Lessor with an appropriate adjustment to be
         promptly made between the Lessor and the Lessee as soon as such amount
         becomes determinable. In addition, the Lessor may, at its option, from
         time to time require that any particular deposit be greater than
         one-twelfth (1/12th) of the estimated amount payable within one (1)
         year after said Monthly Deposit Date, if such additional deposit is
         reasonably required in order to provide to the Lessor a sufficient fund
         from which to make payment of all Impositions on or before the next due
         date of any installment thereof, or to make payment of any required
         insurance premiums not later than the due date thereof.

                 4.6.2     USE OF DEPOSITS. The sums deposited by the Lessee
         under this Section 4.6 shall be held by the Lessor and shall be applied
         by the Lessor in payment of the Impositions or insurance premiums, as
         the case may be, on or before the due date thereafter and prior to any
         penalty, interest, late fee or other similar charge being imposed to
         the extent of available funds deposited by the Lessee under this
         Section 4.6. Any such deposits may be commingled with other assets of
         the Lessor, and shall be deposited by the Lessor at such bank as the
         Lessor may, from time to time select, and the Lessor shall not be
         liable to the Lessee or any other Person (A) based on the Lessor's (or
         such bank's) choice of investment vehicles, (B) for
         any consequent loss of principal or interest or (C) for any
         unavailability of funds based on such choice of investment; provided,
         however, that notwithstanding the foregoing, the Lessor shall only
         invest any such deposit in any of the investment vehicles described on
         Exhibit A of the Deposit Pledge Agreement. Furthermore, the Lessor
         shall bear no responsibility for the financial condition of, nor any
         act or omission by, the Lessor's depository bank. The income from such
         investment or interest on such deposit shall be paid to the Lessee on a
         semi-annual basis as long as no Lease Default has occurred and is then
         continuing, and as long as no fact or circumstance exists which, with
         the giving of notice and/or the passage of time, would constitute a
         Lease Default. The Lessee shall give not less than ten (10) days prior
         written notice to the Lessor in each instance when an Imposition or
         insurance premium is due, specifying the Imposition or premium to be
         paid and the amount thereof, the place of payment, and the last day on
         which the same may be paid in order to comply with the requirements of
         this Lease. If the Lessor, in violation of its obligations under this
         Lease, does not pay any Imposition or insurance premium when due, for
         which a sufficient deposit exists, the Lessee shall not be in default
         hereunder by virtue of the failure of the Lessor to pay such Imposition
         or such insurance premium and the Lessor shall pay any interest or fine
         assessed by virtue of the Lessor's failure to pay such Imposition or
         insurance premium.

                 4.6.3     DEFICITS. If for any reason any deposit held by the
         Lessor under this Section 4.6 shall not be sufficient to pay an
         Imposition or insurance premium within the time specified therefor in
         this Lease, then, within ten (10) days after demand by the Lessor, the
         Lessee shall deposit an additional amount with the Lessor, increasing
         the deposit held by the Lessor so that the Lessor holds sufficient
         funds to pay such Imposition or premium in full (or in installments as
         otherwise provided for herein), together with any penalty or interest
         due thereon. The Lessor may change its estimate of any Imposition or
         insurance premium for any period on the basis of a change in an
         assessment or tax rate or on the basis of a prior miscalculation; in
         which event, within ten (10) days after demand by the Lessor, the
         Lessee shall deposit with the Lessor the amount in excess of the sums
         previously deposited with the Lessor for the applicable period which
         would theretofore have been payable under the revised estimate.

                 4.6.4     OTHER PROPERTIES. If any Imposition shall be levied,
         charged, filed, assessed, or imposed upon or against the Leased
         Property, and if such Imposition shall also be a levy, charge,
         assessment, or imposition upon or for any other real or personal
         property that does not constitute a part of the Leased Property, then
         the computation of the amounts to be deposited under this Section 4.6
         shall be based upon the entire amount of such Imposition and the Lessee
         shall not have the right to apportion any deposit with respect to such
         Imposition. However, the Lessor will reasonably cooperate with the
         Lessee (but at no cost or expense to the Lessor) to change the manner
         of assessment for such Imposition so that such Imposition will
         thereafter relate only to the Leased Property.

                 4.6.5    TRANSFERS. In connection with any assignment of the
         Lessor's interest under this Lease, the original Lessor named herein
         and each successor in interest shall be obligated to transfer all
         amounts deposited pursuant to the provisions of this Section 4.6 then
         in its possession to such assignee (as the subsequent holder of the
         Lessor's interest in this Lease), who shall be obligated to assume the
         Lessor's obligations with respect to all such deposited amounts, and
         upon such transfer, the original Lessor named herein or the applicable
         successor in interest transferring the deposits shall thereupon be
         completely released from all liability with respect to such deposits so
         transferred and the Lessee shall look solely to said assignee, as the
         subsequent holder of the Lessor's interest under this Lease, in
         reference thereto. The original Lessor named herein or the applicable
         successor in interest transferring the deposits shall provide written
         notice to the Lessee of such transfer. The original Lessor named herein
         or the applicable successor in interest shall not be released from
         liability with respect to the deposits so transferred unless the next
         successor in interest assumes liability for such deposits.

                 4.6.6     SECURITY. All amounts deposited with the Lessor
         pursuant to the provisions of this Section 4.6 shall be held by the
         Lessor as additional security for the payment and performance of the
         Obligations and, upon the occurrence of any Lease Default, the Lessor
         may, in its sole and absolute discretion, apply said amounts towards
         payment or performance of such Obligations.

                 4.6.7     RETURN. Upon the expiration or earlier termination of
         this Lease, provided, that, all of the Lease Obligations have been
         fully paid and performed, any sums then held by the Lessor under this
         Section 4.6 shall be refunded to the Lessee; unless a Related Party
         Default has occurred, in which event such sums may be applied towards
         the Obligations in accordance with the Related Party Agreements.

                 4.6.8     RECEIPTS. The Lessee shall immediately deliver to the
         Lessor copies of all notices of non-payment of any insurance premiums
         and/or Impositions and, upon the Lessor's request, shall deliver to the
         Lessor copies of all other notices, demands, claims, bills and receipts
         in relation to the Impositions and insurance premiums immediately upon
         receipt thereof by the Lessee.

                                  ARTICLE 5

               OWNERSHIP OF LEASED PROPERTY AND PERSONAL PROPERTY;
                    INSTALLATION, REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT OF
                                PERSONAL PROPERTY

         5.1     OWNERSHIP OF THE LEASED PROPERTY. The Lessee acknowledges that
the Leased Property is the property of the Lessor and that the Lessee has only
the right to the exclusive possession and use of the Leased Property upon the
terms and conditions of this Lease.

         5.2     PERSONAL PROPERTY; REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT OF PERSONAL
                 PROPERTY.

                 5.2.1     LESSEE TO EQUIP FACILITY. The Lessee, at its sole
         cost and expense, shall install, affix or assemble or place on the
         Leased Property, sufficient items of Tangible Personal Property to
         enable the Leased Property to be operated in accordance with the
         requirements of this Lease for the Primary Intended Use and the Other
         Permitted Uses, and such Tangible Personal Property and replacements
         thereof, shall be at all times the property of the Lessee.

                 5.2.2     SUFFICIENT PERSONAL PROPERTY. The Lessee shall
         maintain, during the entire Term, the Tangible Personal Property in
         good order and repair and shall provide at its expense all necessary
         replacements thereof, as may be necessary in order to operate the
         Leased Property in compliance with all applicable Legal Requirements
         and Insurance Requirements and otherwise in accordance with customary
         practice in the industry for the Primary Intended Use and the Other
         Permitted Uses, unless the failure to comply with the same will not
         have any adverse effect on either the Leased Property or the Lessee. In
         addition, the Lessee shall (A) furnish all necessary replacements of
         obsolete items of the Tangible Personal Property during the Term,
         unless the Lessee provides the Lessor with an explanation (reasonably
         acceptable to the Lessor) as to why such Tangible Personal Property is
         no longer required in connection with the operation of the Leased
         Property and (B) if requested by the Lessor, deliver to the Lessor, a
         detailed inventory of all such Tangible Personal Property.

                 5.2.3     REMOVAL AND REPLACEMENT; LESSOR'S OPTION TO PURCHASE.
         The Lessee shall not remove from the Leased Property any one or more
         items of Tangible Personal Property (whether now owned or hereafter
         acquired), the fair market value of which exceeds TWENTY-FIVE THOUSAND
         AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($25,000.00), individually or ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND
         AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($100,000.00) collectively, except if such Tangible
         Personal Property is simultaneously suitably replaced or the Lessee
         provides the Lessor with an explanation (reasonably satisfactory to the
         Lessor) as to why such Tangible Personal Property is no longer required
         in connection with the operation of the Leased Property. At its sole
         cost and expense, the Lessee shall restore the Leased Property
         to the condition required by Article 8, including repair of all damage
         to the Leased Property caused by the removal of the Tangible Personal
         Property, whether effected by the Lessee or the Lessor. Upon the
         expiration or earlier termination of this Lease, the Lessor shall have
         the option, which may be exercised prior to or within the relevant
         Decision Period (defined below), of (A) acquiring the Tangible Personal
         Property (pursuant to a bill of sale and assignments of any equipment
         leases, all in such forms as are reasonably satisfactory to the Lessor)
         upon payment of its fair market value or (B) requiring the Lessee to
         remove the Tangible Personal Property. For purposes of the preceding
         sentence, the "Decision Period" shall mean (1) the last day of the Term
         with respect to the expiration thereof in accordance with the
         provisions of this Lease, (2) the fifth (5th) Business Day after the
         date of any earlier termination of this Lease based on either Casualty
         or Condemnation or (3) the thirtieth (30th) day after the date of any
         earlier termination of this Lease based on any Event of Default. If the
         Lessor exercises its option to purchase the Tangible Personal Property,
         the price to be paid by the Lessor shall be (I) reduced by the amount
         of all payments due on any equipment leases or any other Permitted
         Prior Security Interests assumed by the Lessor and (II) applied to the
         Lease Obligations before any payment to the Lessee. If the Lessor
         requires the removal of the Tangible Personal Property, then all of the
         Tangible Personal Property that is not removed by the Lessee within ten
         (10) days following such request shall be considered abandoned by the
         Lessee and may be appropriated, sold, destroyed or otherwise disposed
         of by the Lessor without first giving notice thereof to the Lessee,
         without any payment to the Lessee and without any obligation to account
         therefor.

                                     ARTICLE

                         SECURITY FOR LEASE OBLIGATIONS

         6.1     SECURITY FOR THE LESSEE'S OBLIGATIONS; PERMITTED PRIOR
                 SECURITY INTERESTS.

                 6.1.1     SECURITY. In order to secure the payment and
         performance of all of the Obligations, the Lessee agrees to provide or
         cause there to be provided, among other things, the following security:

                           (A) a first lien and exclusive security interest in
                  the Tangible Personal Property, Receivables and certain other
                  Collateral as more particularly provided for in the Security
                  Agreement;

                           (B) the Cash Collateral described in Section 6.2;

                           (C) a first lien and exclusive pledge of all of the
                  capital stock of the Lessee all as more particularly set forth
                  in the Pledge Agreement(s). If any Person
                 other than the Lessee or the Guarantor shall ever operate the
                 Facility, a pledge of all capital stock of, or partnership or
                 other ownership interests, in such Person shall also be
                 provided pursuant to a pledge and security agreement
                 substantially similar to the Pledge Agreements;

                           (D) a first lien and exclusive pledge and assignment
                 of, and security interest in, all Permits and Contracts, as
                 more particularly provided for in the Permits Assignment, to
                 the extent permitted by law or the terms thereof; and

                           (E) in the event that at any time during the Term,
         the Lessee holds the fee title to or a leasehold interest in any real
         property and/or personal property which is used as an integral part of
         the operation of the Leased Property (but is not subject to this
         Lease), the Lessee shall (I) provide the Lessor with prior notice of
         such acquisition and (II) shall take such actions and enter into such
         agreements as the Lessor shall reasonably request in order to grant the
         Lessor a first priority mortgage or other security interest in such
         real property and personal property, subject only to the Permitted
         Encumbrances and other Liens reasonably acceptable to the Lessor.

                 6.1.2     PURCHASE-MONEY SECURITY INTERESTS AND EQUIPMENT
         LEASES. Notwithstanding any other provision hereof regarding the
         creation of Liens, but subject to Section 11.3.8, the Lessee may (A)
         grant priority purchase money security interests in items of Tangible
         Personal Property and (B) lease Tangible Personal Property from
         equipment lessors, as long as in each instance where the aggregate
         amount of such purchase money security interests and equipment leases
         will exceed TWO HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($200,000.00): (I)
         all of the terms, conditions and provisions of the purchase money
         security agreements or equipment leases evidencing the financing
         arrangement are reasonably acceptable to the Lessor; (II) promptly
         after the execution thereof, the Lessee provides to the Lessor true and
         complete copies, as executed, of all such purchase money security
         agreements and equipment leases (and all amendments thereto); (III) no
         such purchase money security interest or equipment lease shall be
         cross-defaulted or cross-collateralized with any other obligation other
         than a purchase money security interest or equipment lease entered into
         by the Lessee involving Tangible Personal Property and the same secured
         party or equipment lessor, as applicable; (IV) the secured party or
         equipment lessors enter into an intercreditor agreement with, and
         satisfactory to, the Lessor, pursuant to which, without limiting the
         foregoing: (X) the Lessor shall be afforded the option of curing
         defaults and the option of succeeding to the rights of the Lessee; (Y)
         the Lessor's security interest in Tangible Personal Property shall be
         subordinated to the security interest granted to such secured party;
         and (Z) the secured party or equipment lessor is not a member of the
         Leasing Group or an Affiliate of any member of the Leasing Group.
         Security interests granted by the Lessee in full compliance with the
         provisions of this Section 6.1.2 are referred to as "Permitted Prior
         Security Interests".

                 CASH COLLATERAL.

                 6.2.1     CASH COLLATERAL.  In order to further secure the
Lessee's performance of the Obligations, on the Commencement Date, pursuant to
the terms of the Deposit Pledge Agreement, the Lessee shall provide and pledge
to the Lessor a credit enhancement for the benefit of the Lessor in the form of
cash or other specified investments approved by the Lessor in the Lessor's name
in the total of the Stated Amount (the "Cash Collateral"). The Cash Collateral
shall serve as additional security for the Obligations and may be drawn upon by
the Lessor upon any Lease Default. The Lessee shall maintain the Cash Collateral
in the full Stated Amount throughout the Term, subject to the provisions of the
Agreement Regarding Related Lease Transactions. The Cash Collateral shall be in
form and substance and, if the Lessor elects a form of Cash Collateral other
than actual cash, from a bank continually acceptable to the Lessor in the
Lessor's reasonable discretion and shall be pledged to the Lessor pursuant to
the Deposit Pledge Agreement.

                 6.2.2     APPLICATION OF CASH COLLATERAL.  Upon the occurrence
of any Lease Default, the Lessor shall be entitled, at its option, to use all or
any portion of the Cash Collateral, including interest thereon, then held by it
to pay any amount otherwise payable by the Lessee or the Guarantor under any of
the Lease Documents, in accordance with the terms of this Lease or the other
Lease Documents.

                 6.2.3     REPLENISHMENT OF CASH COLLATERAL.  If the Lessor
expends any of the Cash Collateral to pay any amount payable by the Lessee, or
otherwise applies the same to or towards the Obligations, the Lessee shall, upon
demand of the Lessor, immediately augment the Cash Collateral so as to increase
the amount held by the Lessor to the full Stated Amount.

         6.3     GUARANTY.  All of the Lease Obligations shall be
unconditionally and irrevocably guaranteed by the Guarantor pursuant to the
Guaranty.

                                     ARTICLE

                      CONDITION AND USE OF LEASED PROPERTY;
                              MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS

         7.1     CONDITION OF THE LEASED PROPERTY. The Lessee acknowledges that
the Guarantor has caused the Leased Property to be sold to the Lessor and that
the Lessee and the Lessor have concurrently entered into this Lease. The Lessee
acknowledges receipt and delivery of possession of the Leased Property and that
the Lessee has examined and otherwise has acquired knowledge of the condition of
the Leased Property prior to the execution and delivery of this Lease and has
found the same to be in good order and repair and satisfactory for its purposes
hereunder. The Lessee is leasing the Leased Property "AS-IS" in its present
condition. The Lessee waives any claim or action against the Lessor in respect
of the condition of the Leased Property. THE LESSOR MAKES NO WARRANTY OR
REPRESENTATION, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, WITH RESPECT TO THE LEASED PROPERTY, EITHER
AS TO ITS FITNESS FOR ANY PARTICULAR PURPOSE OR USE, ITS DESIGN OR CONDITION OR
OTHERWISE, OR AS TO DEFECTS IN THE QUALITY OF THE MATERIAL OR WORKMANSHIP
THEREIN, LATENT OR PATENT; IT BEING AGREED THAT ALL RISKS RELATING TO THE
DESIGN, CONDITION AND/OR USE OF THE LEASED PROPERTY ARE TO BE BORNE BY THE
LESSEE. THE LESSEE HEREBY ASSUMES ALL RISK OF THE PHYSICAL CONDITION OF THE
LEASED PROPERTY, THE SUITABILITY OF THE LEASED PROPERTY FOR THE LESSEE'S
PURPOSES, AND THE COMPLIANCE OR NON-COMPLIANCE OF THE LEASED PROPERTY WITH ALL
APPLICABLE REQUIREMENTS OF LAW, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO ENVIRONMENTAL LAWS
AND ZONING OR LAND USE LAWS.

         Upon the request of the Lessor following a Lease Default or if the
Lessor has a reasonable basis to believe any of the following circumstances
exist, at any time and from time to time during the Term, the Lessee shall
engage one (1) or more independent professional consultants, engineers and
inspectors, qualified to do business in the State and acceptable to the Lessor
to perform any environmental and/or structural investigations and/or other
inspections of the Leased Property and the Facility as the Lessor may reasonably
request in order to detect (A) any structural deficiencies in the Leased
Improvements or the utilities servicing and/or located on the Leased Property or
(B) the presence of any condition that (I) in the Lessor's reasonable judgment
is likely to be harmful or present a health hazard to the residents and other
occupants of the Leased Property or (II) constitutes a breach or violation of
any of the Lease Documents. In the event that the Lessor reasonably determines
that the results of such testing or inspections are unsatisfactory, within
thirty (30) days of notice from the Lessor (except as otherwise provided in the
Environmental Indemnity Agreement), the Lessee shall commence such appropriate
remedial actions as may be required under this Lease and reasonably requested by
the Lessor to correct such unsatisfactory conditions and,
thereafter, shall diligently and continuously prosecute such remedial actions to
completion within the time limits prescribed in this Lease or the other Lease
Documents. Any report produced by any aforementioned consultant, engineer or
inspector in connection with an environmental and/or structural investigation
and/or other investigation of the Leased Property shall be addressed to and
provided to both the Lessor and the Lessee.

         7.2     USE OF THE LEASED PROPERTY; COMPLIANCE; MANAGEMENT.

                 7.2.1     OBLIGATION TO OPERATE. The Lessee or any other
         Acceptable Licensed Operator shall continuously operate the Leased
         Property in accordance with the Primary Intended Use and the Other
         Permitted Uses and maintain its qualifications for licensure and
         accreditation as required by all applicable Legal Requirements and
         Insurance Requirements.

                 7.2.2     PERMITTED USES. During the entire Term, the Lessee
         shall use the Leased Property, or permit the Leased Property to be
         used, only for the Primary Intended Use and the Other Permitted Uses.
         The Lessee shall not use the Leased Property or permit the Leased
         Property to be used for any other use without the prior written consent
         of the Lessor, which consent may be withheld in the Lessor's sole and
         absolute discretion.

                 7.2.3     COMPLIANCE WITH INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS. No use shall
         be made or permitted to be made of the Leased Property and no acts
         shall be done which will cause the cancellation of any insurance policy
         covering the Leased Property, nor shall the Lessee, any Manager or any
         other Person sell or otherwise provide to any residents, other
         occupants or invitees therein, or permit to be kept, used or sold in or
         about the Leased Property, any article which may be prohibited by any
         Legal Requirement or by any of the Insurance Requirements. Furthermore,
         the Lessee shall, at its sole cost and expense, take whatever other
         actions that may be necessary to comply with and to insure that the
         Leased Property complies with all Insurance Requirements.

                 7.2.4     NO WASTE. The Lessee shall not commit or suffer to be
         committed any waste on, in or under the Leased Property, nor shall the
         Lessee cause or permit any nuisance thereon.

                 7.2.5     NO IMPAIRMENT. The Lessee shall neither suffer nor
         permit the Leased Property to be used in such a manner as (A) might
         reasonably tend to impair the Lessor's title thereto or (B) may
         reasonably make possible a claim or claims of adverse usage or adverse
         possession by the public or of implied dedication of the Leased
         Property.

                 7.2.6     NO LIENS.  Except as permitted pursuant to Section
         6.1.2, the Lessee shall not permit or suffer any Lien to exist on the
Tangible Personal Property and shall in no event
         cause, permit or suffer any Lien to exist with respect to the Leased
         Property other than as set forth in Section 11.5.2.

         7.3     COMPLIANCE WITH LEGAL REQUIREMENTS. The Lessee covenants and
agrees that the Leased Property shall not be used for any unlawful purpose and
that the Lessee and any other Acceptable Licensed Operator, at their sole cost
and expense, shall promptly (A) comply with, and shall cause every other member
of the Leasing Group to comply with, all Legal Requirements relating to the use,
operation, maintenance, repair and restoration of the Leased Property, whether
or not compliance therewith shall require structural change in any of the Leased
Property or interfere with the use and enjoyment of the Leased Property and (B)
procure, maintain and comply with (in all material respects), and shall cause
every other member of the Leasing Group to procure, maintain and comply with (in
all material respects), all Contracts and Permits necessary or desirable in
order to operate the Leased Property for the Primary Intended Use and/or Other
Permitted Uses, and for compliance with all of the terms and conditions of this
Lease. Unless a Lease Default has occurred or any event has occurred which, with
the passage of time and/or the giving of notice would constitute a Lease
Default, the Lessee may, upon prior written notice to the Lessor, contest any
Legal Requirement to the extent permitted by, and in accordance with, Article
15.

         7.4     MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS. From and after the Commencement Date,
the Lessee shall not enter into any Management Agreement without the prior
written approval of the Lessor, in each instance, which approval shall not be
unreasonably withheld. The Lessee shall not, without the prior written approval
of the Lessor, in each instance, which approval shall not be unreasonably
withheld, agree to or allow (A) any change in any Manager or any change in the
ownership or control of any Manager except as otherwise permitted by the
provisions of Sections 16.1(h)(vi) and 16.1(i), (B) the termination of any
Management Agreement (other than in connection with the exercise by the Lessee
of any of its remedies under the Management Agreement as a result of any default
by the Manager thereunder), (C) any assignment by any Manager of its interest
under any Management Agreement or (D) any material amendment of any Management
Agreement. In addition, the Lessee shall, at its sole cost and expense, promptly
and fully perform or cause to be performed every covenant, condition, promise
and obligation of the licensed operator of the Leased Property under any
Management Agreement. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the event that the
Lessee enters into any Management Agreement with an Affiliate of the Lessee, the
Lessor shall consent to the execution and delivery of such Management Agreement,
provided, that, concurrently with the execution and delivery of such Management
Agreement, the Affiliated Party Subordination Agreement and the Environmental
Indemnity Agreement are amended so as to add as a party thereto the applicable
Affiliate of the Lessee that is to be the Manager (so that, among other things,
the payments to be made under such Management Agreement are fully subordinated
to the Lease Obligations).

         Each Management Agreement shall provide that the Lessor shall be
provided notice of any defaults thereunder and, at the Lessor's option, an
opportunity to cure such default. The Lessee shall
furnish to the Lessor, within three (3) days after receipt thereof, or after the
mailing or service thereof by the Lessee, as the case may be, a copy of each
notice of default which the Lessee shall give to, or receive from any Person,
based upon the occurrence, or alleged occurrence, of any default in the
performance of any covenant, condition, promise or obligation under any
Management Agreement.

         Whenever and as often as the Lessee shall fail to perform, promptly and
fully, at its sole cost and expense, any covenant, condition, promise or
obligation on the part of the licensed operator of the Leased Property under and
pursuant to any Management Agreement, the Lessor, or a lawfully appointed
receiver of the Leased Property, may, at their respective options (and without
any obligation to do so), after five (5) days' prior notice to the Lessee
(except in the case of an emergency) enter upon the Leased Property and perform,
or cause to be performed, such work, labor, services, acts or things, and take
such other steps and do such other acts as they may deem advisable, to cure such
defaulted covenant, condition, promise or obligation, and any amount so paid or
advanced by the Lessor or such receiver and all costs and expenses reasonably
incurred in connection therewith (including, without limitation, attorneys' fees
and expenses and court costs), shall be a demand obligation of the Lessee to the
Lessor or such receiver, and, the Lessor shall have the same rights and remedies
for failure to pay such costs on demand as for the Lessee's failure to pay any
other sums due hereunder.

                                     ARTICLE

                              REPAIRS; RESTRICTIONS

         8.1     MAINTENANCE AND REPAIR.

                 8.1.1     LESSEE'S RESPONSIBILITY. The Lessee, at its sole cost
         and expense, shall keep the Leased Property and all private roadways,
         sidewalks and curbs appurtenant thereto which are under the Lessee's
         control in good order and repair (whether or not the need for such
         repairs occurs as a result of the Lessee's use, any prior use, the
         elements or the age of the Leased Property or such private roadways,
         sidewalks and curbs or any other cause whatsoever). Subject to Articles
         9, 13 and 14, the Lessee shall promptly, with the exercise of all
         reasonable efforts, undertake and diligently complete all necessary and
         appropriate repairs, replacements, renovations, restorations,
         alterations and modifications thereof of every kind and nature, whether
         interior or exterior, structural or non-structural, ordinary or
         extraordinary, foreseen or unforeseen or arising by reason of a
         condition (concealed or otherwise) existing prior to the commencement
         of, or during, the Term and thereafter until the Lessee surrenders the
         Leased Property in the manner required by this Lease. The Lessor
         understands that the Facility will incur reasonable, normal wear and
         tear during the Term of this Lease and agrees that the Lessee shall not
         be obligated to repair or replace every
         incidence of reasonable and normal wear and tear. However, nothing
         herein shall relieve the Lessee of its obligation to maintain the
         Leased Property and all private roadways, sidewalks and curbs
         appurtenant thereto which are under the Lessee's control in good order
         and repair. And further, in no event shall such wear and tear present
         any condition which may be harmful to residents or other occupants of
         the Leased Property or which prevents the Leased Property from being
         operated for the Primary Intended Use in accordance with the provisions
         of this Lease. In addition, the Lessee, at its sole cost and expense,
         shall make all repairs, modifications, replacements, renovations and
         alterations of the Leased Property (and such private roadways,
         sidewalks and curbs) that are necessary to comply with all applicable
         Legal Requirements and Insurance Requirements so that the Leased
         Property can be legally operated for the Primary Intended Use and the
         Other Permitted Uses. All repairs, replacements, renovations,
         alterations, and modifications required by the terms of this Section
         8.1 shall be (A) performed in a good and workmanlike manner in
         compliance with all Legal Requirements, Insurance Requirements and the
         requirements of Article 9 hereof, using new materials well suited for
         their intended purpose and (B) consistent with the operation of the
         Leased Property in a first class manner. The Lessee will not take or
         omit to take any action the taking or omission of which might
         materially impair the value or the usefulness of the Leased Property
         for the Primary Intended Use and the Other Permitted Uses. To the
         extent that any of the repairs, replacements, renovations, alterations
         or modifications required by the terms of this Section 8.1 constitute
         Material Structural Work, the Lessee shall obtain the Lessor's prior
         written approval (which approval shall not be unreasonably withheld) of
         the specific repairs, replacements, renovations, alterations and
         modifications to be performed by or on behalf of the Lessee in
         connection with such Material Structural Work, and shall perform the
         same in accordance with the provisions of this Lease upon receipt of
         such approval. Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the event of a bona
         fide emergency during which the Lessee is unable to contact the
         appropriate representatives of the Lessor, the Lessee may commence such
         Material Structural Work as may be necessary in order to address such
         emergency without the Lessor's prior approval, provided, however, that
         the Lessee shall immediately thereafter advise the Lessor of such
         emergency and the nature and scope of the Material Structural Work
         commenced and shall obtain the Lessor's approval of the remaining
         Material Structural Work to be completed.

                 8.1.2     NO LESSOR OBLIGATION. The Lessor shall not, under any
         circumstances (except to the extent of any damage caused thereto as a
         result of the gross negligence or wilful misconduct of the Lessor or
         the Lessor's employees, agents or contractors), be required to build or
         rebuild any improvements on the Leased Property (or any private
         roadways, sidewalks or curbs appurtenant thereto), or to make any
         repairs, replacements, renovations, alterations, restorations,
         modifications, or renewals of any nature or description to the Leased
         Property (or any private roadways, sidewalks or curbs appurtenant
         thereto), whether ordinary or extraordinary, structural or
         non-structural, foreseen or unforeseen, or to make any expenditure
         whatsoever with respect thereto in connection with this Lease, or to
         maintain the

         Leased Property (or any private roadways, sidewalks or curbs
         appurtenant thereto) in any way.

                 8.1.3     LESSEE MAY NOT OBLIGATE LESSOR. Nothing contained
         herein nor any action or inaction by the Lessor shall be construed as
         (A) constituting the consent or request of the Lessor, express or
         implied, to any contractor, subcontractor, laborer, materialman or
         vendor to or for the performance of any labor or services for any
         construction, alteration, addition, repair or demolition of or to the
         Leased Property or (B) giving the Lessee any right, power or permission
         to contract for or permit the performance of any labor or services or
         the furnishing of any materials or other property in such fashion as
         would permit the making of any claim against the Lessor for the payment
         thereof or to make any agreement that may create, or in any way be the
         basis for, any right, title or interest in, or Lien or claim against,
         the estate of the Lessor in the Leased Property. Without limiting the
         generality of the foregoing, the right, title and interest of the
         Lessor in and to the Leased Property shall not be subject to liens or
         encumbrances for the performance of any labor or services or the
         furnishing of any materials or other property furnished to the Leased
         Property at or by the request of the Lessee or any other Person other
         than the Lessor. The Lessee shall notify any contractor, subcontractor,
         laborer, materialman or vendor providing any labor, services or
         materials to the Leased Property of this provision.

                 8.1.4     LESSEE'S OBLIGATION TO PERFORM UPGRADE RENOVATIONS.
         Without limiting the Lessee's obligations to maintain the Leased
         Property under this Lease, within thirty (30) days after the end of
         each Lease Year commencing with the end of the fourth (4th) Lease Year,
         the Lessee shall provide the Lessor with evidence reasonably
         satisfactory to the Lessor that the Lessee has in each and every
         consecutive thirty-six (36) month period commencing with such fourth
         (4th) Lease Year spent an average annual amount on Upgrade Renovations
         (collectively, the "Annual Facility Upgrade Expenditure") equal to
         $200.00 per living unit within the Facility (as such per living unit
         amount shall be adjusted annually at the beginning of each Lease Year
         (commencing with the second (2nd) Lease Year) by an amount equal to the
         product of (i) $200.00 multiplied by (ii) the Consumer Price Adjustment
         Factor). The term "Upgrade Renovations" is defined to mean upgrades or
         improvements to the Leased Property which have the effect of
         maintaining or improving the competitive position of the Leased
         Property in its marketplace; and Upgrade Expenditures shall not include
         normal janitorial, cleaning and maintenance activities. Non-exclusive
         examples of Upgrade Renovations include new or replacement wallpaper,
         tiles, window coverings, lighting fixtures, painting, upgraded
         landscaping, carpeting, architectural adornments, common areas
         amenities and the like. It is expressly understood that capital
         improvements or repairs (such as but not limited to repairs or
         replacements to the structural elements of the walls, parking area, or
         the roof or to the electrical, plumbing, HVAC or other mechanical or
         structural systems in the Leased Property) shall not be considered
         Upgrade Renovations. In the event that during a given Lease Year
         Upgrade Renovations are not necessary (which necessity shall
         be determined in the Lessee's reasonable discretion) and/or the full
         amount of the respective Annual Facility Upgrade Expenditure is not
         made for the Facility for whatever reason, the Lessee shall be required
         to show evidence that a reserve fund has been established with the
         balance of the unexpended Annual Facility Upgrade Expenditure to be
         used solely for Upgrade Renovations in future Lease Years or as
         otherwise requested by the Lessor. If the Lessee fails in each and
         every consecutive thirty-six (36) month period (commencing with the end
         of the fourth (4th) Lease Year) to make Upgrade Renovations in an
         average annual amount equal to the Annual Facility Upgrade Expenditure
         or to establish a reserve fund as aforesaid, the Lessee shall promptly
         on demand from the Lessor (but in no event within more than five (5)
         days) pay to the Lessor the applicable shortfall in the Annual Facility
         Upgrade Expenditure over any aforementioned thirty-six (36) month
         period, as applicable; and the Lessor may retain such funds as
         additional rent hereunder or, in its sole discretion, provide such
         funds to the Lessee to perform Upgrade Renovations.

         8.2     ENCROACHMENTS; TITLE RESTRICTIONS. If any of the Leased
Improvements shall, at any time, encroach upon any property, street or
right-of-way adjacent to the Leased Property, or shall violate the agreements or
conditions contained in any lawful restrictive covenant or other Lien now or
hereafter affecting the Leased Property, or shall impair the rights of others
under any easement, right-of-way or other Lien to which the Leased Property is
now or hereafter subject, then promptly upon the request of the Lessor, the
Lessee shall, at its sole cost and expense, subject to the Lessee's right to
contest the existence of any encroachment, violation or impairment as set forth
in Article 15, (A) obtain valid and effective waivers or settlements of all
claims, liabilities and damages resulting from each such encroachment, violation
or impairment or (B) make such alterations to the Leased Improvements, and take
such other actions, as the Lessee in the good faith exercise of its judgment
deems reasonably practicable, to remove such encroachment, or to end such
violation or impairment, including, if necessary, the alteration of any of the
Leased Improvements. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Lessee shall, in any
event, take all such actions as may be reasonably necessary in order to be able
to continue the operation of the Leased Improvements for the Primary Intended
Use and the Other Permitted Uses substantially in the manner and to the extent
that the Leased Improvements were operated prior to the assertion of such
encroachment, violation or impairment and nothing contained herein shall limit
the Lessee's obligations to operate the Leased Property in accordance with its
Primary Intended Use. Any such alteration made pursuant to the terms of this
Section 8.2 shall be completed in conformity with the applicable requirements of
Section 8.1 and Article 9. The Lessee's obligations under this Section 8.2 shall
be in addition to and shall in no way discharge or diminish any obligation of
any insurer under any policy of title or other insurance.

                                     ARTICLE

                          MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK AND
                                CAPITAL ADDITIONS

         9.1     LESSOR'S APPROVAL. Without the prior written consent of the
Lessor, which consent may be withheld by the Lessor, in its sole and absolute
discretion, the Lessee shall make no Capital Addition or Material Structural
Work to the Leased Property (including, without limitation, any change in the
size or unit capacity of the Facility), except as may be otherwise expressly
required pursuant to Article 8.

         9.2     GENERAL PROVISIONS AS TO CAPITAL ADDITIONS AND CERTAIN MATERIAL
STRUCTURAL WORK. As to any Capital Addition or Material Structural Work (other
than such Material Structural Work that is required to be performed pursuant to
the terms of Section 8.1) for which the Lessor has granted its prior written
approval, the following terms and conditions shall apply unless otherwise
expressly set forth in the Lessor's written approval.

                 9.2.1     NO LIENS. Subject to Article 15 of this Lease, the
         Lessee shall not be permitted to create, nor suffer to exist, any Lien
         on the Leased Property in connection with any Capital Addition or
         Material Structural Work. NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN THAT THE LESSOR IS NOT
         AND SHALL NOT BE LIABLE FOR ANY LABOR, SERVICES OR MATERIALS FURNISHED
         OR TO BE FURNISHED TO THE LESSEE OR TO ANYONE HOLDING ANY PART OF THE
         LEASED PROPERTY, AND THAT NO MECHANICS' LIENS, CONSTRUCTION LIENS OR
         OTHER LIENS FOR ANY SUCH LABOR, SERVICES OR MATERIALS SHALL ATTACH TO
         OR AFFECT THE INTEREST OF THE LESSOR IN AND TO THE LEASED PROPERTY.

                 9.2.2     LESSEE'S PROPOSAL REGARDING CAPITAL ADDITIONS AND
         MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK. If the Lessee desires to undertake any
         Capital Addition or Material Structural Work, the Lessee shall submit
         to the Lessor in writing a proposal setting forth in reasonable detail
         any proposed Capital Addition or Material Structural Work and shall
         provide to the Lessor copies of, or information regarding, the
         applicable plans and specifications, Permits, Contracts and any other
         materials concerning the proposed Capital Addition or Material
         Structural Work, as the case may be, as the Lessor may reasonably
         request. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, each such
         proposal pertaining to any Capital Addition shall indicate the
         approximate projected cost of constructing such Capital Addition and
         the use or uses to which it will be put.

                 9.2.3     LESSOR'S OPTIONS REGARDING CAPITAL ADDITIONS AND
         MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK.  The Lessor shall have the options of (A)
         denying permission for the construction of
         the applicable Capital Addition or Material Structural Work, (B)
         offering to finance the construction of the Capital Addition or
         Material Structural Work pursuant to Section 9.3, (C) allowing the
         Lessee to pay for or separately finance the construction of the Capital
         Addition or Material Structural Work, subject to compliance with the
         terms and conditions of Section 9.2.1, Section 9.4, Section 13.1, all
         Legal Requirements and all other requirements of this Lease and to such
         other terms and conditions as the Lessor may in its discretion impose
         or (D) any combination of the foregoing. Unless the Lessor notifies the
         Lessee in writing of a contrary election within thirty (30) days of the
         Lessee's request, the Lessor shall be deemed to have denied the request
         for the Capital Addition or Material Structural Work.

                 9.2.4     LESSOR MAY ELECT TO FINANCE CAPITAL ADDITIONS OR
         MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK. If the Lessor elects to offer financing for
         the proposed Capital Addition or Material Structural Work, the
         provisions of Section 9.3 shall apply.

                 9.2.5     LEGAL REQUIREMENTS; QUALITY OF WORK. All Capital
         Additions and/or Material Structural Work shall be performed in full
         compliance with all applicable Legal Requirements and shall be
         performed in a good and workmanlike manner.

         9.3     CAPITAL ADDITIONS AND MATERIAL STRUCTURAL WORK FINANCED BY
                 LESSOR.

                 9.3.1     LESSEE'S FINANCING REQUEST. The Lessee may request
         that the Lessor provide or arrange financing for a Capital Addition or
         Material Structural Work by providing to the Lessor such information
         about the Capital Addition or Material Structural Work as the Lessor
         may reasonably request, including, without limitation, all information
         referred to in Section 9.2 above. The Lessee understands, however, that
         the Lessor shall be under no obligation to agree to such request.
         Nevertheless, the Lessor shall notify the Lessee, within forty-five
         (45) days of receipt of such information, as to whether the Lessor will
         finance the proposed Capital Addition or Material Structural Work and,
         if so, the terms and conditions upon which it would do so, including
         the terms of any amendment to this Lease (including, without
         limitation, an increase in Base Rent based on the Lessor's then
         existing terms and prevailing conditions to compensate the Lessor for
         the additional funds advanced by it). The Lessee may withdraw its
         request by notice to the Lessor at any time before such time as the
         Lessee accepts the Lessor's terms and conditions. All advances of funds
         for any such financing shall be made in accordance with the Lessor's
         then standard construction loan requirements and procedures, which may
         include, without limitation, the requirements and procedures applicable
         to Work under Section 13.1.

                 9.3.2    LESSOR'S GENERAL REQUIREMENTS. If the Lessor agrees
         to finance the proposed Capital Addition or Material Structural Work
         and the Lessee accepts the Lessor's proposal therefor, in addition to
         all other items which the Lessor or any applicable Financing Party may
         reasonably require, the Lessee shall provide to the Lessor the
         following:

                           (A) prior to any advance of funds, (I) any
                 information, opinions, certificates, Permits or documents
                 reasonably requested by the Lessor or any applicable Financing
                 Party which are necessary to confirm that the Lessee will be
                 able to use the Capital Addition upon the completion thereof or
                 the applicable portion of the Facility upon the completion of
                 the Material Structural Work in accordance with the Primary
                 Intended Use and/or the Other Permitted Uses and (II) evidence
                 satisfactory to the Lessor and any applicable Financing Party
                 that all Permits required for the construction and use of the
                 Capital Addition or the applicable portion of the Facility have
                 been obtained, are in full force and effect and are not subject
                 to appeal, except only for those Permits which cannot in the
                 normal course be obtained prior to commencement or completion
                 of the construction; provided, that the Lessor and any
                 applicable Financing Party are furnished with reasonable
                 evidence that the same will be available in the normal course
                 of business without unusual condition;

                           (B) prior to any advance of funds, an Officer's
                 Certificate and, if requested, a certificate from the Lessee's
                 architect, setting forth in reasonable detail the projected (or
                 actual, if available) Capital Addition Cost or the cost of the
                 Material Structural Work;

                           (C) bills of sale, instruments of transfer and other
                 documents required by the Lessor so as to vest title to the
                 Capital Addition or the applicable Material Structural Work in
                 the Lessor free and clear of all Liens, and amendments to this
                 Lease and any recorded notice or memorandum thereof, duly
                 executed and acknowledged, in form and substance reasonably
                 satisfactory to the Lessor, providing for any changes required
                 by the Lessor including, without limitation, changes in the
                 Base Rent and the legal description of the Land;

                           (D) upon payment therefor, a deed conveying to the
                 Lessor title to any land acquired for the purpose of
                 constructing the Capital Addition or the applicable Material
                 Structural Work ("Additional Land") free and clear of any Liens
                 except those approved by the Lessor;

                           (E) upon completion of the Capital Addition or the
                  Material Structural Work, a final as-built survey thereof
                  reasonably satisfactory to the Lessor, if required by the
                  Lessor;

                           (F) during and following the advance of funds and the
                 completion of the Capital Addition or the Material Structural
                 Work, endorsements to any outstanding policy of title insurance
                 covering the Leased Property satisfactory in form and substance
                 to the Lessor and any Financing Party (I) updating the same
                 without any additional exception except as may be reasonably
                 permitted by the Lessor, (II) if
                 applicable, including the Additional Land in the premises
                 covered by such title insurance policy and (III) increasing the
                 coverage thereof by an amount equal to any amount paid by the
                 Lessor for the Additional Land plus the Fair Market Value of
                 the Capital Addition or the Fair Market Value of the Material
                 Structural Work (except to the extent covered by the owner's
                 policy of title insurance referred to in subparagraph (g)
                 below);

                           (G) simultaneous with the initial advance of funds,
                 if appropriate, (I) an owner's policy of title insurance
                 insuring fee simple title to any Additional Land conveyed to
                 the Lessor pursuant to subparagraph (d) free and clear of all
                 Liens except those approved by the Lessor and (II) a lender's
                 policy of title insurance reasonably satisfactory in form and
                 substance to any applicable Financing Party;

                           (H) following the completion of the Capital Addition
                 or the Material Structural Work, if reasonably deemed necessary
                 by the Lessor, an appraisal of the Leased Property by an M.A.I.
                 appraiser acceptable to the Lessor, which states that the Fair
                 Market Value of the Leased Property upon completion of the
                 Capital Addition or the Material Structural Work exceeds the
                 Fair Market Value of the Leased Property prior to the
                 commencement of the construction of such Capital Addition or
                 Material Structural Work by an amount not less than one hundred
                 percent (100%) of the Capital Addition Cost or the cost of the
                 Material Structural Work; and

                           (I) during or following the advancement of funds,
                 prints of architectural and engineering drawings relating to
                 the Capital Addition or the Material Structural Work and such
                 other materials, including, without limitation, endorsements to
                 the title insurance policies (insuring the Lessor and any
                 applicable Financing Party with respect to the Leased Property)
                 contemplated by subsection (f) above, opinions of counsel,
                 appraisals, surveys, certified copies of duly adopted
                 resolutions of the board of directors of the Lessee authorizing
                 the execution and delivery of the lease amendment and any other
                 documents and instruments as may be reasonably required by the
                 Lessor and any applicable Financing Party.

                 9.3.3     PAYMENT OF COSTS. By virtue of making a request to
         finance a Capital Addition or any Material Structural Work, whether or
         not such financing is actually consummated, the Lessee shall be deemed
         to have agreed to pay, upon demand, all costs and expenses reasonably
         incurred by the Lessor and any Person participating with the Lessor in
         any way in the financing of the Capital Addition or Material Structural
         Work, including, but not limited to (A) fees and expenses of their
         respective attorneys, (B) all photocopying expenses, if any, (C) the
         amount of any filing, registration and recording taxes and fees, (D)
         documentary stamp taxes and intangible taxes and (E) title insurance
         charges and appraisal fees.

         9.4     GENERAL LIMITATIONS. Without in any way limiting the Lessor's
options with respect to proposed Capital Additions or Material Structural Work,
(A) no Capital Addition or Material Structural Work shall be completed that
could, upon completion, significantly alter the character or purpose or detract
from the value or operating efficiency of the Leased Property, or significantly
impair the revenue-producing capability of the Leased Property, or adversely
affect the ability of the Lessee to comply with the terms of this Lease, (B) no
Capital Addition or Material Structural Work shall be completed which would tie
in or connect any Leased Improvements on the Leased Property with any other
improvements on property adjacent to the Leased Property (and not part of the
Land covered by this Lease) including, without limitation, tie-ins of buildings
or other structures or utilities, unless the Lessee shall have obtained the
prior written approval of the Lessor, which approval may be withheld in the
Lessor's sole and absolute discretion and (C) all proposed Capital Additions and
Material Structural Work shall be architecturally integrated and consistent with
the Leased Property.

         9.5     NON-CAPITAL ADDITIONS. The Lessee shall have the obligation and
right to make repairs, replacements and alterations which are not Capital
Additions as required by the other Sections of this Lease, but in so doing, the
Lessee shall always comply with and satisfy the conditions of Sections 9.2.1,
9.2.5 and 9.4, mutatis, mutandis. The Lessee shall have the right, from time to
time, to make additions, modifications or improvements to the Leased Property
which do not constitute Capital Additions or Material Structural Work as it may
deem to be desirable or necessary for its uses and purposes, subject to the same
limits and conditions imposed under Sections 9.2.1, 9.2.5 and 9.4. The cost of
any such repair, replacement, alteration, addition, modification or improvement
shall be paid by the Lessee and the results thereof shall be included under the
terms of this Lease and become a part of the Leased Property, without payment
therefor by the Lessor at any time. Notwithstanding the foregoing, all such
additions, modifications and improvements which affect the structure of any of
the Leased Improvements, or which involve the expenditure of more than FIFTY
THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($50,000.00) in any consecutive twelve (12) month
period, shall be undertaken only upon compliance with the provisions of Section
13.1, all Legal Requirements and all other applicable requirements of this
Lease; provided, however, that in the event of a bona fide emergency during
which the Lessee is unable to contact the appropriate representatives of the
Lessor, the Lessee may commence such additions, modifications and improvements
as may be necessary in order to address such emergency without the Lessor's
prior approval, as long as the Lessee immediately thereafter advises the Lessor
of such emergency and the nature and scope of the additions, modifications and
improvements performed and obtains the Lessor's approval of the remaining work
to be completed.

         9.6     PERMITTED WORK. Notwithstanding Section 9.1 above, the Lessee
shall have the right to perform Permitted Work (as defined below) without the
Lessor's prior approval or consent as long as the Lessee gives to the Lessor
prior notice that the Lessee is undertaking such Permitted Work and provides the
Lessor with reasonably detailed plans and specifications describing the work to
be done. "Permitted Work" shall mean work to the Leased Improvements which will
not affect any of
the structural elements of the Leased Improvements and which, in the aggregate,
costs less than FIFTY THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($50,000.00) during any
consecutive twelve (12) month period. Any work to the Facility, regardless of
cost, which (A) will affect any structural element of any of the Leased
Improvements and (B) is not otherwise subject to an approval of the Lessor
pursuant to any other provision of this Lease, shall still require the prior
written consent of the Lessor, which consent may be withheld by the Lessor in
its sole and absolute discretion.

                                     ARTICLE

                         WARRANTIES AND REPRESENTATIONS

         10.1    REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES.  The Lessee hereby represents
and warrants to, and covenants and agrees with, the Lessor that:

                 10.1.1    EXISTENCE; POWER; QUALIFICATION. The Lessee is a
         corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under
         the laws of the State of Delaware. The Lessee has all requisite
         corporate power to own and operate its properties and to carry on its
         business as now conducted and as proposed to be conducted and is duly
         qualified to transact business and is in good standing in each
         jurisdiction where such qualification is necessary or desirable in
         order to carry out its business as presently conducted and as proposed
         to be conducted. As of the date of this Lease, the Lessee does not have
         any Subsidiaries and the Lessee is not a member of any partnership or
         joint venture. Attached hereto as EXHIBIT C is a true and correct list
         of all of the shareholders of the Lessee and their respective ownership
         interests in the Lessee.

                 10.1.2    VALID AND BINDING. The Lessee is duly authorized to
         make and enter into all of the Lease Documents to which the Lessee is a
         party and to carry out the transactions contemplated therein. All of
         the Lease Documents to which the Lessee is a party have been duly
         executed and delivered by the Lessee, and each is a legal, valid and
         binding obligation of the Lessee, enforceable in accordance with its
         terms.

                 10.1.3    SINGLE PURPOSE. The Lessee is, and during the entire
         time that this Lease remains in force and effect the Lessee and any
         other Acceptable Licensed Operator (other than the Guarantor or Current
         Manager, if other than the Guarantor) shall be, engaged in no business,
         trade or activity other than the operation of the Leased Property for
         the Primary Intended Use and the Other Permitted Uses or the lease and
         operation of other assisted living facilities and/or Alzheimer's
         dementia care facilities where the Lessor or some other Meditrust
         Entity is the owner, lessor or holder of a first priority fee mortgage
         on such other facility.

                 10.1.4    NO VIOLATION. The execution, delivery and performance
         of the Lease Documents and the consummation of the transactions thereby
         contemplated shall not result in any breach of, or constitute a default
         under, or result in the acceleration of, or constitute an event which,
         with the giving of notice or the passage of time, or both, could result
         in default or acceleration of any obligation of any member of the
         Leasing Group under any of the Permits or Contracts or any other
         contract, mortgage, lien, lease, agreement, instrument, franchise,
         arbitration award, judgment, decree, bank loan or credit agreement,
         trust indenture or other instrument to which any member of the Leasing
         Group is a party or by which any member of the Leasing Group or the
         Leased Property may be bound or affected and do not violate or
         contravene any Legal Requirement.

                 10.1.5    CONSENTS AND APPROVALS. Except as already obtained or
         filed, or except as otherwise expressly contemplated in any of the
         Lease Documents, as the case may be, no consent or approval or other
         authorization of, or exemption by, or declaration or filing with, any
         Person and no waiver of any right by any Person is required to
         authorize or permit, or is otherwise required as a condition of the
         execution and delivery of any of the Lease Documents by any member of
         the Leasing Group and the performance of such member's obligations
         thereunder or as a condition to the validity (assuming the due
         authorization, execution and delivery by the Lessor of the Lease
         Documents to which it is a party) and the first priority of any Liens
         granted under the Lease Documents, except the filing of the Financing
         Statements.

                 10.1.6    NO LIENS OR INSOLVENCY PROCEEDINGS. Each member of
         the Leasing Group is financially solvent and there are no actions,
         suits, investigations or proceedings including, without limitation,
         outstanding federal or state tax liens, garnishments or insolvency or
         bankruptcy proceedings, pending or, to the best of the Lessee's
         knowledge and belief, threatened:

                           (A) against or affecting any member of the Leasing
                  Group, which if adversely resolved to such member of the
                  Leasing Group, would materially adversely affect the ability
                  of any of the foregoing to perform their respective
                  obligations under the Lease Documents;

                           (B) against or affecting the Leased Property or the
                  ownership, construction, development, maintenance, management,
                  repair, use, occupancy, possession or operation thereof; or

                           (C) which may involve or affect the validity,
                  priority or enforceability of any of the Lease Documents, at
                  law or in equity, or before or by any arbitrator or
                  Governmental Authority.

                 10.1.7    NO BURDENSOME AGREEMENTS. No member of the Leasing
         Group is a party to any agreement the terms of which now have, or, as
         far as can be reasonably foreseen, may have, a material adverse affect
         on its respective financial condition or business or operation of the
         Leased Property for its Primary Intended Use or any Other Permitted
         Use.

                 10.1.8    COMMERCIAL ACTS. The Lessee's performance of and
         compliance with the obligations and conditions set forth herein and in
         the other Lease Documents will constitute commercial acts done and
         performed for commercial purposes.

                 10.1.9    ADEQUATE CAPITAL, NOT INSOLVENT.  After giving
         effect to the consummation of the transactions contemplated by the
         Lease Documents, each of the Lessee and the
         Guarantor, taken as a whole:

                           (A) will be able to pay its debts as they become due;

                           (B) will have sufficient funds and capital to carry
                  on its business as now conducted or as contemplated to be
                  conducted (in accordance with the terms of the Lease
                  Documents);

                           (C) will own property having a value both at fair
                  valuation and at present fair saleable value greater than the
                  amount required to pay its debts as they become due; and

                           (D) will not be rendered insolvent as determined by
                  applicable law.

                  10.1.10  NOT DELINQUENT. No member of the Leasing Group is
         delinquent or claimed to be delinquent under any obligation for the
         payment of borrowed money in excess of ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100
         DOLLARS ($100,000.00).

                  10.1.11  NO AFFILIATE DEBT. The Lessee has not created,
         incurred, guaranteed, endorsed, assumed or suffered to exist any
         liability (whether direct or contingent) for borrowed money from the
         Guarantor (or any of its Affiliates) or any Affiliate of the Lessee
         that is not fully subordinated to the Lease Obligations pursuant to the
         Affiliated Party Subordination Agreement.

                  10.1.12  TAXES CURRENT. Each member of the Leasing Group (A)
         has filed all federal, state and local tax returns which are required
         to be filed and as to which extensions are not currently in effect and
         (B) has paid all taxes, assessments, impositions, fees and other
         governmental charges (including interest and penalties) (I) which have
         become due pursuant to such returns or pursuant to any assessment or
         notice of tax claim or deficiency received by each such member of the
         Leasing Group and (II) for which non-payment could result in
         assessment of a penalty against (1) such member of the Leasing Group
         other than the Guarantor in excess of ONE THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS
         ($1,000.00) or (2) the Guarantor in excess of FIVE THOUSAND AND NO/100
         DOLLARS ($5,000.00). No tax liability has been asserted by the Internal
         Revenue Service against any member of the Leasing Group or any other
         federal, state or local taxing authority for taxes, assessments,
         impositions, fees or other governmental charges (including interest or
         penalties thereon) in excess of those already paid.

                 10.1.13   FINANCIALS COMPLETE AND ACCURATE. The financial
         statements of each member of the Leasing Group given to the Lessor in
         connection with the execution and delivery of the Lease Documents were
         true, complete and accurate, in all material respects, and fairly
         presented the financial condition of each such member of the Leasing
         Group as of the date thereof and for the periods covered thereby,
         having been prepared in accordance with GAAP and such financial
         statements disclosed all material liabilities. There has been no
         material adverse change since such date with respect to the Tangible
         Net Worth of any member of the Leasing Group or with respect to any
         other matters contained in such financial statements, nor have any
         additional material liabilities, including, without limitation,
         contingent liabilities, of any member of the Leasing Group arisen or
         been incurred or asserted since such date. The projections heretofore
         delivered to the Lessor continue to be reasonable (with respect to the
         material assumptions upon which such projections are based) and the
         Lessee reasonably anticipates the results projected therein will be
         achieved, there having been (A) no material adverse change in the
         business, assets or condition, financial or otherwise of any member of
         the Leasing Group or the Leased Property and (B) no material depletion
         of the cash or decrease in working capital of any member of the Leasing
         Group.

                 10.1.14   PENDING ACTIONS, NOTICES AND REPORTS.

                 (A) There is no action or investigation pending or, to the
         best knowledge and belief of the Lessee, threatened, anticipated or
         contemplated (nor, to the knowledge of the Lessee, is there any
         reasonable basis therefor) against or affecting the Leased Property or
         any member of the Leasing Group (or any Affiliate thereof) before any
         Governmental Authority, Accreditation Body or Third Party Payor which
         could prevent or hinder the consummation of the transactions
         contemplated hereby or call into question the validity of any of the
         Lease Documents or any action taken or to be taken in connection with
         the transactions contemplated thereunder or which in any single case or
         in the aggregate might result in any material adverse change in the
         business, prospects, condition, affairs or operations of the Lessee or
         the Guarantor or the Leased Property (including, without limitation,
         any action to revoke, withdraw or suspend any Permit necessary or
         desirable for the operation of the Leased Property in accordance with
         its Primary Intended Use and any action to transfer or relocate any
         such Permit to a location other than the Leased Property) or any
         material impairment of the right or ability of the Lessee or the
         Guarantor to carry on its operations as
         presently conducted or proposed to be conducted or which may materially
         adversely impact reimbursement to the Lessee for services rendered to
         beneficiaries of Third Party Payor Programs.

                  (B) Neither the Facility nor any member of the Leasing Group
         has received any notice of any claim, requirement or demand of any
         Governmental Authority, Accreditation Body, Third Party Payor or any
         insurance body having or claiming any licensing, certifying,
         supervising, evaluating or accrediting authority over the Leased
         Property to rework or redesign the Leased Property, its professional
         staff or its professional services, procedures or practices in any
         material respect or to provide additional furniture, fixtures,
         equipment or inventory or to otherwise take action so as to make the
         Leased Property conform to or comply with any Legal Requirement;

                  (C) The most recent utilization reviews relating to the Leased
         Property by all applicable Third Party Payors, Accreditation Bodies and
         Governmental Authorities and reviews or scrutiny by any managed care or
         utilization review companies have not had a material adverse impact on
         the utilization of units or programs at the Leased Property. No claims
         or assertions have been made in any utilization review that any of the
         practices or procedures used at the Leased Property are improper or
         inappropriate other than such claims or assertions which singly and in
         the aggregate will not have a material adverse impact on the Leased
         Property; and

                  (D) The Lessee has delivered or caused to be delivered to the
         Lessor true and correct copies of all licenses, inspection surveys and
         accreditation reviews relating to the Leased Property, issued by any
         Governmental Authority or Accreditation Body during the most recent
         licensing period, together with all plans of correction relating
         thereto.

                  10.1.15  COMPLIANCE WITH LEGAL AND OTHER REQUIREMENTS.

                  (A) The Lessee and the Leased Property and the ownership,
         construction, development, maintenance, management, repair, use,
         occupancy, possession and operation thereof comply with all applicable
         Legal Requirements and there is no claim of any violation thereof known
         to the Lessee which could have a material adverse effect on the Leased
         Property or the Lessee. Without limiting the foregoing, the Lessee is
         or will become the licensed operator of the Facility, the Lessee has
         obtained all Permits that are necessary to operate the Leased Property
         in accordance with its Primary Intended Use and the Other Permitted
         Uses, if any, and all such Permits are in full force and effect.

                  (B) Except as previously delivered to the Lessor pursuant to
         Section 10.1.14(d) hereof, there are no outstanding notices of
         deficiencies, notices of proposed action or orders of any kind relating
         to the Leased Property issued by any Governmental Authority requiring
         conformity to any of the Legal Requirements and which could have a
         material adverse effect on the Leased Property or the Lessee.

                 10.1.16   NO ACTION BY GOVERNMENTAL AUTHORITY. There is no
         action pending or, to the best knowledge and belief of the Lessee,
         recommended, by any Governmental Authority or Accreditation Body to
         revoke, repeal, cancel, modify, withdraw or suspend any Permit or
         Contract or to take any other action of any other type which could have
         a material adverse effect on the Leased Property.

                 10.1.17   PROPERTY MATTERS.

                  (A) The Leased Property is free and clear of agreements,
         covenants and Liens, except those agreements, covenants and Liens to
         which this Lease is expressly subject, whether presently existing, as
         are listed on EXHIBIT B or were listed on the UCC lien search results
         delivered to the Lessor at or prior to the execution and delivery of
         this Lease (and were not required to be terminated as a condition of
         the execution and delivery of this Lease), or which may hereafter be
         created in accordance with the terms hereof (collectively referred to
         herein as the "Permitted Encumbrances"); and the Lessee shall warrant
         and defend the Lessor's title to the Leased Property against any and
         all claims and demands of every kind and nature whatsoever, subject to
         the Permitted Exceptions;

                  (B) There is no Condemnation or similar proceeding pending
         with respect to or affecting the Leased Property, and the Lessee is not
         aware, to the best of the Lessee's knowledge and belief, that any such
         proceeding is contemplated;

                  (C) No part of the Collateral or the Leased Property has been
         damaged by any fire or other casualty. The Leased Improvements,
         Fixtures and Tangible Personal Property are in good operating condition
         and repair, ordinary wear and tear excepted, free from known defects in
         construction or design;

                  (D) All buildings, facilities and other improvements
         necessary, both legally and practically, for the proper and efficient
         operation of the Facility are located upon the Leased Property and all
         real property and personal property currently utilized by the Lessee is
         included within the definition of the Leased Property or the
         Collateral;

                  (E) The Leased Property abuts on and has direct vehicular
         access to a public road or access to a public road via permanent,
         irrevocable, appurtenant easements;

                  (F) The Leased Property constitutes a separate parcel for real
         estate tax purposes and no portion of any real property that does not
         constitute a portion of the Leased Property is part of the same tax
         parcel as any part of the Leased Property;

                  (G) All utilities necessary for the use and operation of the
         Facility are available to the lot lines of the Leased Property:

                           (I)   in sufficient supply and capacity;

                           (II)  through validly created and existing easements
                  of record appurtenant to or encumbering the Leased Property
                  (which easements shall not impede or restrict the operation of
                  the Facility); and

                           (III) without need for any Permits and/or Contracts
                  to be issued by or entered into with any Governmental
                  Authority, except as already obtained or executed, as the case
                  may be, or as otherwise shown to the satisfaction of the
                  Lessor to be readily obtainable; and

                  (H) Since the initial construction of the Facility, except as
         may be shown on the survey of the Leased Property that has been
         reviewed and approved by the Lessor, the Lessee has made no structural
         alterations or improvements to any of the Leased Improvements that
         changed the foot-print of any of the Leased Improvements, added an
         additional story to any of the Leased Improvements, decreased the
         amount of parking available on the Leased Property or otherwise
         involved any alteration which would be regulated by applicable zoning
         requirements.

                           THIRD PARTY PAYOR AGREEMENTS.

                  (A) The Lessee or the Facility is fully qualified as a
         provider of services under and participates in all Third Party Payor
         Programs and referral programs as is necessary for the prudent
         operation of the Facility in the Lessee's good faith exercise of
         commercially reasonable business judgment.

                  (B) Attached hereto as EXHIBIT D is a list of national
         accounts and local discount agreements, which constitute all of the
         agreements between the Lessee or the Facility, on the one hand, and
         Third Party Payors on the other hand, pursuant to which the Lessee or
         the Facility agrees to provide services based on a discount factor from
         the rates regularly charged for services rendered by the Lessee or the
         Facility.

                  (C) No member of the Leasing Group, nor the Facility has any
         rate appeal currently pending before any Governmental Authority or any
         administrator of any Third Party Payor Program or any other referral
         source other than such appeals which, if determined adversely to any
         member of the Leasing Group or the Facility would not have a materially
         adverse effect, either singly or in the aggregate, on the financial
         condition of any member of the Leasing Group or the Facility.

                 (D) All cost reports and financial reports submitted to any
         Third Party Payor with respect to the Facility by any member of the
         Leasing Group have been materially accurate and complete and have not
         been misleading in any material respect. As a result of any audits by
         any Third Party Payor, there are no related recoupment claims made or
         contests pending or threatened other than such recoupment claims or
         contests which, if determined adversely to any member of the Leasing
         Group or the Facility, would not have a materially adverse effect,
         either singly or in the aggregate, on the financial condition of any
         member of the Leasing Group or the Facility. As of the date hereof, no
         cost reports for the Facility remain open or unsettled other than those
         listed on EXHIBIT E.

                 10.1.19   RATE LIMITATIONS. Except as disclosed on EXHIBIT F,
         the State currently imposes no restrictions or limitations on rates
         which may be charged to private pay residents receiving services at the
         Facility.

                 10.1.20   FREE CARE. Except as disclosed on EXHIBIT G, there
         are no Contracts, Permits or Legal Requirements which require that a
         percentage of units or slots in any program at the Facility be reserved
         for Medicaid or Medicare eligible patients or that the Facility provide
         a certain amount of welfare, free or charity care or discounted or
         government assisted resident care.

                 10.1.21   NO PROPOSED CHANGES. The Lessee has no actual
         knowledge of any Legal Requirements which have been enacted,
         promulgated or issued within the eighteen (18) months preceding the
         date of this Lease or any proposed Legal Requirements currently pending
         in the State which may materially adversely affect rates at the
         Facility (or any program operated in conjunction with the Facility) or
         the imposition of Medicaid, Medicare, charity, free care, welfare or
         other discounted or government assisted residents at the Facility or
         require that the Lessee or the Facility obtain a certificate of need,
         Section 1122 approval or the equivalent, which the Lessee or the
         Facility does not currently possess.

                 10.1.22   ERISA. No employee pension benefit plan maintained by
         any member of the Leasing Group has any accumulated funding deficiency
         within the meaning of the ERISA, nor does any member of the Leasing
         Group have any material liability to the PBGC established under ERISA
         (or any successor thereto) in connection with any employee pension
         benefit plan (or other class of benefit which the PBGC has elected to
         insure), and there have been no "reportable events" (not waived) or
         "prohibited transactions" with respect to any such plan, as those terms
         are defined in Section 4043 of ERISA and Section 4975 of the Internal
         Revenue Code of 1986, as now or hereafter amended, respectively.

                 10.1.23   NO BROKER.  No member of the Leasing Group nor any
         of their respective Affiliates has dealt with any broker or agent in
         connection with the transactions contemplated by the Lease Documents.
         The Lessor hereby represents and warrants to the

         Lessee that no Meditrust Entity has dealt with any broker or agent in
         connection with the transactions contemplated by the Lease Documents.

                 10.1.24   NO IMPROPER PAYMENTS. No member of the Leasing Group
         nor, to the best knowledge of the Lessee, any of their respective
         Affiliates (other than individuals who are not acting on behalf of any
         such non-individual Affiliates) has:

                  (A) made any contributions, payments or gifts of its funds or
         property to or for the private use of any government official,
         employee, agent or other Person where either the payment or the purpose
         of such contribution, payment or gifts is illegal under the laws of the
         United States, any state thereof or any other jurisdiction (foreign or
         domestic);

                  (B) established or maintained any unrecorded fund or asset for
         any purpose or has made any false or artificial entries on any of its
         books or records for any reason;

                  (C) made any payments to any Person with the intention or
         understanding that any part of such payment was to be used for any
         other purpose other than that described in the documents supporting the
         payment; or

                  (D) made any contribution, or has reimbursed any political
         gift or contribution made by any other Person, to candidates for public
         office, whether federal, state or local, where such contribution would
         be in violation of applicable law.

                 10.1.25   NOTHING OMITTED.

                 (A) Neither this Lease, nor any of the other Lease Documents,
         nor any certificate, agreement, statement or other document, including,
         without limitation, any financial statements concerning the financial
         condition of any member of the Leasing Group, furnished to or to be
         furnished to the Lessor or its attorneys in connection with the
         transactions contemplated by the Lease Documents, contains or will
         contain any untrue statement of a material fact or omits or will omit
         to state a material fact necessary in order to prevent all statements
         contained herein and therein from being misleading.

                 (B) There is no fact within the special knowledge of the
         Lessee which has not been disclosed herein or in writing to the Lessor
         that materially adversely affects, or in the future, insofar as the
         Lessee can reasonably foresee, may materially adversely affect the
         business, properties, assets or condition, financial or otherwise, of
         any member of the Leasing Group or the Leased Property.

                 10.1.26   NO MARGIN SECURITY.  The Lessee is not engaged in
the business of extending credit for the purpose of purchasing or carrying
margin stock (within the meaning
         of Regulation U of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve
         System), and no part of the proceeds of the Meditrust Investment will
         be used to purchase or carry any margin security or to extend credit to
         others for the purpose of purchasing or carrying any margin security or
         in any other manner which would involve a violation of any of the
         regulations of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.
         The Lessee is not an "investment company" within the meaning of the
         Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

                 10.1.27   NO DEFAULT. No event or state of facts which
         constitutes, or which, with notice or lapse of time, or both, could
         constitute, a Lease Default has occurred and is continuing.

                 10.1.28   PRINCIPAL PLACE OF BUSINESS.  The principal place of
        business and chief executive office of the Lessee is located at 450 N.
        Sunnyslope Road, Suite 300, Brookfield, Wisconsin 53005 (the "Principal
        Place of Business").

                 10.1.29   LABOR MATTERS. There are no proceedings now pending,
         nor, to the best of the Lessee's knowledge, threatened with respect to
         the operation of the Facility before the National Labor Relations
         Board, State Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities, State
         Department of Labor, U.S. Department of Labor or any other Governmental
         Authority having jurisdiction of employee rights with respect to
         hiring, tenure and conditions of employment, and no member of the
         Leasing Group has experienced any material controversy with any
         Facility administrator or other employee of similar stature or with any
         labor organization.

                 10.1.30   INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY. The Lessee is duly licensed or
         authorized to use all (if any) copyrights, rights of reproduction,
         trademarks, trade-names, trademark applications, service marks, patent
         applications, patents and patent license rights, (all whether
         registered or unregistered, U.S. or foreign), inventions, franchises,
         discoveries, ideas, research, engineering, methods, practices,
         processes, systems, formulae, designs, drawings, products, projects,
         improvements, developments, know-how and trade secrets which are used
         in or necessary for the operation of the Facility in accordance with
         its Primary Intended Use, without conflict with or infringement of any,
         and subject to no restriction, lien, encumbrance, right, title or
         interest in others.

                 10.1.31   MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS. There is no Management
         Agreement in force and effect as of the date hereof other than the
         Current Management Agreement, and the Current Management Agreement
         shall terminate not later than six (6) months after the Commencement
         Date. The Current Manager is a wholly owned Subsidiary of the
         Guarantor.

                 10.1.32   FISCAL YEAR.  The fiscal year of each of the Lessee
and the Guarantor is the Fiscal Year.

                 10.1.33   RATES.  The Lessee or the Facility, as the case may
be, currently charge those rates for private pay residents set forth on EXHIBIT
H, all of which rates are legal, valid and enforceable rates.

         10.2     CONTINUING EFFECT OF REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES. All
representations and warranties contained in this Lease and the other Lease
Documents shall constitute continuing representations and warranties which shall
remain true, correct and complete throughout the Term. Notwithstanding the
provisions of the foregoing sentence but without derogation from any other terms
and provisions of this Lease, including, without limitation, those terms and
provisions containing covenants to be performed or conditions to be satisfied on
the part of the Lessee, the representations and warranties contained in Sections
10.1.6, 10.1.7, 10.1.10, 10.1.14, 10.1.15, 10.1.17(b), 10.1.17(c), 10.1.18(b),
10.1.18(c), 10.1.19, 10.1.20, 10.1.21, 10.1.22, 10.1.25(b), 10.1.28, 10.1.29, in
the second sentence of Section 10.1.12, in the second and third sentences of
Section 10.1.13, and in the second and third sentences of Section 10.1.18(d)
shall not constitute continuing representations and warranties throughout the
Term.

                                     ARTICLE

                          FINANCIAL AND OTHER COVENANTS

         11.1     STATUS CERTIFICATES. At any time, and from time to time, upon
request from the Lessor, the Lessee shall furnish to the Lessor, within ten (10)
Business Days' after receipt of such request, an Officer's Certificate
certifying that this Lease is unmodified and in full force and effect (or that
this Lease is in full force and effect as modified and setting forth the
modifications) and the dates to which the Rent has been paid. Any Officer's
Certificate furnished pursuant to this Section shall be addressed to any
prospective purchaser or mortgagee of the Leased Property as the Lessor may
request and may be relied upon by the Lessor and any such prospective purchaser
or mortgagee of the Leased Property.

         11.2     FINANCIAL STATEMENTS; REPORTS; NOTICE AND INFORMATION.

                  11.2.1  OBLIGATION TO FURNISH.  The Lessee will furnish and
         shall cause to be furnished to the Lessor the following statements,
         information and other materials:

                           (A) ANNUAL STATEMENTS. Within ninety (90) days after
                 the end of each of their respective fiscal years, (I) a copy of
                 the Consolidated Financials for each of (X) the Lessee, (Y) the
                 Guarantor and (Z) any other Acceptable Licensed Operator for
                 the preceding fiscal year, certified and audited (only with
                 respect to the Guarantor) by, and with the unqualified opinion
                 of, independent certified public accountants from a nationally
                 recognized public accounting firm (it being hereby acknowledged
                 that

                 KPMG Peat Marwick is acceptable for this purpose) and certified
                 as true and correct by the Lessee, the Guarantor or the
                 applicable Acceptable Licensed Operator, as the case may be
                 (and, without limiting anything else contained herein, the
                 Consolidated Financials for the Lessee and for any other
                 Acceptable Licensed Operator shall include a detailed income
                 statement for Leased Property as of the last day of such fiscal
                 year and an unaudited statement of earnings from the Leased
                 Property for such fiscal year showing, among other things, all
                 rents and other income therefrom and all expenses paid or
                 incurred in connection with the operation of the Leased
                 Property); (II) separate statements, certified as true and
                 correct by the Lessee, the Guarantor and any other Acceptable
                 Licensed Operator, stating whether, to the best of the signer's
                 knowledge and belief after making due inquiry, the Lessee, the
                 Guarantor or such Acceptable Licensed Operator, as the case may
                 be, is in default in the performance or observance of any of
                 the terms of this Lease or any of the other Lease Documents
                 and, if so, specifying all such defaults, the nature thereof
                 and the steps being taken to immediately remedy the same; (III)
                 a copy of all letters from the independent certified
                 accountants engaged to perform the annual audits referred to
                 above, directed to the management of the Lessee, the Guarantor
                 or any other Acceptable Licensed Operator, as the case may be,
                 regarding the existence of any reportable conditions or
                 material weaknesses and (IV) a statement certified as true and
                 correct by the Lessee setting forth any and all Subleases
                 (excluding Resident Agreements) as of the last day of such
                 fiscal year, the respective areas demised thereunder, the names
                 of the Sublessees thereunder, the respective expiration dates
                 of such Subleases, the respective rentals provided for therein,
                 and such other information pertaining to such Subleases as may
                 be reasonably requested by the Lessor and (V) evidence
                 satisfactory to the Lessor that the Lessee has fulfilled its
                 obligation to make the Annual Facility Upgrade Expenditure in
                 accordance with the provisions of Section 11.4.11.
                 Notwithstanding any provisions of this Section 11.2.1(a) to the
                 contrary, the Lessee may provide the Lessor with Consolidated
                 Financials covering each of the Lessee, the Guarantor and any
                 other Acceptable Licensed Operator in accordance with the
                 aforementioned provisions; provided, however, the Lessee shall
                 provide the Lessor with a separate detailed balance sheet and
                 an unaudited statement of earnings for the Leased Property.

                           (B) MONTHLY STATEMENTS OF LESSEE. Within thirty (30)
                 days after the end of each calendar month during the pendency
                 of this Lease, (I) an unaudited, detailed month and year to
                 date income and expense statement for the Leased Property which
                 shall include a comparison to corresponding budget figures,
                 occupancy statistics (including the actual number of residents,
                 the number of units available and total patient days for such
                 month) and resident mix breakdowns (for each resident day
                 during such month classifying residents by the type of care
                 required and source of payment) and (II) an express written
                 calculation showing the compliance or non-
                 compliance, as the case may be, with the specific financial
                 covenants set forth in Section 11.3 for the applicable period,
                 including, with respect to the calculation of the Lessee's Rent
                 Coverage Ratio, a schedule substantially in the form attached
                 hereto as EXHIBIT I (which calculation with respect to the
                 Lessee's Rent Coverage Ratio shall be provided only within
                 thirty (30) days after the end of each Fiscal Year).

                           (C) [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED].

                           (D) QUARTERLY STATEMENTS OF THE GUARANTOR. Within
                  forty-five (45) days after the end of each Fiscal Quarter
                  ending March 31, June 30 and September 30 respectively, all
                  10Q reports required to be filed with the Securities and
                  Exchange Commission for the Guarantor, certified as true and
                  correct by the Guarantor.

                           (E) PERMITS AND CONTRACTS. Promptly after the
                  issuance or the execution thereof, as the case may be, true
                  and complete copies of (I) all Permits which constitute
                  operating licenses for the Facility issued by any Governmental
                  Authority having jurisdiction over assisted living matters and
                  (II) Contracts (involving payments in the aggregate in excess
                  of $100,000 per annum), including, without limitation, all
                  Provider Agreements.

                           (F) CONTRACT NOTICES. Promptly after the receipt
                  thereof, true and complete copies of any notices, consents,
                  terminations or statements of any kind or nature relating to
                  any of the Contracts (involving payments in the aggregate in
                  excess of $100,000 per annum) other than those issued in the
                  ordinary course of business.

                           (G) PERMIT OR CONTRACT DEFAULTS. Promptly after the
                  receipt thereof, true and complete copies of all surveys,
                  follow-up surveys, licensing surveys, complaint surveys,
                  examinations, compliance certificates, inspection reports,
                  statements (other than those statements that are issued in the
                  ordinary course of business), terminations and notices of any
                  kind (other than those notices that are furnished in the
                  ordinary course of business) issued or provided to the Lessee
                  or any other Acceptable Licensed Operator by any Governmental
                  Authority, Accreditation Body or any Third Party Payor,
                  including, without limitation, any notices pertaining to any
                  delinquency in, or proposed revision of, the Lessee's or any
                  Acceptable Licensed Operator's obligations under the terms and
                  conditions of any Permits or Contracts now or hereafter issued
                  by or entered into with any Governmental Authority,
                  Accreditation Body or Third Party Payor and the response(s)
                  thereto made by or on behalf of the Lessee or any Acceptable
                  Licensed Operator.

                           (H) OFFICIAL REPORTS. Upon completion or filing
                  thereof, complete copies of all applications (other than those
                  that are furnished in the ordinary course of business),
                  notices (other than those that are furnished in the ordinary
                  course of
                  business), statements, annual reports, cost reports and other
                  reports or filings of any kind (other than those that are
                  furnished in the ordinary course of business) provided by the
                  Lessee or any other Acceptable Licensed Operator to any
                  Governmental Authority, Accreditation Body or any Third Party
                  Payor with respect to the Leased Property.

                           (I) OTHER INFORMATION. With reasonable promptness,
                  such other information as the Lessor may from time to time
                  reasonably request respecting (I) the financial condition and
                  affairs of each member of the Leasing Group and the Leased
                  Property and (II) the licensing and operation of the Leased
                  Property; including, without limitation, audited financial
                  statements, certificates and consents from accountants and all
                  other financial and licensing/operational information as may
                  be required or requested by any Governmental Authority.

                           (J) DEFAULT CONDITIONS. As soon as possible, and in
                  any event within five (5) Business Days after the occurrence
                  of any Lease Default, or any event or circumstance which, with
                  the giving of notice or the passage of time, or both, could
                  constitute a Lease Default, a written statement of the Lessee
                  setting forth the details of such Lease Default, event or
                  circumstance and the action which the Lessee proposes to take
                  with respect thereto.

                           (K) OFFICIAL ACTIONS. Promptly after the commencement
                  thereof, notice of all actions, suits and proceedings before
                  any Governmental Authority or Accreditation Body which could
                  have a material adverse effect on (I) any member of the
                  Leasing Group to perform any of its obligations under any of
                  the Lease Documents or (II) the Leased Property.

                           (L) AUDIT REPORTS. Promptly after receipt, a copy of
                  all audits or reports submitted to any member of the Leasing
                  Group by any independent public accountant in connection with
                  any annual, special or interim audits of the books of any such
                  member of the Leasing Group and, if requested by the Lessor,
                  any letter of comments directed by such accountant to the
                  management of any such member of the Leasing Group.

                           (M) ADVERSE DEVELOPMENTS. Promptly after the Lessee
                  acquires knowledge thereof, written notice of:

                                    (I)      the potential termination of any
                                             Permit or Provider Agreement
                                             necessary for the operation of the
                                             Leased Property;

                                    (II)     any loss, damage or destruction to
                                             or of the Leased Property in excess
                                             of FIFTY THOUSAND AND NO/100
                                             DOLLARS

                                             ($50,000.00) occurring within any
                                             twelve (12) month period
                                             (regardless of whether the same is
                                             covered by insurance);

                                    (III)    any material controversy involving
                                             the Lessee or any other Acceptable
                                             Licensed Operator and;

                                    (IV)     any controversy that calls into
                                             question the eligibility of the
                                             Lessee, any other Acceptable
                                             Licensed Operator or the Facility
                                             for the participation in any
                                             Medicaid, Medicare or other Third
                                             Party Payor Program;

                                    (V)      any refusal of reimbursement by any
                                             Third Party Payor which, singularly
                                             or together with all other such
                                             refusals by any Third Party Payors,
                                             could have a material adverse
                                             effect on the financial condition
                                             of the Lessee or any other
                                             Acceptable Licensed Operator; and

                                    (VI)     any fact within the special
                                             knowledge of any member of the
                                             Leasing Group, or any other
                                             development in the business or
                                             affairs of any member of the
                                             Leasing Group, which may be
                                             materially adverse to the business,
                                             properties, assets or condition,
                                             financial or otherwise, of any
                                             member of the Leasing Group or the
                                             Leased Property.

                           (N) INTENTIONALLY OMITTED.

                           (O) RESPONSES TO INSPECTION REPORTS. Within thirty
                  (30) days after receipt of an inspection report relating to
                  the Leased Property from the Lessor, a written response
                  describing in detail prepared plans to address concerns raised
                  by the inspection report.

                           (P) PUBLIC INFORMATION. Upon the completion or
                  filing, mailing or other delivery thereof, complete copies of
                  all financial statements, reports, notices and proxy
                  statements, if any, sent by any member of the Leasing Group
                  (which is a publicly held corporation) to its shareholders and
                  of all reports, if any, filed by any member of the Leasing
                  Group (which is a publicly held corporation) with any
                  securities exchange or with the Securities Exchange
                  Commission.

                           (Q) ANNUAL BUDGETS. At least thirty (30) days prior
                  to the end of each Fiscal Year, the Lessee, any Sublessee
                  and/or any Manager shall submit to the Lessor a preliminary
                  annual financial budget for the Facility for the next Fiscal
                  Year, a



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<PAGE>   71



                  preliminary capital expenditures budget for the Facility for
                  the next Fiscal Year and a report detailing the capital
                  expenditures made in the then current Fiscal Year and on or
                  before the end of the first month of each Fiscal Year, the
                  Lessee, any Sublessee and/or any Manager shall submit to the
                  Lessor revised finalized versions of such budgets and report.

                  11.2.2   RESPONSIBLE OFFICER. Any certificate, instrument,
         notice, or other document to be provided to the Lessor hereunder by any
         member of the Leasing Group shall be signed by an executive officer of
         such member (in the event that any of the foregoing is not an
         individual), having a position of Vice President or higher and with
         respect to financial matters, any such certificate, instrument, notice
         or other document shall be signed by the chief financial officer of
         such member.

                  11.2.3   NO MATERIAL OMISSION. No certificate, instrument,
         notice or other document, including without limitation, any financial
         statements furnished or to be furnished to the Lessor pursuant to the
         terms hereof or of any of the other Lease Documents shall contain any
         untrue statement of a material fact or shall omit to state any material
         fact necessary in order to prevent all statements contained therein
         from being misleading.

                  11.2.4   CONFIDENTIALITY. The Lessor shall not disclose any
         information received pursuant to the provisions of the Lease Documents
         to any competitor of the Lessee and shall afford any such information
         the same degree of confidentiality that the Lessor affords similar
         information proprietary to the Lessor; provided, however, that the
         Lessor does not in any way warrant or represent that such information
         received from any member of the Leasing Group shall remain confidential
         (and shall not be liable in any way for any subsequent disclosure of
         such information by any Person that the Lessor has provided such
         information in accordance with the terms hereof, including, without
         limitation, a disclosure by such Person to any competitor of the
         Lessee) and provided, further, that the Lessor shall have the
         unconditional right to (A) disclose any such information as the Lessor
         deems necessary or appropriate in connection with any sale, transfer,
         conveyance, participation or assignment of the Leased Property or any
         of the Lease Documents or any interest therein and (B) use such
         information in any litigation or arbitration proceeding between the
         Lessor and any member of the Leasing Group. Without limiting the
         foregoing, the Lessor may also utilize any information furnished to it
         hereunder as and to the extent (I) counsel to the Lessor determines
         that such utilization is necessary pursuant to 15 U.S.C. 77a-77aa or 15
         U.S.C. 78a-78jj and the rules and regulations promulgated thereunder,
         (II) the Lessor is required or requested by any Governmental Authority
         to disclose any such information and/or (III) the Lessor is requested
         to disclose any such information by any of the Meditrust Entities'
         lenders or potential lenders. The Lessor shall not be liable in any way
         for any subsequent disclosure of such information by any Person to whom
         the Lessor provided such information in accordance with the terms
         hereof. Nevertheless, in connection with any such disclosure, the

         Lessor shall inform the recipient of any such information of the
         confidential nature thereof. The Lessor shall observe any prohibitions
         or limitations on the disclosure of any such information under
         applicable confidentiality law or regulations, to the extent that the
         same are applicable to such information, including, without limitation,
         any duly enacted "Patients' Bill of Rights" or similar legislation,
         including such limitations as may be necessary to preserve the
         confidentiality of the facility-patient relationship and the
         physician-patient privilege.

         11.3     FINANCIAL COVENANTS.  The Lessee covenants and agrees that,
throughout the Term and as long as the Lessee is in possession of the Leased
Property:

                  11.3.1      RENT COVERAGE RATIO.  The Lessee shall comply
with the provisions of the Agreement Regarding Related Lease Transactions
pertaining to Rent Coverage Ratio.

                  11.3.2      [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED].

                  11.3.3      [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED].

                  11.3.4      [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED].

                  11.3.5      CURRENT RATIO - GUARANTOR.  The Guarantor shall
         achieve, as of December 31, 1997, a ratio of Consolidated Current
         Assets to Consolidated Current Liabilities equal to or greater than
         0.5 to 1 and, as of December 31 of each year thereafter during the
         Term, a ratio of Consolidated Current Assets to Consolidated Current
         Liabilities equal to or greater than 1.0 to 1; provided, however, that
         if a Permitted Transaction (as defined in Section 16.1(h)(vi)) occurs,
         or if triggered by a Permitted Merger pursuant to Section 16.1(i), then
         such ratios shall increase to 1.0 to 1.0 and 1.2 to 1.0, respectively.

                   11.3.6     NET WORTH OF GUARANTOR AFTER A PERMITTED
         TRANSACTION. From and after the occurrence of a Permitted
         Transaction, or if triggered by a Permitted Merger pursuant to Section
         16.1(i), the Guarantor shall maintain a "Net Worth" (determined in
         accordance with GAAP) of not less than FIFTY-FIVE MILLION DOLLARS
         ($55,000,000.00).

                   11.3.7     TANGIBLE NET WORTH - GUARANTOR.  The Guarantor
         shall maintain, at all times, a Tangible Net Worth of not less
         than FORTY MILLION AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($40,000,000.00).

                   11.3.8     NO INDEBTEDNESS.  The Lessee shall not create,
         incur, assume or suffer to exist any liability for borrowed
         money except (I) Indebtedness to the Lessor under the Lease Documents
         and, (II) Impositions allowed pursuant to the provisions of the Lease,
         (III) unsecured normal trade debt incurred upon customary terms in the
         ordinary course of
         business, (IV) Indebtedness created in connection with any financing of
         any Capital Addition, provided, that each such financing has been
         approved by the Lessor in accordance with the terms of Article 9
         hereof, (V) Indebtedness to any Affiliate, provided, that, such
         Indebtedness is fully subordinated to the Lease Obligations pursuant to
         the Affiliated Party Subordination Agreement, (VI) other Indebtedness
         of the Lessee in the aggregate amount not to exceed TWO HUNDRED
         THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($200,000.00) incurred, for the exclusive
         use of the Leased Property, on account of purchase money indebtedness
         or finance lease arrangements, each of which shall not exceed the fair
         market value of the assets or property acquired or leased and shall not
         extend to any assets or property other than those purchased or leased
         and (VII) purchase money security interests in equipment and equipment
         leases which comply with the provisions of Section 6.1.2.

                  11.3.9      NO GUARANTIES.  The Lessee shall not assume,
         guarantee, endorse, contingently agree to purchase or
         otherwise become directly or contingently liable (including, without
         limitation, liable by way of agreement, contingent or otherwise, to
         purchase, to provide funds for payment, to supply funds to or otherwise
         to invest in any debtor or otherwise to assure any creditor against
         loss) in connection with any Indebtedness of any other Person, except
         by the endorsement of negotiable instruments for deposit or collection
         or similar transactions in the ordinary course of business.

         11.4     AFFIRMATIVE COVENANTS.  The Lessee covenants and agrees that
throughout the Term and any periods thereafter that the Lessee remains in
possession of the Leased Property:

                  11.4.1      MAINTENANCE OF EXISTENCE.  If the Lessee is a
         corporation, trust or partnership, during the entire time that
         this Lease remains in full force and effect, the Lessee shall keep in
         effect its existence and rights as a corporation, trust or partnership
         under the laws of the state of its incorporation or formation and its
         right to own property and transact business in the State.

                  11.4.2      MATERIALS.  Except as provided in Section 6.1.2,
         the Lessee shall not suffer the use in connection with any
         renovations or other construction relating to the Leased Property of
         any materials, fixtures or equipment intended to become part of the
         Leased Property which are purchased upon lease or conditional bill of
         sale or to which the Lessee does not have absolute and unencumbered
         title, and the Lessee covenants to cause to be paid punctually all sums
         becoming due for labor, materials, fixtures or equipment used or
         purchased in connection with any such renovations or construction,
         subject to the Lessee's right to contest to the extent provided for in
         Article 15.

                 11.4.3      COMPLIANCE WITH LEGAL REQUIREMENTS AND APPLICABLE
         AGREEMENTS. The Lessee and the Leased Property and all uses thereof
         shall comply with (I) all Legal Requirements, (II) all Permits and
         Contracts, (III) all Insurance Requirements, (IV) the Lease Documents,
         (V) the Permitted Encumbrances and (VI) the Appurtenant Agreements.

                 11.4.4      BOOKS AND RECORDS.  The Lessee shall cause to be
         kept and maintained, and shall permit the Lessor and its
         representatives to inspect at all reasonable times, accurate books of
         accounts in which complete entries will be made in accordance with
         GAAP reflecting all financial transactions of the Lessee (showing, at
         a minimum, all income and expenses of the Leased Property as a
         discernable component of such books of account).

                 11.4.5      PARTICIPATION IN THIRD PARTY PAYOR PROGRAMS. The
         Lessee and any other Acceptable Licensed Operator shall participate in
         all Third Party Payor Programs (which would be participated in by a
         prudent operator in the good faith exercise of commercially reasonable
         business judgment), in accordance with all requirements thereof
         (including, without limitation, all applicable Provider Agreements),
         and shall remain eligible to participate in such Third Party Payor
         Programs, all as shall be necessary for the prudent operation of the
         Facility in the good faith exercise of commercially reasonable
         business judgment.

                 11.4.6      CONDUCT OF ITS BUSINESS.  The Lessee will
         maintain, and cause any Sublessee and any Manager to maintain,
         experienced and competent professional management with respect to its
         business and with respect to the Leased Property.  The Lessor agrees
         that management by the executive officers listed on EXHIBIT J attached
         hereto is satisfactory for the purposes of this provision.  The
         Lessee, any Sublessee and any Manager shall conduct, in the ordinary
         course, the operation of the Facility, and the Lessee and any other
         Acceptable Licensed Operator (other than the Guarantor, if applicable)
         shall not enter into any other business or venture during the Term or
         such time as the Lessee or any other Acceptable Licensed Operator is
         in possession of the Leased Property, other than the development,
         ownership and/or operation of any other health care facility owned or
         financed by any Meditrust Entity.

                 11.4.7      ADDRESS.  The Lessee shall provide the Lessor
         thirty (30) days' prior written notice of any change of its Principal
         Place of Business from its current Principal Place of Business.  The
         Lessee shall maintain the Collateral, including without limitation,
         all books and records relating to its business, solely at its
         Principal Place of Business and at the Leased Property.  The Lessee
         shall not remove the Collateral, including, without limitation, any
         books or records relating to the Lessee's business from either the
         Leased Property or the Lessee's Principal Place of Business.

                 11.4.8      SUBORDINATION OF AFFILIATE TRANSACTIONS. Without
         limiting the provisions of any other Section of this Lease or the
         Affiliated Party Subordination Agreement, any payments to be made by
         the Lessee to (A) any member of the Leasing Group (or any Affiliate of
         any member of the Leasing Group) or (B) any Affiliate of the Lessee,
         in connection with any transaction between the Lessee and such Person,
         including, without limitation, the purchase, sale or exchange of any
         property, the rendering of any service to or with any such Person
         (including, without limitation, all allocations of any so-called
         corporate or central office costs, expenses and charges of any kind or
         nature) or the making of any loan or other extension of credit or the
         making of any equity investment, shall be subordinate to the complete
         payment and performance of the Lease Obligations; provided, however,
         that all such subordinated payments may be paid at any time unless:
         (X) after giving effect to such payment, the Lessee shall be unable to
         comply with any of its obligations under any of the Lease Documents or
         (Y) a Lease Default has occurred and is continuing and has not been
         expressly waived in writing by the Lessor or an event or state of
         facts exists, which, with the giving of notice or the passage of time,
         or both, would constitute a Lease Default.

                 11.4.9      INSPECTION.  At reasonable times and upon
         reasonable notice, the Lessee shall permit (and shall cause any other
         Acceptable Licensed Operator to permit) the Lessor and its authorized
         representatives (including, without limitation, the Consultants) to
         inspect the Leased Property as provided in Section 7.1 above.

                 11.4.10     ADDITIONAL PROPERTY.  In the event that at any
         time during the Term, the Lessee holds the fee title to or a leasehold
         interest in (A) any personal property which was purchased or financed
         by a Meditrust Entity or which replaces any personal property
         purchased or financed by a Meditrust Entity or which is a Fixture or
         (B) any real property and such real or personal property is used as an
         integral part of the operation of the Leased Property (but is not
         subject to this Lease), the Lessee shall (I) provide the Lessor with
         prior notice of such acquisition and (II) shall take such actions and
         enter into such agreements as the Lessor shall reasonably request in
         order to grant the Lessor a first priority mortgage or other security
         interest in such real property and personal property, subject only to
         the Permitted Encumbrances and other Liens reasonably acceptable to
         the Lessor.

                 11.4.11     ACCEPTABLE LICENSED OPERATOR.  In the event that
         the Lessee proposes that any other Acceptable Licensed Operator become
         the licensed operator of the Facility, the Lessee shall so advise the
         Lessor and, subject to the Lessor's review and approval of any
         applicable Sublease or Management Agreement (pursuant to which the
         proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator shall operate the Facility), the
         Lessor shall consent to such operation of the Facility by the proposed
         Acceptable Licensed Operator, as long as, prior to or
         contemporaneously with the commencement of the operation of the
         Facility by such proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator and without
         limiting any other terms and conditions of the Lease Documents, the
         Lessor receives (A) such evidence as the Lessor may request
         evidencing that the proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator has received
         all Permits necessary for the operation of the Facility in accordance
         with its Primary Intended Use, (B) such documents executed by the
         proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator as the Lessor may request to
         maintain and protect the Lessor's security for the Lease Obligations
         (including, without limitation, documents in form and substance
         substantially similar to the Permits Assignment and Security
         Agreement), (C) a copy of the proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator's
         articles of incorporation as certified by the Secretary of State of
         the state of its incorporation, (D) a certificate of the Secretary of
         State of the state of incorporation of the proposed Acceptable
         Licensed Operator to the effect that the proposed Acceptable Licensed
         Operator is in legal existence and good standing on the records of
         such Secretary of State as of the date of such Certificate, (E) a copy
         of the by-laws of the proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator as
         certified by the Secretary of the proposed Acceptable Licensed
         Operator, (F) resolutions certified by the Secretary of the proposed
         Acceptable Licensed Operator evidencing the execution and delivery of
         the documents required under this Section 11.4.11 by the Lessor and
         (G) if requested by the Lessor, a due authorization and enforceability
         opinion, addressed to the Lessor, in form and substance reasonably
         acceptable to the Lessor, rendered by counsel to the Lessee and the
         proposed Acceptable Licensed Operator, opining as to the due
         authorization, execution, delivery and enforceability of the documents
         required under this Section 11.4.11 by the Lessor.

                 11.4.12     [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED].

         11.5    ADDITIONAL NEGATIVE COVENANTS.  The Lessee covenants and
agrees that, throughout the Term and such time as the Lessee remains in
possession of the Leased Property:

                 11.5.1      RESTRICTIONS RELATING TO LESSEE.  Except as may
         otherwise be expressly provided in any of the other Lease Documents,
         the Lessee shall not, without the prior written consent of the Lessor,
         in each instance, which consent may be withheld in the sole and
         absolute discretion of the Lessor:

                          (A)     convey, assign, hypothecate, transfer,
                dispose of or encumber, or permit the conveyance, assignment,
                transfer, hypothecation, disposal or encumbrance of all or any
                part of any legal or beneficial interest in this Lease, its
                other assets or the Leased Property; provided, however, that
                this restriction shall not apply to (I) the Permitted
                Encumbrances that may be created after the date hereof pursuant
                to the Lease Documents; (II) Liens created in accordance with
                the applicable provisions of Section 6.1.2 against Tangible
                Personal Property securing Indebtedness permitted under Section
                11.3.8(vi) relating to equipment leasing or financing for the
                exclusive use of the Leased Property; (III) the sale,
                conveyance, assignment, hypothecation, lease or other transfer
                of any material asset or assets (whether now owned or hereafter
                acquired), the fair market value of which equals or is less
                than TWENTY-FIVE

                THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($25,000.00), individually, or ONE
                HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($100,000.00) collectively;
                (IV) without limitation as to amount, the disposition in the
                ordinary course of business of any obsolete, worn out or
                defective fixtures, furnishings or equipment used in the
                operation of the Leased Property provided that the same are
                replaced with fixtures, furnishings or equipment of equal or
                greater utility or value or the Lessee provides the Lessor with
                an explanation (reasonably satisfactory to the Lessor) as to
                why such fixtures, furnishings or equipment is no longer
                required in connection with the operation of the Leased
                Property; (V) without limitation as to amount, any sale of
                inventory by the Lessee in the ordinary course of business;
                (VI) agreements entered into with utility companies creating
                easements in favor of such companies as are required to service
                the Facility, provided, however, the term of any such agreement
                shall not extend beyond the Term and shall be in form
                reasonably acceptable to the Lessor; and (VII) subject to the
                terms of the Pledge Agreement and the Affiliated Party
                Subordination Agreement, distributions to the shareholders of
                the Lessee;

                          (B)     permit the use of the Facility for any
                purpose other than the Primary Intended Use and the Other
                Permitted Uses;

                          (C)     subject to the terms of Section 11.4.11,
                permit any Person other than the Lessee to be the Licensed
                Operator of the Facility; or

                          (D)     liquidate, dissolve or merge or consolidate
                with any other Person.

                 11.5.2   NO LIENS.  The Lessee will not directly or indirectly
         create or allow to remain and will promptly discharge at its expense
         any Lien, title retention agreement or claim upon or against the
         Leased Property (including the Lessee's interest therein) or the
         Lessee's interest in this Lease or any of the other Lease Documents,
         or in respect of the Rent, excluding (A) this Lease and any permitted
         Subleases, (B) the Permitted Encumbrances, (C) Liens which are
         consented to in writing by the Lessor, (D) Liens for those taxes of
         the Lessor which the Lessee is not required to pay hereunder, (E)
         Liens of mechanics, laborers, materialmen, suppliers or vendors for
         sums either not yet due or being contested in strict compliance with
         the terms and conditions of Article 15, (F) any Liens which are the
         responsibility of the Lessor pursuant to the provisions of Article 20,
         (G) Liens for Impositions which are either not yet due and payable or
         which are in the process of being contested in strict compliance with
         the terms and conditions of Article 15 and (H) involuntary Liens
         caused by the actions or omissions of the Lessor.

                 11.5.3   LIMITS ON AFFILIATE TRANSACTIONS.  The Lessee shall
         not enter into any transaction with any Affiliate, including, without
         limitation, the purchase, sale or exchange of any property, the
         rendering of any service to or with any Affiliate and the making of
         any
         loan or other extension of credit, except in the ordinary course of,
         and pursuant to the reasonable requirements of, the Lessee's business
         and upon fair and reasonable terms no less favorable to the Lessee
         than would be obtained in a comparable arms'-length transaction with
         any Person that is not an Affiliate.

                 11.5.4   NON-COMPETITION.  The Lessee acknowledges that upon
         and after any termination of this Lease, any competition by any member
         of the Leasing Group with any subsequent owner or subsequent lessee of
         the Leased Property (the "Purchaser") would cause irreparable harm to
         the Lessor and any such Purchaser.  To induce the Lessor to enter into
         this Lease, the Lessee agrees that, from and after the end of the
         seventh (7th) Lease Year and thereafter until the later of (A) the
         expiration of this Lease or (B) the fifth (5th) anniversary of the
         termination of this Lease on account of a Lease Default, without the
         prior written consent of the Lessor (which consent shall not be
         unreasonably withheld or delayed), no member of the Leasing Group nor
         any Subsidiary of any member of the Leasing Group (collectively, the
         "Limited Parties") shall be involved in any capacity in or lend any of
         their names to or engage in any capacity in any assisted living
         facility (or other facility operated for any use included within the
         definition of the Primary Intended Use), center, unit or program (or
         in any Person engaged in any such activity or any related activity
         competitive therewith), excluding however any of the facilities
         described on Schedule 11.5 attached hereto (collectively, the
         "Excluded Facilities"), whether such competitive activity (the
         "Competitive Activity") shall be as an officer, director, owner,
         employee, agent, advisor, independent contractor, developer, lender,
         sponsor, venture capitalist, administrator, manager, investor,
         partner, joint venturer, consultant or other participant in any
         capacity whatsoever with respect to an assisted living facility (or
         other facility operated for any use included within the definition of
         Primary Intended Use), center, unit or program located within a    *
         (*) mile radius of the Leased Property.

                 The Lessee hereby acknowledges and agrees that none of the
         time span, scope or area covered by the foregoing restrictive
         covenants is or are unreasonable and that it is the specific intent of
         the Lessee that each and all of the restrictive covenants set forth
         hereinabove shall be valid and enforceable as specifically set forth
         herein.  The Lessee further agrees that these restrictions are
         special, unique, extraordinary and reasonably necessary for the
         protection of the Lessor and any Purchaser and that the violation of
         any such covenant by any of the Limited Parties would cause
         irreparable damage to the Lessor and any Purchaser for which a legal
         remedy alone would not be sufficient to fully protect such parties.





-------------------------------

     *Confidential portions omitted and filed separately with the Commission.

                 Therefore, in addition to and without limiting any other
         remedies available at law or hereunder, in the event that any of the
         Limited Parties breaches any of the restrictive covenants hereunder or
         shall threaten breach of any of such covenants, then the Lessor and
         any Purchaser shall be entitled to obtain equitable remedies,
         including specific performance and injunctive relief, to prevent or
         otherwise restrain a breach of this Section 11.5.4 (without the
         necessity of posting a bond) and, unless the Lessee prevails, to
         recover any and all costs and expenses (including, without limitation,
         attorneys' fees and expenses and court costs) reasonably incurred in
         enforcing the provisions of this Section 11.5.4. The existence of any
         claim or cause of action of any of the Limited Parties or any member
         of the Leasing Group against the Lessor or any Purchaser, whether
         predicated on this Lease or otherwise, shall not constitute a defense
         to the enforcement by the Lessor or any Purchaser of the foregoing
         restrictive covenants and the Limited Parties shall not defend on the
         basis that there is an adequate remedy at law.

                 Without limiting any other provision of this Lease, the
         parties hereto acknowledge that the foregoing restrictive covenants
         are severable and separate.  If at any time any of the foregoing
         restrictive covenants shall be deemed invalid or unenforceable by a
         court having jurisdiction over this Lease, by reason of being vague or
         unreasonable as to duration, or geographic scope or scope of
         activities restricted, or for any other reason, such covenants shall
         be considered divisible as to such portion and such covenants shall be
         immediately amended and reformed to include only such covenants as are
         deemed reasonable and enforceable by the court having jurisdiction
         over this Lease to the full duration, geographic scope and scope of
         restrictive activities deemed reasonable and thus enforceable by said
         court; and the parties agree that such covenants as so amended and
         reformed, shall be valid and binding as through the invalid or
         unenforceable portion has not been included therein.

                 The provisions of this Section 11.5.4 shall survive the
         termination of the Lease and any satisfaction of the Lease Obligations
         in connection therewith or subsequent thereto. The parties hereto
         acknowledge and agree that any Purchaser may enforce the provisions of
         this Section 11.5.4 as a third party beneficiary.

                 11.5.5   NO DEFAULT.  The Lessee shall not commit any default
         or breach under any of the Lease Documents.

                 11.5.6   RESTRICTIONS RELATING TO THE GUARANTOR.  If, at any
         time during the Term, the Tangible Net Worth of the Guarantor is less
         than FORTY MILLION AND NO/100 ($40,000,000.00), the Guarantor shall
         not, without the prior written consent of the Lessor, in each
         instance, which consent may be withheld in the sole and absolute
         discretion of the Lessor, convey, assign, donate, sell, mortgage or
         pledge any real or personal property or take any other action which
         would have a materially adverse effect upon the Tangible Net Worth or
         general financial condition of the Guarantor.

                 11.5.7   [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED].

                 11.5.8   ERISA.  The Lessee shall not establish or permit any
         Sublessee to establish any new pension or defined benefit plan or
         modify any such existing plan for employees subject to ERISA, which
         plan provides any benefits based on past service without the advance
         consent of the Lessor to the amount of the aggregate past service
         liability thereby created, which consent shall not be unreasonably
         withheld.

                 11.5.9   FORGIVENESS OF INDEBTEDNESS.  The Lessee will not
         waive, or permit any Sublessee or Manager which is an Affiliate of the
         Lessee or the Guarantor to waive any debt or claim, except in the
         ordinary course of its business.

                 11.5.10  VALUE OF ASSETS.  Except as disclosed in the
         financial statements provided to the Lessor as of the date hereof, the
         Lessee will not write up (by creating an appraisal surplus or
         otherwise) the value of any assets of the Lessee above their cost to
         the Lessee, less the depreciation regularly allowable thereon, unless
         the same is allowed to be done by GAAP in the normal course of
         business.

                 11.5.11  CHANGES IN FISCAL YEAR AND ACCOUNTING PROCEDURES.
         The Lessee may (A) change its fiscal year or capital structure or (B)
         change, alter, amend or modify, but only in accordance with GAAP, any
         of its current accounting procedures related to the method of revenue
         recognition, billing procedures or determinations of doubtful accounts
         or bad debt expenses or (C) permit any of its Subsidiaries to change
         its fiscal year provided that (I) the Lessee shall have notified the
         Lessor of any such change not less than thirty (30) days prior to the
         proposed effective date of such change and shall have promptly
         furnished to the Lessor all such financial information as the Lessor
         may have reasonably requested in order to determine the impact of such
         change on the Lessee's financial statements, (II) no such change shall
         be permitted if its effect would be to enable the Lessee to satisfy
         any covenant contained in this Lease which, absent such change, would
         not have been satisfied and (III) the Lessee shall have entered into
         any amendment to this Lease which the Lessor shall have reasonably
         requested in order to maintain the intended effect of the covenants
         contained in this Lease.

                 11.5.12  [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED]



                                   ARTICLE 12

                            INSURANCE AND INDEMNITY

         12.1    GENERAL INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS.  During the Term of this Lease
and thereafter until the Lessee surrenders the Leased Property in the manner
required by this Lease, the Lessee shall at its sole cost and expense keep the
Leased Property and the Tangible Personal Property located thereon and the
business operations conducted on the Leased Property insured as set forth
below.

                12.1.1   TYPES AND AMOUNTS OF INSURANCE.  The Lessee's
insurance shall include the following:

                          (A)     property loss and physical damage insurance
                on an all-risk basis (with only such exceptions as the Lessor
                may in its reasonable discretion approve) covering the Leased
                Property (exclusive of Land) for its full replacement cost,
                which cost shall be reset once a year at the Lessor's option,
                with an agreed- amount endorsement and a deductible not in
                excess of FIFTY THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($50,000.00).  Such
                insurance shall include, without limitation, the following
                coverages: (I) increased cost of construction, (II) cost of
                demolition, (III) the value of the undamaged portion of the
                Facility and (IV) contingent liability from the operation of
                building laws, less exclusions provided in the normal "All
                Risk" insurance policy. During any period of construction, such
                insurance shall be on a builder's-risk, completed value,
                non-reporting form with permission to occupy;

                          (B)     flood insurance (if the Leased Property or
                any portion thereof is situated in an area which is considered
                a flood risk area by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
                Development or any other Governmental Authority that may in the
                future have jurisdiction over flood risk analysis) in limits
                acceptable to the Lessor;

                          (C)     boiler and machinery insurance (including
                related electrical apparatus and components) under a standard
                comprehensive form, providing coverage against loss or damage
                caused by explosion of steam boilers, pressure vessels or
                similar vessels, now or hereafter installed on the Leased
                Property, in limits acceptable to the Lessor;

                          (D)     earthquake insurance (if deemed necessary by
                the Lessor) in limits and with deductibles acceptable to the
                Lessor;

                          (E)     business interruption and/or rent loss
                insurance in an amount equal to the annual Base Rent and
                Additional Rent due hereunder plus the aggregate sum of the
                Impositions relating to the Leased Property due and payable
                during one year;

                          (F)     comprehensive general public liability
                insurance including coverages commonly found in the Broad Form
                Commercial Liability Endorsements with amounts not less than
                FIVE MILLION AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($5,000,000.00) per occurrence
                with respect to bodily injury and death and THREE MILLION AND
                NO/100 DOLLARS ($3,000,000.00) for property damage and with all
                limits based solely upon occurrences at the Leased Property
                without any other impairment;

                          (G)     professional liability insurance in an amount
                not less than TEN MILLION AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($10,000,000.00)
                for each medical incident;

                          (H)     physical damage insurance on an all-risk
                basis (with only such exceptions as the Lessor in its
                reasonable discretion shall approve) covering the Tangible
                Personal Property for the full replacement cost thereof and
                with a deductible not in excess of one percent (1%) of the full
                replacement cost thereof;

                          (I)     Workers' Compensation and Employers'
                Liability Insurance providing protection against all claims
                arising out of injuries to all employees of the Lessee or of
                any Sublessee (employed on the Leased Property or any portion
                thereof) in amounts equal for Workers' Compensation, to the
                statutory benefits payable to employees in the State and for
                Employers' Liability, to limits of not less than ONE HUNDRED
                THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($100,000.00) for injury by
                accident, ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($100,000.00)
                per employee for disease and FIVE HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100
                DOLLARS ($500,000.00) disease policy limit;

                          (J)     subsidence insurance (if deemed necessary by
                the Lessor) in limits acceptable to the Lessor; and

                          (K)     such other insurance as the Lessor from time
                to time may reasonably require and also, as may from time to
                time be required by applicable Legal Requirements and/or by any
                Fee Mortgagee (other than a Meditrust Entity); provided,
                however, that the cost of any additional insurance required by
                any Fee Mortgagee shall be borne by the Lessor.

                12.1.2        INSURANCE COMPANY REQUIREMENTS.  All such
        insurance required by this Lease or the other Lease Documents shall be
        issued and underwritten by insurance companies licensed to do insurance
        business by, and in good standing under the laws of, the State and
        which companies have and maintain a rating of A- or better by A.M. Best
        Co.

                12.1.3        POLICY REQUIREMENTS.  Every policy of insurance
        from time to time required under this Lease or any of the other Lease
        Documents (other than worker's compensation) shall name the Lessor as
        owner, loss payee, secured party (to the extent applicable) and an
        additional named insured as its interests may appear.  To the extent
        appropriate, the same policies may be used to insure the Lessee's
        various interests in the Leased Property and to provide liability
        coverage to the Lessee as long as combining the interests of the Lessor
        and the Lessee in a single policy in no way impairs or diminishes the
        Lessor's rights in such policies.  If an insurance policy covers
        properties other than the Leased Property, then the Lessor shall be so
        named with respect only to the Leased Property. Each such policy, where
        applicable or appropriate, shall:

                          (A)     include an agreed amount endorsement and loss
                payee, additional named insured and secured party endorsements,
                in forms acceptable to the Lessor in its sole and absolute
                discretion;

                          (B)     include mortgagee, secured party, loss
                payable and additional named insured endorsements reasonably
                acceptable to each Fee Mortgagee; provided, however, that the
                cost of any additional insurance required by any Fee Mortgagee
                shall be borne by the Lessor.

                          (C)     provide that the coverages may not be
                cancelled or materially modified except upon thirty (30) days'
                prior written notice to the Lessor and any Fee Mortgagee;

                          (D)     be payable to the Lessor and any Fee
                Mortgagee notwithstanding any defense or claim that the insurer
                may have to the payment of the same against any other Person
                holding any other interest in the Leased Property;

                          (E)     be endorsed with standard noncontributory
                clauses in favor of and in form reasonably acceptable to the
                Lessor and any Fee Mortgagee; provided, however, that the cost
                of any additional insurance required by any Fee Mortgagee shall
                be borne by the Lessor.

                          (F)     expressly waive any right of subrogation on
                the part of the insurer against the Lessor, any Fee Mortgagee
                or the Leasing Group; and

                          (G)     otherwise be in such forms as shall be
                reasonably acceptable to the Lessor.

                12.1.4        NOTICES; CERTIFICATES AND POLICIES.  The Lessee
        shall promptly provide to the Lessor copies of any and all notices
        (including notice of non-renewal), claims and demands which the Lessee
        receives from insurers of the Leased Property. At least ten (10) days
        prior to the expiration of any insurance policy required hereunder, the
        Lessee shall deliver to the Lessor certificates and evidence of
        insurance relating to all renewals and replacements thereof, together
        with evidence, satisfactory to the Lessor, of payment of the premiums
        thereon.  The Lessee shall deliver to the Lessor original counterparts
        or copies certified by the insurance company to be true and complete
        copies, of all insurance policies required hereunder not later than the
        earlier to occur of (A) ninety (90) days after the effective date of
        each such policy and (B) ten (10) days after receipt thereof by the
        Lessee.

                12.1.5        LESSOR'S RIGHT TO PLACE INSURANCE.  If the Lessee
        shall fail to obtain any insurance policy required hereunder by the
        Lessor, or shall fail to deliver the certificate and evidence of
        insurance relating to any such policy to the Lessor, or if any
        insurance policy required hereunder (or any part thereof) shall expire
        or be cancelled or become void or voidable by reason of any breach of
        any condition thereof, or if the Lessor determines that such insurance
        coverage is unsatisfactory by reason of the failure or impairment of
        the capital of any insurance company which wrote any such policy, upon
        demand by the Lessor, the Lessee shall promptly obtain new or
        additional insurance coverage on the Leased Property, or for those
        risks required to be insured by the provisions hereof, satisfactory to
        the Lessor, and, at its option, if the Lessee fails to obtain any
        insurance coverage required under this

        Lease or after demand by the Lessor, the Lessor may obtain such
        insurance and pay the premium or premiums therefor; in which event, any
        amount so paid or advanced by the Lessor and all costs and expenses
        incurred in connection therewith (including, without limitation,
        attorneys' fees and expenses and court costs), shall be a demand
        obligation of the Lessee to the Lessor, payable as an Additional
        Charge.

                12.1.6        PAYMENT OF PROCEEDS.  All insurance policies
        required hereunder (except for general public liability, professional
        liability and workers' compensation and employers liability insurance)
        shall provide that, in the event of loss, injury or damage, all
        proceeds shall be paid to the Lessor alone (rather than jointly to the
        Lessee and the Lessor). The Lessor is hereby authorized to adjust and
        compromise any such loss with the consent of the Lessee or, following
        any Lease Default, if not cured, without the consent of the Lessee, and
        to collect and receive such proceeds in the name of the Lessor and the
        Lessee, and the Lessee appoints the Lessor (or any agent designated by
        the Lessor) as the Lessee's attorney-in-fact with full power of
        substitution, to endorse the Lessee's name upon any check in payment
        thereof.  Subject to the provisions of Article 13, such insurance
        proceeds shall be applied first toward reimbursement of all costs and
        expenses reasonably incurred by the Lessor in collecting said insurance
        proceeds, then toward payment of the Lease Obligations or any portion
        thereof, then due and payable, in such order as the Lessor determines,
        and then in whole or in part toward restoration, repair or
        reconstruction of the Leased Property for which such insurance proceeds
        shall have been paid.

                12.1.7        IRREVOCABLE POWER OF ATTORNEY.  The power of
        attorney conferred on the Lessor pursuant to the provisions of this
        Section 12.1, being coupled with an interest, shall be irrevocable for
        as long as this Lease is in effect or any Lease Obligations are
        outstanding, shall not be affected by any disability or incapacity
        which the Lessee may suffer and shall survive the same.  Such power of
        attorney is provided solely to protect the interests of the Lessor and
        shall not impose any duty on the Lessor to exercise any such power, and
        neither the Lessor nor such attorney-in-fact shall be liable for any
        act, omission, error in judgment or mistake of law, except as the same
        may result from its gross negligence or wilful misconduct.

                12.1.8        BLANKET POLICIES.  Notwithstanding anything to
        the contrary contained herein, the Lessee's obligations to carry the
        insurance provided for herein may be brought within the coverage of a
        so-called blanket policy or policies of insurance carried and
        maintained by the Lessee and its Affiliates; provided, however, that
        the coverage afforded to the Lessor shall not be reduced or diminished
        or otherwise be different from that which would exist under a separate
        policy meeting all other requirements of this Lease by reason of the
        use of such blanket policy of insurance, and provided, further that the
        requirements of this Section 12.1 are otherwise satisfied.

                12.1.9        NO SEPARATE INSURANCE.  The Lessee shall not, on
        the Lessee's own initiative or pursuant to the request or requirement
        of any other Person, take out separate insurance concurrent in form or
        contributing in the event of loss with the insurance required
        hereunder to be furnished by the Lessee, or increase the amounts of any
        then existing insurance by securing an additional policy or additional
        policies, unless (A) all parties having an insurable interest in the
        subject matter of the insurance, including the Lessor, are included
        therein as additional insureds and (B) losses are payable under said
        insurance in the same manner as losses are required to be payable under
        this Lease. The Lessee shall immediately notify the Lessor of the
        taking out of any such separate insurance or of the increasing of any
        of the amounts of the then existing insurance by securing an additional
        insurance policy or policies.

                12.1.10       ASSIGNMENT OF UNEARNED PREMIUMS.  The Lessee
        hereby assigns to the Lessor all rights of the Lessee in and to any
        unearned premiums on any insurance policy required hereunder to be
        furnished by the Lessee which may become payable or are refundable
        after the occurrence of an Event of Default hereunder.  In the event
        that this Lease is terminated for any reason (other than the purchase
        of the Leased Property by the Lessee), the insurance policies required
        to be maintained hereunder, including all right, title and interest of
        the Lessee thereunder, shall become the absolute property of the
        Lessor.

                In the event that this Lease is terminated for any reason
        (other than the purchase of the Leased Property by the Lessee), the
        insurance policies required to be maintained hereunder, excluding
        Workers' Compensation and Employers Liability Insurance, shall continue
        to be maintained for a period of fifteen (15) days following such
        termination; provided, however, that the Lessee shall not be obligated
        to maintain commercial general liability and professional liability
        insurance for such fifteen (15) day period to the extent that any such
        insurance is unavailable from the then current insurer as a result of
        any such termination.  The provisions of this Section 12.1.10 shall
        survive any termination of this Lease.

        12.2    INDEMNITY.

                12.2.1        INDEMNIFICATION.  Except with respect to the
        gross negligence or wilful misconduct of the Lessor or any of the other
        Indemnified Parties, as to which no indemnity is provided, the Lessee
        hereby agrees to defend with counsel acceptable to the Lessor,
        indemnify and hold harmless the Lessor and each of the other
        Indemnified Parties from and against all damages, losses, claims,
        liabilities, obligations, penalties, causes of action, costs and
        expenses (including, without limitation, attorneys' fees, court costs
        and other expenses of litigation) suffered by, or claimed or asserted
        against, the Lessor or any of the other Indemnified Parties, directly
        or indirectly, based on, arising out of or resulting from (A) the use
        and occupancy of the Leased Property or any business conducted therein,
        (B) any act, fault, omission to act or misconduct by (I) any member of
        the Leasing Group, (II) any Affiliate of the Lessee or (III) any
        employee, agent, licensee, business invitee, guest, customer,
        contractor or sublessee of any of the foregoing parties, relating to,
        directly or indirectly, the Leased Property, (C) any accident, injury
        or damage whatsoever caused to any Person, including, without
        limitation, any claim of malpractice, or to the property of any Person
        in or about the Leased Property or outside of the Leased Property where
        such
        accident, injury or damage results or is claimed to have resulted from
        any act, fault, omission to act or misconduct by any member of the
        Leasing Group or any Affiliate of the Lessee or any employee, agent,
        licensee, contractor or sublessee of any of the foregoing parties, (D)
        any Lease Default, (E) any claim brought or threatened against any of
        the Indemnified Parties by any member of the Leasing Group (unless such
        member of the Leasing Group prevails in such claim against one of the
        Indemnified Parties) or by any other Person on account of (I) the
        Lessor's relationship with any member of the Leasing Group pertaining
        in any way to the Leased Property and/or the transaction evidenced by
        the Lease Documents and/or (II) the Lessor's negotiation of, entering
        into and/or performing any of its obligations and/or exercising any of
        its right and remedies under any of the Lease Documents, (F) any
        attempt by any member of the Leasing Group or any Affiliate of the
        Lessee to transfer or relocate any of the Permits to any location other
        than the Leased Property and/or (G) the enforcement of this indemnity.
        Any amounts which become payable by the Lessee under this Section
        12.2.1 shall be a demand obligation of the Lessee to the Lessor,
        payable as an Additional Charge.  The indemnity provided for in this
        Section 12.2.1 shall survive any termination of this Lease.

                12.2.2        INDEMNIFIED PARTIES.  As used in this Lease the
        term "Indemnified Parties" shall mean the Meditrust Entities, any Fee
        Mortgagee which is an Affiliate of Meditrust and their respective
        successors, assigns, employees, servants, agents, attorneys, officers,
        directors, shareholders, partners and owners.

                12.2.3        DEFENSE OF ACTIONS BY THE LESSEE.  The Lessee's
        obligation to defend, set forth in Section 12.2.1 above, may be
        satisfied by the defense of such actions by counsel retained by any
        insurance carrier having an obligation to defend any such action
        provided the counsel is acceptable to the Lessor in its reasonable
        discretion. Further, if the insurance carrier having the obligation to
        defend such action makes available insurance proceeds for the payment
        of defense rather than retaining its own defense counsel, then such
        insurance proceeds shall be made available to the Lessee to defray the
        costs of such defense.

                12.2.4        LIMITATION ON LESSOR LIABILITY.  Neither the
        Lessor nor any Affiliate of the Lessor shall be liable to any member of
        the Leasing Group or any Affiliate of any member of the Leasing Group,
        or to any other Person whatsoever for any damage, injury, loss,
        compensation, or claim (including, but not limited to, any claim for
        the interruption of or loss to any business conducted on the Leased
        Property) based on, arising out of or resulting from any cause
        whatsoever, including, but not limited to, the following:  (A) repairs
        to the Leased Property, (B) interruption in use of the Leased Property;
        (C) any accident or damage resulting from the use or operation of the
        Leased Property or any business conducted thereon; (D) the termination
        of this Lease by reason of Casualty or Condemnation, (E) any fire,
        theft or other casualty or crime, (F) the actions, omissions or
        misconduct of any other Person, (G) damage to any property, or (H) any
        damage from the flow or leaking of water, rain or snow.  All Tangible
        Personal Property and the personal property of any other Person on the
        Leased Property shall be at the sole risk of the Lessee and the Lessor
        shall not in any manner be held responsible therefor.  Notwithstanding
        the foregoing, the Lessor shall not be released from liability for any
        injury, loss, damage or liability suffered directly by the Lessee to
        the extent caused directly by the gross negligence or willful
        misconduct of the Lessor, any

        Affiliate of the Lessor or any of their respective successors, assigns,
        employees, servants, agents, attorneys, officers, directors,
        shareholders, partners or owners on or about the Leased Property or in
        regards to the Lease; provided, however, that in no event shall the
        Lessor, any Affiliate of the Lessor or any of their respective
        successors, assigns, employees, servants, agents, attorneys, officers,
        directors, shareholders, partners or owners have any liability based on
        any loss with respect to or interruption in the operation of any
        business at the Leased Property or for any indirect or consequential
        damages.

                12.2.5        RISK OF LOSS.  During the Term of this Lease, the
        risk of loss or of decrease in the enjoyment and beneficial use of the
        Leased Property in consequence of any damage or destruction thereof by
        fire, the elements, casualties, thefts, riots, wars or otherwise, or in
        consequence of foreclosures, levies or executions  of Liens (other than
        those created by the Lessor in accordance with the provisions of
        Article 20) is assumed by the Lessee and, in the absence of the gross
        negligence or willful misconduct as set forth in Section 12.2.4, the
        Lessor shall in no event be answerable or accountable therefor (except
        for the obligation to account for insurance proceeds and Awards to the
        extent provided for in Articles 13 and 14) nor shall any of the events
        mentioned in this Section entitle the Lessee to any abatement of Rent
        (except for an abatement, if any, as specifically provided for in
        Section 3.6).



                                   ARTICLE 13

                               FIRE AND CASUALTY

        13.1    RESTORATION FOLLOWING FIRE OR OTHER CASUALTY.

                13.1.1        FOLLOWING FIRE OR CASUALTY.  In the event of any
        damage or destruction to the Leased Property by reason of fire or other
        hazard or casualty (a "Casualty"), the Lessee shall give immediate
        written notice thereof to the Lessor and, subject to the terms of this
        Article 13, the Lessee shall proceed with reasonable diligence, in full
        compliance with all applicable Legal Requirements, to perform such
        repairs, replacement and reconstruction work (referred to herein as the
        "Work") to restore the Leased Property to the condition it was in
        immediately prior to such damage or destruction and to a condition
        adequate to operate the Facility for the Primary Intended Use and the
        Other Permitted Uses and in compliance with Legal Requirements.  All
        Work shall be performed and completed in accordance with all Legal
        Requirements and the other requirements of this Lease within one
        hundred eighty (180) days following the occurrence of the damage or
        destruction plus a reasonable time to compensate for Unavoidable Delays
        (including for the purposes of this Section, delays in obtaining
        Permits and in adjusting insurance losses), but in no event beyond
        two-hundred and seventy (270) days following the occurrence of the
        Casualty.

                13.1.2        PROCEDURES.  In the event that any Casualty
        results in non-structural damage to the Leased Property in excess of
        FIFTY THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS

        ($50,000.00) or in any structural damage to the Leased Property,
        regardless of the extent of such structural damage, prior to commencing
        the Work, the Lessee shall comply with the following requirements:

                          (A)     The Lessee shall furnish to the Lessor
                complete plans and specifications for the Work (collectively,
                the "Plans and Specifications"), for the Lessor's approval, in
                each instance, which approval shall not be unreasonably
                withheld or delayed.  The Plans and Specifications shall bear
                the signed approval thereof by an architect, licensed to do
                business in the State, reasonably satisfactory to the Lessor
                and shall be accompanied by a written estimate from the
                architect, bearing the architect's seal, of the entire cost of
                completing the Work, and to the extent feasible, the Plans and
                Specifications shall provide for Work of such nature, quality
                and extent, that, upon the completion thereof, the Leased
                Property shall be at least equal in value and general utility
                to its value and general utility prior to the Casualty and
                shall be adequate to operate the Leased Property for the
                Primary Intended Use and the Other Permitted Uses;

                          (B)     The Lessee shall furnish to the Lessor
                certified or photostatic copies of all Permits and Contracts
                required by all applicable Legal Requirements in connection
                with the commencement and conduct of the Work;

                          (C)     The Lessee shall furnish to the Lessor a cash
                deposit or a payment and performance bond sufficient to pay for
                completion of and payment for the Work in an amount not less
                than the architect's estimate of the entire cost of completing
                the Work, less the amount of property insurance proceeds, if
                any, then held by the Lessor and which the Lessor shall be
                required to apply toward restoration of the Leased Property as
                provided in Section 13.2;

                          (D)     The Lessee shall furnish to the Lessor such
                insurance with respect to the Work (in addition to the
                insurance required under Section 12.1 hereof) in such amounts
                and in such forms as is reasonably required by the Lessee; and

                          (E)     The Lessee shall not commence any of the Work
                until the Lessee shall have complied with the requirements set
                forth in clauses (a) through (d) immediately above, as
                applicable, and, thereafter, the Lessee shall perform the Work
                diligently, in a good and workmanlike fashion and in good faith
                in accordance with (I) the Plans and Specifications referred to
                in clause (a) immediately above, (II) the Permits and Contracts
                referred to in clause (b) immediately above and (III) all
                applicable Legal Requirements and other requirements of this
                Lease; provided, however, that in the event of a bona fide
                emergency during which the Lessee is unable to contact the
                appropriate representatives of the Lessor, the Lessee may
                commence such Work as may be necessary in order to address such
                emergency without the Lessor's prior approval, as long as the
                Lessee immediately thereafter advises the Lessor of such





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                emergency and the nature and scope of the Work performed and
                obtains the Lessor's approval of the remaining Work to be
                completed.

                13.1.3        DISBURSEMENT OF INSURANCE PROCEEDS.  If, as
        provided in Section 13.2, the Lessor is required to apply any property
        insurance proceeds toward repair or restoration of the Leased Property,
        then as long as the Work is being diligently performed by the Lessee in
        accordance with the terms and conditions of this Lease, the Lessor
        shall disburse such insurance proceeds from time to time during the
        course of the Work in accordance with and subject to satisfaction of
        the following provisions and conditions.  The Lessor shall not be
        required to make disbursements more often than at thirty (30) day
        intervals.  The Lessee shall submit a written request for each
        disbursement at least ten (10) Business Days in advance and shall
        comply with the following requirements in connection with each
        disbursement:

                          (A)     Prior to the commencement of any Work, the
                Lessee shall have received the Lessor's written approval of the
                Plans and Specifications (which approval shall not be
                unreasonably withheld or delayed) and the Work shall be
                supervised by an experienced construction manager with the
                consultation of an architect or engineer qualified and licensed
                to do business in the State.

                          (B)     Each request for payment shall be accompanied
                by (X) a certificate of the architect or engineer, bearing the
                architect's or engineer's seal, and (Y) a certificate of the
                general contractor, qualified and licensed to do business in
                the State, that is performing the Work (collectively, the "Work
                Certificates"), each dated not more than ten (10) days prior to
                the application for withdrawal of funds, and each stating:

                          (I)     that all of the Work performed as of the date
                                  of the certificates has been completed in
                                  compliance with the approved Plans and
                                  Specifications, applicable Contracts and all
                                  applicable Legal Requirements;

                          (II)    that the sum then requested to be withdrawn
                                  has been paid by the Lessee or is justly due
                                  to contractors, subcontractors, materialmen,
                                  engineers, architects or other Persons, whose
                                  names and addresses shall be stated therein,
                                  who have rendered or furnished certain
                                  services or materials for the Work, and the
                                  certificate shall also include a brief
                                  description of such services and materials
                                  and the principal subdivisions or categories
                                  thereof and the respective amounts so paid or
                                  due to each of said Persons in respect
                                  thereof and stating the progress of the Work
                                  up to the date of said certificate;

                          (III)   that the sum then requested to be withdrawn,
                                  plus all sums previously withdrawn, does not
                                  exceed the cost of the Work insofar as
                                  actually accomplished up to the date of such
                                  certificate;





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                          (IV)    that the remainder of the funds held by the
                                  Lessor will be sufficient to pay for the full
                                  completion of the Work in accordance with the
                                  Plans and Specifications;

                          (V)     that no part of the cost of the services and
                                  materials described in the applicable Work
                                  Certificate has been or is being made the
                                  basis of the withdrawal of any funds in any
                                  previous or then pending application; and

                          (VI)    that, except for the amounts, if any,
                                  specified in the applicable Work Certificate
                                  to be due for services and materials, there
                                  is no outstanding indebtedness known, after
                                  due inquiry, which is then due and payable
                                  for work, labor, services or materials in
                                  connection with the Work which, if unpaid,
                                  might become the basis of a vendor's,
                                  mechanic's, laborer's or materialman's
                                  statutory or other similar Lien upon the
                                  Leased Property.

                          (C)     The Lessee shall deliver to the Lessor
                satisfactory evidence that the Leased Property and all
                materials and all property described in the Work Certificates
                are free and clear of Liens, except (I) Liens, if any, securing
                indebtedness due to Persons (whose names and addresses and the
                several amounts due them shall be stated therein) specified in
                an applicable Work Certificate, which Liens shall be discharged
                upon disbursement of the funds then being requested, (II) any
                Fee Mortgage and (III) the Permitted Encumbrances. The Lessor
                shall accept as satisfactory evidence of the foregoing lien
                waivers in customary form from the general contractor and all
                subcontractors performing the Work, together with an
                endorsement of its title insurance policy (relating to the
                Leased Property) in form acceptable to the Lessor, dated as of
                the date of the making of the then current disbursement,
                confirming the foregoing.

                          (D)     If the Work involves alteration or
                restoration of the exterior of any Leased Improvement that
                changes the footprint of any Leased Improvement, the Lessee
                shall deliver to the Lessor, upon the request of the Lessor, an
                "as-built" survey of the Leased Property dated as of a date
                within ten (10) days prior to the making of the first and final
                advances (or revised to a date within ten (10) days prior to
                each such advance) showing no encroachments other than such
                encroachments, if any, by the Leased Improvements upon or over
                the Permitted Encumbrances as are in existence as of the date
                hereof.

                          (E)     The Lessee shall deliver to the Lessor (I) an
                opinion of counsel or licensed architect or engineer
                (satisfactory to the Lessor both as to counsel, architect or
                engineer and as to the form of opinion) prior to the first
                advance opining that all necessary Permits for the repair,
                replacement and/or restoration of the Leased Property have been
                obtained and  that the Leased Property, if repaired, replaced
                or rebuilt in accordance, in all material respects, with the
                approved Plans and





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                Specifications and such Permits, shall comply with all
                applicable Legal Requirements and (II) an architect's
                certificate (satisfactory to the Lessor both as to the
                architect and as to the form of the certificate) prior to the
                final advance, certifying that the Leased Property was
                repaired, replaced or rebuilt in accordance, in all material
                respects, with the approved Plans and Specifications and
                complies with all applicable Legal Requirements, including,
                without limitation, all Permits referenced in the foregoing
                clause (i).

                          (F)     There shall be no Lease Default or any state
                of facts or circumstance existing which, with the giving of
                notice and/or the passage of time, would constitute any Lease
                Default.

        The Lessor, at its option, may waive any of the foregoing requirements
        in whole or in part in any instance.  Upon compliance by the Lessee
        with the foregoing requirements (except for such requirements, if any,
        as the Lessor may have expressly elected to waive), and to the extent
        of (X) the insurance proceeds, if any, which the Lessor may be required
        to apply to restoration of the Leased Property pursuant to the
        provisions of this Lease and (Y) all other cash deposits made by the
        Lessee, the Lessor shall make available for payment to the Persons
        named in the Work Certificate the respective amounts stated in said
        certificate(s) to be due, subject to a retention of ten percent (10%)
        as to all hard costs of the Work (the "Retainage").  It is understood
        that the Retainage is intended to provide a contingency fund to assure
        the Lessor that the Work shall be fully completed in accordance with
        the Plans and Specifications and the requirements of the Lessor.  Upon
        the full and final completion of all of the Work in accordance with the
        provisions hereof, the Retainage shall be made available for payment to
        those Persons entitled thereto.

        Upon completion of the Work, and as a condition precedent to making any
        further advance, in addition to the requirements set forth above, the
        Lessee shall promptly deliver to the Lessor:

                (I)       written certificates of the architect or engineer,
                          bearing the architect's or engineer's seal, and the
                          general contractor, certifying that the Work has been
                          fully completed in a good and workmanlike manner in
                          material compliance with the Plans and Specifications
                          and all Legal Requirements;

                (II)      an endorsement of its title insurance policy
                          (relating to the Leased Property) in form reasonably
                          acceptable to the Lessor insuring the Leased Property
                          against all mechanic's and materialman's liens
                          accompanied by the final lien waivers from the
                          general contractor and all subcontractors;

                (III)     a certificate by the Lessee in form and substance
                          reasonably satisfactory to the Lessor, listing all
                          costs and expenses in connection with the completion
                          of the Work and the amount paid by the Lessee with
                          respect to the Work; and





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                (IV)      a temporary certificate of occupancy (if obtainable)
                          and all other applicable Permits and Contracts (that
                          have not previously been delivered to the Lessor)
                          issued by or entered into with any Governmental
                          Authority with respect to the Leased Property and the
                          Primary Intended Use and the Other Permitted Uses and
                          by the appropriate Board of Fire Underwriters or
                          other similar bodies acting in and for the locality
                          in which the Leased Property is situated; provided,
                          that within thirty (30) days prior to the expiration
                          of any temporary certificate of occupancy, the Lessee
                          shall obtain and deliver to the Lessor a permanent
                          certificate of occupancy for the Leased Property.

                Upon completion of the Work and delivery of the documents
        required pursuant to the provisions of this Section 13.1, the Lessor
        shall pay the Retainage to the Lessee or to those Persons entitled
        thereto and if there shall be insurance proceeds or cash deposits,
        other than the Retainage, held by the Lessor in excess of the amounts
        disbursed pursuant to the foregoing provisions, then provided that no
        Lease Default has occurred and is continuing, nor any state of facts or
        circumstances which, with the giving of notice and/or the passage of
        time would constitute a Lease Default, the Lessor shall pay over such
        proceeds or cash deposits to the Lessee.

                No inspections or any approvals of the Work during or after
        construction shall constitute a warranty or representation by the
        Lessor, or any of its agents or Consultants, as to the technical
        sufficiency, adequacy or safety of any structure or any of its
        component parts, including, without limitation, any fixtures, equipment
        or furnishings, or as to the subsoil conditions or any other physical
        condition or feature pertaining to the Leased Property.  All acts
        described in this paragraph, including any failure to act, relating to
        the Lessor are performed solely for the benefit of the Lessor to assure
        the payment and performance of the Lease Obligations and are not for
        the benefit of the Lessee or the benefit of any other Person.

        13.2    DISPOSITION OF INSURANCE PROCEEDS.

                13.2.1        PROCEEDS TO BE RELEASED TO PAY FOR WORK.  In the
        event of any Casualty, except as provided for in Section 13.2.2, the
        Lessor shall release proceeds of property insurance held by it to pay
        for the Work in accordance with the provisions and procedures set forth
        in this Article 13, only if:

                          (A)     all of the terms, conditions and provisions
                of Sections 13.1 and 13.2.1 are satisfied;

                          (B)     there does not then exist any Lease Default
                or any state of facts or circumstance which, with the giving of
                notice and/or the passage of time, would constitute such a
                Lease Default;





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                          (C)     The Lessee demonstrates to the Lessor's
                satisfaction that the Lessee has the financial ability to
                satisfy the Lease Obligations during such repair or
                restoration; and

                          (D)     no Sublease (excluding Resident Agreements)
                material to the operation of the Facility immediately prior to
                such damage or taking shall have been cancelled or terminated,
                nor contain any still exercisable right to cancel or terminate,
                due to such Casualty if and to the extent that the income from
                such Sublease is necessary in order to avoid the violation of
                any of the financial covenants set forth in this Lease or
                otherwise to avoid the creation of an Event of Default.

                13.2.2        PROCEEDS NOT TO BE RELEASED.  If, as the result
        of any Casualty,  the Leased Property is damaged to the extent it is
        rendered Unsuitable For Its Primary Intended Use and if either:  (A)
        the Lessee, after exercise of diligent efforts, cannot within a
        reasonable time (not in excess of ninety (90) days) obtain all
        necessary Permits in order to be able to perform all required Work and
        to again operate the Facility for its Primary Intended Use and the
        Other Permitted Uses within two hundred and seventy (270) days from the
        occurrence of the damage or destruction in substantially the manner as
        immediately prior to such damage or destruction or (B) such Casualty
        occurs during the last twenty-four (24) months of the Term and would
        reasonably require more than nine (9) months to obtain all Permits and
        complete the Work, then the Lessee may either (I) acquire the Leased
        Property from the Lessor for a purchase price equal to the greater of
        (X) the Meditrust Investment or (Y) the Fair Market Value of the Leased
        Property minus the Fair Market Added Value, with the Fair Market Value
        and the Fair Market Added Value to be determined as of the day
        immediately prior to such Casualty and prior to any other Casualty
        which has not been fully repaired, restored or replaced, in which
        event, the Lessee shall be entitled upon payment of the full purchase
        price to receive all property insurance proceeds (less any costs and
        expenses incurred by the Lessor in collecting the same), or (II)
        terminate this Lease, in which event (subject to the provisions of the
        last sentence of this Section 13.2.2) the Lessor shall be entitled to
        receive and retain the insurance proceeds; provided, however, that the
        Lessee shall only have such right of termination effective upon payment
        to the Lessor of all Rent and other sums due under this Lease and the
        other Lease Documents through the date of termination plus an amount,
        which when added to the sum of (1) the Fair Market Value of the Leased
        Property as affected by all unrepaired or unrestored damage due to any
        Casualty (and giving due regard for delays, costs and expenses incident
        to completing all repair or restoration required to fully repair or
        restore the same) plus (2) the amount of insurance proceeds actually
        received by the Lessor (net of costs and expenses incurred by the
        Lessor in collecting the same) equals (3) the greater of the Meditrust
        Investment or the Fair Market Value of the Leased Property minus the
        Fair Market Added Value, with the Fair Market Value and the Fair Market
        Added Value to be determined as of the day immediately prior to such
        Casualty and prior to any other Casualty which has not been fully
        repaired.  Any acquisition of the Leased Property pursuant to the terms
        of this Section 13.2.2 shall be consummated in accordance with the
        terms and conditions of this Lease and normal and
        customary practices of the State and at a time satisfactory to the
        Lessor.  If such termination becomes effective, the Lessor shall assign
        to the Lessee any outstanding insurance claims.

                13.2.3        LESSEE RESPONSIBLE FOR SHORT-FALL.  If the cost
        of the Work exceeds the amount of proceeds received by the Lessor from
        the property insurance required under Article 12 (net of costs and
        expenses incurred by the Lessor in collecting the same), the Lessee
        shall be obligated to contribute any excess amount needed to repair or
        restore the Leased Property and pay for the Work.  Such amount shall be
        paid by the Lessee to the Lessor together with any other property
        insurance proceeds for application to the cost of the Work.

        13.3    TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY.  All insurance proceeds payable by
reason of any loss of or damage to any of the Tangible Personal Property shall
be paid to the Lessor as secured party, subject to the rights of the holders of
any Permitted Prior Security Interests, and, thereafter, provided that no Lease
Default, nor any fact or circumstance which with the giving of notice and/or
the passage of time could constitute a Lease Default, has occurred and is
continuing, the Lessor shall pay such insurance proceeds to the Lessee to
reimburse the Lessee for the cost of repairing or replacing the damaged
Tangible Personal Property, subject to the terms and conditions set forth in
the other provisions of this Article 13, mutatis mutandis.

        13.4    RESTORATION OF CERTAIN IMPROVEMENTS AND THE TANGIBLE PERSONAL
PROPERTY. If the Lessee is required or elects to restore the Facility, the
Lessee shall either (A) restore (I) all alterations and improvements to the
Leased Property made by the Lessee and (II) the Tangible Personal Property or
(B) replace such alterations and improvements and the Tangible Personal
Property with improvements or items of the same or better quality and utility
in the operation of the Leased Property.

        13.5    NO ABATEMENT OF RENT.  The obligation to pay Rent shall not
abate as a result of any Casualty.  However, any insurance proceeds received by
the Lessor on account of rent loss insurance carried by the Lessee shall be
credited against Rent and any other amounts due hereunder or owed during the
period of restoration on account of such Casualty as provided in Section
13.8(b) below provided no fact or circumstance exists which constitutes, or
with notice, or passage of time, or both, would constitute a Lease Default.

        13.6    TERMINATION OF CERTAIN RIGHTS.  Any termination of this Lease
pursuant to this Article 13 shall cause any right of the Lessee to extend the
Term of this Lease, any right of first refusal granted to the Lessee herein and
any right of the Lessee to purchase the Leased Property contained in this Lease
to be terminated and to be without further force or effect.

        13.7    WAIVER.  The Lessee hereby waives any statutory rights of
termination which may arise by reason of any damage or destruction to the
Leased Property due to any Casualty which the Lessee is obligated to restore or
may restore under any of the provisions of this Lease.

        13.8    APPLICATION OF RENT LOSS AND/OR BUSINESS INTERRUPTION
INSURANCE.  All proceeds of rent loss and/or business interruption insurance
(collectively, "Rent Insurance Proceeds") shall be paid to the Lessor and dealt
with as follows:
                (A)       if the Work has been promptly and diligently
        commenced by the Lessee and is in the process of being completed in
        accordance with this Lease and no fact or condition exists which
        constitutes, or which with the giving of notice and/or the passage of
        time would constitute, a Lease Default, the Lessor shall each month pay
        to the Lessee out of the Rent Insurance Proceeds a sum equal to that
        amount, if any, of the Rent Insurance Proceeds paid by the insurer
        which is allocable to the rental loss and/or business interruption for
        the preceding month minus an amount equal to the sum of the Rent due
        hereunder for such month plus any Impositions relating to the Leased
        Property then due and payable;

                (B)       if the Work has not been promptly and diligently
        commenced by the Lessee or is not in the process of being completed in
        accordance with this Lease, the Rent Insurance Proceeds shall be
        applied to any Rent then due, and, to the extent sufficient therefor,
        an amount equal to Base Rent, Additional Rent, Impositions and
        insurance premiums payable for the next twelve (12) months, as
        reasonably projected by the Lessor, shall be held by the Lessor as
        security for the Lease Obligations and applied to the payment of Rent
        as it becomes due;

                (C)       if such Rent Insurance Proceeds received by the
        Lessor (net of costs and expenses incurred by the Lessor in collecting
        the same) exceed the amounts required under clauses (a) and (b) above,
        the excess shall be paid to the Lessee, provided no fact or
        circumstance exists which constitutes, or with notice, or passage of
        time, or both, would constitute, a Lease Default; and

                (D)       if the Casualty causing such business interruption of
        the Lessee is the result of the gross negligence or willful misconduct
        of the Lessor or any of Lessor's employees, agents or contractors, then
        the proceeds of business interruption insurance (as distinguished from
        proceeds of rent loss insurance) shall be paid over to the Lessee
        provided no fact or circumstance exists which constitutes, or with
        notice, or passage of time, or both, would constitute, a Lease Default.

Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Lessor may at its option use or release the
Rent Insurance Proceeds to pay for the Work and, if a Lease Default exists, the
Lessor may apply all such insurance proceeds towards the Lease Obligations or
hold such proceeds as security therefor.

        13.9    OBLIGATION TO ACCOUNT.  Within fifteen (15) Business Days of
the Lessee's written request, which may not be made not more than once in any
three (3) month period, the Lessor shall provide the Lessee with a written
accounting of the application of all insurance proceeds received by the Lessor.





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                                   ARTICLE 14

                                  CONDEMNATION

        14.1    PARTIES' RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS.  If during the Term there is
any Taking of all or any part of the Leased Property or any interest in this
Lease, the rights and obligations of the parties shall be determined by this
Article 14.

        14.2    TOTAL TAKING.  If there is a permanent Taking of all or
substantially all of the Leased Property, this Lease shall terminate on the
Date of Taking.

        14.3    PARTIAL OR TEMPORARY TAKING.  If there is a Permanent Taking of
a portion of the Leased Property, or if there is a temporary Taking of all or a
portion of the Leased Property, this Lease shall remain in effect so long as
the Leased Property is not thereby rendered permanently Unsuitable For Its
Primary Intended Use or temporarily Unsuitable For Its Primary Intended Use for
a period not likely to, or which does not, exceed two hundred and seventy (270)
days.  If, however, the Leased Property is thereby so rendered permanently or
temporarily Unsuitable For Its Primary Intended Use:  (A) the Lessee shall have
the right to restore the Leased Property, at its own expense, (subject to the
right under certain circumstances as provided for in Section 14.5 to receive
the net proceeds of an Award for reimbursement) to the extent possible, to
substantially the same condition as existed immediately before the partial or
temporary Taking or (B) the Lessee shall have the right to acquire the Leased
Property from the Lessor (I) upon payment of all Rent due through the date that
the purchase price is paid, for a purchase price equal to the greater of (X)
the Meditrust Investment or (Y) the Fair Market Value of the Leased Property
minus the Fair Market Added Value, with the Fair Market Value of the Leased
Property and the Fair Market Added Value to be determined as of the day
immediately prior to such partial or temporary Taking and (II) in accordance
with the terms and conditions set forth in Section 24.14; in which event, this
Lease shall terminate upon payment of such purchase price and the consummation
of such acquisition.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, (1) if the Taking occurs
at a time when there is less than two (2) years remaining on the Term of this
Lease and the Lessee has elected to restore the Leased Property under clause
(a) above, then, unless the Lessee extends the Term pursuant to the provisions
hereof, the Lessor may overrule the Lessee's election and terminate this Lease
as of the date when the Lessee is required to surrender possession of the
portion of the Leased Property so taken and (2) if the Taking occurs at a time
when there are two (2) years or more remaining on the Term and the Lessee
elects to acquire the Leased Property under clause (b) above, then the Lessor
may overrule the Lessee's election and compel the Lessee to keep the Lease in
full force and effect and to restore the Leased Property as provided in clause
(a) above, but only if the Leased Property may be operated for at least eighty
percent (80%) of the licensed unit capacity of the Facility if operated in
accordance with its Primary Intended Use.  The Lessee shall exercise its
election under this Section 14.3 by giving the Lessor notice thereof ("Lessee's
Election Notice") within sixty (60) days after the Lessee receives notice of
the Taking.  The Lessor shall exercise its option to overrule the Lessee's
election under this Section 14.3 by giving the Lessee notice of the Lessor's
exercise of its rights under Section 14.3 within thirty (30) days after the
Lessor receives the Lessee's Election Notice.  If, as the result





                                       86
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of any such partial or temporary Taking, this Lease is not terminated as
provided above, the Lessee shall be entitled to an abatement of Rent, but only
to the extent, if any, provided for in Section 3.6, effective as of the date
upon which the Leased Property is rendered Unsuitable For Its Primary Intended
Use.

        14.4    RESTORATION.  If there is a partial or temporary Taking of the
Leased Property and this Lease remains in full force and effect pursuant to
Section 14.3, the Lessee shall accomplish all necessary restoration and the
Lessor shall release the net proceeds of such Award to reimburse the Lessee for
the actual reasonable costs and expenses thereof, subject to all of the
conditions and provisions set forth in Article 13 as though the Taking was a
Casualty and the Award was insurance proceeds. If the cost of the restoration
exceeds the amount of the Award (net of costs and expenses incurred in
obtaining the Award), the Lessee shall be obligated to contribute any excess
amount needed to restore the Facility or pay for such costs and expenses. To
the extent that the cost of restoration is less than the amount of the Award
(net of cost and expenses incurred in obtaining the Award), the remainder of
the Award shall be retained by the Lessor and Rent shall be abated as set forth
in Section 3.6.

        14.5    AWARD DISTRIBUTION.  In the event the Lessee completes the
purchase of the Leased Property, as described in Section 14.3, the entire Award
shall, upon payment of the purchase price and all Rent and other sums due under
this Lease and the other Lease Documents, belong to the Lessee and the Lessor
agrees to assign to the Lessee all of the Lessor's rights thereto.  In any
other event, the entire Award shall belong to and be paid to the Lessor.
However, if the Lessor has recovered the entire Meditrust Investment from such
Award then the Lessee shall be entitled to prosecute a claim against the
Condemnor for the value of the Lessee's leasehold estate under this Lease
(although in no event shall the Lessee be entitled to seek or recover any
portion of the leasehold value from the Lessor).

        14.6    CONTROL OF PROCEEDINGS.  Subject to the rights of any Fee
Mortgagee, unless and until the Lessee completes the purchase of the Leased
Property as provided in Section 14.3, all proceedings involving any Taking and
the prosecution of claims arising out of any Taking against the Condemnor shall
be conducted, prosecuted and settled by the Lessor; provided, however, that the
Lessor shall keep the Lessee apprised of the progress of all such proceedings
and shall solicit the Lessee's advice with respect thereto and shall give due
consideration to any such advice.  In addition, the Lessee shall reimburse the
Lessor (as an Additional Charge) for all costs and expenses, including
reasonable attorneys' fees, appraisal fees, fees of expert witnesses and costs
of litigation or dispute resolution, in relation to any Taking, whether or not
this Lease is terminated; provided, however, if this Lease is terminated as a
result of a Taking, the Lessee's obligation to so reimburse the Lessor shall be
diminished by the amount of the Award, if any, received by the Lessor which is
in excess of the Meditrust Investment.





                                       87
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                                   ARTICLE 15

                               PERMITTED CONTESTS

        15.1    LESSEE'S RIGHT TO CONTEST.  To the extent of the express
references made to this Article 15 in other Sections of this Lease, the Lessee,
any Sublessee or any Manager on their own or on the Lessor's behalf (or in the
Lessor's name), but at their sole cost and expense, may contest, by appropriate
legal proceedings conducted in good faith and with due diligence (until the
resolution thereof), the amount, validity or application, in whole or in part,
of any Imposition, Legal Requirement, the decision of any Governmental
Authority related to the operation of the Leased Property for its Primary
Intended Use and/or any of the Other Permitted Uses or any Lien or claim
relating to the Leased Property not otherwise permitted by this Lease;
provided, that (A) prior written notice of such contest is given to the Lessor,
(B) in the case of an unpaid Imposition, Lien or claim, the commencement and
continuation of such proceedings shall suspend the collection thereof from the
Lessor and/or compliance by any applicable member of the Leasing Group with the
contested Legal Requirement or other matter may be legally delayed pending the
prosecution of any such proceeding without the occurrence or creation of any
Lien, charge or liability of any kind against the Leased Property, (C) neither
the Leased Property nor any rent therefrom would be in any immediate danger of
being sold, forfeited, attached or lost as a result of such proceeding, (D) in
the case of a Legal Requirement, neither the Lessor nor any member of the
Leasing Group would be in any immediate danger of civil or criminal liability
for failure to comply therewith pending the outcome of such proceedings, (E) in
the event that any such contest shall involve a sum of money or potential loss
in excess of TEN THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($10,000.00), the Lessee shall
deliver to the Lessor an Officer's Certificate and opinion of counsel, if the
Lessor deems the delivery of an opinion to be appropriate, certifying or
opining, as the case may be, as to the validity of the statements set forth to
the effect set forth in clauses (b), (c) and (d), to the extent applicable, (F)
the Lessee shall give such cash security (or letter of credit in form and
substance acceptable to the Lender) as may be demanded in good faith by the
Lessor to insure ultimate payment of any fine, penalty, interest or cost and to
prevent any sale or forfeiture of the affected portion of the Leased Property
by reason of such non-payment or non-compliance, (G) if such contest is finally
resolved against the Lessor or any member of the Leasing Group, the Lessee
shall promptly pay, as Additional Charges due hereunder, the amount required to
be paid, together with all interest and penalties accrued thereon and/or comply
(and cause any Sublessee and any Manager to comply) with the applicable Legal
Requirement, and (H) no state of facts or circumstance exists which
constitutes, or with the passage of time and/or the giving of notice, could
constitute a Lease Default; provided, however, the provisions of this Article
15 shall not be construed to permit the Lessee to contest the payment of Rent
or any other sums payable by the Lessee to the Lessor under any of the Lease
Documents.

        15.2    LESSOR'S COOPERATION.  The Lessor, at the Lessee's sole cost
and expense, shall execute and deliver to the Lessee such authorizations and
other documents as may reasonably be required in any such contest, so long as
the same does not expose the Lessor to any civil or criminal liability, and, if
reasonably requested by the Lessee or if the Lessor so desires, the Lessor
shall join as a party therein.





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        15.3    LESSEE'S INDEMNITY.  The Lessee, as more particularly provided
for in Section 12.2, shall indemnify, defend (with counsel acceptable to the
Lessor) and save the Lessor harmless against any liability, cost or expense of
any kind, including, without limitation, attorneys' fees and expenses that may
be imposed upon the Lessor in connection with any such contest and any loss
resulting therefrom and in the enforcement of this indemnification.


                                   ARTICLE 16

                                    DEFAULT

        16.1    EVENTS OF DEFAULT.  Each of the following shall constitute an
"Event of Default" hereunder and shall entitle the Lessor to exercise its
remedies hereunder and under any of the other Lease Documents:

                (A)       any failure of the Lessee to pay any amount due
        hereunder or under any of the other Lease Documents within ten (10)
        days following the date when such payment was due;

                (B)       any failure in the observance or performance of any
        other covenant, term, condition or warranty provided in this Lease or
        any of the other Lease Documents, other than the payment of any
        monetary obligation and other than as specified in subsections (c)
        through (w) below (a "Failure to Perform"), continuing for thirty (30)
        days after the giving of notice by the Lessor to the Lessee specifying
        the nature of the Failure to Perform; except as to matters not
        susceptible to cure within thirty (30) days, provided that with respect
        to such matters, (I) the Lessee commences the cure thereof within
        thirty (30) days after the giving of such notice by the Lessor to the
        Lessee, (II) the Lessee continuously prosecutes such cure to
        completion, (III) such cure is completed within one hundred eighty
        (180) days after the giving of such notice by the Lessor to the Lessee,
        and (IV) such Failure to Perform does not materially impair the value
        of, or the Lessor's rights with respect to, the Leased Property or
        otherwise materially impair the Collateral or the Lessor's security
        interest therein;

                (C)       the occurrence of any default or breach of condition
        continuing beyond the expiration of the applicable notice and grace
        periods, if any, under any of the other Lease Documents;

                (D)       if any representation, warranty or statement
        contained herein or in any of the other Lease Documents proves to be
        untrue in any material respect as of the date when made or at any time
        during the Term if such representation or warranty is a continuing
        representation or warranty pursuant to Section 10.2 and the breach of
        any such representation or warranty is not cured by the Lessee after
        notice from the Lessor in the same time periods specified for a cure
        under Section 16.1(b) above;

                (E)       if any member of the Leasing Group shall (I)
        voluntarily be adjudicated a bankrupt or insolvent, (II) seek or
        consent to the appointment of a receiver or trustee for itself





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        or for the Leased Property, (III) file a petition seeking relief under
        the bankruptcy or other similar laws of the United States, any state or
        any jurisdiction, (IV) make a general assignment for the benefit of
        creditors, (V) make or offer a composition of its debts with its
        creditors or (VI) be unable to pay its debts as such debts mature;

                (F)       if any court shall enter an order, judgment or decree
        appointing, without the consent of any member of the Leasing Group, a
        receiver or trustee for such member or for any of its property and such
        order, judgment or decree shall remain in force, undischarged or
        unstayed, sixty (60) days after it is entered;

                (G)       if a petition is filed against any member of the
        Leasing Group which seeks relief under the bankruptcy or other similar
        laws of the United States, any state or any other jurisdiction, and
        such petition is not dismissed within sixty (60) days after it is
        filed;

                (H)       in the event that, without the prior written consent
        of the Lessor, in each instance, which consent may be withheld by the
        Lessor in its sole and absolute discretion, and except as permitted in
        subsection (h)(vi) or subsection (i) below:

                I.        there shall be a change in the Person or Persons
                          presently in control of any member of the Leasing
                          Group (other than changes in stock ownership of the
                          Guarantor or changes in the officers or directors of
                          either the Lessee or the Guarantor), (whether by
                          operation of law or otherwise);

                II.       any member of the Leasing Group (other than changes
                          in the stock ownership of the Guarantor), all or any
                          portion of the interest of any partner or member of
                          any member of the Leasing Group shall be, on any one
                          or more occasions, directly or indirectly, sold,
                          assigned, hypothecated or otherwise transferred
                          (whether by operation of law or otherwise), if such
                          member of the Leasing Group shall be a partnership,
                          joint venture, syndicate or other group;

                III.      any of the shares of the issued and outstanding
                          capital stock of any member of the Leasing Group
                          (other than changes of stock ownership of the
                          Guarantor) shall be, on any one or more occasions,
                          directly or indirectly, sold, assigned, hypothecated
                          or otherwise transferred (whether by operation of law
                          or otherwise), if such member of the Leasing Group
                          shall be a corporation;

                IV.       all or any portion of the beneficial interest in any
                          member of the Leasing Group shall be, directly or
                          indirectly, sold or otherwise transferred (whether by
                          operation of law or otherwise), if such member of the
                          Leasing Group shall be a trust;





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<PAGE>   101


                V.        except as otherwise expressly permitted in accordance
                          with the provisions of Section 11.4.11, if any Person
                          other than the Lessee is the licensed operator of the
                          Facility; or

                VI.       more than fifty percent (50%), in the aggregate, of
                          the shares of the issued and outstanding capital
                          stock of the Guarantor are held by a Single Person or
                          two (2) or more Affiliates (collectively, an
                          "Acquiror"), except in a "Permitted Transaction".  If
                          immediately after the date on which the Acquiror
                          acquire(s) more than fifty percent (50%) of such
                          stock, the "Net Worth" (defined as an amount
                          determined in accordance with GAAP) of the Guarantor
                          is equal to or greater than Fifty-Five Million
                          Dollars ($55,000,000.00), then such acquisition shall
                          be deemed to be an "Permitted Transaction."  However,
                          in the event that a Permitted Transaction occurs,
                          then the higher ratios specified in Section 11.3.5
                          and the Net Worth covenant specified in Section
                          11.3.6 shall both become operative and effective.

        (I)     the death, incapacity, liquidation, dissolution or termination
        of existence of any member of the Leasing Group (except in the case of
        a merger or consolidation with the Guarantor (which shall be a
        "Permitted Merger"); provided, however, if the Persons who were the
        shareholders of the Guarantor immediately prior to the Permitted Merger
        hold in the aggregate less than 50% of the outstanding voting stock of
        the surviving corporation which results from the Permitted Merger, then
        (A) the higher ratios specified in Section 11.3.5 and the Net Worth
        covenant specified in Section 11.3.6 shall both become operative and
        effective and (B) if Alternative Living Services, Inc. is not the
        surviving corporation which results from such Permitted Merger, the new
        surviving corporation will affirm its obligations under the Guaranty in
        a manner reasonably satisfactory to the Lessor.

                (J)       except as otherwise permitted pursuant to Article 15
        or Section 19.2 hereof, if, without the prior written consent of the
        Lessor, in each instance, which consent may be withheld by the Lessor
        in its sole and absolute discretion, the Lessee's or any Sublessee's
        interest in the Leased Property shall be, directly or indirectly,
        mortgaged, encumbered (by any voluntary or involuntary Lien other than
        the Permitted Encumbrances), subleased, sold, assigned, hypothecated or
        otherwise transferred (whether by operation of law or otherwise);

                (K)       the occurrence of a default or breach of condition
        continuing beyond the expiration of the applicable notice and grace
        periods, if any, in connection with the payment or performance of any
        other material obligation of the Lessee or any Sublessee, whether or
        not the applicable creditor or obligee elects to declare the
        obligations of the Lessee or the applicable Sublessee under the
        applicable agreement due and payable or to exercise any other right or
        remedy available to such creditor or obligee, if such creditor's or
        obligee's rights and remedies may involve or result in (I) the taking
        of possession of the Leased Property or





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<PAGE>   102

        (II) the assertion of any other right or remedy that, in the Lessor's
        reasonable opinion, may impair the Lessee's ability punctually to
        perform all of its obligations under this Lease and the other Lease
        Documents, may impair such Sublessee's ability punctually to perform
        all of its obligations under its Sublease or may materially impair the
        Lessor's security for the Lease Obligations; provided, however, that in
        any event, the election by the applicable creditor or obligee to
        declare the obligations of the Lessee under the applicable agreement
        due and payable or to exercise any other right or remedy available to
        such creditor or obligee shall be an Event of Default hereunder only if
        such obligations, individually or in the aggregate, are in excess of
        FIVE HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($500,000.00);

                (L)       the occurrence of a Related Party Default;

                (M)       the occurrence of any default or breach of condition
        continuing beyond the expiration of the applicable notice and grace
        periods, if any, under any credit agreement, loan agreement or other
        agreement establishing a major line of credit (or any documents
        executed in connection with such lines of credit) on behalf of any
        member of the Leasing Group whether or not the applicable creditor has
        elected to declare the indebtedness due and payable under such line of
        credit or to exercise any other right or remedy available to it.  For
        the purposes of this provision, a major line of credit shall, with
        respect to any member of the Leasing Group other than the Guarantor,
        mean and include any line of credit established in an amount equal to
        or greater than ONE MILLION AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($1,000,000.00) and,
        with respect to the Guarantor mean and include any line of credit
        established in an amount equal to or greater than FIVE MILLION AND
        NO/100 DOLLARS ($5,000,000.00);

                (N)       except as a result of Casualty or a partial or
        complete Condemnation, if the Lessee or any Sublessee ceases operation
        of the Facility for a period in excess of thirty (30) days, except that
        if it is not possible to resume operation of the Facility within thirty
        (30) days then the Lessee shall have up to ninety (90) days to reopen
        the Facility subject to the terms of subparts (i) and (ii) of Section
        16.1(b) above (a "Failure to Operate");

                (O)       if one or more judgments against the Lessee or any
        other Acceptable Licensed Operator or attachments against the Lessee's
        interest or any other Acceptable Licensed Operator's interest in the
        Leased Property, which in the aggregate exceed ONE HUNDRED THOUSAND AND
        NO/100 DOLLARS ($100,000.00) or which may materially and adversely
        interfere with the operation of the Facility, remain unpaid, unstayed
        on appeal, undischarged, unbonded or undismissed for a period of thirty
        (30) days;

                (P)       if any malpractice award or judgment exceeding any
        applicable professional liability insurance coverage by more than FIVE
        HUNDRED THOUSAND AND NO/100 DOLLARS ($500,000) shall be rendered
        against any member of the Leasing Group and either (I) enforcement
        proceedings shall have been commenced by any creditor upon such award
        or judgment or (II) such award or judgment shall continue unsatisfied
        and in effect for a period of ten (10) consecutive days without an
        insurance company satisfactory to the Lessor

        (in its sole and absolute discretion) having agreed to fund such award
        or judgment in a manner satisfactory to the Lessor (in its sole and
        absolute discretion) and in either case such award or judgment shall,
        in the reasonable opinion of the Lessor, have a material adverse effect
        on the ability of any member of the Leasing Group to operate the
        Facility;

                (Q)       any failure to comply with the Legal Requirements
        applicable to any Third Party Payor Program in which the Lessee or the
        Applicable Licensed Operator elects to participate, continuing for
        thirty (30) days after the giving of notice by the Lessor to the Lessee
        specifying the nature of any such failure (except as to matters not
        susceptible to cure within thirty (30) days, provided that with respect
        to such matters, (I) the Lessee commences the cure thereof within
        thirty (30) days after the giving of such notice by the Lessor to the
        Lessee, (II) the Lessee continuously prosecutes such cure to
        completion, (III) such cure is completed within one hundred eighty
        (180) days after the giving of such notice by the Lessor to the Lessee,
        and (IV) such failure to comply does not materially impair the value
        of, or the Lessor's rights with respect to, the Leased Property or
        otherwise materially impair the Collateral or the Lessor's security
        interest therein), unless the Lessee elects to no longer participate in
        any such Third Party Payor Program and sends written notice of such
        election to the Lessor;

                (R)       any failure to comply with the Legal Requirements
        applicable to any Accreditation Body under whose jurisdiction the
        Lessee or any other Acceptable Licensed Operator elects to subject
        itself, continuing for thirty (30) days after the giving of notice by
        the Lessor to the Lessee specifying the nature of any such failure
        (except as to matters not susceptible to cure within thirty (30) days,
        provided that with respect to such matters, (I) the Lessee commences
        the cure thereof within thirty (30) days after the giving of such
        notice by the Lessor to the Lessee, (II) the Lessee continuously
        prosecutes such cure to completion, (III) such cure is completed within
        one hundred eighty (180) days after the giving of such notice by the
        Lessor to the Lessee, and (IV) such failure to comply does not
        materially impair the value of, or the Lessor's rights with respect to,
        the Leased Property or otherwise materially impair the Collateral or
        the Lessor's security interest therein), unless the Lessee elects to no
        longer be subject to the jurisdiction of any such Accreditation Body
        and sends written notice of such election to the Lessor;

                (S)       if any member of the Leasing Group receives notice of
        a final unappealable determination by applicable Governmental
        Authorities of the revocation of any Permit required for the lawful
        construction or operation of the Facility in accordance with the
        Primary Intended Use or the loss of, or the failure to obtain and/or
        renew, any Permit under any other circumstances under which any member
        of the Leasing Group is required to cease the operation of the Facility
        in accordance with the Primary Intended Use; and

                (T)       any failure to maintain the insurance required
        pursuant to Section 12 of this Lease in force and effect at all times
        until the Lease Obligations are fully paid and performed;

                (U)       the appointment of a temporary manager (or operator)
        for the Leased Property by any Governmental Authority;

                (V)       the entry of an order by a court with jurisdiction
        over the Leased Property to close the Facility; or

                (W)       the entry of an order to transfer one or more
        residents from the Facility as a result of an allegation of abuse or
        neglect or to take any action to eliminate an emergency situation then
        existing at the Facility where such order would have a material adverse
        effect in the Lessor's reasonable judgment on the continued operation
        of the Facility (it being understood, however, that if there are more
        than three (3) such orders at any time during the term of this Lease,
        then, ipso facto, the Lessor shall be entitled to deem there to be a
        material adverse effect on the operation of the Facility) .

        16.2    REMEDIES.

        (A)     If any Lease Default shall have occurred, the Lessor may at its
option terminate this Lease by giving the Lessee not less than ten (10) days'
notice of such termination, or exercise any one or more of its rights and
remedies under this Lease or any of the other Lease Documents, or as available
at law or in equity and upon the expiration of the time fixed in such notice,
the Term shall terminate (but only if the Lessor shall have specifically
elected by a written notice to so terminate the Lease) and all rights of the
Lessee under this Lease shall cease.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, in the
event of the Lessee's failure to pay Rent, if such Rent remains unpaid beyond
ten (10) days from the due date thereof, the Lessor shall not be obligated to
give ten (10) days notice of such termination or exercise of any of its other
rights and remedies under this Lease, or the other Lease Documents, or
otherwise available at law or in equity, and the Lessor shall be at liberty to
pursue any one or more of such rights or remedies without further notice.  No
taking of possession of the Leased Property by or on behalf of the Lessor, and
no other act done by or on behalf of the Lessor, shall constitute an acceptance
of surrender of the Leased Property by the Lessee or reduce the Lessee's
obligations under this Lease or the other Lease Documents, unless otherwise
expressly agreed to in a written document signed by an authorized officer or
agent of the Lessor.

        (B)     To the extent permitted under applicable law, the Lessee shall
pay as Additional Charges all costs and expenses (including, without
limitation, attorneys' fee and expenses) reasonably incurred by or on behalf of
the Lessor as a result of any Lease Default.

        (C)     If any Lease Default shall have occurred, whether or not this
Lease has been terminated pursuant to Paragraph (a) of this Section, the Lessee
shall, to the extent permitted under applicable law, if required by the Lessor
so to do, upon not less than ten (10) days' prior notice from the Lessor,
immediately surrender to the Lessor the Leased Property pursuant to the
provisions of Paragraph (a) of this Section and quit the same, and the Lessor
may enter upon and repossess the Leased Property by reasonable force, summary
proceedings, ejectment or otherwise, and may remove the Lessee and all other
Persons and any and all of the Tangible Personal Property from the Leased
Property, subject to the rights of any residents or patients of the Facility
and any Sublessees who are not Affiliates of any member of the Leasing Group
and to any requirements of applicable
law, or the Lessor may claim ownership of the Tangible Personal Property as set
forth in Section 5.2.3 hereof or the Lessor may exercise its rights as secured
party under the Security Agreement.  The Lessor shall use reasonable, good
faith efforts to relet the Leased Property or otherwise mitigate damages
suffered by the Lessor as a result of the Lessee's breach of this Lease.

        (D)     In addition to all of the rights and remedies of the Lessor set
forth in this Lease and the other Lease Documents, if the Lessee shall fail to
pay any rental or other charge due hereunder (whether denominated as Base Rent,
Additional Rent, Additional Charges or otherwise) within ten (10) days after
same shall have become due and payable, then and in such event the Lessee shall
also pay to the Lessor (I) a late payment service charge (in order to partially
defray the Lessor's administrative and other overhead expenses) equal to two
hundred-fifty ($250) dollars and (II) to the extent permitted by applicable
law, interest on such unpaid sum at the Overdue Rate; it being understood,
however, that nothing herein shall be deemed to extend the due date for payment
of any sums required to be paid by the Lessee hereunder or to relieve the
Lessee of its obligation to pay such sums at the time or times required by this
Lease.

        16.3    DAMAGES.  None of (A) the termination of this Lease pursuant to
Section 16.2, (B) the eviction of the Lessee or the repossession of the Leased
Property, (C) the failure or inability of the Lessor, notwithstanding
reasonable good faith efforts, to relet the Leased Property, (D) the reletting
of the Leased Property or (E) the failure of the Lessor to collect or receive
any rentals due upon any such reletting, shall relieve the Lessee of its
liability and obligations hereunder, all of which shall survive any such
termination, repossession or reletting. In any such event, the Lessee shall
forthwith pay to the Lessor all Rent due and payable with respect to the Leased
Property to and including the date of such termination, repossession or
eviction.  Thereafter, the Lessee shall forthwith pay to the Lessor, at the
Lessor's option, either:

        (I)     the sum of: (X) all Rent that is due and unpaid at later to
                occur of termination, repossession or eviction, together with
                interest thereon at the Overdue Rate to the date of payment,
                plus (Y) the worth (calculated in the manner stated below) of
                the amount by which the unpaid Rent for the balance of the Term
                after the later to occur of the termination, repossession or
                eviction exceeds the fair market rental value of the Leased
                Property for the balance of the Term, plus (Z) any other amount
                necessary to compensate the Lessor for all damage proximately
                caused by the Lessee's failure to perform the Lease Obligations
                or which in the ordinary course would be likely to result
                therefrom; or

        (II)    each payment of Rent as the same would have become due and
                payable if the Lessee's right of possession or other rights
                under this Lease had not been terminated, or if the Lessee had
                not been evicted, or if the Leased Property had not been
                repossessed which Rent, to the extent permitted by law, shall
                bear interest at the Overdue Rate from the date when due until
                the date paid, and the Lessor may enforce, by action or
                otherwise, any other term or covenant of this Lease. There
                shall be credited against the Lessee's obligation under this
                Clause (ii) amounts actually collected by the Lessor from
                another tenant to whom the Leased Property may have actually
                been leased or,
                if the Lessor is operating the Leased Property for its own
                account, the actual Cash Flow of the Leased Property.

        In making the determinations described in subparagraph (i) above, the
"worth" of unpaid Rent shall be determined by a court having jurisdiction
thereof using the lowest rate of capitalization (highest present worth)
reasonably applicable at the time of such determination and allowed by
applicable law.

        16.4    LESSEE WAIVERS.  If this Lease is terminated pursuant to
Section 16.2, the Lessee waives, to the extent not prohibited by applicable
law, (A) any right of redemption, re-entry or repossession, (B) any right to a
trial by jury in the event of summary proceedings to enforce the remedies set
forth in this Article 16, and (C) the benefit of any laws now or hereafter in
force exempting property from liability for rent or for debt.

        In the event the Lessor elects to regain possession of the Leased
Property by a forcible detainer proceeding, the Lessee hereby specifically
waives any statutory notice which may be required prior to any such proceeding,
and agrees that the Lessor's execution of this Lease is, in part, consideration
for this waiver.  Except as otherwise set forth herein, the Lessee further
waives any demand for Rent, notice of termination and any notice to quit
required pursuant to statutes of the State or otherwise and agrees that the
Lessor's execution of this Lease is, in part, consideration for these waivers.

        All claims for damages by reason of re-entry and/or repossession and/or
alteration of locks or other security devices are hereby waived, as are all
claims for damages by reason of any distress warrant, forcible detainer
proceedings, sequestration proceedings or other legal process.  The Lessee
agrees that any re-entry by the Lessor may be pursuant to judgment obtained in
forcible detainer proceedings or other legal proceedings or without the
necessity for any legal proceedings, as the Lessor may elect, and the Lessor
shall not be liable in trespass or otherwise.

        The Lessee shall not interpose any counterclaim of any kind in any
action or proceeding commenced by the Lessor to recover possession of the
Leased Property.

        16.5    APPLICATION OF FUNDS.  Any payments otherwise payable to the
Lessee which are received by the Lessor under any of the provisions of this
Lease during the existence or continuance of any Lease Default shall be applied
to the Lease Obligations in the order which the Lessor may reasonably determine
or as may be required by the laws of the State.

        16.6    INTENTIONALLY OMITTED.

        16.7    LESSOR'S RIGHT TO CURE.  If the Lessee shall fail to make any
payment, or to perform any act required to be made or performed under this
Lease and to cure the same within the relevant time periods provided in Section
16.1, the Lessor, after five (5) Business Days' prior notice to the Lessee
(except in an emergency when such shorter notice shall be given as is
reasonable under the circumstances), and without waiving or releasing any
obligation or Event of Default, may (but shall
be under no obligation to) at any time thereafter make such payment or perform
such act for the account and at the expense of the Lessee, and may, to the
extent permitted by law, enter upon the Leased Property for such purpose and
take all such action thereon as, in the Lessor's opinion, may be necessary or
appropriate therefor. No such entry shall be deemed an eviction of the Lessee.
All sums so paid by the Lessor and all costs and expenses (including, without
limitation, reasonable attorneys' fees and expenses, in each case, to the
extent permitted by law) so incurred shall be paid by the Lessee to the Lessor
on demand as an Additional Charge.  The obligations of the Lessee and rights of
the Lessor contained in this Article shall survive the expiration or earlier
termination of this Lease.

        16.8    NO WAIVER BY LESSOR.  The Lessor shall not by any act, delay,
omission or otherwise (including, without limitation, the exercise of any right
or remedy hereunder) be deemed to have waived any of its right or remedies
hereunder or under any of the other Lease Documents unless such waiver is in
writing and signed by the Lessor, and then, only to the extent specifically set
forth therein.  No waiver at any time of any of the terms, conditions,
covenants, representations or warranties set forth in any of the Lease
Documents (including, without limitation, any of the time periods set forth
therein for the performance of the Lease Obligations) shall be construed as a
waiver of any other term, condition, covenant, representation or warranty of
any of the Lease Documents, nor shall such a waiver in any one instance or
circumstances be construed as a waiver of the same term, condition, covenant,
representation or warranty in any subsequent instance or circumstance.  No such
failure, delay or waiver shall be construed as creating a requirement that the
Lessor must thereafter, as a result of such failure, delay or waiver, give
notice to the Lessee, any guarantor of the Lease Obligations, or any other
Person that the Lessor does not intend to, or may not, give a further waiver or
to refrain from insisting upon the strict performance of the terms, conditions,
covenants, representations and warranties set forth in the Lease Documents
before the Lessor can exercise any of its rights or remedies under any of the
Lease Documents or before any Lease Default can occur, or as establishing a
course of dealing for interpreting the conduct of and agreements between the
Lessor and the Lessee, any guarantor of the Lease Obligations or any other
Person.

        The acceptance by the Lessor of any payment that is less than payment
in full of all amounts then due under any of the Lease Documents at the time of
the making of such payment shall not: (A) constitute a waiver of the right to
exercise any of the Lessor's remedies at that time or at any subsequent time,
(B) constitute an accord and satisfaction or (C) nullify any prior exercise of
any remedy, without the express written consent of the Lessor.  Any failure by
the Lessor to take any action under this Lease or any of the other Lease
Documents by reason of a default hereunder or thereunder, any acceptance of a
past due installment, or any indulgence granted from time to time shall not be
construed (I) as a novation of this Lease or any of the other Lease Documents,
(II) as a waiver of any right of the Lessor thereafter to insist upon strict
compliance with the terms of this Lease or any of the other Lease Documents or
(III) to prevent the exercise of any right of acceleration or any other right
granted hereunder or under applicable law; and to the maximum extent not
prohibited by applicable law, the Lessor hereby expressly waives the benefit of
any statute or rule of law or equity now provided, or which may hereafter be
provided, which would produce a result contrary to or in conflict with the
foregoing.

        16.9    RIGHT OF FORBEARANCE.  Whether or not for consideration paid or
payable to the Lessor and, except as may be otherwise specifically agreed to by
the Lessor in writing, no forbearance on the part of the Lessor, no extension
of the time for the payment of the whole or any part of the Obligations, and no
other indulgence given by the Lessor to the Lessee or any other Person, shall
operate to release or in any manner affect the original liability of the Lessee
or such other Persons, or to limit, prejudice or impair any right of the
Lessor, including, without limitation, the right to realize upon any
collateral, or any part thereof, for any of the Obligations evidenced or
secured by the Lease Documents; notice of any such extension, forbearance or
indulgence being hereby waived by the Lessee and all those claiming by, through
or under the Lessee.

        16.10   CUMULATIVE REMEDIES.  The rights and remedies set forth under
this Lease are in addition to all other rights and remedies afforded to the
Lessor under any of the other Lease Documents or at law or in equity, all of
which are hereby reserved by the Lessor, and this Lease is made and accepted
without prejudice to any such rights and remedies.  All of the rights and
remedies of the Lessor under each of the Lease Documents shall be separate and
cumulative and may be exercised concurrently or successively in the Lessor's
sole and absolute discretion.




                                   ARTICLE 17

              SURRENDER OF LEASED PROPERTY OR LEASE; HOLDING OVER

        17.1    SURRENDER.  The Lessee shall, upon the expiration or prior
termination of the Term (unless the Lessee has concurrently purchased the
Leased Property in accordance with the terms hereof), vacate and surrender the
Leased Property to the Lessor in good repair and condition, in compliance with
all Legal Requirements, all Insurance Requirements, and in compliance with the
provisions of Article 8, except for: (A) ordinary wear and tear (subject to the
obligation of the Lessee to maintain the Leased Property in good order and
repair during the entire Term of the Lease), (B) damage caused by the gross
negligence or willful acts of the Lessor, any Affiliate of the Lessor and any
of their respective successors, assigns, employees, servants, agents,
attorneys, officers, directors, shareholders, partners or owners, and (C) any
damage or destruction resulting from a Casualty or Taking that the Lessee is
not required by the terms of this Lease to repair or restore.

        17.2    TRANSFER OF PERMITS AND CONTRACTS.  In connection with the
expiration or any earlier termination of this Lease (unless the Lessee has
concurrently purchased the Leased Property in accordance with the terms
hereof), upon any request made from time to time by the Lessor, the Lessee
shall (at no out-of-pocket costs to the Lessee in connection with the
expiration or termination of this Lease for reasons other than a Lease Default)
(A) promptly and diligently use its best efforts to (I) transfer and assign all
Permits and Contracts necessary or desirable for the operation of the Leased
Property in accordance with its Primary Intended Use to the Lessor or its
designee and/or (II) arrange for the transfer or assignment of such Permits and
Contracts to the Lessor or its designee, all to the extent the same may be
transferred or assigned under applicable law and the terms thereof,
and (B) cooperate in every respect (and to the fullest extent possible) and
assist the Lessor or its designee in obtaining such Permits and Contracts
(whether by transfer, assignment or otherwise).  Such efforts and cooperation
on the part of the Lessee shall include, without limitation, the execution,
delivery and filing with appropriate Governmental Authorities and Third Party
Payors of any applications, petitions, statements, notices, requests,
assignments and other documents or instruments requested by the Lessor.
Furthermore, the Lessee shall not take any action or refrain from taking any
action which would defer, delay or jeopardize the process of the Lessor or its
designee obtaining said Permits and Contracts (whether by transfer, assignment
or otherwise). Without limiting the foregoing, the Lessee shall not seek to
transfer or relocate any of said Permits or Contracts to any location other
than the Leased Property.  The provisions of this Section 17.2 shall survive
the expiration or earlier termination of this Lease.

        The Lessee hereby appoints the Lessor as its attorney-in- fact, with
full power of substitution to take such actions, in the event that the Lessee
fails to comply with any request made by the Lessor hereunder, as the Lessor
(in its sole absolute discretion) may deem necessary or desirable to effectuate
the intent of this Section 17.2.  The power of attorney conferred on the Lessor
by the provisions of this Section 17.2, being coupled with an interest, shall
be irrevocable until the Obligations are fully paid and performed and shall not
be affected by any disability or incapacity which the Lessee may suffer and
shall survive the same.  Such power of attorney is provided solely to protect
the interests of the Lessor and shall not impose any duty on the Lessor to
exercise any such power and neither the Lessor nor such attorney-in-fact shall
be liable for any act, omission, error in judgment or mistake of law, except as
the same may result from its gross negligence or willful misconduct.

        17.3    NO ACCEPTANCE OF SURRENDER.  Except at the expiration of the
Term in the ordinary course, no surrender to the Lessor of this Lease or of the
Leased Property or any interest therein shall be valid or effective unless
agreed to and accepted in writing by the Lessor and no act by the Lessor or any
representative or agent of the Lessor, other than such a written acceptance by
the Lessor, shall constitute an acceptance of any such surrender.

        17.4    HOLDING OVER.  If, for any reason, the Lessee shall remain in
possession of the Leased Property after the expiration or any earlier
termination of the Term, such possession shall be as a tenant at sufferance
during which time the Lessee shall pay as rental each month, one and one-half
times the aggregate of (I) one-twelfth of the aggregate Base Rent and
Additional Rent payable at the time of such expiration or earlier termination
of the Term; (II) all Additional Charges accruing during the month and (III)
all other sums, if any, payable by the Lessee pursuant to the provisions of
this Lease with respect to the Leased Property.  During such period of tenancy,
the Lessee shall be obligated to perform and observe all of the terms,
covenants and conditions of this Lease, but shall have no rights hereunder
other than the right, to the extent given by law to tenants at sufferance, to
continue its occupancy and use of the Leased Property.  Nothing contained
herein shall constitute the consent, express or implied, of the Lessor to the
holding over of the Lessee after the expiration or earlier termination of this
Lease.

                                   ARTICLE 18

                           RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL TO
                          PURCHASE THE LEASED PROPERTY

        18.1    RIGHT OF FIRST REFUSAL TO PURCHASE THE LEASED PROPERTY.  At any
time during the Term, as long as there exists no Lease Default at the time of
exercise and the Closing Date (as hereinafter defined), and this Lease is then
in full force and effect and there exists no event or state of facts which
constitutes, or with the passage of time and/or the giving of notice would
constitute, a Lease Default, the Lessee shall have a "Right of First Refusal"
subject to the following terms and conditions:  (A) if the Lessor receives a
bona fide written offer to purchase the Leased Property from a Person which is
not a member of the Leasing Group or an Affiliate of any member of the Leasing
Group (the "Offer"), acceptable to the Lessor in the Lessor's sole and absolute
discretion and the Lessor elects, in the Lessor's sole and absolute discretion,
to sell the Leased Property in accordance with the Offer, the Lessee shall have
thirty (30) days following delivery of the notice of the Offer to the Lessee to
elect to purchase the Leased Property and any and all other property subject to
the Offer (collectively, the "Offered Property") on the same terms and
conditions as specified therein; (B) unless the Lessor receives notice from the
Lessee within such thirty (30) day period setting forth the Lessee's election
to so purchase the Offered Property and unless thereafter the Lessee completes
the acquisition of the Offered Property exactly as provided for, and by the
date specified (the "Closing Date"), in the Offer, the Lessor shall be at
liberty, and shall have the absolute and unconditional right, to sell the
Leased Property to any Person within the next twelve (12) months on the same
terms and conditions set forth in the Offer or on any other terms and
conditions more favorable to the Lessor and (C) any such sale consummated in
accordance with the provisions of the foregoing clause (b) shall extinguish all
rights granted to the Lessee under this Section 18.1. If the Lessor does not
sell the Leased Property within the next twelve (12) months as aforesaid, the
Lessee's Right of First Refusal to purchase the Leased Property in accordance
with the provisions of this Section 18.1 shall remain in full force and effect.
The Lessee's Right of First Refusal shall not apply to and shall survive:  (A)
any sale or transfer of the Leased Property to any Affiliate of the Lessor or
of Meditrust; (B) any sale or transfer of the Leased Property occasioned by the
exercise of any rights or remedies of any Fee Mortgagee or (C) a deed or
transfer in lieu of foreclosure to any Fee Mortgagee or any Affiliate thereof.
The Lessee's Right of First Refusal shall in all events terminate upon the
expiration or any earlier termination of this Lease.

                                   ARTICLE 19

                           SUBLETTING AND ASSIGNMENT

        19.1    SUBLETTING AND ASSIGNMENT.  Except as specifically set forth in
Section 19.2 below, the Lessee may not, without the prior written consent of
the Lessor, which consent may be withheld in the Lessor's sole and absolute
discretion, assign or pledge all or any portion of its interest in this Lease
or any of the other Lease Documents (whether by operation of law or otherwise)
or sublet all or any part of the Leased Property.  For purposes of this Section
19.1, the term "assign" shall be deemed to include, but not be limited to, any
one or more sales, pledges, hypothecations or other transfers (including,
without limitation, any transfer by operation of law) of any of the capital
stock of or partnership interest in the Lessee or sales, pledges,
hypothecations or other transfers (including, without limitation, any transfer
by operation of law) of the capital or the assets of the Lessee. Any such
assignment, pledge, sale, hypothecation or other transfer made without the
Lessor's consent shall be void and of no force and effect.

        19.2    PERMITTED SUBLEASES.  Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Lessee
shall have the right to enter into Resident Agreements without the prior
consent of the Lessor.

        19.3    ATTORNMENT.  The Lessee shall insert in each Sublease approved
by the Lessor or permitted under Section 19.2, provisions to the effect that
(A) such Sublease is subject and subordinate to all of the terms and provisions
of this Lease and to the rights of the Lessor hereunder, (B) in the event this
Lease shall terminate before the expiration of such Sublease, the Sublessee
thereunder will, at the Lessor's option, attorn to the Lessor and waive any
right the Sublessee may have to terminate the Sublease or to surrender
possession thereunder, as a result of the termination of this Lease and (C) in
the event the Sublessee receives a written notice from the Lessor stating that
the Lessee is in default under this Lease, the Sublessee shall thereafter be
obligated to pay all rentals accruing under said Sublease directly to the
Lessor or as the Lessor may direct. All rentals received from the Sublessee by
the Lessor shall be credited against the amounts owing by the Lessee under this
Lease.


                                   ARTICLE 20

                  TITLE TRANSFERS AND LIENS GRANTED BY LESSOR

        20.1    NO MERGER OF TITLE.  There shall be no merger of this Lease or
of the leasehold estate created hereby with the fee estate in the Leased
Property by reason of the fact that the same Person may acquire, own or hold,
directly or indirectly (A) this Lease or the leasehold estate created hereby or
any interest in this Lease or such leasehold estate and (B) the fee estate in
the Leased Property.

        20.2    TRANSFERS BY LESSOR.  If the original Lessor named herein or
any successor in interest shall convey the Leased Property in accordance with
the terms hereof, other than as security for a debt, and the grantee or
transferee of the Leased Property shall expressly assume all obligations of
the Lessor hereunder arising or accruing from and after the date of such
conveyance or transfer, the original Lessor named herein or the applicable
successor in interest so conveying the Leased Property shall thereupon be
released from all future liabilities and obligations of the Lessor under this
Lease arising or accruing from and after the date of such conveyance or other
transfer as to the Leased Property and all such future liabilities and
obligations shall thereupon be binding upon the new owner.

        20.3    LESSOR MAY GRANT LIENS.  Without the consent of the Lessee, but
subject to the terms and conditions set forth below in this Section 20.3, the
Lessor may, from time to time, directly or indirectly, create or otherwise
cause to exist any lien, encumbrance or title retention agreement upon the
Leased Property or any interest therein ("Encumbrance"), whether to secure any
borrowing or other means of financing or refinancing, provided that the Lessee
shall have no obligation to make payments under such Encumbrances.  The Lessee
shall subordinate this Lease to the lien of any such Encumbrance, on the
condition that the beneficiary or holder of such Encumbrance executes a
non-disturbance agreement in conformity with the provisions of Section 20.4.
To the extent that any such Encumbrance consists of a mortgage or deed of trust
on the Lessor's interest in the Leased Property the same shall be referred to
herein as a "Fee Mortgage" and the holder thereof shall be referred to herein
as a "Fee Mortgagee".

        20.4    SUBORDINATION AND NON-DISTURBANCE.  Concurrently with the
execution and delivery of any Fee Mortgage entered into after the date hereof,
provided that the Lessee executes and delivers an agreement of the type
described in the following paragraph, the Lessor shall obtain and deliver to
the Lessee an agreement by the holder of such Fee Mortgage, pursuant to which,
(A) the applicable Fee Mortgagee consents to this Lease and (B) agrees that,
notwithstanding the terms of the applicable Fee Mortgage held by such Fee
Mortgagee, or any default, expiration, termination, foreclosure, sale, entry or
other act or omission under or pursuant to such Fee Mortgage or a transfer in
lieu of foreclosure, (I) the Lessee shall not be disturbed in peaceful
enjoyment of the Leased Property nor shall this Lease be terminated or
cancelled at any time, except in the event that the Lessor shall have the right
to terminate this Lease under the terms and provisions expressly set forth
herein, (II) the Lessee's rights under this Lease shall not be diminished or
adversely effected in any way provided no Event of Default exists hereunder,
(III) all insurance proceeds received in connection with any loss, injury or
damage relating to the Leased Property shall be paid to the Lessor in
accordance with the provisions of this Lease and the Fee Mortgagee shall have
no rights with respect to any such proceeds unless the Lessee elects to
terminate this Lease pursuant to the provisions of Section 13.2.2, (IV) the
Lessee's Right of First Refusal to purchase the Leased Property shall remain in
force and effect pursuant to the terms hereof and (V) in the event that the
Lessee elects to exercise the Right of First Refusal to purchase the Leased
Property and performs all of its obligations hereunder in connection with any
such election, the holder of the Fee Mortgage shall release its Fee Mortgage
upon payment by the Lessee of the purchase price required hereunder, provided,
that (1) such purchase price is paid to the holder of the Fee Mortgage, in the
event that the Indebtedness secured by the applicable Fee Mortgage is equal to
or greater than the purchase price or (2) in the event that the purchase price
is greater than the Indebtedness secured by the Fee Mortgage, a portion of the
purchase price equal to the Indebtedness secured by the Fee Mortgage is paid to
the Fee Mortgagee and the remainder of the purchase price is paid to the
Lessor.

        At the request from time to time by any Fee Mortgagee, the Lessee shall
(A) subordinate this Lease and all of the Lessee's rights and estate hereunder
to the Fee Mortgage held by such Fee Mortgagee, (B) agree that the Lessee will
attorn to and recognize such Fee Mortgagee or the purchaser at any foreclosure
sale or any sale under a power of sale contained in any such Fee Mortgage as
the Lessor under this Lease for the balance of the Term then remaining and (C)
enter into a new lease with the Fee Mortgagee or the purchaser at any such sale
on the same terms and conditions of this Lease for the balance of the Term then
remaining.  To effect the intent and purpose of the immediately preceding
sentence, the Lessee agrees to execute and deliver such instruments in
recordable from as are reasonably requested by the Lessor or the applicable Fee
Mortgagee; provided, however, that such Fee Mortgagee simultaneously executes,
delivers and records a written agreement of the type described in the preceding
paragraph.



                                   ARTICLE 21

                               LESSOR OBLIGATIONS

        21.1    QUIET ENJOYMENT.  As long as the Lessee shall pay all Rent and
all other sums due under any of the Lease Documents as the same become due and
shall fully comply with all of the terms of this Lease and the other Lease
Documents and fully perform its obligations thereunder, the Lessee shall
peaceably and quietly have, hold and enjoy the Leased Property throughout the
Term, free of any claim or other action by the Lessor or anyone claiming by,
through or under the Lessor, but subject to the Permitted Encumbrances and such
Liens as may hereafter be consented to by the Lessee.  No failure by the Lessor
to comply with the foregoing covenant shall give the Lessee any right to cancel
or terminate this Lease, or to fail to pay any other sum payable under this
Lease, or to fail to perform any other obligation of the Lessee hereunder.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Lessee shall have the right by separate and
independent action to pursue any claim it may have against the Lessor as a
result of a breach by the Lessor of the covenant of quiet enjoyment contained
in this Article 21.

        21.2    MEMORANDUM OF LEASE.  The Lessor and the Lessee shall, promptly
upon the request of either, enter into a short form memorandum of this Lease,
in form suitable for recording under the laws of the State, in which reference
to this Lease and all options contained herein shall be made.  The Lessee shall
pay all recording costs and taxes associated therewith.

        21.3    DEFAULT BY LESSOR.  The Lessor shall be in default of its
obligations under this Lease only if the Lessor shall fail to observe or
perform any term, covenant or condition of this Lease on its part to be
performed and such failure shall continue for a period of thirty (30) days
after notice thereof from the Lessee (or such shorter time as may be necessary
in order to protect the health or welfare of any residents of the Facility or
to insure the continuing compliance of the Facility with the applicable Legal
Requirements), unless such failure cannot with due diligence be cured within a
period of thirty (30) days, in which case such failure shall not be deemed to
continue if the Lessor, within said thirty (30) day period, proceeds promptly
and with due diligence to cure the failure and
diligently completes the curing thereof.  The time within which the Lessor
shall be obligated to cure any such failure shall also be subject to extension
of time due to the occurrence of any Unavoidable Delay.



                                   ARTICLE 22

                                    NOTICES

        Any notice, request, demand, statement or consent made hereunder or
under any of the other Lease Documents shall be in writing and shall be deemed
duly given if personally delivered, sent by certified mail, return receipt
requested, or sent by a nationally recognized commercial overnight delivery
service with provision for a receipt, postage or delivery charges prepaid, and
shall be deemed given when so personally delivered or postmarked or placed in
the possession of such mail or delivery service and addressed as follows:

If to the Lessee:                          ALS Leasing, Inc.
                                           c/o Alternative Living Services, Inc.
                                           450 N. Sunnyslope Road, Suite 300
                                           Brookfield, Wisconsin  53005

With a copy to:                            Miriam J. Dent, Esq.
[The Lessee's counsel]                     Rogers & Hardin
                                           229 Peachtree Street, N.E., 2700 International Tower
                                           Atlanta, Georgia  30303

If to the Guarantor:                       Alternative Living Services, Inc.
                                           450 N. Sunnyslope Road, Suite 300
                                           Brookfield, Wisconsin  53005

With a copy to:                            Miriam J. Dent, Esq.
[Guarantor's Counsel]                      Rogers & Hardin
                                           229 Peachtree Street, N.E., 2700 International Tower
                                           Atlanta, Georgia  30303

If to the Lessor:                          Meditrust of Acquisition Corporation III
                                           197 First Avenue
                                           Needham Heights, Massachusetts 02194
                                           Attn: President

With copies to:                            Meditrust Mortgage Investments, Inc.
                                           197 First Avenue
                                           Needham Heights, Massachusetts 02194
                                           Attn:  General Counsel

        and                                Frank Giso III, Esq.
                                           Choate, Hall & Stewart
                                           Exchange Place
                                           53 State Street
                                           Boston, Massachusetts  02109

or such other address as the Lessor, the Lessee or the Guarantor shall
hereinafter from time to time designate by a written notice to the others given
in such manner.  Any notice given to the Lessee or the Guarantor by the Lessor
at any time shall not imply that such notice or any further or similar notice
was or is required.


                                   ARTICLE 23

                       LIMITATION OF MEDITRUST LIABILITY

        The Declaration of Trust establishing the sole shareholder of the
Lessor, Meditrust, a Massachusetts business trust ("Meditrust"), dated August
6, 1985 (the "Declaration"), as amended, a copy of which is duly filed in the
office of the Secretary of State of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, provides
that the name "Meditrust" refers to the trustees under the Declaration
collectively as trustees, but not individually or personally; and that no
trustee, officer, shareholder, employee or agent of Meditrust or any of its
Subsidiaries shall be held to any personal liability, jointly, or severally,
for any obligation of, or claim against Meditrust or any of its Subsidiaries.
All Persons dealing with Meditrust or the Lessor, in any way, shall look only
to the assets of Meditrust or the Lessor, as applicable, for the payment of any
sum or the performance of any obligation.  Furthermore, in no event shall
Meditrust or the Lessor ever be liable to the Lessee or any other Person for
any indirect or consequential damages incurred by the Lessee or such other
Person resulting from any cause whatsoever. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the
Lessee hereby acknowledges and agrees that Meditrust is not a party to this
Lease and that the Lessee shall look only to the assets of the Lessor for the
payment of any sum or performance of any obligation due by or from the Lessor
pursuant to the terms and provisions of the Lease Documents.

                                   ARTICLE 24

                            MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

        24.1    BROKER'S FEE INDEMNIFICATION.  Each of the Lessor and the
Lessee hereby represents and warrants to the other that it has not dealt with
any broker or any other similar agent in connection with any of the
transactions contemplated by the Lease Documents.  Each of the Lessor and the
Lessee shall and hereby agrees to indemnify, defend (with counsel acceptable to
the other) and hold the other harmless from and against any and all claims for
premiums or other charges, finder's fees, taxes, brokerage fees or commissions
and other similar compensation and all other costs and expenses, including,
without limitation, reasonable attorneys' fees, due in connection with or
otherwise incurred as a result of the indemnifying party's breach of the
representation and warranty set forth in the preceding sentence.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, each of the Lessor and the Lessee shall have the
option of conducting its own defense against any such claims with counsel of
its own choice, but at the expense of the other, as aforesaid.  This
indemnification shall include all attorneys' fees and expenses and court costs
reasonably incurred by the Lessor in connection with the defense against any
such claims and the enforcement of this indemnification agreement and shall
survive the termination of this Lease.

        24.2    NO JOINT VENTURE OR PARTNERSHIP.  Neither anything contained in
any of the Lease Documents, nor the acts of the parties hereto, shall create,
or be construed to create, a partnership or joint venture between the Lessor
and the Lessee. The Lessee is not the agent or representative of the Lessor and
nothing contained herein or in any of the other Lease Documents shall make, or
be construed to make, the Lessor liable to any Person for goods delivered to
the Lessee, services performed with respect to the Leased Property at the
direction of the Lessee or for debts or claims accruing against the Lessee.

        24.3    AMENDMENTS, WAIVERS AND MODIFICATIONS.  Except as otherwise
expressly provided for herein or in any other Lease Document, none of the
terms, covenants, conditions, warranties or representations contained in this
Lease or in any of the other Lease Documents may be renewed, replaced, amended,
modified, extended, substituted, revised, waived, consolidated or terminated
except by an agreement in writing signed by (A) all parties to this Lease or
the other applicable Lease Document, as the case may be, with regard to any
such renewal, replacement, amendment, modification, extension, substitution,
revision, consolidation or termination and (B) the Person against whom
enforcement is sought with regard to any waiver.  The provisions of this Lease
and the other Lease Documents shall extend and be applicable to all renewals,
replacements, amendments, extensions, substitutions, revisions, consolidations
and modifications of any of the Lease Documents, the Management Agreements, the
Related Party Agreements, the Permits and/or the Contracts.  References herein
and in the other Lease Documents to any of the Lease Documents, the Management
Agreements, the Related Party Agreements, the Permits and/or the Contracts
shall be deemed to include any renewals, replacements, amendments, extensions,
substitutions, revisions, consolidations or modifications thereof.

        Notwithstanding the foregoing, any reference contained in any of the
Lease Documents, whether express or implied, to any renewal, replacement,
amendment, extension, substitution, revisions, consolidation or modification of
any of the Lease Documents or any Management Agreement, Related Party
Agreement, Permit and/or the Contract is not intended to constitute an
agreement or consent by the Lessor to any such renewal, replacement, amendment,
substitution, revision, consolidation or modification; but, rather as a
reference only to those instances where the Lessor may give, agree or consent
to any such renewal, replacement, amendment, extension, substitution, revision,
consolidation or modification as the same may be required pursuant to the
terms, covenants and conditions of any of the Lease Documents.
        24.4    CAPTIONS AND HEADINGS.  The captions and headings set forth in
this Lease and each of the other Lease Documents are included for convenience
and reference only, and the words contained therein shall in no way be held or
deemed to define, limit, describe, explain, modify, amplify or add to the
interpretation, construction or meaning of, or the scope or intent of, this
Lease, any of the other Lease Documents or any parts hereof or thereof.

        24.5    TIME IS OF THE ESSENCE.  Time is of essence of each and every
term, condition, covenant and warranty set forth herein and in the other Lease
Documents.

        24.6    COUNTERPARTS.  This Lease may be executed in one or more
counterparts, each of which taken together shall constitute an original and all
of which shall constitute one and the same instrument.

        24.7    ENTIRE AGREEMENT.  This Lease and the other Lease Documents set
forth the entire agreement of the parties with respect to the Facility and the
other Leased Property and shall, with respect to the Facility and the other
Leased Property, supersede in all respect the letter of intent dated July 22,
1996 (and all prior iterations thereof) from Meditrust to the Guarantor;
provided, however, said letter of intent is not superseded with respect to the
subject matter not contemplated by the Lease Documents.

        24.8    WAIVER OF JURY TRIAL.  TO THE MAXIMUM EXTENT PERMITTED BY
APPLICABLE LAW, THE LESSOR AND THE LESSEE HEREBY MUTUALLY, KNOWINGLY,
VOLUNTARILY AND INTENTIONALLY WAIVE ANY RIGHT WHICH ANY PARTY HERETO MAY NOW OR
HEREAFTER HAVE TO A TRIAL BY JURY IN RESPECT OF ANY SUIT, ACTION OR PROCEEDING
ARISING OUT OF OR RELATING TO THE LEASE OR ANY OF THE LEASE DOCUMENTS. The
Lessee hereby certifies that neither the Lessor nor any of the Lessor's
representatives, agents or counsel has represented expressly or otherwise that
the Lessor would not, in the event of any such suit, action or proceeding seek
to enforce this waiver to the right of trial by jury and acknowledges that the
Lessor has been induced by this waiver (among other things) to enter into the
transactions evidenced by this Lease and the other Lease Documents and further
acknowledges that the Lessee (A) has read the provisions of this Lease, and in
particular, the paragraph containing this waiver, (B) has consulted legal
counsel, (C) understands the rights that it is granting in this Lease and the
rights that it waiving in this paragraph in particular and (D) makes the
waivers set forth herein knowingly, voluntarily and intentionally.





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<PAGE>   118


        24.9    SUCCESSORS AND ASSIGNS.  This Lease and the other Lease
Documents shall be binding and inure to the benefit of (A) upon the Lessee and
the Lessee's legal representatives and permitted successors and assigns and (B)
the Lessor and any other Person who may now or hereafter hold the interest of
the Lessor under this Lease and their respective successors and assigns.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, except as may be permitted pursuant to Article
19, the Lessee shall not assign any of its rights or obligations hereunder or
under any of the other Lease Documents without the prior written consent of the
Lessor, in each instance, which consent may be withheld in the Lessor's sole
and absolute discretion.

        24.10   NO THIRD PARTY BENEFICIARIES.  This Lease and the other Lease
Documents are solely for the benefit of the Lessor, its successors, assigns and
participants (if any), the Meditrust Entities, the Indemnified Parties, the
Lessee, the Guarantor, the other members of the Leasing Group and their
respective permitted successors and assigns, and, except as otherwise expressly
set forth in any of the Lease Documents, nothing contained therein shall confer
upon any Person other than such parties any right to insist upon or to enforce
the performance or observance of any of the obligations contained therein.  All
conditions to the obligations of the Lessor to advance or make available
proceeds of insurance or Awards, or to release any deposits held for
Impositions or insurance premiums are imposed solely and exclusively for the
benefit of the Lessor, its successors and assigns.  No other Person shall have
standing to require satisfaction of such conditions in accordance with their
terms, and no other Person shall, under any circumstances, be a beneficiary of
such conditions, any or all of which may be freely waived in whole or in part
by the Lessor at any time, if, in the Lessor's sole and absolute discretion,
the Lessor deems it advisable or desirable to do so.

        24.11   GOVERNING LAW.  This Lease shall be construed and the rights
and obligations of the Lessor and the Lessee shall be determined in accordance
with the laws of the State.

        The Lessee hereby consents to personal jurisdiction in the courts of
the State and the United States District Court for the District in which the
Leased Property is situated as well as to the jurisdiction of all courts from
which an appeal may be taken from the aforesaid courts, for the purpose of any
suit, action or other proceeding arising out of or with respect to any of the
Lease Documents, the negotiation and/or consummation of the transactions
evidenced by the Lease Documents, the Lessor's relationship of any member of
the Leasing Group in connection with the transactions evidenced by the Lease
Documents and/or the performance of any obligation or the exercise of any
remedy under any of the Lease Documents and expressly waives any and all
objections the Lessee may have as to venue in any of such courts.

        24.12   GENERAL.  Anything contained in this Lease to the contrary
notwithstanding, all claims against, and liabilities of, the Lessee or the
Lessor arising prior to any date of termination of this Lease or any of the
other Lease Documents shall survive such termination.

        If any provision of this Lease or any of the other Lease Documents or
any application thereof shall be invalid or unenforceable, the remainder of
this Lease or the other applicable Lease Document, as the case may be, and any
other application of such term or provision shall not be affected thereby.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, it is the intention of the parties hereto that
if any provision of any of this Lease is capable of two (2) constructions, one
of which would render the
provision void and the other of which would render the provision valid, then
such provision shall be construed in accordance with the construction which
renders such provision valid.

        If any late charges provided for in any provision of this Lease or any
of the other Lease Documents are based upon a rate in excess of the maximum
rate permitted by applicable law, the parties agree that such charges shall be
fixed at the maximum permissible rate.

        The Lessee waives all presentments, demands for performance, notices of
nonperformance, protests, notices of protest, notices of dishonor, and notices
of acceptance and waives all notices of the existence, creation, or incurring
of new or additional obligations, except as to all of the foregoing as
expressly provided for herein.

        24.13   INTENTION OF PARTIES.  The Lessor and the Lessee acknowledge
and agree that this Lease is intended to be a lease of the Leased Property and
is in no way intended to be a mortgage encumbering the Leased Property.

        24.14   APPRAISAL.

                24.14.1     DESIGNATION OF APPRAISERS.  In the event that it
        becomes necessary to determine the Fair Market Value of the Leased
        Property for any purpose of this Lease, the party required or permitted
        to give notice of such required determination shall include in the
        notice the name of a Person selected to act as appraiser on its behalf.
        Within ten (10) days after receipt of any such notice, the Lessor (or
        the Lessee, as the case may be) shall by notice to the Lessee (or the
        Lessor, as the case may be) appoint a second Person as appraiser on its
        behalf.

                24.14.2     APPRAISAL PROCESS.  The appraisers thus appointed,
        each of whom must be a member of the American Institute of Real Estate
        Appraisers (or any successor organization thereto), shall, within
        forty-five (45) days after the date of the notice appointing the first
        appraiser, proceed to appraise the Leased Property to determine the
        Fair Market Value of the Leased Property as of the relevant date
        (giving effect to the impact, if any, of inflation from the date of
        their decision to the relevant date); provided, however, that if only
        one appraiser shall have been so appointed, or if two appraisers shall
        have been so appointed but only one such appraiser shall have made such
        determination within fifty (50) days after the making of the Lessee's
        or the Lessor's request, then the determination of such appraiser shall
        be final and binding upon the parties. If two appraisers shall have
        been appointed and shall have made their determinations within the
        respective requisite periods set forth above and if the difference
        between the amounts so determined shall not exceed ten per cent (10%)
        of the lesser of such amounts, then the Fair Market Value of the Leased
        Property shall be an amount equal to fifty percent (50%) of the sum of
        the amounts so determined.  If the difference between the amounts so
        determined shall exceed ten percent (10%) of the lesser of such
        amounts, then such two appraisers shall have twenty (20) days to
        appoint a third appraiser, but if such appraisers fail to do so, then
        either party may request the American Arbitration Association or any
        successor organization thereto to appoint an appraiser within twenty
        (20)

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        days of such request, and both parties shall be bound by any
        appointment so made within such twenty (20) day period.  If no such
        appraiser shall have been appointed within such twenty (20) days or
        within ninety (90) days of the original request for a determination of
        Fair Market Value of the Leased Property, whichever is earlier, either
        the Lessor or the Lessee may apply to any court having jurisdiction to
        have such appointment made by such court.  Any appraiser appointed by
        the original appraisers, by the American Arbitration Association or by
        such court shall be instructed to determine the Fair Market Value of
        the Leased Property within thirty (30) days after appointment of such
        Appraiser. The determination of the appraiser which differs most in
        terms of dollar amount from the determinations of the other two
        appraisers shall be excluded, and fifty percent (50%) of the sum of the
        remaining two determinations shall be final and binding upon the Lessor
        and the Lessee as the Fair Market Value of the Leased Property.

                24.14.3     SPECIFIC ENFORCEMENT AND COSTS.  This provision for
        determination by appraisal shall be specifically enforceable to the
        extent such remedy is available under applicable law, and any
        determination hereunder shall be final and binding upon the parties
        except as otherwise provided by applicable law.  The Lessor and the
        Lessee shall each pay the fees and expenses of the appraiser appointed
        by it and each shall pay one-half of the fees and expenses of the third
        appraiser and one-half of all other cost and expenses incurred in
        connection with each appraisal.


                  [REMAINDER OF PAGE INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK]

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        IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have caused this Lease to be executed
and attested by their respective officers thereunto duly authorized.

WITNESSES:                                       LESSEE:
---------                                        ------

                                                 ALS LEASING, INC., a Delaware
                                                 corporation


                                                 By:
---------------------------                         ---------------------------
Name:                                               Name:
                                                      Title:


---------------------------
Name:


WITNESSES:                                       LESSOR:
---------                                        ------

                                                 MEDITRUST ACQUISITION
                                                 CORPORATION III, a Delaware
                                                 corporation


                                                 By:
---------------------------                         ---------------------------
Name:                                               Name:
                                                      Title:


---------------------------
Name:

                                   EXHIBIT A

                         LEGAL DESCRIPTION OF THE LAND

ALL THAT CERTAIN tract of land SITUATE in the Township of Northampton, County
of Bucks, Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, consisting of the merger of three
parcels of land (TMP's 31-23-1; 31-23-2-1 and 31-24-221), all shown on a
Property Merging Plan prepared by Andersen Engineering Associates, Inc.,
Perkasie, Pennsylvania (formerly Newtown, PA), dated March 15, 1991, last
revised March 6, 1992, bounded and described, as follows, to wit:

BEGINNING at a concrete monument located along the northerly side of
Newtown-Richboro Road, SR 332 (variable width, 50 feet wide as measured from
the centerline in this location), said concrete monument being a corner of
lands now or late of Efim Kalikhman (TMP 31-24-219);

THENCE along Newtown-Richboro Road, the following three courses and distances:

(1)  South 72 degrees 20 minutes 55 seconds West, 51.66 feet to a concrete
     monument;

(2)  South 77 degrees 20 minutes 55 seconds West, 198.34 feet to a concrete
     monument;

(3)  South 77 degrees 23 minutes 55 seconds West, 306.88 feet to a concrete
monument, a corner of lands now or late of Villages of Northampton (TMP
31-10-102);

THENCE along lands of Villages of Northampton, the following two courses and
distances:

(1)  North 13 degrees 12 minutes 18 seconds West, 183.72 feet to a concrete
     monument;

(2)  North 01 degrees 54 minutes 05 seconds West, 562.75 feet to a concrete
monument, said concrete monument located in line of lands now or late of Jack
and Anna Holzinger (TMP 31-13-48);

THENCE along lands now or late of Holzinger, lands now or late of William and
Mary Blesi (TMP 31-13-49), lands now or late of Robert and Doris Cramer (TMP
31-13-50), lands now or late of Paul and June Wetzel (TMP 31-13-51), lands now
or late of Addisville Dutch Reformed Church (TMP 31-13-52), lands now or late
of Robert and Elaine McGery (TMP 31-13-53), along the southerly terminus of
Center Street (50 feet wide), lands now or late of Robert E. and Kathleen
Keppol (TMP 31-24-9), lands now or late of Scott and Tracie Conrad (TMP
31-24-10) and partially along lands now or late of David and Carol Hensel (TMP
31-24-11), North 86 degrees 05 minutes 55 seconds, East 909.21 feet to a
concrete monument, a corner of lands now or late of Jack and Pamela Meyers (TMP
31-24-199);

THENCE along lands of Meyers, South 03 degrees 54 minutes 05 seconds East,
213.77 feet to a concrete monument located along the northerly side of Sunset
Drive (50 feet wide);

THENCE along Sunset Drive, by a curve to the left, with a radius of 175 feet,
the arc distance of 156.35 feet to a concrete monument, a corner of lands now
or late of Svetlana Shtekher (TMP 31-24-220);

THENCE along lands of Shtekher, North 82 degrees 27 minutes 48 seconds West,
220.65 feet to a concrete monument;

THENCE continuing along lands of Shtekher and along lands of the aforementioned
Kalikhman (TMP 31-24-219), South 01 degrees 57 minutes 11 seconds East 393.00
feet to a concrete monument located along the northerly side of Newtown-
Richboro Road, the place of beginning.

Excepting a 30 foot wide sanitary sewer easement and a 20 foot wide utility
easement, as shown on the aforementioned property merging plan.

BEING COUNTY TAX PARCEL NUMBER - 32-23-1

Also including Rights of Ingress and Egress as set forth in an Access/Easement
Agreement dated 5/11/1994 and recorded in Land Record Book 924 page 1095.

                                   EXHIBIT B

                             PERMITTED ENCUMBRANCES


         All matters pertaining to the Leased Property and enumerated on
Schedule B (Part I and Part II) of the Lessor's Owner's Title Insurance Policy
issued by Lawyers Title Insurance Corporation on December 31, 1996.

                                   EXHIBIT C

                            LIST OF SHAREHOLDERS

   1.  Alternative Living Services, Inc. - sole shareholder of the Lessee

                                   EXHIBIT D

                     NATIONAL ACCOUNTS AND LOCAL DISCOUNTS


                                    None

EXHIBIT E

                               OPEN COST REPORTS


                                    None

EXHIBIT F

                              RATE LIMITATIONS


                                    None

EXHIBIT G

                           FREE CARE REQUIREMENTS


                                    None

EXHIBIT H

                                 CURRENT RATES

                                   EXHIBIT I

                        RENT COVERAGE RATIO CALCULATION


      See Exhibit D to Agreement Regarding Related Lease Transactions.

                                   EXHIBIT J

                            [INTENTIONALLY OMITTED]

                                   EXHIBIT K

                           RELATED PARTY OBLIGATIONS


         All obligations evidenced by the "ALS/Meditrust Transaction Documents"
as defined in the Agreement Regarding Related Lease Transactions of even date
herewith between the Lessee and the Lessor.

                                 SCHEDULE 11.5


         1.      Any assisted living facility (or other facility operated for
any use included within the definition of the Primary Intended Use), center,
unit or program (or any such activity or any related activity competitive
therewith) which is in whole or in part, owned, operated, leased, managed or
under construction by Lessee, Guarantor or any Affiliate thereof or which
Lessee, Guarantor or any Affiliate thereof has a right to acquire within a two
(2) year period, which is either in existence or under construction as of the
end of the seventh (7th) Lease Year.