Exhibit 99.2

Fourth Quarter 2008 Update

Navigating through Challenging Markets Well capitalized Bolstered capital position with $100M debt financing with affiliates in 4Q08 Slowed growth at EquiTrust Life in mid-2008 in order to be capital self-sustaining Strict expense controls Estimated excess capital at 12/31/08 Approximately $190M under A.M. Best BCAR model for an A rating Approximately $50M under S&P capital model for an A rating $80M at the holding company     Sufficient liquidity Holding higher levels of cash Access to FHLB funding Farm Bureau Life $900M EquiTrust Life $250M $2.2 billion of securities in a gain position     Solid investment portfolio 96% investment grade fixed income securities Unrealized losses primarily due to spread widening and level of interest rates     Corporate Guiding Principles remain Integrity Financial Strength Operational Excellence

          Capitalization      Long-term debt
          Revolving line of credit                                     $        59,446              $      - Senior notes, due 2014        75,305    75,305    Senior notes, due 2017        98,700    98,700    Notes payable to affiliates   100,000   100,000   Trust preferred securities, 5%, due 2047          97,000    97,000 Total debt                           430,451         371,005
      Preferred stock      3,000    3,000     Common stockholder’s equity, excluding AOCL        905,123  905,123             Total capitalization, excluding AOCL    1,338,574 1,279,128          Accumulated other comprehensive loss        (649,758)       (649,758) Total capitalization, including AOCL        $ 688,816 $ 629,370           As of Dec. 31, 2008 (Dollars in thousands)        Pro Forma* (Dollars in thousands)       21.4%      Debt/total capitalization                                         24.9%
     Excluding AOCL, including credit for trust preferred securities  *Reflects line of credit paid off in February 2009

www.fblfinancial.com