Exhibit 99.1

For Immediate Release

Contact:                               Contact:
W. Garth Sprecher                      Kim Thompson
D&E Communications, Inc.               VoiceStream Wireless
(717) 738-8304                         (425) 378-4074

         D&E Communications, Inc. Sells Its Interest
       in PCS ONE Joint Venture to VoiceStream Wireless

EPHRATA, PA October 18, 2001:  D&E Communications, Inc.
(NASDAQ NMS: DECC), announced today the execution of a
definitive agreement to sell to VoiceStream Wireless
Corporation D&E's 50% interest in PCS ONE.

D&E and VoiceStream are presently equal partners in
D&E/Omnipoint Wireless Joint Venture, L.P., which is a
wireless telecommunications company that conducts business
as "PCS ONE" and provides service to approximately 100,000
customers in south central Pennsylvania.  Under the
agreement announced today, D&E will sell its 50% interest
in PCS ONE to VoiceStream.

D&E currently estimates that it will receive approximately
$75 million in cash from the sale, after working capital
and long-term debt adjustments of approximately $42
million.  The sale includes PCS licenses to provide service
to nearly 2 million people and operations in Pennsylvania
including Lancaster, Reading, York, Harrisburg, Lebanon,
Camp Hill, and Mechanicsburg.

The sale is subject to regulatory approval by the Federal
Communications Commission and other customary closing
conditions.  D&E anticipates that the transaction will
close in the first or second quarter of 2002.

D&E Communications, Inc. is an integrated communications
provider based in Lancaster County, PA.  Through its
subsidiaries and affiliated companies, D&E offers both
local and long distance service, Internet service, voice,
data and video equipment, and computer networking services.

Comprehensive information about D&E Communications is
available on the World Wide Web at
http://www.decommunications.com.

Based in Bellevue, Washington, VoiceStream Wireless is a
nationwide provider of wireless communication services and
operates using the globally dominant GSM technology
platform.  VoiceStream is a member of T-Mobile
International group, the mobile telecommunications
subsidiary of Deutsche Telekom (NYSE: DT).  Through its
subsidiaries and other investments, Deutsche Telekom today
serves more than 62 million wireless subscribers worldwide.
For more information, visit the company web site at
www.voicestream.com.

Note:

This press release contains statements of D&E's strategies,
plans, and objectives, as well as estimates of financial
condition, operating efficiencies and revenue generation
associated with the events referenced herein.

These statements and estimates constitute forward-looking
statements (within the meaning of the Private Securities
Litigation Reform Act of 1995), which involve significant
risks and uncertainties.  Actual results may differ
materially from the results discussed in these forward-
looking statements.

Factors that might cause such a difference include, but are
not limited to, general    economic conditions, changes in
interest rates, deposit flows, loan demand, real estate
values and competition, changes in accounting principles,
policies, or guidelines; changes in legislation or
regulation; and other economic competitive, governmental
regulatory, and technological factors affecting the conduct
of the business of PCS ONE.

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