MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation for the Year Ended December 31, 2019 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation

Forward-Looking Statements and Non-GAAP Financial Measures This presentation describes activities of MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation and its consolidated subsidiaries (the Company) unless otherwise specified. This presentation should be read in conjunction with the financial statements, notes and other information contained in the Company’s most recent annual report on Form 10-K and Quarterly Reports on Forms 10-Q and in any subsequent filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). The following appears in accordance with the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act. This presentation includes forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties. Forward-looking statements can be identified by the fact that they do not relate strictly to historical or current facts. Often, they include the words “believe,” “expect," “target,” “anticipate,” “intend,” “plan,” “seek," "estimate,” “potential,” “project,” "forecast," "outlook," or words of similar meaning, or future or conditional verbs such as “will,” “would,” “should,” “could,” "might," or “may.” They may also consist of annualized amounts based on historical interim period results. There are numerous risks and uncertainties that could and will cause actual results to differ materially from those discussed in the Company’s forward-looking statements. Many of these factors are beyond the Company’s ability to control or predict and could have a material adverse effect on the Company’s financial condition, and results of operations or prospects. For more information about factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from our expectations, refer to our reports filed with the SEC, including the discussions under “Management’s Discussion & Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” and “Risk Factors” in the Company’s most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K and Quarterly Reports on Forms 10-Q and in any subsequent filings with the SEC and available on the SEC’s website at www.sec.gov. Any factor described above, in this presentation, or in our SEC reports could, by itself or together with one or more other factors, adversely affect our financial condition, results of operations and prospects. All forward-looking statements contained herein are based on information available at the time of this presentation, and the Company assumes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements. This investor presentation includes the tangible common equity capital ratio to facilitate the understanding of the Company’s capital structure and for use in assessing and comparing the quality and composition of the Company's capital structure to other financial institutions. This investor presentation also includes the adjusted efficiency ratio to enhance the comparability of MUAH's efficiency ratio when compared with other financial institutions. This presentation should not be viewed as a substitute for results determined in accordance with GAAP, nor is it necessarily comparable to non-GAAP financial measures presented by other companies. Please refer to our separate reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures in our 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2019. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 2

Overview of U.S. Presence • Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group (MUFG) U.S. franchise is the 11th largest among U.S. banks with combined total assets of $343 billion1 as of 9/30/2019 • Strong footprint in affluent West Coast markets complemented by national reach via Global Corporate & Investment Banking and digital reach via PurePoint2 • Experienced local management team and a majority of independent board members • High quality loan portfolio with historically strong credit performance – non-performing assets and net charge-offs generally below peer group • Strong credit ratings and benefit from ownership by MUFG, one of the world’s largest financial organizations • Strong balance sheet with high-quality capital base and strong liquidity – Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio of 14.10% (vs. 11.59% reference banks average3) 1. Source: 9/30/19 FR Y-7Q 2. MUAH will be transitioning PurePoint Financial to a fully digital offering and closed the 22 Financial Centers effective February 20, 2020. 3. Reference banks consist of 12 CCAR-filing public regional banks (CFG, CMA, COF, FITB, HBAN, KEY, MTB, PNC, RF, TFC, USB, ZION) plus the four largest U.S. money center banks (BAC, C, JPM, WFC). Reference Banks’ average based on reporting through February 6, 2020 (Source: SNL Financial) MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 3

MUFG has a Significant Presence in the U.S. Significant presence in the United States through MUFG Americas Holdings Corp. (MUAH), its Intermediate Holding Company, as well as through MUFG branches, collectively referred to as Combined U.S. Operations (CUSO) MUFG2 • Total Assets: $2.9 trillion, 5th largest globally • Loans: $973.3 billion • Locations: ~2,700 • Employees: ~180,000 across 50+ countries • Deposits: $1.7 trillion, 6th largest globally 12/31/19 assets: 12/31/19 assets: MUFG U.S. $143.1B $16.3B • Total Assets: $343 billion3 12/31/19 assets: th $8.0B • Loans: $186 billion, 8 largest among U.S. Banks3 12/31/19 assets: 12/31/19 assets: 12/31/19 12/31/19 assets: $133.2B $34.4B assets: $3.2B1 $3.9B • Locations: 353 branches4 • Employees: ~13,240 FTE5 • Deposits: $188 billion3 1. Net of intercompany eliminations 2. MUFG: Total Assets, Loans, and Deposits as of 12/31/2019 using an exchange rate of USD 1.00 = JPY 109.56; global rankings for Total Assets and Deposits are as of 12/31/2018; locations, employees, and countries are as of 12/31/2019 3. MUFG U.S.: Total Assets of $343 billion, Loans of $186 billion, and Deposits of $188 billion; including intercompany adjustments as of September 30, 2019 4. MUAH will be transitioning PurePoint Financial to a fully digital offering and closed the 22 Financial Centers effective February 20, 2020. 5. Source: MUAH's 12/31/2019 10-K filing, number of full-time equivalent (FTE) employees for MUAH only MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 4

Who We Are MUFG has grown to become MUFG Americas serves our one of the largest individual, corporate, and comprehensive financial groups institutional clients in the United in the world, building on over States, Canada, and Latin 360 years of financial expertise America Mitsubishi UFJ Financial Group (MUFG) MUFG Americas MUFG U.S. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation (MUAH) MUAH is a U.S. financial and bank MUFG U.S. includes MUAH, as well holding company that includes as our MUFG Bank and MUTB U.S. MUFG Union Bank N.A., MUFG branches, collectively referred to as Securities Americas and all MUFG's Combined U.S. Operations (CUSO) non-branch U.S. subsidiaries MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 5

MUFG's Journey in the Americas We serve our corporate and investment banking clients under the MUFG Brand; our consumer, wealth, and commercial Corporate and Investment Integration banking clients MUFG builds global banking formed of U.S. Banking under the Union network of overseas Operations Stephen Cummings Bank brand; and our bases comparable to Union Bank, formerly Union Bank becomes under is named direct banking major banks of known as Bank of wholly owned subsidiary of MUAH/MUFG CEO for the business under the Europe and U.S. California, is formed MUFG Union Bank Americas PurePoint brand 1864 1970s 2008 2014 2015 2017 Today 1880 1988 2010 - 2013 2016 2019 2020 MUFG, formerly known MUFG acquires Acquired: Formation MUAH as Intermediate Acquired Intrepid Union Bank will as Yokohama Specie Union Bank • Tamalpais Bancorp (2010) of Regional Holding Company Investment use the FIS Bank, Bank of Tokyo, is ~$600 million assets Bank under Consolidates MUFG U.S. Bankers Modern formed Single Subsidiaries, including Banking • Frontier Bank (2010) Leadership MUFG Securities Americas Acquired Trade Platform to co- ~$3 billion assets (Enhanced Prudential Payable develop and Standards Implementation) Services (TPS), co-engineer • Pacific Capital Bancorp (2012) a leading supply systems that ~$6 billion assets chain finance will be core to platform, from the banking • Smartstreet (2012) GE Capital transformation ~$1 billion assets program. Acquired First • First Bank (2013) State ~$550 million assets Investments (US) LLC as • PB Capital (2013) subsidiary of ~$3.5 billion assets MUFG Fund Services, a direct subsidiary of MUAH. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 6

Evolution of Strategic Plan FY2015 ~ FY2017 FY2018 ~ FY2020 Organizational Change Business Strategy • Integrated Retail and Commercial Banking units • Expand and diversify Regional Bank business under single leadership model and balance sheet (unsecured consumer • Enhanced Prudential Standards implementation lending, PurePoint, mortgage servicing rights) (Intermediate Holding Company formation in 2016) • Product / market expansion in Global Corporate & Investment Banking (e.g., leveraged finance, Business Strategy securitized products, supply chain finance) • Launched PurePoint Financial • Balance sheet optimization (e.g., liquidity and • Entered into unsecured consumer lending and capital management) credit card businesses • Built MUFG capital markets platform Regulatory Compliance • Initiated balance sheet optimization • Further development of operational risk capabilities Regulatory Compliance Operational Efficiency • Enhanced liquidity & compliance areas • Expand expense reduction initiatives • Invested in operational risk capabilities in areas of • Launch of technology Transformation program liquidity, IT risk, and compliance (core banking, data, cloud) • Customer journey-based digitalization Operational Efficiency • Optimize capital efficiency (including capital • Implemented expense initiatives including spans distributions) and layers, and organizational simplification to fund above initiatives Inorganic Opportunity • Seek opportunities having high strategic alignment and return on equity contribution (e.g., Trade Payable Services and Intrepid Investment Bankers) MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 7

Key Strategic Initiatives Business Strategic Imperatives Develop Lean and Nimble Effectively Manage Risk and Meet Operating Model Through Regulatory Requirements Rewiring Drive Technology Transformation Execute on Strategic Business Initiatives & Enhance Profitability Select Priority Initiatives Global Corporate & Enterprise Regional Bank Investment Banking - U.S. Infrastructure Transformation & Financial Sponsors / Consumer Finance Support Unit Initiatives Leveraged Finance Deposit Gathering Working Capital Solutions Grow Commercial including Small Business & Business Rewiring MUFG Securitized & Warehoused Products Banking Risk and Regulatory Equity Margin Lending Drive Fees MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 8

Rewiring for the Future To effectively compete and meet our clients' needs, we are pursuing a multi-year effort to reduce our cost base and drive continuous improvement. We are targeting a range of $250-$300 million in benefits for the first phase of the Rewiring Program by 20231, some of which will be offset by reinvestment in technology, regulatory compliance and growth initiatives. We are implementing the program through structural initiatives driven by four areas: Workforce Leverage strategic locations to reduce our high cost Geographic footprint and outsource certain activities that can be Distribution performed efficiently and safely by third-party centers of excellence Organization Break down silos and combine like functions in shared Design service centers; increase spans and reduce layers Reduce spend on consultants, travel and Procurement entertainment, and other third-party and discretionary spend Process Simplify our operations and automate manual Simplification processes to increase employee productivity and Automation Effort launched in 2018 to drive value to the bottom line with implementation and rigorous tracking; accompanied by organization change management program to sustain lower cost base over time; objective is to close cost gap to US peers. 1. Not including any potential reductions in expenses and associated fees transfer-priced to MUFG U.S. branches that may also result from the program MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 9

Multi-Year Transformation Focuses on Five Key Goals Client Experience Business Agility Effective Controls Collaboration Growth A differentiated user The ability for our An effective control A modern, A growth-oriented, experience for our businesses to move environment collaborative efficient enterprise for clients fast ◦ Improve and workplace for our our shareholder colleagues ◦ Delight clients with ◦ Pivot to an agile integrate controls ◦ Enable growth a seamless product operating model throughout the data ◦ Empower rich goals of our suite enabling their that allows more lifecycle knowledge sharing businesses via new technology financial goals rapid development ◦ Enhance straight- ◦ Support inorganic ◦ Provide effortless and launch through ◦ Streamline growth aspirations processing to access to the bank ◦ Deliver a flexible, processes with an ◦ Deliver committed across channels secure, and reduce operational end-to-end customer risk cost savings ◦ Anticipate client scalable view needs technology ◦ Leverage platform to capture automation to ◦ Worry about opportunities faster strengthen protecting our monitoring and risk clients, so they don’t management have to Leading to the Three Pillars of the Transformation Program Data Analytics Technology Core Banking and Modernization Transformation Functionality (API, Cloud, etc.) MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 10

Digitalization Roadmap: Journey Based Organization 1 CUSTOMER-CENTRIC OBJECTIVES Consumers “Make it safe “Make it “Make it “Do for “Think and secure” easy to do” faster” Me” for Me” Small Business 2 CUSTOMER-CENTRIC ORGANIZATION Leverage technology to enable and innovate digital customers’ Communication Education UI/UX DIGITAL banking experience DIGITAL CUSTOMER AWARENESS EXPERIENCE Research Coordination DIGITAL PRODUCTS & INNOVATION Enable & Innovate Chatbot Voice Banking Wearable IoT Technology Acquire Service Identify Pay Financial Account Channel Wellness Aggregation Integration 3 UTILIZING DATA & INSIGHTS Contactless Artificial Machine Blockchain Intelligence Learning -Test -Define Journeys -Learn 3. Optimize 1. Discover -Identify Pain Points -Improve Data 2. Active & Engage -Target customers -Personalize offer MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 11

MUAH Key Business Segments Diversification across segments and products as illustrated through revenue and earnings mix. Key MUAH business segments1 consist of: Regional Global Corporate & Transaction MUFG Securities Bank Investment Banking - U.S. Banking Americas Provides banking products and Delivers the full suite of products Offers working capital Engages in capital markets services to individual and and services to large and mid- management and asset servicing origination transactions, domestic business customers in California, corporate customers based on solutions, including deposits and and foreign debt and equity Washington, and Oregon through industry-focused coverage teams, treasury management, trade securities transactions, private five major business lines: including credit as well as global finance, and institutional trust and placements, collateralized Consumer Banking, Commercial treasury management, capital custody to customers financings, and securities Banking, Real Estate Industries, market solutions and various borrowing and lending Wealth Markets, and PurePoint foreign exchange, interest rate transactions Financial which is a national risk and commodity risk online direct bank platform management products Twelve months ended December 31, 2019 Twelve months ended December 31, 2019 Revenues by Segment ($MM)3 Net Income by Segment ($MM) 1. Source: Form 10-K for year end December 31, 2019 2. Other includes Corporate Treasury, fees from affiliates and noninterest expenses associated with MUFG Bank, Ltd. branch banking operations. The fourth quarter 2019 net income decline was largely due to a $1.6 billion goodwill impairment charge recorded in the third quarter of 2019. 3. Numbers may not add to 100% due to rounding. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 12

Regional Bank Overview The Regional Bank is one of the largest regional bank holding companies in the United States, serving customers nationally through PurePoint Financial and in the West Coast leveraging the 150-year history and brand of Union Bank $71 Billion Loans1 $62 Billion Deposits1 Full-service branches in Jumbo mortgage portfolio in the th California, Oregon and 7 U.S.3 342 Washington th Commercial Real Estate th Retail deposit market share in 16 portfolio in the U.S.4 5 California (4.0%)6 Commercial & Industrial loans th Total deposit market share in the $9.6B as of 12/31/2019 17 U.S.7 Mid-market Commercial West PurePoint deposits as of ~7% Coast Share5 $6.9B 12/31/2019 Unsecured Consumer Loans Non-Interest Bearing Deposits $4.5B as of 12/31/20192 ~31% as of 12/31/2019 1. As of 12/31/2019 2. Does not include credit card portfolio 3. Source: Data as of 12/20/19, sourced from Inside Nonconforming Newsletter 4. Source: Commercial Mortgage Alert as of 12/31/17 5. Source: Based on % of lead relationships as a % of the total market, 2018 Greenwich Associates Market Tracking Program (Union Bank - CA/OR/WA - $20MM - 2B - Full Year 2018) 6. Source: SNL Financial as of 6/30/19, Pro Forma ownership which captures any known M&A or branch closure activity up to the current date, $500M deposit cap applied as a proxy for Retail deposits 7. Source: SNL Financial as of 6/30/19, Pro Forma ownership which captures any known M&A or branch closure activity up to the current date, no deposit cap applied MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 13

Regional Bank Lines of Business Consumer Commercial Real Estate Wealth PurePoint Financial Banking Banking Industries Markets AUM/AUA: $34B Loans: $42.7B Loans: $10.5B Loans: $15.4B Loans: $2.2B Deposits: $6.9B Deposits: $38.9B Deposits: $10.3B Deposits: $2.9B Deposits: $3.4B Revenue: $41.6MM Revenue: $1,799.1MM Revenue: $443.7MM Revenue: $343.7MM Revenue: $164.2MM • Branch Banking • Middle Market • Institutional Markets • Private Wealth • National Digital Bank • Private Banking • Business Banking • Regional Markets Management • Mortgage Banking • Specialty Niches • Community • Trust & Estate • Unsecured Lending • Professional Services Development Services • Small Business • SBA Lending Finance • Investment • Commercial Management Mortgage • Brokerage Regional Bank Strategic Objectives Deepen existing Enhance operational Diversify and grow customer capabilities to achieve revenue streams on Grow deposits to fund relationships and customer and revenue Improve ROE and West Coast and select assets at an optimal increase acquisition objectives while efficiency ratio products on a cost of customers in target preparing the bank for national scale segment the future Financials are based on 12 months of data for the period ending 12/31/2019. Totals may not add up due to allocations MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 14

Global Corporate & Investment Banking - U.S. Key Products Loan Project Leasing & Corporate Loans • Covers wholesale and investment Syndications Finance Tax Equity banking customer loans across the United States included in MUAH's total commercial loan portfolio of over $45 Funds Asset-based Equity Margin Supply Chain billion1 Finance Loans Lending Finance • Consists of industry segments across MUAH, which are served by a broad suite of products across MUAH, Treasury Capital Markets M&A/Event including credit, Transaction Banking Management Rates and FX (Debt & Equity) Finance and securities products Services Key Market Segments U.S.: Core Businesses: Strong Core Markets: Deeply Growth Business: New Key Market Globally Momentum Entrenched Investment • Strategy – Continue • Corporate Loans • Financial Institutions • Leveraged Finance Progression, “Up and to • Project Finance • Diversified Industrials • Supply Chain Finance the Left” • Leasing & Tax Equity • Power & Utilities • Equity Margin Lending • Objective – Trusted • Funds Finance • TMT Advisor • Asset-based Loans • Oil & Gas • Balance Sheet & • Capital Markets (IG • Public Finance Investment Supports Bonds) • Entertainment Finance Strategy • Treasury Mgmt. Services • Retail • Healthcare 1. As of December 31, 2019 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 15

Leadership Team and Board of Directors Stephen Cummings Kazuo Koshi MEO, Regional Executive for the Americas and MUFG MUFG MEO and Deputy Regional Executive for the Americas MEO of Global Corporate & Investment Banking Business Group MEO, Regional Executive for the Americas, Deputy Chief Executive, Global Corporate & Investment Banking MEO, Deputy REA and Executive in charge of Latin America and MUFG Bank MUFG Bank Business Unit and CEO for MUAH, Global Commercial Banking Canadian Regions Business Unit MUAH/MUB President & CEO MUAH/MUB PMO (as MUFG/MUFG Bank Deputy REA) GLOBAL CORPORATE & TRANSACTION BANKING FINANCE LEGAL INVESTMENT BANKING Kevin Cronin Ranjana Clark Johannes Worsoe Michael Coyne Head of Corporate & Investment Head of Transaction Banking Chief Financial Officer General Counsel Banking - North America REGIONAL BANK MUFG SECURITIES AMERICAS RISK HUMAN RESOURCES (MUSA) Greg Seibly* William Mansfield Donna Dellosso Amy Ward Head of Regional Banking Regional Head of Global Markets / Chief Risk Officer Chief Human Resources Officer CEO MUSA JAPANESE CORPORATE CHIEF OF STAFF OPERATIONS & TECHNOLOGY CORPORATE ADMINISTRATIONS BANKING Daisuke Bito Masatoshi Komoriya Christopher Higgins Michael Thom Head of Japanese Corporate Chief of Staff Chief Information & Operations Chief Corporate Administrative Banking for the Americas Officer Officer Head of the Transformation Program Board Members Independent Board Members Shareholder Appointees • Masato Miyachi • Toby S. Myerson • Ann F. Jaedicke • Stephen Cummings • Roberta (Robin) A. Bienfait • Suneel Kamlani • Kazuo Koshi • Michael D. Fraizer • Barbara L. Rambo • Muneaki Tokunari • Mohan S. Gyani • Dean A. Yoost • Kazuto Uchida MEO: Managing Executive Officer REA: Regional Executive for the Americas *Effective 3/2/2020 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 16

MUFG takes pride in our Achievements in Banking and Serving Our Communities MUFG Achievements 2019 Ranjana Clark and Bita Ardalan, Most Powerful Women in Banking American Banker Magazine 2019 Best Regional Banks Kiplinger's 2019 Corporate Equality Index Earning a perfect score for the sixth consecutive year, Human Rights Campaign Foundation 2019 Bloomberg Gender Equality Index Top Lead Arranger for Clean-Energy and Energy-Smart Technologies Financing 2019 Seven of Last Nine Years, Bloomberg’s New Energy Finance League Table Outstanding Rating Community Reinvestment Act 2017 Most Recent Performance Evaluation, Office of the Comptroller of the Currency Corporate Social Responsibility Commitment to Communities (CRA rating of outstanding) 48,213 hours 6,700+ $41 billion $11.1 billion Volunteer hours2 completed by New businesses created1 In total pledged commitments under In environmentally sustainable MUFG employees in 2018 our 5-year Community Service finance2 Action Plan2 40 million 34% $2.0 billion Families served1 Reduction commitment in In lending and investments to (through access to food / other programs) greenhouse gas emissions3 support affordable housing2 1. As of 12/31/2016 2. As of 12/31/2018 3. As of 3/31/2019 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 17

Financial Summary for MUAH This section only includes financials and other disclosures for MUAH and excludes MUFG Americas operations outside of MUAH 18

2019 Year-End MUAH Results For the Years Ended December 31, December 31, (Dollars in millions) 2019 2018 Results of operations: Net interest income $ 3,093 $ 3,307 Noninterest income 2,705 2,177 Total revenue 5,798 5,484 Noninterest expense 6,215 4,277 Pre-tax, pre-provision income1 (417) 1,207 (Reversal of) provision for credit losses 252 106 Income before income taxes and including noncontrolling interests (669) 1,101 Income tax expense (benefit) 82 52 Net income including noncontrolling interests (751) 1,049 Deduct: Net loss (income) from noncontrolling interests 17 24 Net (loss) income attributable to MUAH $ (734) $ 1,073 Compared to the fourth quarter of 2018, net income decreased by $2 million Compared to the prior year, net income decreased by $1,807 million. • Net loss attributable to MUAH was $734 million in 2019, largely due to a $1.6 billion goodwill impairment charge recorded in the third quarter of 2019. In addition, net interest income decreased $214 million from 2018, due to a decline in the net interest margin, primarily from higher borrowing costs, partially offset by an increase in earning assets. • The provision for credit losses was $252 million in 2019 compared with $106 million in 2018. The provision for credit losses in 2019 was largely due to growth in unsecured consumer loan balances and the impact of specific reserves for certain impaired loans. The provision for credit losses in 2018 was primarily due to the impact of the specific reserves for credit losses on impaired loans. • In June 2016, the FASB issued ASU 2016-13, Measurement of Credit Losses on Financial Instruments, which provides new guidance on the accounting for credit losses for instruments that are within its scope. The Company adopted the ASU on January 1, 2020, and recorded an increase to the allowance for credit losses of $199 million, primarily due to an increase in the allowance for consumer loans, offset by a $52 million deferred tax asset, and a $147 million cumulative- effect adjustment reduction to retained earnings. 1. Pre-tax, pre-provision income is total revenue less noninterest expense. Management believes that this is a useful financial measure because it enables investors and others to assess the Company's ability to generate capital to cover credit losses through a credit cycle MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 19

MUAH Wrote Down Goodwill by $1.6 billion • During the third quarter of 2019, due to the decline in interest rates and slower growth than previously forecasted, cash flow projections for certain reporting units were revised lower. As a result, MUAH initiated an interim quantitative impairment test of goodwill allocated to three reporting units: Consumer Banking, Commercial Banking and Real Estate Industries, and Global Corporate & Investment Banking-US (GCIB-US). • Upon completing the quantitative test, MUAH recorded an impairment charge of $1.6 billion, which represented the entire amount of goodwill allocated to Consumer Banking and a portion allocated to GCIB-US, which has $667 million allocated to goodwill remaining after the impairment. • The impairment charge did not result in a cash outflow and did not significantly affect the regulatory capital ratios or MUAH’s liquidity position as of September 30, 2019. • Estimated fair values of Consumer Banking and GCIB-US declined due to: ◦ Decline in interest rates through September 30, 2019 and a change in the MUAH's expectation that interest rates will remain lower than previously assumed. ◦ Updates to key loan growth and loan mix assumptions in the forecast to address MUAH's declining net interest margin. ◦ Reduction of the expected growth and cash flow contribution of new initiatives based on a revised economic outlook. ◦ Multiples selected to estimate fair values were also revised lower due to lower reporting unit earnings. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 20

MUAH Balance Sheet and Profitability Highlights as of Period End • $170.8 billion in total assets, of which MUB has $133.2 billion and MUSA has $34.4 billion • Assets comprised of high-quality mortgage / C&I loans ($88 billion) and highly liquid securities ($27 billion), among others Compared to the previous year: • Strong deposit base ($96 billion) supported with wholesale funding • Total assets increased $2.7 billion As of Period End driven by increased loans held for investment of $1.6 billion, December 31, September 30, December 31, securities borrowed or purchased (Dollars in millions) 2019 2019 2018 under repo of $1.6 billion and Balance sheet (end of period) securities available for sale $1.5 Total assets $ 170,810 $ 173,233 $ 168,100 billion offset by a reduction in Total loans held for investment 88,213 88,693 86,507 goodwill ($1.5 billion) and Total securities 27,210 27,097 27,215 Securities borrowed or purchased under repo 23,943 23,626 22,368 securities held to maturity ($1.5 Trading account assets 10,377 11,741 11,213 billion). Total deposits 95,861 96,671 90,979 • Loans held for investment Securities loaned or sold under repo 28,866 29,581 27,285 increased primarily due to growth Long-term debt 17,129 15,912 17,918 in the commercial and industrial, Trading account liabilities 3,266 3,188 4,027 commercial mortgage and other MUAH stockholders' equity 16,280 16,042 16,508 consumer partially offset by a Performance ratios decrease in the residential Net interest margin 1,2 1.99% 1.99% 2.26% mortgage and home equity Return on average assets 1 (0.43) (0.77) 0.67 portfolio Return on average MUAH stockholders' equity 1 (4.35) (7.71) 5.83 • Total deposits increased $4.9 1,4 Return on tangible common equity 6.29 5.90 7.35 billion primarily due to time and 3 Efficiency ratio 107.18 118.15 77.98 interest checking deposits Adjusted efficiency ratio 4 74.69 76.36 72.47 1. Annualized based on year to date activity 2. Net interest margin is presented on a taxable-equivalent basis using the federal statutory tax rate of 21% for 2018 and 2019 3. The efficiency ratio is total noninterest expense as a percentage of total revenue (net interest income and noninterest income) 4. Non-GAAP financial measure in our 10-K for the years ended December 31, 2019 and December 31, 2018 and 10-Q for the quarter ended September 30, 2019. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 21

Positive Balance Sheet Growth Trends Earning Asset Mix1 Loan Portfolio Composition2 Earning Assets3 ($B) Deposit Growth4 ($B) +6.4% 7 5 6 7 9 +5.4% 1. Average balance for the year ended December 31, 2019. May not total 100% due to rounding 2. Period-end total loans held for investment, including all nonperforming loans and purchased credit-impaired loans. May not total 100% due to rounding 3. Average quarterly balances and growth rate may not total due to rounding MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 4. Ending quarterly balances and growth rate may not total due to rounding 22

Strong Deposit Base Regional Bank Transaction Banking • Focus on growing core deposits with innovative new • Align product and platform build-outs to increase PxV and products and promotions drive core balance growth • Target nationwide customers via PurePoint to build • Focus on key customer segments, with improved alternative funding source customer segmentation, data and reporting, and pricing • Expand deposit and loan product offerings strategies Deposit Breakdown ($B)3 Major Deposit Share in Key California Locations1,2 Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) / State Rank Share (%) Santa Maria-Santa Barbara, CA 2 14.80 San Diego-Chula Vista-Carlsbad, CA 4 13.25 Salinas, CA 5 8.70 Los Angeles-Long Beach-Anaheim, CA 4 8.69 Fresno, CA 4 6.98 Oxnard-Thousand Oaks-Ventura, CA 5 5.82 Sacramento-Roseville-Folsom, CA 5 4.71 Riverside-San Bernardino-Ontario, CA 6 4.08 San Francisco-Oakland-Berkeley, CA 7 2.52 San Jose-Sunnyvale-Santa Clara, CA 10 2.24 Overall California 4 5.91 1. Source: SNL Financial as of 6/30/19, “Pro Forma” ownership which captures any known M&A or branch closure activity up to the current date, no deposit cap applied 2. The above balances do not include PurePoint deposits which are primarily placed with customers outside MUB's West Coast markets 3. Period-end total deposits may not total 100% due to rounding MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 23

Consumer Loan Portfolio Consumer portfolio continues to exhibit strong credit quality Residential Mortgage and Home Equity Portfolio Other Consumer Loans1 Period-end Loan Balances and Net Charge-Offs ($MM) Period-end Loan Balances and Net Charge-offs ($MM) 4Q18 1Q19 2Q19 3Q19 4Q19 4Q18 1Q19 2Q19 3Q19 4Q19 Net Charge-Offs $ (1) $— $ (1) $ (2) $ (1) Other Consumer Loans $2,696 $3,326 $3,975 $4,428 $4,450 Other 82 77 75 74 74 Consumer Card 333 318 316 307 291 Marketplace Lender Originated 2,281 2,931 3,583 4,047 4,085 Net Charge-offs 13 15 19 26 34 1. Quarterly balances may not total due to rounding MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 24

Residential Mortgage and Home Equity Loans Continue to Perform Well Residential Mortgage Performance Trends Home Equity Total Delinquency (30 days Past Due + in Foreclosure) 3 (30 Days + Past Due) 3,4 Residential Mortgage Portfolio as of December 31, 2019: • 36% interest-only (non-amortizing) • 64% weighted average LTV1 for the I/O portfolio • No subprime programs or option ARM loans • Low delinquency rate due to focus on prime loans, high FICO scores, and low LTVs • 81% of the consumer portfolio has a refreshed FICO score of 720 and above2 • 95% has an LTV less than or equal to 80% 1. At origination 2. Excluding loans serviced by third-party service providers and loans covered by FDIC loss share agreements, includes PCI loans 3. Data Source: Consumer Lending Monthly Summary and Key Statistics; Source: Residential – Mortgage Bankers Association, Home Equity-American Bankers Association 4. National (SA) is seasonally adjusted American Bankers Association data; Benchmark metrics are reported on a one quarter lag MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 25

Commercial Loan Portfolio Commercial loan balance remains stable in 4Q2019; net charge-offs continue to illustrate strong credit quality Commercial and Corporate Loan Portfolio Period-end Loan Balances and Net Charge-offs (Recoveries) ($MM) MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 26

Commercial Real Estate Overview Largely secured, California-focused commercial real estate-purposed loans1 with strong credit performance Q4 2019 Property Type Breakdown Q4 2019 Geographic Distribution2 Secured 95% California 66% Commercial Real Estate Statistics December 31, December 31, September 30, 2018 (Dollars in millions) 2019 2019 Commitments $ 25,035 $ 23,638 $ 22,315 Commercial and Industrial 4,833 4,410 3,878 Commercial Mortgage 17,173 16,174 15,594 Construction 3,028 3,054 2,834 Outstandings 20,248 19,366 18,527 Commercial and Industrial 1,847 1,852 1,580 Commercial Mortgage 16,891 15,904 15,334 Construction 1,511 1,609 1,613 Nonperforming Loans 40 20 12 1. Commercial real estate-purposed loans are comprised of commercial mortgage loans, construction loans and C&I loans to borrowers with real estate-exposed businesses; does not include CMBS in the investment or trading portfolios 2. Excludes loans not secured by real estate; subsets of California reported by Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA); may not add to 100% due to rounding MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 27

Asset Quality Trends Nonaccrual Loans / Total Loans1,2 Net Charge-offs (Recoveries) / Average Loans1,4 3 3 Criticized5 & Nonaccrual Loans / Total Loans Nonperforming Assets by Loan Type ($MM) 3 1 1 3 1 0.37% 0.35% 0.25% 0.24% 0.19% 1. Source: SNL Financial and company reports 2. Total Loans for MUAH is based on Total Loans Held for Investment; Total Loans for Reference Banks' Average is based on gross loans which includes loans held for sale 3. Reference Banks consist of 12 CCAR-filing public regional banks depicted on slide 3 plus the four largest U.S. money center banks. Reference Banks’ average based on reporting through February 9, 2020 (Source: SNL Financial) 4. Annualized ratio 5. Criticized loans held for investment reflect loans in the commercial portfolio segment that are monitored for credit quality based on regulatory ratings. Amounts exclude small business loans, which are monitored by business credit score and delinquency status MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 28

Strong Liquidity Position and Diverse Funding Mix • Under the joint agency Tailoring Rules, Category IV firms (such as MUAH) will still be required to maintain a liquidity buffer that is sufficient to meet the projected net stress cash-flow need over a 30-day planning horizon under the firm's internal liquidity stress test and will remain subject to monthly tailored liquidity reporting requirements. • Strong liquidity position – as of quarter ended September 30, 2019, MUAH’s modified LCR ratio was 149% vs. 126% for core peers • Unpledged securities of $25.0 billion (as of 12/31/2019); ability to meet expected obligations for at least 18 months without access to funding • Key sources of funding consist primarily of deposits ($95.9 billion as of 12/31/2019), supplemented by wholesale funding ($23.4 billion as of 12/31/2019) • Diversified wholesale funding mix, including borrowings from the parent (Total Loss Absorbing Capacity debt), capital markets, and Federal Home Loan Bank (FHLB) of San Francisco • Unused FHLB capacity is $21.9 billion (as of 12/31/2019) MUAH Liquidity Coverage Ratio (As of 9/30/2019) MUAH Funding Profile (As of 12/31/2019) Core peer (modified LCR)1 $ in billions avg. 126% 1. Core peer set are BBT, CFG, CMA, FITB, HBAN, KEY, MTB, RF, STI. CMA is not required to disclose LCR (as assets are under $100 billion) 2. Includes non-recourse debt MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 29

High Quality Investment Portfolio Investment Portfolio1 Commentary ($ in billions) • Agency residential mortgage-backed securities consist of securities guaranteed by a U.S. government corporation, such as Ginnie Mae, or a government-sponsored agency such as Freddie Mac or Fannie Mae • Commercial mortgage-backed securities are collateralized by commercial mortgage loans and are generally subject to prepayment penalties • CLOs consist of structured finance products that securitize a diversified pool of loan assets into multiple classes of notes • Other debt securities primarily consist of direct bank purchase bonds, which are not rated by external credit rating agencies Investment Portfolio Distribution2 1. Source: Fair value of securities in MUAH 10-K and 10-Q Filings as of December 31, 2019 and September 30, 2019 respectively 2. Source: MUAH 10-K Filing as of December 31, 2019 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 30

High Quality Securities Financing Portfolio (MUSA) as of 12/31/19 Securities Financing Maturity Profile • Securities financing activity largely conducted through MUSA • Securities financing portfolio is primarily collateralized by high quality, liquid assets • Approximately 83% is collateralized by U.S. Treasuries and Agency MBS and 17% is backed by equities, credit and other • Robust risk management framework governs secured financing profile including guidelines 1 and limits for tenor gaps, counterparty concentration and stressed liquidity outflows Assets2 Liabilities2 U.S. Treasury & Government Agencies Agency MBS Corporate Bonds Other Debt Equities 1. Includes continuous maturities which include open trades and term evergreen transactions that are primarily used to fund inventory 2. Total assets and liabilities may not total 100% due to rounding MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 31

Interest Rate Risk Management of Exposures Other Than Trading Net Interest Income (NII) Sensitivity ($MM) +200 bps monthhorizon - 12 Gradual parallel yield curve shift over curve yield parallel Gradual -100 bps For additional information regarding estimates and assumptions used in our net interest income sensitivity analysis see “Market Risk Management - Interest Rate Risk Management” in Part II, Item 7. “Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations” in our 2019 Form 10-K. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 32

Strong and High Quality Capital Base MUAH's capital ratios exceed the average of the Reference Banks1 Reference Banks' MUAH Capital Ratios Average1 December 31, Capital ratios: 2019 December 31, 2019 September 30, 2019 June 30, 2019 March 31, 2019 Regulatory: Common Equity Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio 10.33% 14.10% 13.81% 13.82% 13.95% Tier 1 risk-based capital ratio 11.59 14.10 13.81 13.82 13.95 Total risk-based capital ratio 13.66 14.73 14.48 14.49 14.60 Tier 1 leverage ratio 9.78 8.88 8.62 8.68 8.70 Other: Tangible common equity ratio2 8.31 8.45 8.19 8.12 7.96 MUAH reports its regulatory capital ratios under the standardized approach of the U.S. Basel III rules. New Enhanced Prudential Standards (EPS) and joint agency capital and liquidity Tailoring Rules became effective December 31, 2019 and MUAH is subject to Category IV requirements. The Tailoring Rule, and MUAH’s Category IV classification, do not alter its Capital Adequacy Process (CAP) Program in any material way; changes are generally limited to: • MUAH is subject to supervisory stress testing under the Federal Reserve’s Comprehensive Capital Analysis & Review (CCAR) program every other year on even years • MUAH is no longer required to publicly disclose the results of its company-run supervisory prescribed stress scenarios; under Capital Plan regulations MUAH remains subject to conducting annual internal enterprise-wide stress testing evaluations • Mid-year DFAST stress testing requirements have been eliminated for MUAH and all institutions MUAH remains subject to annual Capital Planning and internal enterprise-wide stress testing requirements, and it continues to be subject to FRB annual Horizontal Comprehensive Review (HCR) supervisory review processes (even in non-CCAR years). 1. Reference Banks consist of 12 CCAR-filing public regional banks listed on slide 3 plus the four largest U.S. money center banks. Reference Banks’ average based on reporting through February 6, 2020 (Source: SNL Financial) 2. Non-GAAP financial measures. Refer to our separate reconciliation of non-GAAP financial measures in our 10-K for the for the years ended December 31, 2019 and December 31, 2018 and our 10-Q for quarters September 30, 2019, June 30, 2019 and March 31, 2019 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 33

Strong Credit Ratings For the rating agencies, strong capital and conservative asset quality help offset MUAH’s lower profitability and a higher level of wholesale funding relative to peers Senior Unsecured / ST Moody’s1 S&P2 Fitch3 Reference Banks’ Credit Ratings (12/31/19) Holding Company Ratings Bank Ratings Long-term ratings S&P Moody's Fitch S&P Moody's Fitch Mitsubishi UFJ A1 A- A Financial Group, Inc. U.S. Bancorp A+ A1 AA- AA- A1 AA- Parent P-1 - F1 Wells Fargo & Company A- A2 A+ A+ Aa2 AA- Bank of America Corp. A- A2 A+ A+ Aa2 AA- JPMorgan Chase & Co. A- A2 AA- A+ Aa2 AA A1 A A MUAH A- A2 A A A2 A MUFG Bank, Ltd. Truist Financial Corp. A- A3 A+ A A2 A+ OpCo P-1 A-1 F1 PNC Financial Services A- A3 A+ A A2 A+ M&T Bank A- A3 A A A3 A Citigroup Inc. BBB+ A3 A A+ Aa3 A+ MUFG Americas Holdings A2 A- A Comerica BBB+ A3 A A- A3 A Corporation - A-2 F1 Fifth Third Bancorp BBB+ Baa1 A- A- A3 A- Intermediate Holding Co. KeyCorp BBB+ Baa1 A- A- A3 A- Huntington BBB+ Baa1 A- A- A3 A- Capital One Financial Corp. BBB Baa1 A- BBB+ Baa1 A- MUFG Union Bank, N.A. A2 A A Citizens Financial Group BBB+ NR BBB+ A- Baa1 BBB+ OpCo P-1 A-1 F1 Regions Financial Corp. BBB+ Baa2 BBB+ A- Baa2 BBB+ Zions Bancorporation - - - BBB+ Baa2 BBB MUFG Securities A A N/R Americas Inc. A-1 F1 Broker Dealer 1. On November, 21, 2019, Moody's affirmed MUFG's ratings with a stable outlook. On December 4, 2019, Moody's affirmed the ratings of MUAH and MUB and the outlook was changed to negative from stable. 2. On April 16, 2018, S&P revised MUAH and MUB’s outlook to positive from stable. The change in outlook is followed by S&P’s revision to the MUFG Group’s outlook to positive from stable which was a result of S&P revising the outlook on Japan’s long-term sovereign rating as a result of healthier economic prospects to positive from stable. 3.On October 23, 2019, Fitch revised MUFG's outlook to negative from stable reflecting the pressure on the group's ability to navigate the challenging environment to restore profitability. On October 29,2019, Fitch affirmed MUAH, MUB and MUSA's ratings with a stable outlook. MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 34

Appendix 35

MUAH Unsecured Long-Term Debt Outstanding and Maturity Schedule1 As of December 31, 2019 MUFG Americas Holdings Corp. Senior Subordinated Preferred External Issued to MUFG Bank External Issued to MUFG Bank $400MM 3.50% Notes due 6/2022 $3,250MM Floating Rate Term Loan due 12/2022 -- -- $400MM 3.00% Notes due 2/2025 $125MM Floating Rate Term Loan due 12/2022 $1,625MM Floating Rate Term Loan due 12/2023 $1,765MM Floating Rate Term Loan due 12/2023 €21.3MM Floating Rate Term Loan due 12/2023 MUFG Union Bank, N.A. Senior Subordinated Preferred External Issued to MUFG Bank External Issued to MUFG Bank $1000MM 3.15% Notes due 4/2022 -- -- $300MM Floating Rate Notes due 3/2022 $700MM 2.10% Notes due 12/2022 $300MM Floating Rate Notes due 12/2022 Other MUAH Subsidiaries Senior Subordinated Preferred External Issued to MUFG Bank / Affiliates External Issued to MUFG Bank / Affiliates -- $250MM Floating Rate Term Loans due 12/2020 - 5/2021 -- -- $137MM Fixed Rate Term Loans due 1/2020 - 6/2023 Long-Term Debt Redemption Schedule - Next 10 Years 1. Excludes non-recourse debt, junior subordinated debt, FHLB Loans and capital leases 2. Based on various float and fixed rate borrowings due between 2020 and 2023 MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 36

Contacts Contacts Daniel Weidman Stanley Cecala Managing Director, Corporate Communications Director, Investor Relations 213-236-4050 212-782-5629 daniel.weidman@unionbank.com stanley.cecala@unionbank.com Investor Relations MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation 212-782-6872 DebtCapitalMarketsIR@unionbank.com MUFG Americas Holdings Corporation Investor Presentation, 4Q19 37