Contact: Roger L. Christensen, President and CEO 541/298-6633 or rchristensen@columbiabancorp.com Greg B. Spear, Vice Chair and CFO 541/298-6612 or gspear@columbiabancorp.com

Columbia Bancorp Appoints Long-Time Executive James McCall as Interim Chief Credit Officer
THE DALLES, Ore., Dec. 24 /PRNewswire-FirstCall/ -- Roger Christensen, President and Chief Executive Officer of Columbia Bancorp (Nasdaq: CBBO), financial holding company for Columbia River Bank, headquartered in The Dalles, Oregon, announced James McCall has assumed the role of Chief Credit Officer on an interim basis.

“Jim McCall has close to 40 years of banking experience, of which 25 have been spent with Columbia River Bank,” said Christensen. “Given Jim’s tenure with the bank, we are fortunate in his willingness to step into this crucial role until such time we are able to secure a full-time executive for this position,” he added.

McCall, who joined the bank in April, 1982 as Vice President and Chief Lending Officer, has served in several capacities over the years. He moved from Chief Lending Officer in May 2001 to Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer and remained in that position until September 2005. He then accepted the role of Chief Administrative Officer from September 2005 through April 2006. McCall, who holds a B.S. degree in Business from Oregon State University and is a graduate of the Pacific Coast Banking School at the University of Washington, has been serving as Executive Emeritus since April 2006. He resides with his family in The Dalles.

“We are excited to have Jim guiding the bank’s Credit Administration Department during this time,” commented Christensen. “His knowledge and experience are a real credit to this organization.”

ABOUT COLUMBIA BANCORP

Columbia Bancorp (http://www.columbiabancorp.com) is the financial holding company for Columbia River Bank, which operates 22 branches located in The Dalles (2), Hood River, Bend (3), Madras, Redmond (2), Pendleton, Hermiston, McMinnville, Lake Oswego, Canby, and Newberg, Oregon, and in Goldendale, White Salmon, Sunnyside, Yakima, Vancouver, Pasco and Richland, Washington. To supplement its community banking services, Columbia River Bank also provides mortgage-lending services through Columbia River Bank Mortgage Team and brokerage services through CRB Financial Services Team.

###