                                  EXHIBIT 99.1

                                  Bruce Bendell
                            43-40 Northern Boulevard
                        Long Island City, New York 11101

                                                August 16, 2004

Board of Directors
The Major Automotive Companies, Inc.
43-40 Northern Boulevard
Long Island City, New York 11101

Gentlemen:

         Reference is made to my letter to the Board of Directors of The Major
Automotive Companies, Inc. ("Major") dated June 9, 2004 (the "Offer Letter"). By
letter dated July 23, 2004, I extended the date referred to in the last
paragraph of the Offer Letter to August 16, 2004.

         In order to allow the Board of Directors to have additional time to
consider the terms of the transaction proposed in the Offer Letter, I am hereby
further extending the date referred to above from August 16, 2004 to September
7, 2004. If the terms set forth in the Offer Letter, as modified hereby, meet
with your approval, we should instruct our respective attorneys to begin
preparing the necessary documentation so that the transaction can move forward.
Neither the Offer Letter nor this letter shall constitute a binding agreement,
as each is intended merely as an expression of our intentions. No agreement
shall exist between us regarding the proposed transaction prior to the execution
of contracts and other documents agreeable to each of us.

                                                Very truly yours,

                                                /s/ Bruce Bendell
                                                -----------------
                                                Bruce Bendell

cc:   Mitchell Littman, Esq.