EXHIBIT 99.1
Contacts:

Michael Earley                                          Al Palombo
Metropolitan Health Networks                            Cameron Associates
Chairman & Chief Executive Officer                      Investor Relations
(561) 805-8500                                          (212) 245-8800 Ext. 209
mearley@metcare.com                                     al@cameronassoc.com


 METROPOLITAN HEALTH NETWORKS DETAILS PLANS OF ITS MEDICARE ADVANTAGE HMO LAUNCH

Company Positions Itself for Growth as it Expands its Managed Care Business in Florida

WEST PALM BEACH, FL, June 7, 2005 - Metropolitan Health Networks, Inc. (AMEX:MDF) (PCX:MDF) a provider of high quality, comprehensive healthcare services to Medicare beneficiaries in South and Central Florida, today discussed some of the underlying components of its strategy to launch its Medicare Advantage HMO through its wholly owned subsidiary, METCARE Health Plans, Inc. ("MHP").

"We have been evolving our company in this direction for some time," commented Michael Earley, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Metropolitan Health Networks. "Over the course of the last 30 months we have achieved significant efficiencies in all aspects of our operations, focused on the things we do best, and returned the company to profitability and stability. We are now directing our attention to top line revenue growth and the capture of market share for our company in areas where we see natural opportunities for expansion."

CMS information indicates that MHP's six targeted counties of Martin, St. Lucie, Okeechobee, Sarasota, Charlotte and Lee are home to nearly 360,000 residents eligible for Medicare coverage. Currently, approximately 22,300 of these Medicare beneficiaries are covered under a Medicare Advantage Plan, or only about 6%. This compares to Medicare Advantage participation nationwide of 13%, in Florida of 19%, and 29% and 38% in our current Daytona and South Florida Humana markets, respectively. The six targeted counties are served by anywhere from one to three Medicare Advantage plans today, which compares to South Florida counties each served by 10 or more plans.

Currently the average 2005 Medicare Advantage premium or Adjusted Average Per Capita Cost ("AAPCC") paid by CMS in our new markets is approximately $715 per member per month. This amount compares to the AAPCC of $678 in the Daytona market and $771 in South Florida's Palm Beach County. The actual premium paid per member can vary from the average rate depending on factors including sex, age and relative health status.

Recently, Metropolitan Health Networks reported that its wholly owned subsidiary, MHP, received its Certificate of Authority from the State of Florida to operate as a Medicare HMO on April 22, 2005. On May 27, 2005, MHP received notification that it was awarded a contract with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services ("CMS") to operate a Medicare Advantage plan serving Medicare beneficiaries in six Florida counties, effective July 1, 2005.

"Our advertising campaign, utilizing print, radio, direct mail, and seminar presentations is expected to kick off in July," Earley stated. "Our sales efforts utilizing employed sales executives and the insurance brokerage communities in each local market will commence at the same time. These marketing and sales efforts will be supported by our administrative and data functions, our customer service capabilities and a comprehensive product website, all of which we anticipate will come online during the months of June and July."

MHP indicated that its Medicare Advantage product will be marketed and sold under the name, AdvantageCaresm. "In preparation for the launch of AdvantageCaresm, we have worked extensively with TURKEL, a Florida-based marketing and brand development firm to research our markets, help us target our consumers, and develop and test the AdvantageCaresm brand and positioning. In fact, our just-released 2004 Annual Report, available on our website, includes a peek of the AdvantageCaresm look on the back cover," remarked Earley.

Earley commented further, "To first apply and then be approved to operate a Medicare Advantage plan in these counties we had to contract a comprehensive network of physicians, ancillary service providers, and hospitals. While network development and management is a process of continuous improvement, today we have substantial networks in our six counties including approximately 110 primary care physician practices, more than 700 specialists and ancillary service providers, and ten hospitals."

"Although we have been in the Medicare managed care business for a number of years and have tremendous capabilities in managing and providing care, the development of our own HMO has required additional talent and skill sets to handle additional activities ranging from marketing and sales, to membership administration to claims processing," Earley stated. "To that end we have recruited a number of key executives to develop and manage these capabilities:

Key Management Hires:

      >>    Ernest C. Cook, Jr., M.D., Chief Executive Officer of Metcare of
            Florida, Inc. Dr. Cook is responsible for the Company's operating
            unit that provides care to the company's existing Humana membership
            and to the new HMO members. Dr. Cook has 25 years of experience in
            administrative medicine and clinical patient care family practice.
            Prior to joining Metcare of Florida, Inc., Dr Cook was the Chief
            Medical Officer and Vice President of Clinical Innovation for
            Humana, Inc. with lead accountability for Humana's Commercial
            Clinical operations throughout it's Southeastern Region. He has also
            served as Vice President of Operations and Chief Medical Officer at
            Cogent Healthcare, Inc, a premier hospitalist inpatient care
            management company. Dr. Cook has proven administrative skills,
            clinical experience and expertise in managed care operations.

            >>    John Van Wart, Senior Vice President, Sales and Marketing,
                  METCARE Health Plans, Inc. John brings 20 years of health care
                  experience to the company. John was recruited from Regence
                  BlueShield where he was the Washington Manager of Consumer
                  Sales. He was responsible for leading the success of the
                  Individual, Dental, and Medicare product lines. He managed
                  Consumer Sales, Marketing, and Enrollment as well as
                  promotional campaigns for the State of Washington. Prior to
                  joining Regence BlueShield, John served as Regional Director
                  of Medicare Sales for Humana, Inc. in Florida's Daytona,
                  Orlando and Jacksonville markets. As the Director, he earned
                  national recognition for expanding Medicare membership and
                  exceeding sales and membership goals.

            >>    Dale Brown, Vice President, Business Solutions, METCARE Health
                  Plans, Inc. Mr. Brown has over 15 years experience providing
                  business solutions in the managed care market. He is
                  responsible for providing business application configuration
                  to effectively administer membership enrollment, benefit
                  plans, provider demographics and contracts, claims
                  adjudication and capitation payments at MHP. He is an expert
                  in utilizing and managing Computer Science Corporation's Power
                  MHS Managed Healthcare Information System, the technology
                  platform underlying the HMO's administrative and data
                  functionality. Dale began his career in the managed care
                  information systems department at Nationwide Insurance HMO in
                  1990. He has since played an important leadership role in the
                  success of several other managed care organizations including
                  Cigna, where his team won the Platinum Award for the Y2K
                  remediation of the core business application systems. Dale
                  went on to successfully lead several managed care business
                  application system conversions. He played the lead role in the
                  consolidation and system integration of four disparate health
                  plans in South Florida to form a single $2 billion company.

            >>    Alejandro Alonso, Vice President, Finance, METCARE Health
                  Plans, Inc. Alejandro has over 20 years of experience in the
                  finance and management areas in the Florida health care
                  industry with a focus on managed care. He is responsible for
                  all financial matters for the HMO, in addition to providing
                  analytical support to the Company's PSN operation. Alejandro
                  began his career as a Financial Analyst at International
                  Medical Center, which subsequently was acquired by Humana
                  Medical Plan. He remained at that organization for more than
                  twelve years, where he served as Associate Executive Director
                  of Finance. He spent the following six years, managing groups
                  of adult and pediatric physician practices for a managed care
                  organization and a major children's hospital in the South
                  Florida area. Prior to coming to MHP, Alejandro was the Vice
                  President of Affiliated Provider Services at another major
                  managed care organization in the South Florida market. He has
                  also provided consulting services to specialty and primary
                  care physician networks, diagnostic groups, and management
                  services organizations ("MSO's").

"Our new executives, along with our core business management, medical professionals and staff, form a complete and experienced managed care team with deep roots in the senior and Florida markets," Earley stated.

In addition to recruiting new members to the management team, MHP reported that it has aligned itself with a number of important outside service providers with the necessary expertise in key business disciplines:

      >>    TURKEL: Metropolitan Health Networks began working with TURKEL
            nearly a year ago as it developed the concept for its HMO. Founded
            in 1983, TURKEL (www.turkel.info) specializes in total brand
            management through comprehensive, ideas-driven strategies. The
            agency has achieved national recognition for it's creation of "Brain
            Darts" - simple, compelling, powerful communications that break
            through the clutter of today's busy advertising environments and
            build desire.

            >>    HF/Management Services, LLC (HFMS): MHP has engaged HFMS to
                  provide information technology, member services functions,
                  enrollment processing, and provider directory production. HFMS
                  is jointly owned by over 20 nationally recognized hospitals
                  and medical centers. These hospitals and medical centers also
                  own Healthfirst, a provider-owned managed care organization in
                  New York City. HFMS provides complete Management Services
                  Organization ("MSO") services to Healthfirst for all lines of
                  business and has over 450,000 lives currently under
                  management.

            >>    Innoviant, Inc.: MHP has contracted with Innoviant to provide
                  prescription management services. Innoviant spun off from
                  former parent Wausau Benefits in August 2002. Innoviant
                  manages group prescription programs for self-funded employers,
                  third-party administrators and health plans, including taking
                  responsibility for group setup, benefit structure, preferred
                  products list management, customer service, and electronic
                  claim processing. Innoviant offers its own national pharmacy
                  network as well as retail and mail order services at reduced
                  rates.

            >>    Reden & Anders, Ltd.: The Company has been utilizing the
                  services of Reden & Anders as it developed its HMO business
                  plan. They have played an integral role in the regulatory
                  application processes at both the state and federal levels.
                  Reden & Anders is a national actuarial, clinical and
                  management consulting firm specializing in financial and
                  business decision support for the health care industry. They
                  work with a full range of clients: managed care companies,
                  insurance carriers, health care providers, employers, employer
                  coalitions, medical device manufacturers and pharmaceutical
                  companies.

      >>    Practis, Inc.: AdvantageCaresm's website has been constructed and
            will be maintained by Practis. Founded in 1998, Practis, Inc. is a
            privately held web design and development firm located in Rochester,
            New York. Focused on providing award winning web site design
            services specifically to healthcare organizations nationwide,
            Practis brings their healthcare background, web design expertise and
            unparalleled customer service to a rapidly changing healthcare
            market.

            >>    Holland & Knight LLP: MHP retained Holland & Knight as its
                  primary regulatory counsel. Holland & Knight's
                  responsibilities include counseling MHP on the various
                  regulatory rules and regulations associated with licensing of
                  an HMO in the State of Florida and ushering the various
                  applications through the Florida state agencies. Holland &
                  Knight is one of the nation's premier law firms with over
                  1,200 attorneys. Specifically, the Tallahassee office features
                  an interesting diversity of practice areas, with emphasis on
                  commercial and regulatory litigation, administrative law and
                  legislative representation, appellate practice, health care
                  practice, insurance, environmental law, constitutional law and
                  state taxation.

      >>    Hunton & Williams LLP: Metropolitan Health Networks is committed to
            the highest standards of corporate governance and compliance
            throughout its organization. In May of 2004, the Company identified
            Hunton & Williams as corporate and securities counsel to help
            implement and manage a comprehensive corporate and compliance
            framework. Hunton & Williams is over 100 years old, founded in 1901,
            with more than 850 attorneys in 17 offices serving clients in over
            100 countries around the world. The Miami office of Hunton &
            Williams has 56 lawyers and one of the larger corporate practices in
            South Florida, receiving the South Florida Business Journal's 2005
            Business of the Year Award in the legal services category. They are
            attorneys with a business focus - counseling their clients to help
            them execute their business strategies quickly and effectively.

Earley concluded, "We understood that in order to drive shareholder value we needed to bring our operational house in order and build a solid foundation on which to grow our organization. This includes maintaining and strengthening our excellent relationship with Humana. While the new HMO is an exciting venture, we still remain focused on, and are committed to, our core business of caring for nearly 27,000 Medicare Advantage member enrolled through Humana, Inc. Humana has been our business partner since the late 1990's and together we see the growth opportunities afforded for Medicare Advantage plans by the Medicare Prescription Drug, Improvement and Modernization Act of 2003 ("MMA") signed into law just 16 months ago. Together, we expect to see growth in our shared business. Nevertheless, we also needed to focus on a business segment in which we had the most expertise and which had potential for future growth. We believe that we now have the financial and human resources required to succeed in the launch of MHP's HMO and we are excited about the prospects of the Company's future. We will be working hard to roll out this business as quickly and efficiently as possible and look forward to reporting on our progress in quarters to come."

Conference Call Information:

The company's senior management will host a conference call to discuss the Company's plans for its wholly owned subsidiary's, MHP. Conference call details are as follows:

When:                 Tuesday, June 7, 2005, 11:00 a.m. (Eastern)

Web cast address:     http://www.streetevents.com, http://www.fulldisclosure.com

Dial-in Numbers:      (800)798-2801(domestic) or(617) 614-6205(international),
                              pass code # 53442413

Contact:              Al Palombo, Cameron Associates, (212) 245-8800 Ext. 209,
                                    al@cameronassoc.com

If you are unable to participate, an audio replay of the call will be available beginning two hours after the call and will be available until 11:59 p.m. on June 10, 2005, by dialing (888) 286-8010 (domestic) or (617) 801-6888
(international) using confirmation pass code 57413399.

About Metropolitan Health Networks, Inc.:

Metropolitan is a growing healthcare organization in Florida that provides comprehensive healthcare services for Medicare Advantage members and other patients in South and Central Florida. To learn more about Metropolitan Health Networks, Inc. please visit its website at http://www.metcare.com.

Forward Looking Statements:

Except for historical matters contained herein, statements made in this press release are forward-looking and are made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, words such as "may", "will", "to", "plan", "expect", "believe", "anticipate", "intend", "could", "would", "estimate", or "continue" or the negative other variations thereof or comparable terminology are intended to identify forward-looking statements.

Investors and others are cautioned that a variety of factors, including certain risks, may affect our business and cause actual results to differ materially from those set forth in the forward-looking statements. These risk factors include, without limitation, (i) pricing pressures exerted on us by managed care organizations and the level of payments we receive under governmental programs or from other payors; (ii) future legislation and changes in governmental regulations; (iii) the impact of Medicare Risk Adjustments on payments we receive for our managed care operations; (iv) our ability to successfully recruit and retain medical professionals; (v) our ability to successfully maintain the licensing of our HMO from the requisite state and federal regulatory agencies;(vi) our ability to fund and develop the necessary capabilities to successfully launch our HMO; (vii) the impact of Medicare Risk Adjustments on payments we receive for our managed care operations; and (viii) a loss of any of our significant contracts. The Company is also subject to the risks and uncertainties described in its filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2004.