Exhibit 99.1

PRESS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
For Further Information Contact:

Randy P. Helton, President and CEOAmerican
Community Bancshares, Inc.
Phone: 704-225-7957

Stephen Moss, President and CEO
FNB Bancshares, Inc.
Phone: 864-488-2265

AMERICAN COMMUNITY BANCSHARES TO ACQUIRE FNB BANCSHARES

November 5, 2003 – Charlotte, NC, American Community Bancshares, Inc. (Nasdaq SmallCap ACBA) entered into a definitive merger agreement to acquire FNB Bancshares, Inc., Gaffney, South Carolina (Nasdaq OTC Bulletin Board FNBC) in a transaction whereby FNB Bancshares, Inc. will be merged into American Community Bancshares, Inc. First National Bank of the Carolinas, the wholly-owned subsidiary of FNB Bancshares, Inc. will remain a wholly-owned national bank subsidiary of American Community Bancshares, Inc. American Community will exchange an aggregate of 607,558 shares of its common stock and $6,962,610 for all of the outstanding shares of FNB Bancshares, Inc. Shareholders of FNB Bancshares will be given the option to choose to exchange their shares for common stock of American Community Bancshares, cash or a combination thereof. The transaction is subject to adoption of a definitive merger agreement, approval of the shareholders of both corporations and appropriate regulatory approvals. It is anticipated that the transaction will be consummated by the end of the first calendar quarter 2004.

Randy P. Helton, President of American Community Bancshares, Inc. stated: “We are delighted to have this opportunity to expand into South Carolina by combining with such an excellent banking organization as First National Bank of the Carolinas. We look forward to working with them and expanding their banking franchise in contiguous South Carolina markets. This is a wonderful opportunity for our Company as we look for prudent growth opportunities to develop and enhance our franchise.”

Steve Moss, President and CEO of FNB Bancshares, Inc. and First National Bank of the Carolinas stated: “We are impressed with the franchise being developed by American Community. Teaming up with them will permit us to continue to serve our market as a leading community bank. This affiliation will be very good for our shareholders, customers and communities served. American Community is truly dedicated to community banking and we are proud to become affiliated with them.”

At September 30, 2003, American Community Bancshares, Inc. had total assets of $270.5 million, total deposits of $207.8 million and shareholders’ equity of $23.8 million. Its wholly-owned subsidiary, American Community Bank, headquartered in Monroe, NC, operates eight offices in five communities in the Greater Mecklenburg-Union County metropolitan area. On the same date, FNB Bancshares, Inc. had total assets of $71.7 million, total deposits of $60.4 million and shareholders’ equity of $7.5 million and, through First National Bank of the Carolinas operates out of three full service banking offices in Gaffney and Blacksburg, South Carolina.
American Community Bancshares, Inc. was represented in the negotiations of the transaction by McColl Partners, LLC, Charlotte, NC and FNB Bancshares, Inc. was represented by The Orr Group, Winston-Salem, NC.

Statistical data regarding the merger accompanies this Press Release.

Information in this press release contains “forward-looking statements.” These statements involve risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to differ materially, including, without limitation, the effects of future economic conditions, governmental, fiscal and monetary policies, legislative and regulatory changes, the risks of changes in interest rates and the effects of competition. Additional factors that could cause actual results to differ materially are discussed in American Community Bancshares, Inc.‘s recent filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including, but not limited to its annual report on Form 10-KSB and its other periodic reports.

‘‘‘END OF RELEASE’’’