2nd Quarter 2002 Earnings Teleconference April 22, 2002 Exhibit 99.2

This presentation includes some forward-looking statements about our expectations for our future performance. Actual results could differ materially from those suggested by our comments today. Additional information about factors that could affect future results are addressed in our SEC filings, including our Form 10-K, 10-Q, and 8-Ks. A summary is included at the end of this presentation.

Financial information in this presentation is pro-forma for continuing operations and excludes amortization of goodwill and other acquired intangibles, business restructuring charges, and the results and the gain on the sale of our Optical Fiber business.

Forward-Looking Statement Disclosure

   Q202  Q102  Q2 vs. Q1
Revenues ($M) $3,516 $3,465  1.5%
Gross Margin  22.8%  13.7%  9.1 pts
SG&A ($M):
incl. provisions $ 807 $1,143  29.4%
excl. provisions $ 615  $ 692  11.1%
R&D ($M)  $ 524 $ 608  13.8%
EPS - Cont. ops.  ($0.20)* ($0.23)  13.0%
* Includes 6-cent tax charge

Pro Forma Quarterly Results Highlights

Q1 '02 Volume Mix Cost Q2 '02 Rate Reductions Rate 14% 4% 4% 23% Contributors to Gross Margin Improvement 1%

   Q202  Q102  Q2 vs. Q1
Revenues ($M) $3,516 $3,465  1.5%
Gross Margin  22.8%  13.7%  9.1 pts
SG&A ($M):
incl. provisions $ 807 $1,143  29.4%
excl. provisions $ 615  $ 692  11.1%
R&D ($M)  $ 524 $ 608  13.8%
EPS - Cont. ops.  ($0.20)* ($0.23)  13.0%
* Includes 6-cent tax charge

Pro Forma Quarterly Results Highlights

     Plan  Progress
Reduce:
Annual exp. run-rate    $2 B  $2 B

Working capital     $1 B  $800 M

Planned Cap Ex    $750 M  On track

Headcount reductions

Outsourcing

Voluntary retirement plan   8,500  8,500

BRR Charge     $7-9 B  $8 B

15-20,000

Phase II Restructuring Efforts

23,600

December 31, 2000 Headcount   106,000*

Phase I restructuring     (10,500)
Voluntary retirement  plan     (8,500)
Optical Fiber Systems divestiture   (4,100)
Contract manufacturing    (3,300)
Phase II actions since July     (23,600)
Sub-total       (50,000)

March 31, 2002 Headcount    56,000
* excluding Agere

Headcount Reconciliation

    FY02   FY01

($ millions)   Q2 Q1  Q4 Q3 Q2 Q1

Cash used in Op. Activities   ($ 64) ($ 408) ($ 486) ($110) ($1,548) ($1,277)
Capital Spending    (83) (116) (288) (350) (423) (329)
 Sub-total    (147) (524) (774) (460) (1,971) (1,606)
BRR - Cash Component 292 301   343 153 57 -
A/R Securitization   40 110 151 (435) 600 (600)
Operating Cash Flow   $ 185 ($ 113) ($ 280) ($ 742) ($1,314) ($2,206)

Operating Cash Flow Review
(including Optical Fiber through 1Q02)

Efforts over the past year have continued
to improve operating cash flow

P&L Impact:
Benefit from tax settlement (1Q02)   $0.03 per share
Foreign tax credit valuation
 allowances (2Q02)       ($0.06) per share

Cash Flow Impact:
Tax Refund for FY01 (2Q02)  $337 M
Refund due to recent tax legislation
  extending NOL carryback period (3Q02) 616 M
       $953 M

Significant Tax-related Items

    March '02 Dec. '01 Sept. '01
($ in millions)

Cash   $4,824   $ 3,069  $ 2,390

Short-term Debt:
Credit Facilities -    -  1,000
Other   82 77  135
Long-term Debt:
Trust Pref'd  1,750   -   -
Other  3,238  3,262  3,274
Total Debt $ 5,070  $ 3,339  $ 4,409

Convertible Pref'd
(Gross)   $1,885  $ 1,885 $ 1,885

Cash & Debt Summary

   March '02 Dec. '01  Sept. '01
($ millions)

Drawn commitments  $ 1,204  $ 1,169  $2,956

Available but not drawn 804  971  1,447

Not available   216   347  911

 TOTAL   $ 2,224  $ 2,487  $5,314

Vendor Finance Summary

Continuing decline in total vendor finance exposure

      2Q02  1Q01 Change
($ billions, except EPS)

Pro Forma EPS - Cont. ops.   ($ 0.20)   ($0.42) 52%
Operating Cash Flow   $ 0.2 ($ 2.2) 109%

Change in Expense Run Rate ($ 4.0) baseline $4.0
(annualized - excluding bad debt & customer financing)
Headcount   56,000 106,000 47%
Vendor Finance
Total Commitments $ 2.2 $ 7.5 71%

Key Financial Takeaways

Continue to make significant progress on several key issues

This presentation contains forward-looking statements Forward-Looking Statement Disclosure