Exhibit 99.1

MOHEGAN TRIBAL GAMING AUTHORITY ANNOUNCES

REPRICING OF CREDIT FACILITIES

Uncasville, CT, April 14, 2017 – The Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority, or the Authority, the owner of Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Connecticut, and Mohegan Sun Pocono in Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, announced today that it has entered into an amendment to its Credit Agreement, dated as of October 14, 2016 (as heretofore amended, the “Credit Agreement”), by and among the Authority, the Mohegan Tribe of Indians of Connecticut, Citizens Bank, N.A., as administrative and collateral agent, and the other lenders and financial institutions party thereto, in order to reduce the annual interest rate margins applicable to the senior secured revolving credit facility, senior secured term loan A facility and senior secured term loan B facility under the Credit Agreement by 0.50%.

“MTGA again thanks the financial community for its continued support as this amendment allows us to accelerate our deleveraging strategy and further strengthens what is fast becoming one of the industry’s better balance sheets,” said Mario C. Kontomerkos, Chief Financial Officer of the Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority.

About the Authority

The Authority is an instrumentality of the Mohegan Tribe of Indians of Connecticut, or the Tribe, a federally recognized Indian tribe with an approximately 595-acre reservation situated in southeastern Connecticut, adjacent to Uncasville, Connecticut. The Authority has been granted the exclusive authority to conduct and regulate gaming activities on the existing reservation of the Tribe, including the operation of Mohegan Sun, a gaming and entertainment complex located on an approximately 185-acre site on the Tribe’s reservation. Through its subsidiary, Downs Racing, L.P., the Authority also owns and operates Mohegan Sun Pocono, a gaming and entertainment facility located on an approximately 400-acre site in Plains Township, Pennsylvania, and several off-track wagering facilities located elsewhere in Pennsylvania.

The Tribe’s gaming operation at Mohegan Sun is one of only two legally authorized gaming operations in southern New England offering traditional slot machines and table games. Mohegan Sun currently operates in an approximately 5 million square-foot facility, which includes Casino of the Earth, Casino of the Sky, Casino of the Wind, 100,000 square feet of retail space, including The Shops at Mohegan Sun, a 10,000-seat Mohegan Sun Arena, a 350-seat Cabaret Theatre, 100,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, the 1,200-room luxury Sky Hotel Tower and the 400-room Earth Hotel Tower. Mohegan Sun Pocono operates in an approximately 400,000 square-foot facility, offering traditional slot machines and table games, live harness racing and simulcast and off-track wagering, a 238-room hotel, 20,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, several dining and retail options and a bus passenger lounge. More information about the Authority and its properties can be obtained by visiting www.mohegansun.com, www.mohegansunpocono.com, or www.mtga.com.

Special Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

Some information included in this press release may contain forward-looking statements, within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. These statements can sometimes be identified by the use of forward-looking words such as “may,” “will,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “expect” or “intend” and similar expressions. Such forward-looking information may involve important risks and uncertainties that could significantly affect anticipated results in the future and, accordingly, such results may differ materially from those expressed in any forward-looking statements made by or on behalf of the Authority. Information concerning potential factors that could affect the Authority’s financial results is included in its Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2016, as well as in the Authority’s other reports and filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Any forward-looking statements included in this press release are made only as of the date of this release. The Authority does not undertake any obligation to update or supplement any forward looking statements to reflect subsequent events or circumstances. The Authority cannot assure that projected results or events will be achieved or will occur.

Contact:

Mario C. Kontomerkos

Chief Financial Officer

Mohegan Tribal Gaming Authority

(860) 862-8000