Exhibit 99.1

News Release United Airlines Worldwide Media Relations 872.825.8640 media.relations@united.com

United Reports July 2017

Operational Performance

CHICAGO, August 8, 2017 – United Airlines (UAL) today reported July 2017 operational results.

UAL’s July 2017 consolidated traffic (revenue passenger miles) increased 3.9 percent and consolidated capacity (available seat miles) increased 4.6 percent versus July 2016. UAL’s July 2017 consolidated load factor decreased 0.6 points compared to July 2016.

Scott Kirby, president of United Airlines, said, “Running a great airline starts with taking off on time, and last month, we saw the best-ever on-time departures for the month of July in our history, all while carrying more passengers than ever before. We saw improved metrics on almost every front, including the best July on-time delivery from our tech ops team in six years and a 12 percent improvement in our baggage performance.”

The company continues to expect third-quarter 2017 consolidated passenger unit revenue to be down 1.0 percent to up 1.0 percent compared to the third quarter of 2016.

About United

United Airlines and United Express operate approximately 4,500 flights a day to 338 airports across five continents. In 2016, United and United Express operated more than 1.6 million flights carrying more than 143 million customers. United is proud to have the world’s most comprehensive route network, including U.S. mainland hubs in Chicago, Denver, Houston, Los Angeles, Newark/New York, San Francisco and Washington, D.C. United operates 748 mainline aircraft and the airline’s United Express carriers operate 475 regional aircraft. The airline is a founding member of Star Alliance, which provides service to more than 190 countries via 28 member airlines. For more information, visit united.com, follow @United on Twitter or connect on Facebook. The common stock of United’s parent, United Continental Holdings, Inc., is traded on the NYSE under the symbol “UAL”.

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United Reports July 2017 Operational Performance / Page 2

Preliminary Operational Results

	July				Year-to-Date
	2017	2016	Change		2017	2016	Change
REVENUE PASSENGER MILES (000)
Domestic	11,997,825	11,197,898	7.1%		71,335,547	67,782,262	5.2%
Mainline	10,090,634	9,100,554	10.9%		58,637,052	54,235,177	8.1%
Regional	1,907,191	2,097,344	(9.1%)		12,698,495	13,547,085	(6.3%)
International	9,515,935	9,511,826	0.0%		54,145,312	53,526,139	1.2%
Atlantic	4,038,394	4,070,506	(0.8%)		20,348,359	20,469,285	(0.6%)
Pacific	3,135,175	3,197,578	(2.0%)		19,898,718	19,574,484	1.7%
Latin	2,342,366	2,243,742	4.4%		13,898,235	13,482,370	3.1%
Mainline	2,258,147	2,153,652	4.9%		13,374,813	12,940,885	3.4%
Regional	84,219	90,090	(6.5%)		523,422	541,485	(3.3%)
Consolidated	21,513,760	20,709,724	3.9%		125,480,859	121,308,401	3.4%

AVAILABLE SEAT MILES (000)
Domestic	13,651,010	12,681,837	7.6%		83,314,230	79,397,203	4.9%
Mainline	11,355,336	10,263,338	10.6%		67,902,738	63,251,200	7.4%
Regional	2,295,674	2,418,499	(5.1%)		15,411,492	16,146,003	(4.5%)
International	11,114,243	10,989,449	1.1%		68,725,754	67,272,344	2.2%
Atlantic	4,865,154	4,862,537	0.1%		27,127,637	27,436,530	(1.1%)
Pacific	3,662,096	3,617,618	1.2%		24,941,947	23,674,812	5.4%
Latin	2,586,993	2,509,294	3.1%		16,656,170	16,161,002	3.1%
Mainline	2,492,076	2,402,522	3.7%		15,929,365	15,400,457	3.4%
Regional	94,917	106,772	(11.1%)		726,805	760,545	(4.4%)
Consolidated	24,765,253	23,671,286	4.6%		152,039,984	146,669,547	3.7%

PASSENGER LOAD FACTOR
Domestic	87.9%	88.3%	(0.4	) pts	85.6%	85.4%	0.2	pts
Mainline	88.9%	88.7%	0.2	pts	86.4%	85.7%	0.7	pts
Regional	83.1%	86.7%	(3.6	) pts	82.4%	83.9%	(1.5	) pts
International	85.6%	86.6%	(1.0	) pt	78.8%	79.6%	(0.8	) pts
Atlantic	83.0%	83.7%	(0.7	) pts	75.0%	74.6%	0.4	pts
Pacific	85.6%	88.4%	(2.8	) pts	79.8%	82.7%	(2.9	) pts
Latin	90.5%	89.4%	1.1	pts	83.4%	83.4%	0.0	pts
Mainline	90.6%	89.6%	1.0	pt	84.0%	84.0%	0.0	pts
Regional	88.7%	84.4%	4.3	pts	72.0%	71.2%	0.8	pts
Consolidated	86.9%	87.5%	(0.6	) pts	82.5%	82.7%	(0.2	) pts

ONBOARD PASSENGERS (000)
Mainline	10,650	9,674	10.1%		62,559	57,590	8.6%
Regional	3,542	3,818	(7.2%)		22,985	24,405	(5.8%)
Consolidated	14,192	13,492	5.2%		85,544	81,995	4.3%

CARGO REVENUE TON MILES (000)
Total	278,743	238,125	17.1%		1,854,475	1,539,336	20.5%

OPERATIONAL PERFORMANCE
Mainline Departure Performance[1]	63.3%	57.1%	6.2	pts
Mainline Completion Factor	99.3%	98.9%	0.4	pts

[1]	Based on mainline scheduled flights departing by or before scheduled departure time

Note: See Part II, Item 6 Selected Financial Data of the company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2016 for the definition of these statistics

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United Reports July 2017 Operational Performance / Page 3

Safe Harbor Statement

Safe Harbor Statement under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995: Certain statements included in this release are forward-looking and thus reflect our current expectations and beliefs with respect to certain current and future events and anticipated financial and operating performance. Such forward-looking statements are and will be subject to many risks and uncertainties relating to our operations and business environment that may cause actual results to differ materially from any future results expressed or implied in such forward-looking statements. Words such as “expects,” “will,” “plans,” “anticipates,” “indicates,” “believes,” “forecast,” “guidance,” “outlook,” “goals” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. Additionally, forward-looking statements include statements that do not relate solely to historical facts, such as statements which identify uncertainties or trends, discuss the possible future effects of current known trends or uncertainties or which indicate that the future effects of known trends or uncertainties cannot be predicted, guaranteed or assured. All forward-looking statements in this release are based upon information available to us on the date of this release. We undertake no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future events, changed circumstances or otherwise, except as required by applicable law. Our actual results could differ materially from these forward-looking statements due to numerous factors including, without limitation, the following: our ability to comply with the terms of our various financing arrangements; the costs and availability of financing; our ability to maintain adequate liquidity; our ability to execute our operational plans and revenue-generating initiatives, including optimizing our revenue; our ability to control our costs, including realizing benefits from our resource optimization efforts, cost reduction initiatives and fleet replacement programs; costs associated with any modification or termination of our aircraft orders; our ability to utilize our net operating losses; our ability to attract and retain customers; potential reputational or other impact from adverse events in our operations; demand for transportation in the markets in which we operate; an outbreak of a disease that affects travel demand or travel behavior; demand for travel and the impact that global economic and political conditions have on customer travel patterns; excessive taxation and the inability to offset future taxable income; general economic conditions (including interest rates, foreign currency exchange rates, investment or credit market conditions, crude oil prices, costs of aircraft fuel and energy refining capacity in relevant markets); our ability to cost-effectively hedge against increases in the price of aircraft fuel, if we decide to do so; any potential realized or unrealized gains or losses related to fuel or currency hedging programs; economic and political instability and other risks of doing business globally; the effects of any hostilities, act of war or terrorist attack; the ability of other air carriers with whom we have alliances or partnerships to provide the services contemplated by the respective arrangements with such carriers; the effects of any technology failures or cybersecurity breaches; disruptions to our regional network; the costs and availability of aviation and other insurance; industry consolidation or changes in airline alliances; the success of our investments in airlines in other parts of the world; competitive pressures on pricing and on demand; our capacity decisions and the capacity decisions of our competitors; U.S. or foreign governmental legislation, regulation and other actions (including Open Skies agreements and environmental regulations); the impact of regulatory, investigative and legal proceedings and legal compliance risks; the impact of any management changes; labor costs; our ability to maintain satisfactory labor relations and the results of any collective bargaining agreement process with our union groups; any disruptions to operations due to any potential actions by our labor groups; weather conditions; and other risks and uncertainties set forth under Part I, Item 1A., “Risk Factors,” of our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2016, as well as other risks and uncertainties set forth from time to time in the reports we file with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission.

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