NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT INC /DE (CIK 1004981)
Form 10-Q
period 2004-07-31
filed 2004-09-14

                                  UNITED STATES
                       SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION
                             WASHINGTON, D.C. 20549

                                    FORM 10-Q

(X)   QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
      SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

                  For the quarterly period ended July 31, 2004
                                                 -------------

                              OR

( )   TRANSITION REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE
      SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

      For the transition period from               to
                                     -------------     -------------

Commission file number  1-11601
                       ---------

                           NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
             (Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)

            Delaware                                              34-1816760
------------------------------                               -------------------
(State or other jurisdiction of                               (I.R.S. Employer
incorporation or organization)                               Identification No.)

555 Madison Avenue, 29th Floor, New York, New York                  10022
---------------------------------------------------           ------------------
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
                       Yes ( )      No (X)

Indicate the number of shares outstanding of each of the issuer's class
of common stock, as of the latest practicable date:

             Class                             Outstanding at September 10, 2004
-----------------------------                  ---------------------------------
Common Stock, $0.05 par value                               10,002,614

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES

                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

                                                                            PAGE
                                                                            ----

PART I.        FINANCIAL INFORMATION

Item 1.        Financial Statements

               Report of Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm        1

               Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets as of
               July 31, 2004 and January 31, 2004                             2

               Condensed Consolidated Statements of Operations for the
               Three Months and Six Months Ended July 31, 2004 and 2003       3

               Condensed Consolidated Statements of Stockholders' Equity
               and Comprehensive Income (Loss) for the Six Months Ended
               July 31, 2004                                                  4

               Condensed Consolidated Statements of Cash Flows for the
               Six Months Ended July 31, 2004 and 2003                        5

               Notes to Condensed Consolidated Financial Statements           7

Item 2.        Management's Discussion and Analysis of
               Financial Condition and Results of Operations                 20

Item 3.        Quantitative and Qualitative Disclosures about
               Market Risk                                                   30

Item 4.        Controls and Procedures                                       30

PART II.       OTHER INFORMATION

Item 1.        Legal Proceedings                                             32

Item 6.        Exhibits and Reports on Form 8-K                              35

Signatures                                                                   35

Certifications                                                               36

                          PART I. FINANCIAL INFORMATION
                          Item 1. Financial Statements

REPORT OF INDEPENDENT
REGISTERED PUBLIC ACCOUNTING FIRM

To the Board of Directors and Stockholders of
National Auto Credit, Inc. and Subsidiaries
New York, New York

         We have reviewed the accompanying condensed consolidated balance sheet
of National Auto Credit, Inc. and subsidiaries as of July 31, 2004, the related
condensed consolidated statements of operations for each of the three-month and
six-month periods ended July 31, 2004 and 2003; the related condensed
consolidated statement of stockholders' equity and comprehensive loss for the
six-month period ended July 31, 2004 and the condensed consolidated statements
of cash flows for the six-month periods ended July 31, 2004 and 2003. The
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
September 10, 2004

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                      CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED BALANCE SHEETS
                        (IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE DATA)

                                                                                July 31,       January 31,
                                                                                  2004             2004
                                                                              -------------    -------------
                                                                              (unaudited)
                           ASSETS

Cash and cash equivalents                                                      $     411         $     376
Accounts receivable, net of allowance of
  $62 and $75, respectively (Note 1)                                               2,848             1,979
Income taxes refundable                                                            2,070             2,162
Prepaid expenses                                                                     387               293
Other current assets                                                                 303               399
                                                                               ---------         ---------
  Total current assets                                                             6,019             5,209

Property and equipment, net of accumulated
  depreciation of $907 and $528, respectively (Note 1)                             2,493             2,756
Investment in AFC (Note 3)                                                         7,800             8,549
Goodwill (Notes 1 and 2)                                                           4,920             4,920
Other intangible assets, net of accumulated
  amortization of $568 and $284, respectively (Notes 1 and 2)                      8,914             9,198
Other assets                                                                         282               284
                                                                               ---------         ---------

                                                                               $  30,428         $  30,916
                                                                               =========         =========

            LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
LIABILITIES
Current maturities of long term obligations (Note 4)                           $   2,301         $   1,339
Accounts payable                                                                   1,003             1,238
Self-insurance claims                                                                284               408
Accrued income taxes                                                                 327               334
Deferred revenue                                                                   1,317               776
Other liabilities                                                                  1,258             1,547
                                                                               ---------         ---------
  Total current liabilities                                                        6,490             5,642

Long term obligations (Note 4)                                                     8,857             8,969
Convertible promissory note (Note 4)                                               2,825             2,825
                                                                               ---------         ---------
                                                                                  18,172            17,436
                                                                               ---------         ---------

COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES (Note 6)                                              --                --

STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Preferred stock                                                                     --                --
Common stock - $.05 par value, authorized 40,000,000 shares,
  issued 39,949,589 and 39,949,589 shares, respectively                            1,997             1,997
Additional paid-in capital                                                       174,454           174,454
Retained deficit                                                                (141,337)         (139,746)
Deferred compensation                                                               (101)             (113)
Treasury stock, at cost, 30,421,975 and 30,896,975
  shares, respectively                                                           (22,757)          (23,112)
                                                                               ---------         ---------
  Total stockholders' equity                                                      12,256            13,480
                                                                               ---------         ---------
                                                                               $  30,428         $  30,916
                                                                               =========         =========

     See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS
                     (IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT PER SHARE DATA)
                                  (UNAUDITED)

                                             Three Months Ended                Six Months Ended
                                                  July 31,                         July 31,
                                           -----------------------         -----------------------
                                            2004            2003            2004            2003
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------

Revenues                                   $ 2,388         $   539         $ 5,681         $   869

Cost of revenues                             1,341             364           3,288             561
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------

Gross profit                                 1,047             175           2,393             308

Selling, general and administrative          1,656           1,435           3,586           2,358
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------

Loss from operations                          (609)         (1,260)         (1,193)         (2,050)

Interest income from investments              --               467            --               487
Income from AFC investment                     111              73             189             192
Interest expense                              (181)             (8)           (344)            (16)
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------

Loss from continuing operations
   before income taxes                        (679)           (728)         (1,348)         (1,387)
Provision for income taxes                    --              --              --              --
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------
Loss from continuing operations               (679)           (728)         (1,348)         (1,387)
Loss from discontinued
  operations, net of tax                        (5)             (6)             (6)            (12)
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------

Net loss                                   $  (684)        $  (734)        $(1,354)        $(1,399)
                                           =======         =======         =======         =======

Basic and diluted loss per share
         Continuing operations             $  (.08)        $  (.09)        $  (.15)        $  (.17)
         Discontinued operations                --              --              --              --
                                           -------         -------         -------         -------
                 Net loss per share        $  (.08)        $  (.09)        $  (.15)        $  (.17)
                                           =======         =======         =======         =======

Weighted average number
   of shares outstanding
     Basic and diluted                       9,146           8,031           9,100           7,948
                                           =======         =======         =======         =======

     See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
            CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENT OF STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
                             AND COMPREHENSIVE LOSS
                         SIX MONTHS ENDED JULY 31, 2004
                        (IN THOUSANDS, EXCEPT SHARE DATA)
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                           Preferred Stock    Common Stock
                           ---------------  ----------------- Additional                         Deferred             Comprehensive
                                    Par                  Par   Paid-In   Retained    Treasury  Compensation               Income
                           Shares  Value     Shares     Value  Capital   Deficit       Stock     Expense     Total        (Loss)
                           ------ -------- ----------  ------ ---------- ----------- --------- ------------ --------- ------------

Balance at
January 31, 2004             --   $  --    39,949,589  $1,997  $ 174,454 $(139,746)  $(23,112)    $ (113)   $ 13,480

Net loss                                                                    (1,354)                           (1,354) $     (1,354)
Treasury stock sold                                                           (237)       355                    118
Deferred compensation
   expense                                                                                             12         12            12
                          ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- -------------

Comprehensive income (loss)                                                                                           $     (1,342)
                                                                                                                      =============

Balance at
 July 31, 2004               --   $  --    39,949,589  $1,997  $ 174,454 $(141,337)  $(22,757)    $ (101)   $ 12,256
                           ====== ======== ==========  ======  ========= ==========  ========     ======    ========

     See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
         CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (IN THOUSANDS)
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                                                                                 Six Months Ended
                                                                                     July 31,
                                                                            ----------------------------
                                                                               2004            2003
                                                                            ------------    ------------

Cash flows from operating activities
  Net loss                                                                    $(1,354)        $(1,399)
  Adjustments to reconcile net loss to net cash provided by
    (used in) operating activities:
    Loss from discontinued operations                                               6              12
    Depreciation and amortization                                                 663              82

  Changes in operating assets and liabilities, net of acquisition:
    Accounts receivable                                                          (869)            191
    Income tax refundable                                                          92           3,507
    Accrued income tax                                                             (7)            (64)
    Accounts payable and other liabilities                                       (235)            500
    Deferred revenue                                                              541            --
    Other operating assets and liabilities, net                                  (461)            159
                                                                              -------         -------
         Net cash provided by (used in) operating activities                   (1,624)          2,988
                                                                              -------         -------

Cash flows from investing activities
  Acquisition of OMI net of cash acquired                                         --               (97)
  Acquisition of The Campus Group net of cash acquired                            --            (3,111)
  Proceeds from AFC distributions                                                  937             425
  Proceeds from sale of marketible securities                                     --               400
  Purchase of property and equipment                                              (116)            (62)
                                                                               -------         -------
    Net cash provided by (used in) investing activities                            821          (2,445)
                                                                               -------         -------

Cash flows from financing activities
  Proceeds from issuance of promissory note                                     1,000            --
  Proceeds from sale of treasury stock                                            118            --
  Payments of long term debt                                                     (150)           (144)
                                                                              -------         -------
    Net cash provided by (used in) financing activities                           968            (144)
                                                                              -------         -------

  Increase in cash and cash equivalents from
    continuing operations                                                         165             399
  Decrease in cash and cash equivalents from
    discontinued operations                                                      (130)            (78)
  Cash and cash equivalents at beginning of period                                376           1,873
                                                                              -------         -------
  Cash and cash equivalents at end of period                                  $   411         $ 2,194
                                                                              =======         =======

                                  -continued-

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
         CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS (IN THOUSANDS)
                                   (UNAUDITED)

                                                            Six Months Ended
                                                                 July 31,
                                                          --------------------
                                                            2004        2003
                                                          --------    --------

Supplemental disclosures of cash flow information
   Interest paid                                         $    345    $      7
                                                         ========    ========
   Income taxes paid                                     $      7    $     64
                                                         ========    ========

Acquisition of The Campus Group:
  Non-cash assets acquired                                           $ 17,260
  Liabilities assumed                                                  (1,484)
                                                                     --------
                                                                       15,776
  Promissory notes issued                                             (12,665)
                                                                     --------
  Cash paid, net of cash acquired                                    $  3,111
                                                                     ========

Acquisition of OMI:
  Non-cash assets acquired                                           $  1,597
  Liabilities assumed                                                  (1,321)
                                                                     --------
                                                                          276
  Promissory notes issued                                                (153)
  Common stock issued                                                     (26)
                                                                     --------
  Cash paid, net of cash acquired                                    $     97
                                                                     ========

     See accompanying notes to condensed consolidated financial statements.

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
full-service design, creative development, production, post production editing
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
position, results of operations, stockholders' equity and comprehensive loss,
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
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 1 - BASIS OF PRESENTATION AND SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES - CONTINUED

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
as of January 31, 2002. For the three months ended July 31, 2004 and 2003, NAC
incurred a loss from discontinued operations of $5,000 and $6,000, respectively.
For the six months ended July 31, 2004 and 2003, NAC incurred a loss from
discontinued operations of $6,000 and $12,000, respectively.

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
sale and delivery are complete. Deferred production costs of $307,000 are
included as a component of other current assets at July 31, 2004.

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
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 1 - BASIS OF PRESENTATION AND SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES - CONTINUED

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
straight-line method over the estimated useful life of the intangible. For the
three months and six months ended July 31, 2004, NAC charged to operations
$142,000 and $284,000, respectively, for the amortization of these intangible
assets.

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 1 - BASIS OF PRESENTATION AND SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES - CONTINUED

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

         FIN No.46 was subsequently revised by FIN46 (revised December 2003)
("FIN No. 46R"). This revision clarifies some of the provisions of FIN No. 46.
The provisions of FIN No. 46R are effective beginning December 15, 2003 for
public entities that have interests in structures that are considered
special-purpose entities and March 15, 2004 for all other types of variable
interest entities. FIN No. 46R was adopted by NAC effective February 1, 2004. At
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
the four acquired companies for an initial term of three years. The term of the
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

NOTE 2 - ACQUISITIONS - CONTINUED

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
based upon the operating results of OMI.

           The components and allocation of the purchase price were as follows
(in thousands):

                                                          Amount
                                                         -------
            Components of purchase price:
                 Common stock                            $    26
                 Promissory note                             153
                 Transaction costs                           110
                                                         -------
                      Total purchase price               $   289
                                                         =======

            Allocation of purchase price:
                 Current assets                          $   376
                 Property and equipment                      632
                 Other assets                                 61
                 Goodwill arising in the acqusition          541
                                                         -------
                                                           1,610
                 Accounts payable and accrued expenses      (516)
                 Debt                                       (805)
                                                         -------
                 Net assets acquired                     $   289
                                                         =======

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 2 - ACQUISITIONS - CONTINUED

         The following sets forth the pro forma condensed results of operations
of NAC, The Campus Group and OMI for the six months ended July 31, 2003 as if
the acquisition were consummated on February 1, 2003. Prior to their
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

                                                           Six Months
                                                        Ended July 31, 2003
                                                        -------------------
         Revenues                                            $ 5,965
                                                             =======
         Net loss from continuing operations                 $(1,230)
                                                             =======
         Loss per share from continuing operations           $ (0.15)
                                                             =======

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
December 31, respectively. For the three months ended July 31, 2004 and 2003,
NAC recorded income of $111,000 and $73,000, respectively, representing its
share of AFC's net income. For the six months ended July 31, 2004 and 2003, NAC
recorded income of $189,000 and $192,000, respectively, representing its share
of AFC's net income.

                                       13

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 3 - INVESTMENT IN AFC - CONTINUED

          Summarized income statement data for AFC for the three months and six
months ended June 30, 2004, and 2003, respectively, is as follows (in
thousands):

                                                 Three Months Ended              Six Months Ended
                                                       June 30,                       June 30,
                                                 --------------------           -------------------
                                                 2004            2003           2004           2003
                                                 ----            ----           ----           ----

Revenues                                        $1,262         $1,588         $2,567         $3,191

Film rental                                        243            418            503            810
Operating costs                                    577            775          1,210          1,511
Depreciation and amortization                      177            218            391            423
General and administrative expenses                 43             31             85             62
                                                ------         ------         ------         ------
                                                 1,040          1,442          2,189          2,806
                                                ------         ------         ------         ------
Net income                                      $  222         $  146         $  378         $  385
                                                ======         ======         ======         ======

NAC's proportionate share of net income         $  111         $   73         $  189         $  192
                                                ======         ======         ======         ======

NOTE 4 - CURRENT AND LONG TERM OBLIGATIONS

         On July 14, 2004, National Auto Credit, Inc. ("NAC") consummated a Loan
and Security Agreement ("Loan Agreement") with a lender and issued a Promissory
Note ("Note") of $1.0 million. The lender, Time Passages Corp., is an
unaffiliated third party lender. The President of Time Passages Corp. was a
former director of NAC who last served on NAC's board in January 2002. Pursuant
to the terms of the Note, (i) the outstanding principal of the Note is due July
13, 2005, (ii) NAC is required to pay interest only, monthly and in arrears,
during the term and (iii) the Note bears interest at twenty percent per annum.
NAC may prepay the Note at anytime and without a prepayment penalty. The Note is
secured by a perfected first priority security interest in and to, and a lien on
and pledge of, NAC's right, title and interest in and to virtually all of NAC's
assets. The lien does not extend to the common stock of The Campus Group and
other permitted liens.

                                       14

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 4 - CURRENT AND LONG TERM OBLIGATIONS - CONTINUED

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
comprising The Campus Group. At July 31, 2004, NAC has outstanding obligations
under the terms of the Base Notes, Trailing Notes and the Convertible Notes of
$6.2 million, $3.3 million and $2.8 million, respectively.

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
maturities at July 31, 2004. The outstanding balance of the Term Loan at
September 10, 2004 is $122,000.

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
outstanding balance of the SBA Loan at July 31, 2004 is $396,000.

         The promissory note payable to Mr. Thompson is payable in monthly
installments of principal and interest over a 36 month period expiring April
2006. The promissory note bears interest at 5% per annum.

         OMI leases computer equipment under several different capital leases
with finance institutions with various payments terms, expiration dates and
imputed annual rates of interest.

                                       15

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 4 - CURRENT AND LONG TERM OBLIGATIONS - CONTINUED

         The components of long term obligations at July 31, 2004 are as follows
(in thousands):

                                        Amounts
                                        --------
          Capital leases                $     43
          Term loan                          127
          SBA loan                           396
          Promissory note                     80
          Promissory note                  1,000
          Base promissory notes            6,237
          Trailing promissory notes        3,275
          Convertible note payable         2,825
                                        --------
                                          13,983
          Less current maturities         (2,301)
                                        --------
          Long term obligations and
             convertible note payable   $ 11,682
                                        ========

         NAC's current maturities and long term obligations at July 31, 2004 are
as follows (in thousands):

                                         Amounts
                                        --------
         2005                           $  2,305
         2006                              1,170
         2007                              1,199
         2008                              1,260
         2009                              1,325
         Thereafter                        6,728
                                        --------
                                          13,987
      less interest due under
        capital leases obligations            (4)
                                        --------
                                        $ 13,983
                                        ========

         The cost and accumulated depreciation for equipment under capital
leases were $335,000 and $159,000, respectively at July 31, 2004.

NOTE 5 - SALE OF TREASURY STOCK

         In July 2004, NAC initiated a private placement ("NAC Private
Placement") whereby NAC offered for sale up to 1.3 million shares of
unregistered, restricted treasury stock at $0.25 per share. Pursuant to the
terms of the NAC Private Placement, as of July 31, 2004 NAC sold an aggregate of
475,000 shares of its treasury stock at $0.25 per share from which it derived
net proceeds of approximately $118,000. In August 2004, NAC completed the NAC
Private Placement whereby NAC issued an additional 475,000 shares of its Common
Stock at $0.25 per share from which it derived net proceeds of approximately
$118,000.

                                       16

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 6 - COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

Shareholder Complaints

         On July 31, 2001, NAC received a derivative complaint (the "Academy
Complaint") filed by Academy Capital Management, Inc. ("Academy"), a shareholder
of NAC, with the Court of Chancery of Delaware (the "Delaware Chancery Court"),
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
the Delaware Chancery Court on or about August 16, 2001, against James J.
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
Delaware Chancery Court on or about August 31, 2001, against Thomas F. Carney,
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

                                       17

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 6 - COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES - CONTINUED

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
and have filed an appeal with the Appellate Division of the New York Supreme
Court, First Division (the "NY Appellate Court"). The NY Appellate Court
scheduled a preliminary conference in September 2004 to review the appeal.

           A motion to dismiss the Delaware Consolidated Action was also filed
in 2002 and was denied by the Delaware Chancery Court in January 2003. In
January 2004, NAC re-filed a motion to dismiss the Delaware Consolidated Action
based upon the New York Supreme Court's written Order and Judgment issued in
December 2003. The Delaware Chancery Court has previously stayed further
proceedings in the Consolidated Action pending issuance of the New York Supreme
Court's order. In April 2004, oral arguments were presented to the Delaware
Court regarding NAC's motion to dismiss. As of September 10, 2004, no decision
has been made by the Delaware Chancery Court.

         No predictions can be made with respect to the outcome of these matters
and, accordingly, no provision for any loss or settlement that may occur has
been recorded in the consolidated financial statement.

                                       18

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
              NOTES TO CONDENSED CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS
                                   (UNAUDITED)

NOTE 6 - COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES - CONTINUED

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
or settlement of these matters will have on NAC. At July 31, 2004, NAC had
accrued $284,000 to cover all outstanding self-insurance liabilities. As
additional information regarding NAC's potential liabilities becomes available,
NAC will revise the estimates as appropriate.

Other Litigation

         In the normal course of its business, NAC is named as defendant in
legal proceedings. It is the policy of NAC to vigorously defend litigation
and/or enter into settlements of claims where management deems appropriate.

                                       19

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
company. NAC specializes in the full-service design, creative development,
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
sale and delivery are complete. Deferred production costs of $307,000 are
included as a component of other current assets at July 31, 2004.

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

                                       20

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

                                       21

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
the deferred tax asset would decrease income in the period such determination
was made. Likewise, should management determine that NAC would not be able to
realize all or part of its net deferred tax assets in the future, an adjustment
to the deferred tax assets would be charged to income in the period such
determination was made.

FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS
RESULTS FROM OPERATIONS FOR THE THREE MONTHS ENDED JULY 31, 2004
  AS COMPARED TO THE THREE MONTHS ENDED JULY 31, 2003

         Revenues: Revenues for the three months ended July 31, 2004 were $2.4
million and are comprised principally of revenues derived from the OMI and The
Campus Group (collectively the "Acquired Companies") operations, (i) OMI
revenues of $354,000 and (ii) The Campus Group revenues of $2.0 million. Pro
forma revenues for the three months ended July 31, 2003, computed by combining
the revenues of NAC with the revenues of the Acquired Companies prior to their
acquisition, were $2.8 million as compared to revenues of $2.4 million for the
three months ended July 31, 2004.

         For the three months ended July 31, 2003, pro forma revenues for The
Campus Group were $2.2 million as compared to revenues of $2.0 million for the
three months ended July 31, 2004. The decrease in revenues of $202,000 for the
three months ended July 31, 2004 as compared to pro forma revenues for the three
months ended July 31, 2003 was principally due to fluctuations in the timing of
client events from period-to-period.

                                       22

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - CONTINUED

         For the three months ended July 31, 2003, revenues for OMI were
$209,000 as compared to revenues of $354,000 for the three months ended July 31,
2004. The increase in revenues of $145,000 for the three months ended July 31,
2004 as compared to revenues for the three months ended July 31, 2003 was
principally due to an increase in the number, scope and value of client
assignments completed from period to period.

         Cost of Revenues: Cost of revenues for three months July 31, 2004 were
$1.3 million and are comprised principally of cost of revenues derived from the
Acquired Companies operations, (i) The Campus Group cost of revenues of $1.0
million and (ii) OMI cost of revenues of $325,000. The average gross margin for
the three months ended July 31, 2004 was 50.0% and 8.1% for The Campus Group and
OMI, respectively. The average gross margins for The Campus Group are comparable
to the average gross margins at similar revenue levels prior to NAC's
acquisition. The average gross margin for OMI for the three months ended July
31, 2004 were lower than historical levels due principally to the media
production expenses and related production personnel costs attributable to a new
client assignment that was performed at a substantial discount to OMI's normal
rates.

         Selling, General and Administrative ("SG&A"): For the three months
ended July 31, 2004, SG&A expenses includes SG&A expenses of OMI's operations
("OMI SG&A"), The Campus Group's operations ("Campus SG&A") and NAC's personnel,
occupancy, legal, professional, insurance and other general corporate overhead
costs ("NAC SG&A"). As a consequence of the acquisition of OMI effective April
1, 2003 and The Campus Group effective July 31, 2003, SG&A expenses for the
three months ended July 31, 2003 includes OMI SG&A and NAC SG&A for three
months.

         For the three months ended July 31, 2004, SG&A expense was $1.7 million
comprised of (i) Campus SG&A of $585,000, (ii) OMI SG&A of $216,000, and (iii)
NAC SG&A of $855,000. SG&A for the Acquired Companies have remained comparable
to their historical levels prior to NAC's acquisition. NAC SG&A for the three
months ended July 31, 2004 was $855,000 as compared to $957,000 for the three
months ended July 31, 2003. The decrease of $102,000 of NAC SG&A for the three
months July 31, 2004 as compared to the three months ended July 31, 2003 was due
principally to decreased legal and consulting costs.

         Income from AFC Investment: NAC accounts for its investment in AFC
using the equity method. For the three months ended July 31, 2004 and 2003, NAC
recorded income of $111,000 and $73,000, respectively, representing NAC's share
of AFC's net income for the three months ended June 30, 2004 and 2003,
respectively.

                                       23

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - CONTINUED

         The following sets forth summarized operating results for AFC (in
thousands):

                                                 Three Months Ended June 30,
                                                 ---------------------------
                                                   2004                2003
                                                 -------             -------
Revenues                                         $ 1,262             $ 1,588

Film rental                                          243                 418
Operating costs                                      577                 775
Depreciation and amortization                        177                 218
General and administrative expenses                   43                  31
                                                   -----               -----
                                                   1,040               1,442
                                                   -----               -----
Net income                                         $ 222               $ 146
                                                   =====                ====
NAC's proportionate share of net income            $ 111                $ 73
                                                   =====                ====

         AFC's revenues decreased $326,000 for the three months ended June 30,
2004 as compared to the three months ended June 30, 2003, principally as a
result of (i) an 18.1% decrease in attendance, (ii) a decrease of $87,000 in
other, concession and cafe revenues and (iii) stable ticket prices
period-to-period. The attendance, and at times the ticket prices, at AFC will
vary depending on audience interest in, and the popularity of the films it
exhibits and other factors. Film rental, as a percentage of revenue, decreased
7.1% to 19.2% from 26.3% for the three months ended June 30, 2004 and 2003,
respectively. Film rental expense generally is a factor of a fixed percentage
rental rate per film multiplied by the number of tickets sold. AFC experiences
fluctuations in film rental expense, as a percentage of revenue, depending upon
the rental rate per film and the popularity of the film. Operating costs, as a
percent of revenue, decreased 3.1% to 45.7% for the three months ended June 30,
2004 as compared to 48.8% for the three months ended June 30, 2003 due
principally to a decrease in personnel related costs. The nature of AFC's
operating costs tend to generally be more fixed overhead-related costs and
advertising expenses.

         Income Taxes: Due to net operating losses and the availability of net
operating loss carryforwards, NAC's effective income tax rate was zero for the
three month periods ended July 31, 2004 and July 31, 2003. NAC has provided a
full valuation allowance against its net operating loss carryforward and other
net deferred tax asset items due to the uncertainty of their future realization.

RESULTS FROM OPERATIONS FOR THE SIX MONTHS ENDED JULY 31, 2004
  AS COMPARED TO THE SIX MONTHS ENDED JULY 31, 2003

         Revenues: Revenues for the six months ended July 31, 2004 were $5.7
million and are comprised principally of revenues derived from the Acquired
Companies operations, (i) OMI revenues of $615,000 and (ii) The Campus Group
revenues of $5.1 million. Pro forma revenues for the six months ended July 31,
2003, computed by combining the revenues of NAC with the revenues of the
Acquired Companies prior to their acquisition, were $6.0 million as compared to
revenues of $5.7 million for the six months ended July 31, 2004.

                                       24

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - CONTINUED

         For the six months ended July 31, 2003, pro forma revenues for The
Campus Group were $4.9 million as compared to revenues of $5.1 million for the
six months ended July 31, 2004. The increase in revenues of $198,000 for the six
months ended July 31, 2004 as compared to pro forma revenues for the six months
ended July 31, 2003 was principally due to fluctuations in the timing of client
events from period-to-period.

         For the six months ended July 31, 2003, pro forma revenues for OMI were
$1.0 million as compared to revenues of $615,000 for the six months ended July
31, 2004. The decrease in revenues of $434,000 for the six months ended July 31,
2004 as compared to pro forma revenues for the six months ended July 31, 2003
was principally due to a reduction in the number, scope and value of assignments
completed from period to period.

         Cost of Revenues: Cost of revenues for six months July 31, 2004 were
$3.3 million and are comprised principally of cost of revenues derived from the
Acquired Companies operations, (i) The Campus Group cost of revenues of $2.8
million and (ii) OMI cost of revenues of $556,000. The average gross margin for
the six months ended July 31, 2004 was 44.8% and 9.5% for The Campus Group and
OMI, respectively. The average gross margins for The Campus Group are comparable
to the average gross margins at similar revenue levels prior to NAC's
acquisition. The average gross margin for OMI for the six months ended July 31,
2004 were lower than historical levels due principally to the media production
expenses and related production personnel costs attributable to a new client
assignment that was performed at a substantial discount to OMI's normal rates.

         Selling, General and Administrative ("SG&A"): For the six months ended
July 31, 2004, SG&A expenses includes OMI SG&A, Campus SG&A and NAC SG&A. As a
consequence of the acquisition of OMI effective April 1, 2003 and The Campus
Group effective July 31, 2003, SG&A expenses for the six months ended July 31,
2003 includes OMI SG&A for four months and NAC SG&A for six months.

         For the six months ended July 31, 2004, SG&A expense was $3.6 million
comprised of (i) Campus SG&A of $1.3 million, (ii) OMI SG&A of $520,000, and
(iii) NAC SG&A of $1.7 million. SG&A for the Acquired Companies have remained
comparable to their historical levels prior to NAC's acquisition. NAC SG&A for
the six months ended July 31, 2004 was $1.7 million as compared to $1.7 million
for the six months ended July 31, 2003.

         Income from AFC Investment: NAC accounts for its investment in AFC
using the equity method. For the six months ended July 31, 2004 and 2003, NAC
recorded income of $189,000 and $192,000, respectively, representing NAC's share
of AFC's net income for the six months ended June 30, 2004 and 2003,
respectively.

                                       25

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - CONTINUED

         The following sets forth summarized operating results for AFC (in
thousands):

                                                      Six Months Ended June 30,
                                                      -------------------------
                                                        2004              2003
                                                      -------           -------

Revenues                                              $ 2,567           $ 3,191

Film rental                                               503               810
Operating costs                                         1,210             1,511
Depreciation and amortization                             391               423
General and administrative expenses                        85                62
                                                      -------           -------
                                                        2,189             2,806
Net income                                            $   378           $   385
                                                      =======           =======
NAC's proportionate share of net income               $   189           $   192
                                                      =======           =======

         AFC's revenues decreased $624,000 for the six months ended June 30,
2004 as compared to the six months ended June 30, 2003, principally as a result
of (i) a 19.1% decrease in attendance, (ii) a decrease of $114,000 in other,
concession and cafe revenues and (iii) stable ticket prices period-to-period.
The attendance, and at times the ticket prices, at AFC will vary depending on
audience interest in, and the popularity of the films it exhibits and other
factors. Film rental, as a percentage of revenue, decreased 5.8% to 19.6% from
25.4% for the six months ended June 30, 2004 and 2003, respectively. Film rental
expense generally is a factor of a fixed percentage rental rate per film
multiplied by the number of tickets sold. AFC experiences fluctuations in film
rental expense, as a percentage of revenue, depending upon the rental rate per
film and the popularity of the film. Operating costs, as a percent of revenue,
decreased 0.2% to 47.1% for the six months ended June 30, 2004 as compared to
47.3% for the six months ended June 30, 2003. The nature of AFC's operating
costs tend to generally be more fixed overhead-related costs and advertising
expenses.

         Income Taxes: Due to net operating losses and the availability of net
operating loss carryforwards, NAC's effective income tax rate was zero for the
six month periods ended July 31, 2004 and July 31, 2003. NAC has provided a full
valuation allowance against its net operating loss carryforward and other net
deferred tax asset items due to the uncertainty of their future realization.

                                       26

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - CONTINUED

LIQUIDITY AND CAPITAL RESOURCES

         Throughout the six months ended July 31, 2004 and as of September 10,
2004, NAC had no external source of financing, and has operated on its existing
cash balances, cash flows from The Campus Group and OMI and distributions from
its investment in AFC. NAC continues to pursue its plan of examining new
business opportunities, which may be pursued through the investment in, or
acquisition of existing operating businesses or other means. At July 31, 2004
NAC had cash of $411,000 and $2.1 million income tax refund receivable which
together with any cash flow derived from its investment in AFC and the
operations of The Campus Group and OMI will be used to pursue such
opportunities. Additionally, NAC will continue to pursue reductions in its
operating expenses and new debt or equity financing (there can be no assurance
NAC will obtain such financing) as means of supplementing the resources
available to pursue new opportunities.

         As a consequence of periodic fluctuations in NAC's working capital
needs based upon the timing of collections, periods of increased media
production activity and the pending collection of the income tax refundable, on
July 14, 2004 NAC consummated a Loan and Security Agreement ("Loan Agreement")
with a lender and issued a Promissory Note ("Note") of $1.0 million. The lender,
Time Passages Corp., is an unaffiliated third party lender. The President of
Time Passages Corp. was a former director of NAC who last served on NAC's board
in January 2002. Pursuant to the terms of the Note, (i) the outstanding
principal of the Note is due July 13, 2005, (ii) NAC is required to pay interest
only, monthly and in arrears, during the term and (iii) the Note bears interest
at twenty percent per annum. NAC may prepay the Note at anytime and without a
prepayment penalty. The Note is secured by a perfected first priority security
interest in and to, and a lien on and pledge of, NAC's right, title and interest
in and to virtually all of NAC's assets. The lien does not extend to the common
stock of The Campus Group and other permitted liens.

         In addition to the issuance of the Note, NAC initiated a private
placement ("NAC Private Placement") in July 2004 whereby NAC offered for sale up
to 1.3 million shares of unregistered, restricted treasury stock at $0.25 per
share. Pursuant to the terms of the NAC Private Placement, as of July 31, 2004
NAC sold an aggregate of 475,000 shares of its treasury stock at $0.25 per share
from which it derived net proceeds of approximately $118,000. In August 2004,
NAC completed the NAC Private Placement whereby NAC issued an additional 475,000
shares of its Common Stock at $0.25 per share from which it derived net proceeds
of approximately $118,000.

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

                                       27

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
stock of the companies comprising The Campus Group. At July 31, 2004, NAC has
outstanding obligations under the terms of the Base Notes, Trailing Notes and
the Convertible Notes of $6.2 million, $3.3 million and $2.8 million,
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
maturities at July 31, 2004. The outstanding balance of the Term Loan at
September 10, 2004 is $122,000.

         On April 25, 2002, OMI obtained a $402,000 loan guaranteed by the U.S.
Small Business Administration (the "SBA Loan") to finance losses incurred as a
result of the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks in New York City. At July 31,
2004, the remaining balance of the SBA Loan of $396,000 is repayable in monthly
installments of $3,309 beginning in May 2004, with the last payment due in April
2017. The SBA Loan bears no interest through May 2004 and at the rate of 4% per
annum thereafter.

         At July 31, 2004, the $80,000 promissory note payable to Mr. Thompson
is payable in monthly installments of principal and interest over a 36 month
period expiring April 2006. The promissory note bears interest at 5% per annum.

         OMI leases computer equipment under several different capital leases
with finance institutions with various payments terms, expiration dates and
imputed annual rates of interest. At July 31, 2004, amounts outstanding under
the capital leases were $43,000.

         For the six months ended July 31, 2004, NAC's cash and cash equivalents
increased $165,000 due to the net effects of (i) cash flows used in operations
of $1.6 million, (ii) capital expenditures of $116,000, (iii) the repayment of
debt of $150,000 offset by (iv) proceeds from the issuance of a promissory note
of $1.0 million and the sale of treasury stock of $118,000, and (v) proceeds
from AFC distributions of $937,000.

                                       28

                   NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC. AND SUBSIDIARIES
                     MANAGEMENT'S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF
            FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS - CONTINUED

         NAC believes that the available cash and cash equivalents totaling
$411,000 at July 31, 2004, the collection of the federal income tax refund of
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

          FIN No.46 was subsequently revised by FIN46 (revised December 2003)
("FIN No. 46R"). This revision clarifies some of the provisions of FIN No. 46.
The provisions of FIN No. 46R are effective beginning December 15, 2003 for
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
carefully other statements in this report that address additional facts that
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

         As of July 31, 2004, the interest rates under NAC's short term, long
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

                                       30

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
of NAC, with the Court of Chancery of Delaware (the "Delaware Chancery Court"),
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
the Delaware Chancery Court on or about August 16, 2001, against James J.
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
Delaware Chancery Court on or about August 31, 2001, against Thomas F. Carney,
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
and have filed an appeal with the Appellate Division of the New York Supreme
Court, First Division (the "NY Appellate Court"). The NY Appellate Court
scheduled a preliminary conference in September 2004 to review the appeal.

           A motion to dismiss the Delaware Consolidated Action was also filed
in 2002 and was denied by the Delaware Chancery Court in January 2003. In
January 2004, NAC re-filed a motion to dismiss the Delaware Consolidated Action
based upon the New York Supreme Court's written Order and Judgment issued in
December 2003. The Delaware Chancery Court has previously stayed further
proceedings in the Consolidated Action pending issuance of the New York Supreme
Court's order. In April 2004, oral arguments were presented to the Delaware
Chancery Court regarding NAC's motion to dismiss. As of September 10, 2004, no
decision has been made by the Delaware Chancery Court.

         No predictions can be made with respect to the outcome of these matters
and, accordingly, no provision for any loss or settlement that may occur has
been recorded in the consolidated financial statement.

                                       33

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
or settlement of these matters will have on NAC. At July 31, 2004, NAC had
accrued $284,000 to cover all outstanding self-insurance liabilities. As
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

     a) EXHIBITS

        EXHIBIT                                                            PAGE
        NUMBER             TITLE OF EXHIBIT                               NUMBER
        ------------------------------------------------------------------------
        31.1     Officer's Certification Pursuant to Section 302 of the
                 Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (18 U.S.C. 1350)                36

        31.2     Officer's Certification Pursuant to Section 302 of the
                 Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (18 U.S.C. 1350)                37

        32.1     Certification of Principal Executive Officer Pursuant
                 to 18 U.S.C. 1350 (Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley
                 Act of 2002)                                               38

        32.2     Certification of Principal Financial Officer Pursuant
                 to 18 U.S.C. 1350 (Section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley
                 Act of 2002)                                               39

     b) REPORTS ON FORM 8-K

         On July 14, 2004, NAC a filed Current Report on Form 8-K to report the
consummation of a Loan and Security Agreement ("Loan Agreement") with a lender
and issued a Promissory Note ("Note") of $1.0 million.

                                   SIGNATURES

         Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934,
the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the
undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

                                                 NATIONAL AUTO CREDIT, INC.

Date:   September 10, 2004                       By: /s/ James J. McNamara
      ---------------------------                    --------------------------
                                                 James J. McNamara
                                                 Chairman of the Board and
                                                 Chief Executive Officer

                                                 By: /s/ Robert V. Cuddihy, Jr.
                                                       ------------------------
                                                 Robert V. Cuddihy, Jr.
                                                 Chief Financial Officer

                                       35