Exhibit 99.1

Mountain Province Diamonds Announces First Quarter 2018 Production Results

TSX and NASDAQ: MPVD

TORONTO and NEW YORK, April 24, 2018 /CNW/ - Mountain Province Diamonds Inc. ("Mountain Province", the "Company") (TSX and NASDAQ: MPVD) today announces production results for the first quarter ended March 31, 2018 from the Gahcho Kue Diamond Mine ("GK Mine").

Q1 Production Highlights

·	In the first quarter of 2018, the GK Mine plant recovered approximately 1,641,000 carats on a 100% basis for an average grade of approximately 2.09 carats per tonne, 89% and 18% higher than what was achieved during the same period last year respectively.
·	Pre-stripping of the Hearne pit continued on schedule during the quarter and the operations team anticipates mining first ore by the end of April.
·	The shovel and trucks included in the guided capital expenditures were delivered to site in the first quarter. Assembly and commissioning of the shovel is complete, and the completion of the truck fleet is expected by end of the second quarter.

Q1 Production Statistics

	2018 Q1	2017 Q1[1]	YOY Variance

Total tonnes mined (100%) (overburden, waste and ore)	8,202,000	7,670,000	7%
Ore tonnes mined (100%)	741,000	611,000	21%
Ore tonnes processed (100%)	786,000	492,000	60%
Carats recovered (100%)	1,641,000	867,000	89%
Carats recovered (49% share)	804,000	425,000	89%
Recovered grade (carats per tonne)	2.09	1.77	18%

1.	Figures for 2017 Q1 reflect that commercial production at the GK Mine was not declared until March 1, 2017.

Said David Whittle, the Company's Interim President and Chief Executive Officer, "We have had a solid start to the year in 2018 and these production results keep us on track to achieve our full-year 2018 production guidance of 6.3 to 6.6 million carats recovered on a 100% basis.  The grades continue to perform well at the GK Mine and are a key driver of the production results.  The plant also continues to achieve higher throughput than originally anticipated, having achieved and broken daily throughput records in a given 24 hour period during the first quarter of 2018.  The winter road program was safely and successfully completed, capping off a great first full year of commercial production at the GK Mine.  The Gahcho Kue team is to be congratulated for achieving such a strong performance."

Mountain Province Diamonds is a 49% participant with De Beers Canada in the Gahcho Kue diamond mine located in Canada's Northwest Territories.  Gahcho Kue is the world's largest new diamond mine, consisting of a cluster of four diamondiferous kimberlites, three of which are being developed and mined under the initial 12 year mine plan.

Qualified Person
The disclosure in this news release of scientific and technical information regarding Mountain Province's mineral properties has been reviewed and approved by Keyvan Salehi, P.Eng., MBA, a Qualified Person as defined by National Instrument 43-101 Standards of Disclosure for Mineral Projects.

Caution Regarding Forward Looking Information
This news release contains certain "forward-looking statements" and "forward-looking information" under applicable Canadian and United States securities laws concerning the business, operations and financial performance and condition of Mountain Province Diamonds Inc.  Forward-looking statements and forward-looking information include, but are not limited to, statements with respect to estimated production and mine life of the project of Mountain Province; the realization of mineral reserve estimates; the timing and amount of estimated future production; costs of production; the future price of diamonds; the estimation of mineral reserves and resources; the ability to manage debt; capital expenditures; the ability to obtain permits for operations; liquidity; tax rates; and currency exchange rate fluctuations.  Except for statements of historical fact relating to Mountain Province, certain information contained herein constitutes forward-looking statements.  Forward-looking statements are frequently characterized by words such as "anticipates," "may," "can," "plans," "believes," "estimates," "expects," "projects," "targets," "intends," "likely," "will," "should," "to be", "potential" and other similar words, or statements that certain events or conditions "may", "should" or "will" occur.  Forward-looking statements are based on the opinions and estimates of management at the date the statements are made, and are based on a number of assumptions and subject to a variety of risks and uncertainties and other factors that could cause actual events or results to differ materially from those projected in the forward-looking statements.  Many of these assumptions are based on factors and events that are not within the control of Mountain Province and there is no assurance they will prove to be correct.

Factors that could cause actual results to vary materially from results anticipated by such forward-looking statements include variations in ore grade or recovery rates, changes in market conditions, changes in project parameters, mine sequencing; production rates; cash flow; risks relating to the availability and timeliness of permitting and governmental approvals; supply of, and demand for, diamonds; fluctuating commodity prices and currency exchange rates, the possibility of project cost overruns or unanticipated costs and expenses, labour disputes and other risks of the mining industry, failure of plant, equipment or processes to operate as anticipated.

These factors are discussed in greater detail in Mountain Province's most recent Annual Information Form and in the most recent MD&A filed on SEDAR, which also provide additional general assumptions in connection with these statements.  Mountain Province cautions that the foregoing list of important factors is not exhaustive.  Investors and others who base themselves on forward-looking statements should carefully consider the above factors as well as the uncertainties they represent and the risk they entail.  Mountain Province believes that the expectations reflected in those forward-looking statements are reasonable, but no assurance can be given that these expectations will prove to be correct and such forward-looking statements included in this news release should not be unduly relied upon.  These statements speak only as of the date of this news release.

Although Mountain Province has attempted to identify important factors that could cause actual actions, events or results to differ materially from those described in forward-looking statements, there may be other factors that cause actions, events or results not to be anticipated, estimated or intended.  There can be no assurance that forward-looking statements will prove to be accurate, as actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements.  Mountain Province undertakes no obligation to update forward-looking statements if circumstances or management's estimates or opinions should change except as required by applicable securities laws.  The reader is cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements.  Statements concerning mineral reserve and resource estimates may also be deemed to constitute forward-looking statements to the extent they involve estimates of the mineralization that will be encountered as the property is developed.

Further, Mountain Province may make changes to its business plans that could affect its results.  The principal assets of Mountain Province are administered pursuant to a joint venture under which Mountain Province is not the operator.  Mountain Province is exposed to actions taken or omissions made by the operator within its prerogative and/or determinations made by the joint venture under its terms.  Such actions or omissions may impact the future performance of Mountain Province.  Under its current note and revolving credit facilities Mountain Province is subject to certain limitations on its ability to pay dividends on common stock.  The declaration of dividends is at the discretion of Mountain Province's Board of Directors, subject to the limitations under the Company's debt facilities, and will depend on Mountain Province's financial results, cash requirements, future prospects, and other factors deemed relevant by the Board.

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SOURCE Mountain Province Diamonds Inc.

View original content: http://www.newswire.ca/en/releases/archive/April2018/24/c5073.html

%CIK: 0001004530

For further information: Mountain Province Diamonds Inc., David Whittle, Interim President and CEO, 161 Bay Street, Suite 1410, Toronto, Ontario M5J 2S1, Phone: (416) 361-3562, E-mail: info@mountainprovince.com

CO: Mountain Province Diamonds Inc.

CNW 03:30e 24-APR-18