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Exhibit 99.1

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COMPANY CONTACTS:                      INVESTOR RELATIONS CONTACTS:
IMPAX Laboratories, Inc.               Lippert/Heilshorn & Associates, Inc.
Barry R. Edwards, CEO                  Kim Sutton Golodetz (kgolodetz@lhai.com)
(215) 933-0323 Ext. 4360               (212) 838-3777
Larry Hsu, Ph.D. President             Bruce Voss (bvoss@lhai.com)
(510) 476-2000 Ext. 1111               (310) 691-7100
Cornel C. Spiegler, CFO                www.lhai.com
(215) 289-2220 Ext. 1706
www.impaxlabs.com


                 IMPAX RECEIVES FINAL FDA APPROVAL FOR METFORMIN
                 HYDROCHLORIDE EXTENDED RELEASE TABLETS, 500 MG
                             NINTH APPROVAL IN 2004


HAYWARD, CALIF. (AUGUST 2, 2004) - IMPAX LABORATORIES, INC. (NASDAQ NM: IPXL) announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has granted final marketing approval to the Company's Abbreviated New Drug Application (ANDA) for its generic version of Glucophage XR(R), Metformin HCl Extended Release Tablets, 500mg. Bristol-Myers Squibb (NYSE: BMY) markets Glucophage XR(R) for the improvement of glycemic control in patients with type 2 diabetes. According to NDCHealth, U.S. market sales of Glucophage XR(R) 500mg and the other marketed generic versions were approximately $376 million in the 12 months ended June 30, 2004.

As announced on June 18, 2004, the Company has selectively waived its rights to its First to File Exclusivity for this product to Teva Pharmaceuticals USA Inc. who launched their product at that time. The Company will not manufacture or market its own product but will share in the profits of Teva's Metformin HCl Extended Release Tablets as provided for in the Strategic Alliance Agreement between IMPAX and Teva signed in June 2001.

IMPAX currently has 13 applications pending at the FDA, including five tentatively approved, which address approximately $4.9 billion in U.S. product sales for the twelve months ended June 30, 2004, based on NDCHealth data. Ten of these filings were made under Paragraph IV of the Hatch-Waxman Amendments.

IMPAX Laboratories, Inc. is a technology based specialty pharmaceutical company applying its formulation expertise and drug delivery technology to the development of controlled-release and specialty generics in addition to the development of branded products. IMPAX markets its generic products through its Global Pharmaceuticals division and intends to market its branded products through the IMPAX Pharmaceuticals division. Additionally, where strategically appropriate, IMPAX has developed marketing partnerships to fully leverage its technology platform. IMPAX Laboratories is headquartered in Hayward, California, and has a full range of capabilities in its Hayward and Philadelphia facilities. For more information, please visit the Company's Web site at: www.impaxlabs.com.
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"Safe Harbor" statement under the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995:

To the extent any statements made in this news release contain information that is not historical, these statements are forward-looking in nature and express the beliefs and expectations of management. Such statements are based on current expectations and involve a number of known and unknown risks and uncertainties that could cause Impax's future results, performance or achievements to differ significantly from the results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to, Impax's ability to obtain sufficient capital to fund its operations, the difficulty of predicting FDA filings and approvals, consumer acceptance and demand for new pharmaceutical products, the impact of competitive products and pricing, Impax's ability to successfully develop and commercialize pharmaceutical products, Impax's reliance on key strategic alliances, the uncertainty of patent litigation, the availability of raw materials, the regulatory environment, dependence on patent and other protection for innovative products, exposure to product liability claims, fluctuations in operating results and other risks detailed from time to time in Impax's filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Forward-looking statements speak only as to the date on which they are made, and Impax undertakes no obligation to update publicly or revise any forward-looking statement, regardless of whether new information becomes available, future developments occur or otherwise.


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