Exhibit 99.2

PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT

September 17, 2009

(To Prospectus dated April 3, 2009)

9,600,000 Shares of our Common Stock

We are offering directly to selected investors 9,600,000 shares of our common stock pursuant to this prospectus supplement and the accompanying prospectus. The common stock is being offered at a per share purchase price of $3.90.

Our common stock is listed on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol “HW.” The last reported sale price of our common stock on the New York Stock Exchange on September 16, 2009 was $4.44 per share.

We are offering these shares of common stock on a best efforts basis to certain institutional investors. We have retained Canaccord Adams Inc. as our lead placement agent and Stephens Inc. and Avondale Partners, LLC as our co-placement agents in connection with this offering.

Investing in our common stock involves a high degree of risk. Before buying any shares, you should read the discussion of material risks of investing in our common stock in “Risk Factors” beginning on page S-2 of this prospectus supplement.

	Per Share	Total
Public Offering Price	$3.90	$37,440,000
Placement Agents’ Fees	$0.23	$2,246,400
Proceeds, before expenses, to us	$3.67	$35,193,600

We expect the total offering expenses, excluding the placement agency fee, to be approximately $600,000. Because there is no minimum offering amount required as a condition to closing in this offering, the actual public offering amount, placement agents’ fees and net proceeds to us in this offering are not presently determinable and may be substantially less than the total maximum offering amounts set forth above. The placement agents are not required to place any specific number or dollar amount of shares of common stock offered in this offering, but will use their best efforts to place the common stock. The placement agents are not purchasing or selling any shares of common stock pursuant to this prospectus supplement or the accompanying prospectus.

Neither the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) nor any state securities commission has approved or disapproved of these securities or determined if this prospectus supplement is accurate or complete. Any representation to the contrary is a criminal offense.

Canaccord Adams

Stephens Inc.	Avondale Partners

The date of this prospectus supplement is September 17, 2009.

You should rely only on the information contained or incorporated by reference in this prospectus supplement and the accompanying prospectus. We have not authorized any other person to provide you with different information. If anyone provides you with different or inconsistent information, you should not rely on it.

This prospectus supplement does not constitute an offer to sell, or a solicitation of an offer to buy, any of the common stock offered hereby by any person in any jurisdiction in which it is unlawful for such person to make such an offer or solicitation. You should assume the information appearing in this prospectus supplement, the accompanying prospectus and the documents incorporated by reference is accurate only as of those documents’ respective dates. Our business, financial condition, results of operations and prospects may have changed since those dates.

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ABOUT THIS PROSPECTUS SUPPLEMENT

These offering materials consist of two documents: (a) this prospectus supplement, which describes the terms of this common stock offering, and (b) the accompanying prospectus, which provides general information about us and our securities, some of which does not apply to the common stock that we are currently offering. The information in this prospectus supplement replaces any inconsistent information included in the accompanying prospectus. To the extent the description of this offering varies between this prospectus supplement and the accompanying prospectus, you should rely on the information contained in or incorporated by reference in this prospectus supplement. See “About this Prospectus” in the accompanying prospectus.

SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

Some of the statements in this prospectus supplement and the documents incorporated by reference into this prospectus supplement, constitute forward-looking statements (as such term is defined in Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934). These statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause our or our industry’s results, levels of activity, or achievements to be materially different from any future results, levels of activity or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. For a discussion of the factors that could cause actual results to differ from expectations, please see the risk factors described herein.

In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “intend,” “expect,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “predict,” “potential” or “continue,” or the negative of such terms or other comparable terminology.

Although we believe that the expectations reflected in the forward-looking statements are reasonable, we cannot guarantee future results, events, levels of activity, performance or achievements. Except as may be required by law, we undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statements for any reason, even if new information becomes available or other events occur in the future.

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

Our senior credit facilities consist of a first lien term loan (due April 2011) in the amount of $197.5 million and $32.7 million of borrowings under a revolving credit arrangement, which had an original maturity date of September 8, 2009. We are currently negotiating the documentation for a new asset based revolver (the “ABL Facility”) to replace the existing revolving credit facility. The lenders of the existing revolving credit facility have agreed to extend the maturity to September 30, 2009 to allow for completion of the ABL Facility. The ABL Facility will provide for a first lien security interest in certain receivables and inventory and a second lien security interest in other assets. We expect the ABL Facility to provide for up to $70 million in revolving borrowings, subject to the commitments of the lenders and certain required reserves. The ABL Facility is expected to have a four year term. While we expect the ABL Facility to be completed prior to the extended maturity of the revolving credit facility, there can be no assurance that we will complete the ABL Facility or, if completed, what will constitute the final terms of any transaction.

We are also considering long term solutions to generate liquidity for payment of the first lien term loan (maturity of April 2011), our $71.8 million in aggregate principal amount of 2 7/8% convertible subordinated notes due 2016 (which may be put to us in June 2011) and our $48.3 million in aggregate principal amount of 16% convertible subordinated notes due 2016 (which may be put to us in June 2012). In order to repay this debt, in addition to cash generated from operations, we may consider issuing high yield or other forms of debt, asset dispositions and additional equity transactions, either in the short or long-term. Any indebtedness we incur to recapitalize existing indebtedness will likely have a higher interest rate than our existing indebtedness.

RISK FACTORS

Risks Relating To Our Business

The building products industry is experiencing a severe downturn that may continue for an indefinite period into the future. Because the markets for our building products are heavily dependent on the residential construction and remodeling market, our revenues could decrease as a result of events outside our control that impact home construction and home improvement activity, including economic factors specific to the building products industry.

Since 2007, there has been a severe slowing of new housing starts and in home sales generally. Bank foreclosures have put a large number of homes into the market for sale, effectively limiting some of the incentives to build new homes. The homebuilding industry continues to experience a significant and sustained decrease in demand for new homes and an oversupply of new and existing homes available for sale since 2007. While our residential building products business relies upon the home improvement and remodeling markets as well as new construction, we have experienced a slow down in sales activity in 2008 and 2009. Interest rate increases, limits on credit availability, further foreclosures, home price depreciation, and an oversupply of homes for sale in the market may adversely affect homeowners’ ability or desire to engage in construction or remodeling, resulting in a continued or further slowdown in new construction or remodeling and repair activities.

We, like many others in the building products industry, experienced a large drop in orders and a reduction in our margins in 2008 and 2009 relative to prior years. For the past three years, we have recorded significant goodwill impairments associated with our building products business. We can provide no assurances that the building products market will improve in the near future. We expect weakness to continue through 2009 and into 2010 and have an adverse affect on our business and our results of operations.

The construction markets are seasonal. The majority of our building products sales are in the residential construction market, which tends to slow down in the winter months. If there is more severe weather than normal, or other events outside of our control, there may be a negative effect on our revenues if we are not able to increase market share.

The recent financial crisis could negatively affect our business, results of operations, and financial condition. Market conditions in the mortgage lending and mortgage finance industries deteriorated significantly in 2008 and 2009, which adversely affected the availability of credit for home purchasers and remodelers.

The recent financial crisis affecting the banking system and financial markets and the going concern threats to banks and other financial institutions have resulted in a tightening in the credit markets, a low level of liquidity in many financial markets, including mortgages and home equity loans, and extreme volatility in credit and equity markets. Further tightening of mortgage lending or mortgage financing requirements could adversely affect the availability of credit for purchasers of our products and thereby reduce our sales. There could be a number of follow-on effects from the credit crisis on our business, including the inability of prospective homebuyers or remodelers to obtain credit to finance the purchase of our building products. These and other similar factors could:

•	cause delay or decisions to not undertake new home construction or improvement projects,

•	cause our customers to delay or decide not to purchase our building products,

•	lead to a decline in customer transactions and our financial performance.

Our building products business has been strengthened by the sales growth of new products. If we are unable to continue to successfully expand our new product sales, our revenue growth may be adversely affected.

Our growth strategy includes the introduction of new building products by our Home Building Products division (“HBP”). Part of our revenues has come from sales in new product categories. New products require

capital for development, manufacturing, and acquisition activities. If we are unable to sustain new product sales growth, whether for lack of access to adequate capital or for other reasons, sales will follow the general industry slow down in new residential construction and remodeling activity, which will negatively affect our revenue and growth.

Demand for our building products may decrease because of changes in customer preferences or because competing products gain price advantages. If demand for our products decline, our revenues will decrease.

Our building products are subject to reductions in customer demand for reasons such as changes in preferred home styles and appearances. Many of our resin-based accessory products are complementary to an owner’s choice of vinyl as a siding material. If sales of vinyl siding decrease, sale of our accessories will also decrease. Similarly, sales of our architectural stone products are dependent on the continuing popularity of stone finishes.

Demand for our building products can also go down if competing products become relatively less expensive. For example, if costs of petroleum based resins that are used to make vinyl siding and accessories increase faster than the costs of stucco, then stucco products, which we do not sell, will become more attractive from a price standpoint, and our vinyl siding and accessory sales will be decreased. If demand for our building products declines because of changes in the popularity or price advantages of our products, our revenues will be adversely affected.

A significant increase in the price of materials used in the production of our building products that cannot be passed on to customers could have a significant adverse effect on our net income. Furthermore, we depend upon limited sources for certain key production materials, the interruption of which would materially disrupt our ability to manufacture and supply products, resulting in lost revenues and the potential loss of customers.

Our architectural stone manufacturing processes require key production materials including cement, oxides, packaging materials, and certain types of rubber-based products. The suppliers of these materials may experience capacity or supply constraints in meeting market demand that limit our ability to obtain needed production materials on a timely basis or at expected prices. We have no long-term contracts with such suppliers. We do not currently maintain large inventories of production materials and alternative sources meeting our requirements could be difficult to arrange in the short term. A significant increase in the price of these materials that cannot be passed on to customers could have a significant adverse effect on our cost of sales and net income. Additionally, our manufacturing and ability to provide products to its customers could be materially disrupted if this supply of materials was interrupted for any reason. Such an interruption and the resulting inability to supply our architectural stone customers with products could adversely impact our revenues and our relationships with our customers.

Certain of our home accessory products are manufactured from polypropylene, which material is sold to us by a single supplier. The price of polypropylene is primarily a function of manufacturing capacity, demand and the prices of petrochemical feedstocks, crude oil and natural gas liquids. Historically, the market price of polypropylene has fluctuated, and significantly increased in 2008 and 2009. A significant increase in the price of polypropylene that cannot be passed on to customers could have a significant adverse effect on our cost of sales and net income. There is no long-term contract with our polypropylene supplier. We do not maintain large inventories of polypropylene and alternative sources meeting our requirements could be difficult to arrange in the short term. Therefore, our manufacturing and ability to provide products to our customers could be materially disrupted if this supply of polypropylene was interrupted for any reason. Such an interruption and the resulting inability to supply our resin-based accessory customers with products could adversely impact our revenues and potentially our relationships with our customers.

Interruption of our ability to immediately ship individual or custom product orders could harm our reputation and result in lost revenues if customers turn to other sources for products.

Our building products business is highly dependent upon rapid shipments to contractors and distributors throughout the United States of individual orders, a large portion of which orders are manufactured upon demand

to meet customer specifications. If there is significant interruption of business at any of our manufacturing plants or with our computer systems that track customer orders and production, we are at risk of harming its reputation for speed and reliability with important customers and losing short-term and long-term revenues if these customers turn to other sources.

HBP’s revenues would be materially adversely affected if it lost one or more of its three major customers.

Three customers of our resin-based accessory products together accounted for approximately 29% of HBP’s revenues for such products in the fiscal year ended September 30, 2008. There are no long-term contracts in place with these customers. Accordingly, a loss of or significant decrease in demand from these customers would have a material adverse effect on our business.

If Headwaters Resources Inc.’s coal-fueled electric utility industry suppliers fail to provide it with high-value coal combustion products (“CCPs”) because of environmental regulations or otherwise, its costs could increase and supply could decrease, hindering growth or decreasing our revenue.

Headwaters Resources Inc. (“HRI”) relies on the production of CCPs by coal-fueled electric utilities. HRI has occasionally experienced delays and other problems in obtaining high-value CCPs from its suppliers and may in the future be unable to obtain high-value CCPs on the scale and within the time frames required by HRI to meet customers’ needs. Following the judicial invalidation of the Clean Air Mercury Rule under the 1990 Clean Air Act Amendments, additional technologies at power plants may be required by future regulation or legislation, in order to achieve reductions in mercury emissions, that could negatively affect fly ash quality. For example, future regulations could require activated carbon to be injected into power plant exhaust gases to capture mercury. This process may increase the carbon collected with the fly ash and may make the fly ash undesirable for concrete. Carbon removal processes are technically challenging and expensive. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) has announced that new regulations to control mercury emissions from power plants may be proposed in 2010.

Increasing concerns about greenhouse gas or other emissions from burning coal at electricity generation plants could lead to federal or state regulations that encourage or require utilities to burn less or eliminate coal in the production of electricity. Congress and the Obama Administration are currently engaged in developing federal climate change legislation, while EPA’s ANPR Regulating Greenhouse Gas Emissions Under the Clean Air Act and its April 2009 proposed finding of “endangerment” to public health and welfare from greenhouse gases in the atmosphere signal the start of regulatory efforts to reduce greenhouse gases. Some states have also adopted or are developing climate change legislation and/or regulations as well. Such legislation and/or regulations could reduce the supply of fly ash and other CCPs. If HRI is unable to obtain CCPs or if it experiences a delay in the delivery of high-value or quality CCPs, HRI will have a reduced supply of CCPs to sell or may be forced to incur significant unanticipated expenses to secure alternative sources or to otherwise maintain supply to customers. Moreover, revenues could be adversely affected if CCP sales volumes cannot be maintained or if customers choose to find alternatives to HRI’s products.

Headwaters’ coal ash business is dependent upon the management, recovery and processing of coal combustion products and coal combustion wastes from its clients, typically coal-burning power plants. EPA has announced its intention, by the end of 2009, to propose new regulations governing management and storage of coal ash wastes in landfills and surface impoundments and to determine whether to continue to regulate coal ash as a non-hazardous solid waste (Subtitle D) or as a hazardous solid waste (Subtitle C) under the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act. EPA initially considered regulating coal ash from large utility boilers as a hazardous waste in 1993, but declined to do so after the electric utility industry protested that the action would impose excessive and unjustified costs. EPA reaffirmed this 1993 determination in 2000 for coal ash and other fossil fuel combustion wastes. Following a major spill of coal ash from a surface impoundment in Tennessee in December 2008, there is again mounting pressure on EPA to regulate coal ash as a hazardous waste. If EPA does so, coal ash would become subject to a variety of hazardous waste regulations and the cost of

handling, transporting, storing and disposing of the material would increase, thus increasing costs of coal ash management for the utility industry and for Headwaters. In addition, environmental groups have filed a notice of intent to sue EPA for failing to update effluent limitation guidelines under the Clean Water Act for coal-fired power plants, to limit discharges of toxic metals from handling of coal combustion waste. EPA subsequently announced its intention to revise its existing standards to address toxic pollutants discharged from power plants, including discharges from coal ash ponds. If EPA adopts new Clean Water Act requirements, the cost of managing coal combustion waste would likely increase. These increased costs, the stigma associated with products labeled as hazardous and potential increased liabilities could make it less competitive to use coal ash in products. In addition, it is possible that there may be restrictions on incorporating coal ash in products that are used in a manner that constitutes “disposal” under applicable regulations (for example, concrete products that are placed in contact with the ground). However, when EPA previously considered regulating coal ash as a hazardous waste in 2000, it planned to exempt certain coal combustion wastes used for beneficial purposes, including beneficial construction applications such as use in concrete and concrete products, cement, roadbase and wall board. EPA may include such an exemption again in its upcoming proposal.

HRI primarily sells fly ash for use in concrete; if use of fly ash does not increase, HRI may not grow.

HRI’s growth has been and continues to be dependent upon the increased use of fly ash in the production of concrete. HRI’s marketing initiatives emphasize the environmental, cost and performance advantages of replacing portland cement with fly ash in the production of concrete. If HRI’s marketing initiatives are not successful, HRI may not be able to sustain its growth.

If portland cement or competing replacement products are available at lower prices than fly ash, our sales of fly ash as a replacement for portland cement in concrete products could suffer, causing a decline in HRI’s revenues and net income.

An estimated 76% of HRI’s revenues for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2008 were derived from the sale of fly ash as a replacement for portland cement in concrete products. At times, there may be an overcapacity of cement in regional markets, causing potential price decreases. The markets for HRI’s products are regional, in part because of the costs of transporting CCPs, and HRI’s business is affected by the availability and cost of competing products in the specific regions where it conducts business. If competing products become available at prices equal to or less than fly ash, HRI’s revenues and net income could decrease.

Because demand for CCPs sold by HRI is affected by fluctuations in weather and construction cycles, HRI’s revenues and net income could decrease significantly as a result of unexpected or severe weather or slowdowns in the construction industry.

HRI manages and markets CCPs and uses CCPs to produce building products. Utilities produce CCPs year-round. In comparison, sales of CCPs are generally keyed to construction market demands that tend to follow national trends in construction with predictable increases during temperate seasons and decreases during periods of severe weather. HRI’s CCP sales have historically reflected these seasonal trends, with the largest percentage of total annual revenues being realized in the quarters ended June 30 and September 30. Low seasonal demand normally results in reduced shipments and revenues in the quarters ended December 31 and March 31.

The CCP industry is cyclical because of its dependence on building construction and highway construction, including infrastructure repair, and is also affected by changes in general and local economic conditions. State construction budgets are affected adversely by economic downturns. HRI’s sales could significantly decrease as a result of a downturn in the economy in one or more markets that it serves.

The profitability of Headwaters Energy Service Corp. (“HES”) depends upon the operational success of a new business.

Because of the end of HES’s legacy alternative fuel licensing and chemical reagent sales business as of December 31, 2007, HES began development of its new coal cleaning business. By December 2008, HES had

acquired or completed construction on eleven coal cleaning facilities. To successfully operate its facilities, HES must produce and market a quality fuel, addressing operational issues including feedstock availability and cost, construction and operability of equipment, successful separation of minerals including ash, sulfur, and mercury, product moisture and Btu content, overall costs of operations, as well as marketing and sales of the finished product, which is generally of smaller particle size (called fines) and which may be more difficult to sell than run-of-mine coal. This is a new business for HES, and we have experienced difficulty in receiving or extracting our full requirements of feedstock at some facilities and softness in the price of our products. The profitability of HES depends on the ability of HES to increase production and sales of cleaned coal. If these facilities operate at low production levels or cannot produce fuel satisfactory to customers, revenues will be materially adversely affected.

Regulatory changes could reduce the demand for coal which may decrease the price for which HES can sell its clean coal product. In addition, a slowing economy may reduce demand for coal, adversely affecting our revenues.

Our clean coal revenues are dependent upon the demand for coal, particularly as a fuel for the production of electricity. Increasing concerns about greenhouse gas or other emissions from burning coal at power generation plants could lead to federal or state regulations that encourage or require utilities to burn less or eliminate coal in the production of electricity. Such regulations could reduce the demand for coal, which would adversely affect the prices at which HES could sell its clean coal product and decrease our revenues.

Coal is a commodity that can be produced and shipped worldwide. As the U.S. and worldwide economies slow, demand for coal as an energy source may decrease. In addition, some of our clean coal revenues come from the sale of metallurgical grade coal used in steel making. As economic growth slows, so will the demand for steel. Slower economic growth can therefore reduce the overall demand for coal, including metallurgical grade coal. This could reduce the prices for which we can sell clean coal, adversely affecting our revenues.

HES may not qualify for tax credits under Section 45 which will adversely affect our profitability.

Section 45 provides a tax credit for the production and sale of refined coal. To date, the Internal Revenue Service (“IRS”) has issued very little public guidance about how this tax credit program will be administered and the restrictions on the availability of such credits. Based on the language of Section 45, HES believes that the coal cleaning facilities are eligible for Section 45 refined coal tax credits. However, the ability to claim tax credits is dependent upon a number of conditions, including, but not limited to:

•	Placing facilities in service on or before December 31, 2008;

•	Producing a fuel from coal that is lower in NOx and either SOx or mercury emissions by the specified amount as compared to the emissions of the feedstock;

•	Producing a fuel at least 50% more valuable than the feedstock; and

•	Sale of the fuel to a third-party for the purpose of producing steam.

The IRS may challenge Section 45 tax credits claimed by HES, under which we have recognized a total benefit of approximately $8.2 million, based on any one of these or other conditions. In addition, Congress may modify or repeal Section 45 so that these tax credits may not be available in the future. If HES is not successful in claiming Section 45 credits from our coal cleaning facilities, our profitability will be materially adversely affected.

If the IRS is successful in its challenges of Section 45K tax credits claimed by us, we may be subject to increased tax liabilities which will materially adversely affect our income and accounting reserves.

Section 45K provides a tax credit for the production and sale of alternative fuels from coal. The IRS is challenging by audit whether HES satisfied the requirements of Section 45K, including placed-in-service

requirements, and is seeking to disallow Section 45K tax credits claimed by us. The outcome of such audits, appeals, and any tax litigation is uncertain. In the event that the IRS is ultimately successful in sustaining its challenge to tax credits claimed by us, we will have an increased tax liability which will materially adversely affect our income and accounting reserves. The IRS has recently concluded its field review of our 2005-2006 tax years, and has asserted objections to approximately $21.5 million in tax credits relating to synthetic coal facilities owned by us, which, if sustained in full, could result in payment of up to $15.1 million of additional taxes, excluding penalties and interest. The audit review is in its early stages and we are preparing our responses to the IRS. Should the IRS prevail with respect to its assertions relating to the 2005-2006 tax years, it is also possible that Section 45K tax credits that we have claimed for our 2007-2008 tax years will also be disallowed, which could result in a payment of $4.2 million of additional taxes for the 2007-2008 tax years, excluding penalties and interest.

The availability and price of corn purchased by Blue Flint Ethanol, LLC (“BFE”) can be affected by weather, disease, demand from other users of corn, government programs and other factors beyond BFE’s control. In addition, fluctuations in ethanol prices could adversely affect BFE’s ethanol revenues.

The availability and price of corn, the primary feedstock for BFE’s ethanol production, is subject to wide fluctuations due to unpredictable factors such as weather, plantings, crop disease, demand for corn from other users, government farm programs and policies, changes in demand resulting from population growth, and production of similar and competitive crops. There were wide fluctuations in the pricing of ethanol and corn in 2008. Ethanol pricing currently tracks corn pricing which tends to limit the upside price potential of ethanol. Increased demand and/or reduced supply of corn adversely affects our profitability by increasing the cost of raw materials used in BFE’s operations.

The ethanol and biodiesel industry in the U.S. has grown rapidly and our success will depend on whether demand for ethanol increases proportionately or if the increased production results in excess capacity. As of the end of 2008, it appears that the ethanol industry is producing product in excess of the market’s ability to blend, store, transport, sell and deliver ethanol-based fuels. This excess supply is putting downward pressure on the sales prices for ethanol to producers, and could adversely affect BFE’s revenues and operating results.

Environmental regulations aimed at reducing greenhouse gas emissions may also affect the market for ethanol-based fuel derived from corn. EPA’s low carbon fuel standard proposal contains a new biofuel lifecycle emissions analysis that, if the proposal is finalized, could impact the production of ethanol-based fuel derived from corn. In addition, California has adopted a new low carbon fuel standard with a lifecycle fuel analysis that could impact the sources of ethanol in fuel distributed in California.

Our senior secured credit facility contains financial covenants which we may not meet with our future financial results. In addition, covenant restrictions under our senior secured credit facility may limit our ability to operate our business in a manner required to sustain profitability and generate growth. If we breach any of our covenants, our senior secured lenders could call our debt and foreclose on our assets.

Our senior secured credit facilities set forth covenants requiring us to maintain specified financial ratios and to satisfy certain financial condition tests. The results of our future operations may not allow us to meet these covenants, or may require that we take action to reduce our debt or to act in a manner contrary to our business objectives.

In addition, our senior secured credit facilities, contain, among other things, covenants that may restrict our ability to finance future operations or capital needs, to acquire additional businesses or to engage in other business activities. The senior secured credit facilities impose specified limitations on joint venture investments and new acquisitions.

A breach of any of these covenants could result in a default under our senior secured credit facilities, in which event our lenders could elect to declare all amounts outstanding to be immediately due and payable. If we

are not able to repay our obligations when they become due or they are accelerated, the lenders could foreclose on our assets, and the value of our stock could be severely reduced or eliminated. In the past, we have from time to time obtained credit agreement amendments from our lenders to address covenant restrictions, including a recent amendment dated June 26, 2009, for the primary purpose of modifying the debt covenants and debt covenant ratios we are required to comply with through the term of the agreement. We may not be able to obtain amendments or waivers in the future. In addition, we have received an extension of our revolving credit facility to September 30, 2009 to allow for completion of an ABL facility (see “Recent Developments”).

Our new businesses, processes and technologies may not be successfully developed, operated and marketed, which could affect our future profitability.

Although we have developed or acquired many new businesses, processes and technologies (e.g., ethanol, heavy oil upgrading and coal cleaning), commercialization of these businesses and technologies are in early stages. Commercial success of these new businesses and technologies will depend on our ability to enter into agreements with customers, licensees and/or joint venturers to further develop and provide adequate funding to commercialize the new businesses and technologies, as well as to develop markets for the products and technologies. We may not be able to enter into these agreements and adequate funding may not be available to fully develop and successfully commercialize our new businesses and technologies. Further, we may not be able to profitably operate our new businesses or market our technologies or products produced from them.

Our growth requires continued investment of capital. If we cannot invest additional capital into new and existing businesses, we may not be able to sustain or increase our growth.

Our operations require both maintenance and growth capital. A key part of our business strategy has been to expand through complementary acquisitions, which has required significant capital. In addition, commercialization of our energy technologies, such as coal cleaning and heavy oil upgrading, has required and will require significant debt and equity commitments. In 2008 and 2009, we made significant investments in coal cleaning facilities and to secure coal feedstocks, financed with equity, debt, and other arrangements, and we expect to make additional such investments in future years. If we do not have sufficient capital to make equity investments in new projects and/or cannot find acceptable sources of debt financing, our growth may suffer.

Our building products and CCP businesses also require significant capital expenditures. Our senior secured credit facilities limit capital expenditures for all of Headwaters to $67.5 million for fiscal 2009, $60 million for fiscal 2010 and $55 million for fiscal 2011. We believe that we will need substantially all of these capital expenditure limitations in the respective fiscal years for maintenance, growth of existing businesses and new growth initiatives.

We are conducting business in China and other foreign countries, where intellectual property and other laws, as well as business conditions, may leave our intellectual property, products and technologies vulnerable to duplication by competitors and create uncertainties as to our legal rights against such competitors’ actions.

We have and expect to continue to license or otherwise make our technology, including our nanotechnology, heavy oil upgrading and coal liquefaction technology, available to entities in China and other foreign countries. There is a risk that foreign intellectual property laws will not protect our intellectual property to the same extent as under United States laws, leaving us vulnerable to competitors who may attempt to copy our products, processes or technologies. Further, the legal system of China is based on statutory law. Under this system, prior court decisions may be cited as persuasive authority but do not have binding precedential effect. Since 1979, the Chinese government has been developing a comprehensive system of commercial laws and considerable progress has been made in the promulgation of laws and regulations dealing with economic matters, such as corporate organization and governance, foreign investment, commerce, taxation and trade. As these laws, regulations and legal requirements are relatively new and because of the limited volume of published case law and judicial interpretations and the non-binding nature of prior court decisions, the interpretation and enforcement of these

laws, regulations and legal requirements involve some uncertainty. These uncertainties could limit the legal protection or recourse available to us. In addition, dependence on foreign licenses and conducting foreign operations may subject us to increased risk from political change, ownership issues or repatriation or currency exchange concerns.

Significant increases in energy and transportation costs that cannot be passed on to customers could have a significant adverse effect on net income.

We purchase a significant amount of energy from various sources to conduct our operations, including fossil fuels and electricity for production of building products and diesel fuel for distribution of our products and for production-related vehicles. In addition, fuel cost increases have increased truck and rail carrier transportation costs for our products. Fuel cost increases have in the past and may in the future adversely affect the results of our operations and our financial condition. Prices and availability of all petroleum products are subject to political, economic and market factors that are generally outside of our control.

We operate in industries subject to significant environmental regulation, and compliance with and changes in regulation could add significantly to the costs of conducting business.

The coal-based operations of HES and the CCP operations of HRI and their respective customers and licensees, together with projects such as the ethanol plant and the operations of a hydrogen peroxide plant in Korea, are subject to federal, state, local and international environmental regulations that impose limitations on the discharge of pollutants into the air and water and establish standards for the treatment, storage and disposal of waste products, which add to the costs of doing business and expose us to potential fines for non-compliance. If the costs of environmental compliance increase for any reason, we may not be able to pass on these costs to customers. In order to establish and operate the alternative fuel plants, coal cleaning plants, power plants and operations to collect and transport CCPs and bottom ash, we and our customers have obtained various state and local permits and must comply with processes and procedures that have been approved by regulatory authorities. Any failure to comply could result in the issuance of substantial fines and penalties and cause us to incur environmental liabilities.

Certain HBP manufacturing operations are also subject to environmental regulations and permit requirements. If HBP and its subsidiaries and affiliates cannot obtain or maintain required environmental permits for their existing and planned manufacturing facilities in a timely manner or at all, they may be subject to additional costs and/or fines.

The ethanol industry sector manufactures ethanol, principally from industrial corn. Ethanol production facilities can emit volatile organic compounds and carbon monoxide into the air. In 2002, EPA began investigating a suspected pattern of noncompliance with the Prevention of Significant Deterioration/New Source Review (“PSD/NSR”) requirements of the Clean Air Act within the ethanol industry. The Clean Air Act’s NSR program requires a source to install pollution controls and undertake other preconstruction obligations to control air pollution emissions. Subsequent investigations of several companies in the ethanol industry found them to be in violation for failure to obtain either PSD or minor source permits for new construction and/or modifications made at their facilities. EPA has negotiated consent decrees with several companies to bring their ethanol plants into compliance with the air pollution requirements. Our ethanol production facility located at the GRE Coal Creek pulverized coal electric power station near Underwood, North Dakota, is subject to air pollution permitting and emission control regulatory requirements. If this facility cannot maintain required environmental permits or maintain compliance with environmental regulations, it may be subject to additional costs and/or fines.

HTI’s ordinary course of business requires using its facilities to perform research and development activities involving coal, oil, chemicals and energy technologies, including liquefaction of coal. As a result, petroleum and other hazardous materials have been and are present in and on HTI’s properties. Regulatory noncompliance or accidental discharges, fires, or explosions, in spite of safeguards, could create environmental or safety liabilities.

Therefore, our operations entail risk of environmental damage and injury to people, and we could incur liabilities in the future arising from the discharge of pollutants into the environment, waste disposal practices, or accidents.

We are involved in litigation and claims for which we incur significant costs and are exposed to significant liability.

We are a party to some significant legal proceedings and are subject to potential claims regarding operation of our business. These proceedings will require that we incur substantial costs, including attorneys’ fees, managerial time and other personnel resources and costs in pursuing resolution, and adverse resolution of these proceedings could result in our payment of damages, materially adversely affect our income and reserves and damage our reputation. With respect to the cases referred to in Note 14 to the 2008 consolidated financial statements, the amount of damages described below is being sought by the counter parties. To date, we have reserved $1 million in the aggregate for potential damages in these matters.

Boynton: Boynton has been an ongoing litigation since 2000 with both trial court and appellate court proceedings. Boynton originally sought declaratory relief as well as compensatory damages in the approximate amount of $43 million plus prejudgment interest and punitive damages. On June 22, 2009, a jury reached a verdict against us in a trial in the amount of $8.7 million for eight named plaintiffs representing a portion of the class members. The jury also reached a verdict on certain liability issues and an advisory verdict against us on damages of up to $12.7 million on behalf of the balance of the class members. We expect that there will be further trial court proceedings to resolve an equitable claim as to all members of the class and the remaining legal issues as to the unnamed class members. It is not expected that a final judgment will be entered by the trial court until all issues are concluded in the coming months. Once entered, the parties may seek relief from judgment by motion to the trial court and by appeal from the final judgment.

Ecologica Carmelo: Carmelo seeks compensatory damages in the approximate amount of $12.3 million.

Mainland Laboratory: Mainland seeks compensatory damages in the approximate amount of $23.0 million, as well as an enhancement of any damages award based on the alleged willful infringement by HRI of its patent. Although the court has invalidated the patent underlying the claim by Mainland, this litigation remains pending.

Coalco Corporation. In January 2009, Coalco filed a complaint alleging that we breached an agreement to pay certain fees to Coalco in connection with Coalco assisting us in identifying financing sources for synthetic fuel manufacturing projects. Coalco seeks damages in the principal amount of approximately $20.8 million, plus approximately $2.7 million in interest, plus attorneys’ fees, and other costs. We filed a counterclaim against the plaintiffs and their principals claiming breach of contract and related claims for failure to pay trade receivables in the amount of $3.8 million due to us by an affiliate of Coalco.

J. Hall Inc. In June 2009, J. Hall, Inc. and RC Trucking, Inc. filed a complaint against several parties, including Covol Fuels No. 3, LLC, one of our subsidiaries. Hall and RC are seeking damages of $0.7 million for a breach of contract claim. Covol subsequently filed a counterclaim against Hall in the amount of $0.6 million and also seeks monetary damages against RC for amounts less than $0.1 million.

Fentress Families Trust: VFL Technology Corporation (“VFL”), a subsidiary acquired by HRI in 2004, provided fly ash management and disposal services to Virginia Electric and Power Company. A large group of homeowners living in the City of Chesapeake, Virginia, have prepared a complaint filed in the State of Virginia Circuit Court naming as defendants Virginia Electric and Power Company, certain persons associated with the Battlefield Golf Course, including the owner, developer, and contractors, and others, including VFL and Headwaters. The complaint alleges that fly ash used to construct the golf course has contaminated area ground water. The complaint alleges multiple causes of action and seeks unspecified damages and injunctive relief. Headwaters was recently served with a complaint in this matter. The matter is still at an early stage of assessment.

Redbird Mountain Coal Company. In December 2008, Covol Fuels No. 3, LLC, one of our subsidiaries, and Yukon Coal Company, LLC, an affiliate of Redbird Mountain Coal Company, LLC, entered into an Amended and Restated Coal Purchase and Refuse Recovery Agreement (“Amended Purchase Agreement”), pursuant to which Covol spent in excess of $25 million to construct an on-site coal processing facility on land leased to Redbird. Following a bankruptcy filing in June 2009, Redbird marketed the sale of its lease to the land that includes the on-site coal processing facility, claiming the leasehold interest included the coal processing facility. In July 2009, Covol filed an adversary proceeding seeking declaratory judgment that it has exclusive ownership of the on-site coal processing facility, and in the alternative a claim for unjust enrichment against Redbird. Redbird subsequently filed a counter claim that Covol has no right or interest in the coal processing facility and a claim with the bankruptcy court to reject the Amended Purchase Agreement. A trial regarding this matter is scheduled to begin in November 2009.

We have ongoing litigation and claims incurred during the normal course of business, including the items referred to above. We intend to vigorously defend and/or pursue our rights in these actions. We do not currently believe that the outcome of these actions will have a material adverse effect on our operations, cash flows or financial position; however, it is possible that a change in the estimates of probable liability could occur, and the change could be significant.

We have significant competition in our industries which may cause demand for our products and services to decrease.

We experience significant competition in all of our segments and geographic regions. A failure to compete effectively or increased competition could lead to price cuts, reduced gross margins and loss of market share, which could decrease our profitability. Many of our competitors have greater financial, management and other resources than us and may be able to take advantage of acquisitions and other opportunities more readily. In certain instances we must compete on the basis of superior products and services rather than price, thereby increasing the costs of marketing our services to remain competitive. See our Form 10-K, ITEM 1, “Business—Competition,” for more information on the competition faced by us in all of our segments.

Our business strategy to diversify and grow through acquisitions may result in integration costs, poor performance and dilution to existing stockholders.

An important aspect of our business strategy has been and continues to be diversification and growth through acquisitions. Our ability to successfully implement our strategy is subject to a number of risks, including difficulties in identifying acceptable acquisition candidates, consummating acquisitions on favorable terms and obtaining adequate financing, which may adversely affect our ability to develop new products and services and to compete in our markets. In addition, if we consummate acquisitions through an exchange of our securities, our existing stockholders could suffer dilution.

If we do not successfully integrate newly acquired businesses with our existing businesses, we may not realize the expected benefits of the acquisitions, and the resources and attention required for successful integration may interrupt the business activities of acquired businesses and our existing businesses. Successful management and integration of acquisitions are subject to a number of risks, including difficulties in assimilating acquired operations, loss of key employees, diversion of management’s attention from core business operations, assumption of contingent liabilities, incurrence of potentially significant write-offs, and various employee issues, such as issues related to human resource benefit plans, and an increase in employment and discrimination claims and claims for workers’ compensation. Each business acquisition also requires us to expand our operational and financial systems, which increases the complexity of our information technology systems. Implementation of controls, systems and procedures may be costly and time-consuming and may not be effective. This strategy may not improve our operating results and acquisitions may have a dilutive effect on existing stockholders.

If our internal controls over financial reporting under Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act are not adequate, our reputation could be harmed and we could be subject to regulatory scrutiny, civil or criminal penalties or stockholder litigation.

Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 requires that we evaluate and report on our system of internal controls. If we fail to maintain the adequacy of our internal controls, we could be subject to regulatory scrutiny, civil or criminal penalties or stockholder litigation. Any inability to provide reliable financial reports could harm our business. Section 404 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act also requires that our independent auditors report on our system of internal controls. We have documented and tested our system of internal controls to provide the basis for our reports in our relevant filings with the SEC. The growth and diversification of our business through acquisitions complicates the process of developing, documenting, maintaining and testing internal controls. No assurance can be given that in the future there may not be significant deficiencies or material weaknesses that would be required to be reported.

If we are unable to manage the growth of our business successfully, our revenues and business prospects could suffer.

We have experienced significant growth recently, both internally and through acquisitions. We may not be able to successfully manage the increased scope of our operations or a significantly larger and more geographically diverse workforce as we expand. Any failure to successfully manage growth could harm our business and financial results. Additionally, growth increases the demands on our management, our internal systems, procedures and controls. To successfully manage growth, we must add administrative staff and periodically update and strengthen our operating, financial and other systems, procedures and controls, which will increase our costs and may reduce our profitability. We may be unable to successfully implement improvements to our information and control systems in an efficient or timely manner and may discover deficiencies in existing or future systems and controls.

Unauthorized use of or infringement claims regarding our proprietary intellectual property could adversely affect our ability to conduct our business.

We rely primarily on a combination of trade secrets, patents, copyright and trademark laws and confidentiality procedures to protect our intellectual property. Despite these precautions, unauthorized third parties may misappropriate, infringe upon, copy or reverse engineer portions of our technology or products. We do not know if current or future patent applications will be issued with the scope of the claims sought, if at all, or whether any patents issued will be challenged or invalidated. Our business could be harmed if we infringe upon the intellectual property rights of others. We have been, and may be in the future, notified that we may be infringing intellectual property rights possessed by third parties. If any such claims are asserted against us, we may seek to enter into royalty or licensing arrangements. There is a risk in these situations that no license will be available or that a license will not be available on reasonable terms, precluding our use of the applicable technology. Alternatively, we may decide to litigate such claims or attempt to design around the patented technology. To date, while no single patent or trademark is material to our business and the issues described in this paragraph have not resulted in significant cost or had an adverse impact on our business, future actions could be costly and would divert the efforts and attention of our management and technical personnel.

Our capital structure affects our flexibility in responding to changing business and economic conditions and results in high interest costs.

As of June 30, 2009, we had approximately $530.7 million of total debt outstanding, including $227.5 million of senior indebtedness under our senior secured credit facilities (see “Recent Developments” for a description of the current status of replacement of our revolving credit facility with a new ABL Facility) and $303.2 million of our 2.50%, 2.875%, 14.75% and 16.0% convertible senior subordinated notes (the “Convertible Notes”). Following the exchange of a portion of our 2.875% and 16% convertible senior subordinated notes for

shares of common stock in July 2009, approximately $268.3 of the Convertible Notes remain outstanding. Subject to restrictions in our senior secured credit facility, we may also incur significant amounts of additional debt for working capital, capital expenditures and other purposes. Our combined debt total could have important consequences, including the following:

•

we may have difficulty borrowing money for working capital, capital expenditures, acquisitions or other purposes because of our existing debt load and because our current borrowings are secured by all of our assets;

•

we will need to use a large portion of our cash flow to pay interest and the required principal payments on our debt, which will reduce the amount of money available to finance our operations, capital expenditures and other activities; and

•	our senior secured credit facility has a variable rate of interest, which exposes us to the risk of increased interest rates

Our ability to make scheduled payments of the principal of, to pay interest on or to refinance our indebtedness depends on our future performance, which to a certain extent is subject to economic, financial, competitive and other factors beyond our control. Our business is not likely to generate cash flow from operations in the future sufficient to service our debt in its entirety within the presently scheduled maturity dates and make necessary capital expenditures. In addition to our cash flow from operations, we will be required to adopt one or more alternatives to generate additional liquidity to service our debt, such as selling assets, restructuring debt or obtaining additional equity capital on terms that may be onerous or highly dilutive. There can be no assurance that we will be able to complete any such transactions.

Future lack of availability of debt or equity financing alternatives may limit our ability to enter into strategic transactions or to make important changes to our capital structure.

Recent months have seen a near collapse of markets in which we can obtain debt or equity financing. It is uncertain when these markets might recover and again be available to us. The lack of financing alternatives has reduced our ability to pursue and finance attractive acquisitions and investments, refinance existing debt, and change the mix and type of debt and equity in our capital structure. This lack of financing alternatives may continue to slow our growth and prohibit recapitalization well into the future.

Fluctuations in the value of currency can negatively affect our revenue and earnings.

Doing business internationally exposes us to risks related to the value of one currency compared to another. For example, some of our revenues are generated by sales of goods produced in the U.S. to buyers in foreign countries. If the U.S. dollar strengthens relative to the currency of foreign purchasers, the relative cost of our goods to such purchasers will go up, and the demand for our products will decrease, reducing our revenues. Also, in cases where our debt or other obligations are in currencies different than the currency in which we earn revenue, we can lose money as a result of fluctuations in the exchange rates, decreasing our earnings.

Risks Related To Our Common Stock

The price of our common stock historically has been volatile. This volatility may affect the price at which you could sell your common stock, and the sale of substantial amounts of our common stock could adversely affect the price of our common stock.

The market price for our common stock has varied between a high of $16.40 in August 2008 and a low of $1.22 in March 2009 in the twelve month period ended June 30, 2009. This volatility may affect the price at which you could sell your common stock, and the sale of substantial amounts of our common stock could adversely affect the price of our common stock. Our stock price is likely to continue to be volatile and subject to significant price and volume fluctuations in response to market and other factors, including the other factors

discussed in “Risks Relating to Our Business;” variations in our quarterly operating results from our expectations or those of securities analysts or investors; downward revisions in securities analysts’ estimates; and announcement by us or our competitors of significant acquisitions, strategic partnerships, joint ventures or capital commitments.

In the past, following periods of volatility in the market price of their stock, many companies have been the subject of securities class action litigation. If we became involved in securities class action litigation in the future, it could result in substantial costs and diversion of our management’s attention and resources and could harm our stock price, business, prospects, results of operations and financial condition.

In addition, the broader stock market has experienced significant price and volume fluctuations in recent months and years. This volatility has affected the market prices of securities issued by many companies for reasons unrelated to their operating performance and may adversely affect the price of our common stock. In addition, our announcements of our quarterly operating results, changes in general conditions in the economy or the financial markets and other developments affecting us, our affiliates or our competitors could cause the market price of our common stock to fluctuate substantially.

In addition, the sale of substantial amounts of our common stock could adversely impact our stock price. As of June 30, 2009, we had outstanding approximately 42.3 million shares of our common stock and options to purchase approximately 1.9 million shares of our common stock (of which approximately 1.9 million were exercisable as of that date). Following the exchange of a portion of our 2 7/8% and 16% convertible senior subordinated notes for shares of common stock in July 2009, there were approximately 50.6 million shares of common stock outstanding. We also had outstanding approximately 3.2 million stock appreciation rights as of June 30, 2009, of which approximately 0.5 million were exercisable. The sale or the availability for sale of a large number of shares of our common stock in the public market could cause the price of our common stock to decline.

The issuance of additional shares of common stock may cause volatility in our stock price and will dilute the ownership interest of existing stockholders.

We may issue up to approximately 10 million shares of common stock in connection with the offering. The issuance of these new shares in the offering, or future sales of additional shares of common stock, or securities convertible into or exchangeable for shares of common stock, could depress the price of our common stock and will dilute the ownership interests of existing stockholders.

We may issue debt and equity securities or securities convertible into equity securities, any of which may be senior to our common stock as to distributions and in liquidation, which could negatively affect the value of our common stock.

In the future, we may attempt to increase our capital resources by entering into debt or debt-like financing that is unsecured or secured by all or up to all of our assets, or by issuing additional debt or equity securities. In the event of our liquidation, our lenders and holders of our debt and preferred securities would receive a distribution of our available assets before distributions to the holders of our common stock. Because our decision to incur debt and issue securities in our future offerings will depend on market conditions and other factors beyond our control, we cannot predict or estimate the amount, timing or nature of our future offerings and debt financings. Further, market conditions could require us to accept less favorable terms for the issuance of our securities in the future.

We have never paid dividends and do not anticipate paying any dividends on our common stock in the future, so any short-term return on your investment will depend on the market price of our common stock.

We currently intend to retain any earnings to finance our operations and growth. The terms and conditions of our senior secured credit facility restrict and limit payments or distributions in respect of our common stock.

Delaware law and our charter documents may impede or discourage a takeover, which could cause the market price of our shares to decline.

We are a Delaware corporation, and the anti-takeover provisions of Delaware law impose various impediments to the ability of a third party to acquire control of us, even if a change in control would be beneficial to our existing stockholders. In addition, our board of directors has the power, without stockholder approval, to designate the terms of one or more series of preferred stock and issue shares of preferred stock, including the adoption of a “poison pill,” which could be used defensively if a takeover is threatened. The ability of our board of directors to create and issue a new series of preferred stock and certain provisions of Delaware law and our certificate of incorporation and bylaws could impede a merger, takeover or other business combination involving us or discourage a potential acquirer from making a tender offer for our common stock, which, under certain circumstances, could reduce the market price of our common stock.

CAPITALIZATION

The following table sets forth our capitalization as of June 30, 2009:

•	on an actual basis;

•

on an as adjusted basis to give effect to the exchange of approximately $15.0 million of our 16% convertible senior subordinated notes for approximately 3.5 million shares of common stock and the exchange of approximately $19.8 million of our 2 7/8% convertible senior subordinated notes for approximately 4.8 million shares of common stock, both of which closed in July 2009; and

•

on a pro forma as adjusted basis after giving effect to the sale by us of 9,600,000 shares of common stock in this offering, at a price of $3.90, and after deducting assumed sales commissions and estimated offering expenses, and the application of the net proceeds to repay a portion of our existing senior secured debt. See “Use of Proceeds.”

You should read this table in conjunction with our consolidated financial statements and the notes related to those financial statements incorporated by reference herein.

	As of June 30, 2009
	Actual	As Adjusted	Pro Forma As Adjusted
	(in thousands)
Cash and cash equivalents	$14,016	$14,016	$13,416

Current portion of long-term debt	$30,000	$30,000	$30,000
Senior secured debt, excluding current portion	197,500	197,500	162,906
2 7/8% convertible senior subordinated notes due 2016 with put date of June 2011	91,640	71,795	71,795
16% convertible senior subordinated notes due 2016 with put date of June 2012	63,286	48,277	48,277
2.50% convertible senior subordinated notes due 2014	120,900	120,900	120,900
14.75% convertible senior subordinated notes due 2014	27,370	27,370	27,370
Stockholders’ equity (in thousands except par value):
Common stock, $0.001 par value; 100,000 shares authorized, 42,294 shares issued and outstanding, including 228 shares held in treasury	42	51	60
Capital in excess of par value	511,291	568,575	603,160
Accumulated deficit	(265,462)	(287,901)	(287,901)
Treasury stock and other	(4,534)	(4,534)	(4,534)

Total stockholders’ equity	241,337	276,191	310,785

Total capitalization	$772,033	$772,033	$772,033

USE OF PROCEEDS

As required by the terms of our senior secured credit facilities, we will use the net proceeds from the sale of the securities offered in this prospectus supplement for the prepayment of a portion of existing first term loan indebtedness under our senior secured credit facilities, which consist of a first lien term loan in the amount of $197.5 million, plus $32.7 million outstanding under a revolving credit arrangement. As of June 30, 2009, the interest rate for the senior secured credit facilities was 9.75%. The first lien term loan matures in April 2011, and all amounts outstanding under the revolving credit arrangement must be repaid by September 30, 2009.

PRICE RANGE OF COMMON STOCK

The following table sets forth the high and low sales prices per share of our common stock as reported by the New York Stock Exchange for the periods indicated:

Fiscal Year	High	Low
2007:
First Quarter	$26.00	$21.22
Second Quarter	25.44	21.27
Third Quarter	22.94	16.71
Fourth Quarter	18.13	14.10

2008:
First Quarter	15.85	10.96
Second Quarter	14.00	8.80
Third Quarter	15.35	9.96
Fourth Quarter	16.40	9.26

2009:
First Quarter	13.48	3.92
Second Quarter	7.93	1.22
Third Quarter	5.08	2.22
Fourth Quarter, through September 16, 2009	4.72	2.66

DIVIDEND POLICY

We have never paid dividends on our common stock to date and do not intend to pay dividends in the foreseeable future. Pursuant to the terms of our senior secured credit facilities, we are prohibited from paying cash dividends so long as any of the long-term debt is outstanding. We intend to retain earnings to finance the development and expansion of our business. Payment of common stock dividends in the future will depend upon, among other things, our debt covenants, our ability to generate earnings, our need for capital, our investment opportunities and our overall financial condition.

PLAN OF DISTRIBUTION

We are offering the shares on a best efforts basis through Canaccord Adams Inc. (“Canaccord Adams”), the lead placement agent, and Stephens Inc. (“Stephens”) and Avondale Partners, LLC (“Avondale”), the co-placement agents. Canaccord Adams has agreed to act as the lead placement agent and Stephens and Avondale have agreed to act as co-placement agents for the sale of up to 9,600,000 shares of common stock, subject to the terms and conditions contained in a Placement Agency Agreement dated as of September 17, 2009 between us and the placement agents. The placement agents are not purchasing or selling any securities under this prospectus supplement or the accompanying prospectus, nor are they required to arrange for the purchase or sale of any specific number or dollar amount of shares.

The placement agency agreement provides that the obligations of the placement agents and the investors are subject to certain conditions precedent, including the absence of any material adverse changes in our business and the receipt of customary legal opinions, letters and certificates.

We will pay the placement agents an aggregate placement agent fee equal to six percent of the gross proceeds of the sale of shares of common stock in the offering, plus the reimbursement of expenses (including legal fees). The estimated offering expenses payable by us, in addition to the placement agents’ fee of $2,246,400, are approximately $600,000, which includes our legal and accounting costs, the placement agents’ expenses (including legal fees) and various other fees associated with registering and listing the common shares. After deducting certain fees due to the placement agents and our estimated offering expenses, we expect the net proceeds from this offering to be approximately $34.6 million.

We have agreed to indemnify the placement agents against certain liabilities, including liabilities under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and liabilities arising from breaches of representations and warranties contained in the placement agency agreement. We have also agreed to contribute to payments the placement agents may be required to make in respect of such liabilities.

We, along with our executive officers and directors, have agreed to certain lock-up provisions with regard to future sales of our common stock and other securities convertible into or exercisable or exchangeable for common stock for the period beginning on the closing date of the offering and ending 90 days thereafter with such 90 day period being extended in certain circumstances.

The placement agency agreement with the placement agents is included as an exhibit to our current report on Form 8-K that we have filed with the SEC in connection with this offering.

The transfer agent for our common shares to be issued in this offering is American Stock Transfer & Trust Company. Our common shares are traded on the New York Stock Exchange Global Market under the symbol “HW.”

In the ordinary course of their business, each placement agent and its affiliates may actively trade or hold our securities or our loans for their own accounts or for the accounts of customers and, accordingly, may at any time hold long or short positions in these securities or loans. In addition, from time to time, as a result of market making activities, each placement agent may own our common shares or other equity or debt securities issued by us or our affiliates.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE

The SEC permits us to “incorporate by reference” the information contained in documents we file with the SEC, which means that we can disclose important information to you by referring you to those documents rather than by including them in this prospectus. Information that is incorporated by reference is considered to be part of this prospectus and you should read it with the same care. Later information that we file with the SEC will automatically update and supersede the information that is either contained herein or incorporated by reference herein, and will be considered to be a part of this prospectus from the date such documents are filed. We have filed with the SEC, and incorporate by reference in this prospectus:

•

Our annual report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2008 filed with the SEC on November 21, 2008, including information specifically incorporated by reference into our Form 10-K from our Proxy Statement for our Annual Meeting of Stockholders held on March 3, 2009;

•	Our quarterly reports on Form 10-Q for the fiscal quarters ended December 31, 2008, March 31, 2009 and June 30, 2009 filed with the SEC on February 6, 2009, May 7, 2009 and August 5, 2009;

•

Our current reports on Form 8-K filed with the SEC on December 22, 2008, April 3, 2009, April 16, 2009, April 20, 2009, May 5, 2009 (excluding the information furnished in Item 2.02 thereof, which is not deemed filed and which is not incorporated by reference herein), June 29, 2009, July 24, 2009, July 31, 2009 and September 8, 2009; and

•

The description of our common stock, which is registered under Section 12 of the Exchange Act in our registration statement on Form 10-K/A, filed with the SEC on April 24, 1996, including any amendments or reports filed for the purpose of updating such description.

We also incorporate by reference all additional documents that we file with the SEC under the terms of Sections 13(a), 13(c), 14 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act, that are made after the date of this prospectus supplement and before the termination of any offering of securities offered by this prospectus supplement. Any statement contained in this prospectus supplement or in a document incorporated in, or deemed to be incorporated by reference to, this prospectus supplement shall be deemed to be modified or superseded, for purposes of this prospectus supplement, to the extent that a statement contained in any other subsequently filed document which also is incorporated in, or is deemed to be incorporated by reference to this prospectus modifies or supersedes such statement. Any such statement so modified or superseded shall not be deemed, except as so modified or superseded, to constitute a part of this prospectus.

LEGAL MATTERS

The validity of any securities offered by this prospectus will be passed upon for us by Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP, San Francisco, California. Certain matters will be passed upon for the placement agents by Choate Hall & Stewart LLP, Boston, Massachusetts.

EXPERTS

The consolidated financial statements of Headwaters Incorporated appearing in Headwaters Incorporated’s Annual Report (Form 10-K) for the year ended September 30, 2008 and the effectiveness of Headwaters Incorporated internal control over financial reporting as of September 30, 2008, have been audited by Ernst & Young LLP, independent registered public accounting firm, as set forth in their reports thereon included therein, and incorporated herein by reference. Such consolidated financial statements are incorporated herein by reference in reliance upon such reports given on the authority of such firm as experts in accounting and auditing.

WHERE YOU CAN FIND MORE INFORMATION

We are a reporting company and file annual, quarterly and current reports, proxy statements and other information with the Securities and Exchange Commission, or SEC. You may read and copy the registration statement and any document we file with the SEC at the public reference room maintained by the SEC at 100 F Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20549. You may obtain information on the operation of the public reference room by calling the SEC at 1-800-SEC-0330. Our filings with the SEC are also available to the public through the SEC’s Internet site at http://www.sec.gov and through the New York Stock Exchange, 20 Broad Street, New York, New York 10005, on which our common stock is listed.

PROSPECTUS

HEADWATERS INCORPORATED

Common Stock

Preferred Stock

Debt Securities

Warrants

Depositary Shares

Units

From time to time, we may offer up to $250,000,000 of any combination of the securities described in this prospectus, either individually or in units. We may also offer common stock or preferred stock upon conversion of debt securities, common stock upon conversion of preferred stock, or common stock, preferred stock or debt securities upon the exercise of warrants. Such securities may be offered and sold by us in one or more offerings with a total aggregate principal amount or initial purchase price not to exceed $250,000,000.

This prospectus provides a general description of these securities. We will provide specific information and the terms of the securities being offered in supplements to this prospectus. The supplements may also add, update or change information in this prospectus. Please read this prospectus and any prospectus supplements carefully before investing. This prospectus may not be used to sell securities unless accompanied by a prospectus supplement.

Our common stock is traded on the New York Stock Exchange under the symbol “HW.” On April 2, 2009, the last reported sale price for our common stock on the New York Stock Exchange was $3.55 per share.

This prospectus includes $17,860,088.50 in aggregate initial public offering price of securities that were previously registered pursuant to Registration Statement on Form S-3 (Registration No. 333-96919) filed on July 22, 2002 that were not sold thereunder.

Our principal executive offices are located at 10653 South River Front Parkway, Suite 300, South Jordan, Utah 84095, and our telephone number is (801) 984-9400.

We may offer these securities directly to investors, through agents, underwriters or dealers, on a continuous or delayed basis. See “Plan of Distribution.” Each prospectus supplement will provide the terms of the plan of distribution relating to each series of securities.

Investing in our securities involves risks that are described in our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K, and any subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, which are incorporated by reference into this prospectus or any applicable prospectus supplement.

Neither the Securities and Exchange Commission nor any state securities commission has approved or disapproved of these securities or passed upon the adequacy or accuracy of this prospectus. Any representation to the contrary is a criminal offense.

The date of this prospectus is April 3, 2009.

You should rely only on the information incorporated by reference or provided in this prospectus, any prospectus supplement and the registration statement. We have not authorized anyone else to provide you with different information. If anyone provides you with different or inconsistent information, you should not rely on it. We are not making an offer to sell these securities in any state where the offer or sale is not permitted. You should assume that the information in this prospectus and any prospectus supplement, or incorporated by reference, is accurate only as of the dates of those documents. Our business, financial condition, results of operations and prospects may have changed since those dates.

ABOUT THIS PROSPECTUS

This prospectus is part of a registration statement that we filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission using a “shelf” registration, or continuous offering, process. Under this shelf registration process, we may, from time to time, offer shares of our preferred stock, either separately or represented by depositary shares, common stock or warrants to purchase any of such securities, either individually or in units, and various series of debt securities, in one or more offerings, up to a total dollar amount of $250,000,000.

This prospectus provides you with a general description of the securities we may offer. The specific terms of any securities to be offered will be described in a prospectus supplement. Any prospectus supplement and any related free writing prospectus that we may authorize to be provided to you may also add, update or change information contained in this prospectus. Any statement that we make in this prospectus will be modified or superseded by any inconsistent statement made by us in a prospectus supplement. The registration statement we filed with the SEC includes exhibits that provide more detail on descriptions of the matters discussed in this prospectus. You should read this prospectus and the related exhibits filed with the SEC and any prospectus supplement, together with additional information described under the heading “Where You Can Find More Information.”

Unless the context otherwise requires, references in this prospectus and the accompanying prospectus supplement to “we,” “us” and “our” refer to Headwaters Incorporated and its subsidiaries.

HEADWATERS INCORPORATED

Headwaters Incorporated (“Headwaters”) is a diversified company providing products, technologies and services in three industries: building products, coal combustion products and energy.

Our principal executive offices are located at 10653 South River Front Parkway, Suite 300 South Jordan, Utah 84095. Our telephone number is (801) 984-9400. Headwaters has a website located at http://www.headwaters.com. The information on this website is not a part of this prospectus.

THE SECURITIES WE MAY OFFER

We may offer shares of our preferred stock, either separately or represented by depositary shares, common stock or warrants to purchase any of such securities, either individually or in units, and various series of debt securities, with a total value of up to $250,000,000 from time to time under this prospectus at prices and on terms to be determined by market conditions at the time of any offering. This prospectus provides you with a general description of the securities we may offer. Each time we offer a type or series of securities under this prospectus, we will provide a prospectus supplement that will describe the specific amounts, prices and other important terms of the securities, including, to the extent applicable:

•	designation or classification;

•	aggregate principal amount or aggregate offering price;

•	maturity, if applicable;

•	original issue discount, if any;

•	rates and times of payment of interest or dividends, if any;

•	redemption, conversion, exercise, exchange or sinking fund terms, if any;

•	ranking;

•	restrictive covenants, if any;

•	voting or other rights, if any;

•	conversion prices, if any; and

•	important U.S. federal income tax considerations.

The prospectus supplement and any related free writing prospectus that we may authorize to be provided to you may also add, update or change information contained in this prospectus or in documents we have incorporated by reference. However, no prospectus supplement or free writing prospectus will offer a security that is not registered and described in this prospectus at the time of the effectiveness of the registration statement of which this prospectus is a part.

RISK FACTORS

An investment in our securities involves a high degree of risk. Prior to making a decision about investing in our securities, you should carefully consider the specific risk factors discussed in the sections entitled “Risk Factors” contained in any applicable prospectus supplement and our filings with the SEC and incorporated by reference in this prospectus, together with all of the other information contained in this prospectus, or any applicable prospectus supplement. If any of the risks or uncertainties described in our SEC filings or any prospectus supplement or any additional risks and uncertainties actually occur, our business, financial condition and results of operations could be materially and adversely affected. In that case, the trading price of our securities could decline and you might lose all or part of your investment.

INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE

The SEC permits us to “incorporate by reference” the information contained in documents we file with the SEC, which means that we can disclose important information to you by referring you to those documents rather than by including them in this prospectus. Information that is incorporated by reference is considered to be part of this prospectus and you should read it with the same care. Later information that we file with the SEC will automatically update and supersede the information that is either contained herein or incorporated by reference herein, and will be considered to be a part of this prospectus from the date such documents are filed. We have filed with the SEC, and incorporate by reference in this prospectus:

•	our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended September 30, 2008, filed with the SEC on November 21, 2008;

•	Our Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended December 31, 2008, filed with the SEC on February 6, 2009;

•	our Current Reports on Form 8-K, filed with the SEC on December 22, 2008 and April 3, 2009; and

•	the description of our common stock contained in our amended Annual Report on Form 10-K/A, filed with the SEC on April 24, 1996.

We also incorporate by reference all additional documents that we file with the SEC under the terms of Sections 13(a), 13(c), 14 or 15(d) of the Exchange Act, that are made after the initial filing date of the registration statement of which this prospectus is a part and before the termination of any offering of securities offered by this prospectus. Any statement contained in this prospectus or in a document incorporated in, or deemed to be incorporated by reference to, this prospectus shall be deemed to be modified or superseded, for purposes of this prospectus, to the extent that a statement contained in

•	the prospectus;

•	the accompanying prospectus supplement; or

•	any other subsequently filed document which also is incorporated in, or is deemed to be incorporated by reference to this prospectus;

modifies or supersedes such statement. Any such statement so modified or superseded shall not be deemed, except as so modified or superseded, to constitute a part of this prospectus.

Upon your written or oral request of any or all of the documents incorporated by reference but not delivered with this prospectus, we will send to you the copies you requested at no charge. However, we will not send exhibits to such documents, unless such exhibits are specifically incorporated by reference in such documents. You should direct requests for such copies to the Corporate Secretary, Headwaters Incorporated, 10653 South River Front Parkway, Suite 300, South Jordan, Utah 84095. Our telephone number is (801) 984-9400.

WHERE YOU CAN FIND MORE INFORMATION

We are a reporting company and file annual, quarterly and current reports, proxy statements and other information with the Securities and Exchange Commission, or SEC. In addition, we have filed with the SEC a registration statement on Form S-3, of which this prospectus is a part, under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, with respect to the securities offered hereby. This prospectus does not contain all of the information set forth in the registration statement or the exhibits which are a part of the registration statement. You may read and copy the registration statement and any document we file with the SEC at the public reference room maintained by the SEC at 100 F Street, N.E., Washington, D.C. 20549. You may obtain information on the operation of the public reference room by calling the SEC at 1-800-SEC-0330. Our filings with the SEC are also available to the public through the SEC’s Internet site at http://www.sec.gov and through the New York Stock Exchange, 20 Broad Street, New York, New York 10005, on which our common stock is listed.

SPECIAL NOTE ABOUT FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS

Some of the statements in this prospectus, the documents incorporated by reference into this prospectus and in any prospectus supplement, constitute forward-looking statements (as such term is defined in Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934). . These statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause our or our industry’s results, levels of activity, or achievements to be materially different from any future results, levels of activity or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. For a discussion of the factors that could cause actual results to differ from expectations, please see the risk factors described in our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K, and any subsequent Quarterly Reports on Form 10-Q, which are incorporated by reference into this Prospectus.

In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “intend,” “expect,” “plan,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “estimate,” “predict,” “potential” or “continue,” or the negative of such terms or other comparable terminology.

Although we believe that the expectations reflected in the forward-looking statements are reasonable, we cannot guarantee future results, events, levels of activity, performance or achievements. Except as may be required by law, we undertake no obligation to publicly update any forward-looking statements for any reason, even if new information becomes available or other events occur in the future.

USE OF PROCEEDS

Unless otherwise indicated in the applicable prospectus supplement, we intend to use the net proceeds from the sale of the securities offered in the prospectus and any prospectus supplement for future acquisitions, repayment or redemption of existing indebtedness, and general corporate purposes, which may include additions to working capital, financing of capital expenditures, research and development of new technologies and strategic investment opportunities. We expect from time to time to evaluate the acquisition of businesses, products and

technologies for which a portion of the net proceeds may be used. Pending such uses, we may also invest the net proceeds in interest bearing securities. We may borrow additional funds from time to time from public and private sources on both a long-term and short-term basis to fund our future capital and working capital requirements in excess of internally generated funds.

As of December 31, 2008, $200.0 million of indebtedness under our senior secured credit facility was outstanding, which currently bears a variable interest rate of LIBOR plus 5.0%. The first lien term loan is repayable $74.8 million in February 2011 and $125.2 million in April 2011, the termination date. The weighted average interest rate on our first lien term loan was approximately 6.0% at December 31, 2008. As of December 31, 2008 we had outstanding approximately $91.6 million in aggregate principal amount of our 2.875% Convertible Senior Subordinated Notes due 2016, with a fixed annual interest rate of 2.875%; approximately $63.3 million in aggregate principal amount of our 16.0% Convertible Senior Subordinated Notes due 2016, with a fixed annual interest rate of 16.0%; and $160.0 million in aggregate principal amount of our 2.50% Convertible Senior Subordinated Notes due 2014, with a fixed annual interest rate of 2.50%.

RATIO OF EARNINGS TO FIXED CHARGES

The following table sets forth the ratio of earnings to fixed charges for the periods indicated:

	Year Ended September 30,						Quarter ended December 31,
	2004	2005	2006	2007	2008		2007	2008
Ratio of earnings to fixed charges	5.90	3.63	4.33	2.52	N/A	*	3.60	1.18

*	Total earnings for 2008 were less than zero dollars.

For purposes of calculating the ratio of earnings to fixed charges, (i) fixed charges consist of interest expensed and capitalized, amortization of discount on debt and capitalized expenses related to indebtedness, and a reasonable approximation of interest within rental expense; and (ii) earnings consist of pre-tax income from continuing operations before adjustment for minority interests in consolidated subsidiaries or income or loss from equity, plus fixed charges, less interest capitalized.

DESCRIPTION OF CAPITAL STOCK

This section describes the general terms and provisions of the shares of our common stock, par value $0.001 per share and preferred stock, par value $0.001 per share. The summary is not complete and is qualified in its entirety by reference to the description of our common stock incorporated by reference in this prospectus. We have also filed our certificate of incorporation and our bylaws as exhibits to the registration statement, of which this prospectus is a part. You should read our certificate of incorporation and our bylaws for additional information before you buy any of our capital stock. See “Where You Can Find More Information.”

Common Stock

As of December 31, 2008, our authorized common stock was 100,000,000 shares, of which 42.3 million shares were issued and outstanding. The holders of common stock are entitled to one vote per share on all matters submitted to a vote of our stockholders. Subject to preferences that may be applicable to any preferred stock outstanding at the time, the holders of outstanding shares of common stock are entitled to receive ratably any dividends out of assets legally available therefor as our board of directors may from time to time determine. Upon liquidation, dissolution or winding up of our company, holders of our common stock are entitled to share ratably in all assets remaining after payment of liabilities and the liquidation preference of any then outstanding

shares of preferred stock. Holders of common stock have no preemptive or conversion rights or other subscription rights. There are no redemption or sinking fund provisions applicable to the common stock. All outstanding shares of common stock are fully paid and nonassessable.

Preferred Stock

As of December 31, 2008, our authorized preferred stock was 10,000,000 shares, of which none were issued and outstanding.

We may issue preferred stock with such designations, powers, preferences and other rights and qualifications, limitations or restrictions as our board of directors may authorize, without further action by our stockholders, including but not limited to:

•	the distinctive designation of each series and the number of shares that will constitute such series;

•	the voting rights, if any, of shares of the series and the terms and conditions of such voting rights;

•

the dividend rate on the shares of the series, the dates on which dividends are payable, any restriction, limitation or condition upon the payment of dividends, whether dividends will be cumulative and the dates from and after which dividends shall accumulate;

•	the prices at which, and the terms and conditions on which, the shares of the series may be redeemed, if such shares are redeemable;

•	the terms and conditions of a sinking or purchase fund for the purchase or redemption of shares of the series, if such a fund is provided;

•	any preferential amount payable upon shares of the series in the event of the liquidation, dissolution or winding up of, or upon the distribution of any of our assets; and

•

the prices or rates of conversion or exchange at which, and the terms and conditions on which, the shares of such series may be converted or exchanged into other securities, if such shares are convertible or exchangeable.

The particular terms of any series of preferred stock will be described in a prospectus supplement. Any material U.S. federal income tax consequences and other special considerations with respect to any preferred stock offered under this prospectus will also be described in the applicable prospectus supplement.

Anti-Takeover Provisions of Delaware Law and Charter Provisions

We are subject to Section 203 of the Delaware General Corporation Law, which prohibits a publicly-held Delaware corporation from engaging in a “business combination,” except under certain circumstances, with an “interested stockholder” for a period of three years following the date such person became an “interested stockholder” unless:

•

before such person became an interested stockholder, the board of directors of the corporation approved either the business combination or the transaction that resulted in the interested stockholder becoming an interested stockholder;

•

upon the consummation of the transaction that resulted in the interested stockholder becoming an interested stockholder, the interested stockholder owned at least 85% of the voting stock of the corporation outstanding at the time the transaction commenced, excluding shares held by directors who also are officers of the corporation and shares held by employee stock plans; or

•

at or following the time such person became an interested stockholder, the business combination is approved by the board of directors of the corporation and authorized at a meeting of stockholders by the affirmative vote of the holders of 66 2/3% of the outstanding voting stock of the corporation which is not owned by the interested stockholder.

The term “interested stockholder” generally is defined as a person who, together with affiliates and associates, owns, or, within the three years prior to the determination of interested stockholder status, owned, 15% or more of a corporation’s outstanding voting stock. The term “business combination” includes mergers, asset or stock sales and other similar transactions resulting in a financial benefit to an interested stockholder. Section 203 makes it more difficult for an “interested stockholder” to effect various business combinations with a corporation for a three-year period. The existence of this provision would be expected to have an anti-takeover effect with respect to transactions not approved in advance by our board of directors, including discouraging attempts that might result in a premium over the market price for the shares of common stock held by stockholders.

The ability of the board of directors to issue shares of preferred stock and to set the voting rights, preferences and other terms thereof, without further stockholder action, may be deemed to have anti-takeover effect and may discourage takeover attempts not first approved by the board of directors, including takeovers which stockholders may deem to be in their best interests. If takeover attempts are discouraged, temporary fluctuations in the market price of our common stock, which may result from actual or rumored takeover attempts, may be inhibited. These provisions, together with the ability of our board of directors to issue preferred stock without further stockholder action, including adoption of a stockholders rights plan using preferred stock rights, could also delay or frustrate the removal of incumbent directors or the assumption of control by stockholders, even if the removal or assumption would be beneficial to our stockholders. These provisions could also discourage or inhibit a merger, tender offer or proxy contests, even if favorable to the interests of stockholders, and could depress the market price of our common stock. In addition, our bylaws provide that our board of directors is divided into three classes, a separate class to be elected each year, making it more difficult to replace the entire board of directors or remove individual directors. In addition, our bylaws may be amended by action of the board of directors. Certain provisions under consideration for amendment are notice requirements and other procedures with respect to special meetings called by stockholders, stockholder action by written consent and director nominations by stockholders.

Limitation of Liability and Indemnification

Delaware law permits, and our certificate of incorporation contains, provisions eliminating a director’s personal liability for monetary damages resulting from a breach of fiduciary duty, except in certain circumstances involving wrongful acts, such as (i) for any breach of the director’s duty of loyalty to the company or its stockholders, (ii) for acts or omissions not in good faith or which involve intentional misconduct or a knowing violation of law, (iii) liability under Section 174 of the Delaware General Corporation Law for improper dividends, repurchases or redemptions of stock or (iv) for any transaction from which the director derives an improper personal benefit. These provisions do not limit or eliminate our rights or any stockholder’s rights to seek non-monetary relief, such as an injunction or rescission, in the event of a breach of director’s fiduciary duty. These provisions will not alter a director’s liability under federal securities law. We have put in place agreements with our directors and executive officers containing provisions indemnifying our directors and officers to the fullest extent permitted by Delaware General Corporation Law. We believe that these provisions will assist us in attracting and retaining qualified individuals to serve as our directors.

Transfer Agent

The transfer agent and registrar for our common stock is American Stock Transfer & Trust Company.

DESCRIPTION OF DEBT SECURITIES

The following is a summary of the general terms of the debt securities. We will file a prospectus supplement that may contain additional terms when we issue debt securities. The terms presented here, together with the terms in a related prospectus supplement, will be a description of the material terms of the debt securities. You

should also read the indenture under which the debt securities are to be issued. We have filed a form of indenture governing different types of debt securities with the SEC as an exhibit to the registration statement of which this prospectus is a part. All capitalized terms have the meanings specified in the indenture.

We may issue, from time to time, debt securities, in one or more series, that will consist of either our senior debt, our senior subordinated debt or our subordinated debt. We refer to the subordinated debt securities and the senior subordinated debt securities together as the subordinated securities. The debt securities we offer will be issued under an indenture between us and Wells Fargo Bank, National Association, as trustee. Debt securities, whether senior, senior subordinated or subordinated, may be issued as convertible debt securities or exchangeable debt securities. The following is a summary of the material provisions of the indenture filed as an exhibit to the registration statement of which this prospectus is a part. For each series of debt securities, the applicable prospectus supplement for the series may change and supplement the summary below.

General Terms of the Indenture

The indenture does not limit the amount of debt securities that we may issue. It provides that we may issue debt securities up to the principal amount that we may authorize and may be in any currency or currency unit that we may designate. We may, without the consent of the holders of any series, increase the principal amount of securities in that series in the future, on the same terms and conditions and with the same CUSIP numbers as that series. Except for the limitations on consolidation, merger and sale of all or substantially all of our assets contained in the indenture, the terms of the indenture do not contain any covenants or other provisions designed to give holders of any debt securities protection against changes in our operations, financial condition or transactions involving us.

We may issue the debt securities issued under the indenture as “discount securities,” which means they may be sold at a discount below their stated principal amount. These debt securities, as well as other debt securities that are not issued at a discount, may be issued with “original issue discount”, or OID, for U.S. federal income tax purposes because of interest payment and other characteristics. Material U.S. federal income tax considerations applicable to debt securities issued with original issue discount will be described in more detail in any applicable prospectus supplement.

The applicable prospectus supplement for a series of debt securities that we issue will describe, among other things, the following terms of the offered debt securities:

•	the title and authorized denominations of the series of debt securities;

•	any limit on the aggregate principal amount of the series of debt securities;

•	whether such debt securities will be issued in fully registered form without coupons or in a form registered as to principal only with coupons or in bearer form with coupons;

•	whether issued in the form of one or more global securities and whether all or a portion of the principal amount of the debt securities is represented thereby;

•	the price or prices at which the debt securities will be issued;

•	the date or dates on which principal is payable;

•

the place or places where and the manner in which principal, premium or interest, if any, will be payable and the place or places where the debt securities may be presented for transfer and, if applicable, conversion or exchange;

•	interest rates, and the dates from which interest, if any, will accrue, and the dates when interest is payable and the maturity;

•	the right, if any, to extend the interest payment periods and the duration of the extensions;

•	our rights or obligations to redeem or purchase the debt securities;

•	any sinking fund or other provisions that would obligate us to repurchase or otherwise redeem some or all of the debt securities;

•	conversion or exchange provisions, if any, including conversion or exchange prices or rates and adjustments thereto;

•	the currency or currencies of payment of principal or interest;

•	the terms applicable to any debt securities issued at a discount from their stated principal amount;

•	the terms, if any, under which any debt securities will rank junior to any of our other debt;

•	whether and upon what terms the debt securities may be defeased, if different from the provisions set forth in the indenture;

•

if the amount of payments of principal or interest is to be determined by reference to an index or formula, or based on a coin or currency other than that in which the debt securities are stated to be payable, the manner in which these amounts are determined and the calculation agent, if any, with respect thereto;

•	if other than the entire principal amount of the debt securities when issued, the portion of the principal amount payable upon acceleration of maturity as a result of a default on our obligations;

•	the events of default and covenants relating to the debt securities that are in addition to, modify or delete those described in this prospectus;

•	the nature and terms of any security for any secured debt securities; and

•	any other specific terms of any debt securities.

The applicable prospectus supplement will present material U.S. federal income tax considerations for holders of any debt securities and the securities exchange or quotation system on which any debt securities are to be listed or quoted.

Senior Debt Securities

Payment of the principal of, premium and interest, if any, on senior debt securities will rank on a parity with all of our other unsecured and unsubordinated debt.

Senior Subordinated Debt Securities

Payment of the principal of, premium and interest, if any, on senior subordinated debt securities will be junior in right of payment to the prior payment in full of all of our unsubordinated debt, including senior debt securities and any credit facility. We will state in the applicable prospectus supplement relating to any senior subordinated debt securities the subordination terms of the securities as well as the aggregate amount of outstanding debt, as of the most recent practicable date, that by its terms would be senior to the senior subordinated debt securities. We will also state in such prospectus supplement limitations, if any, on issuance of additional senior debt.

Subordinated Debt Securities

Payment of the principal of, premium and interest, if any, on subordinated debt securities will be subordinated and junior in right of payment to the prior payment in full of all of our senior debt, including our senior debt securities and senior subordinated debt securities. We will state in the applicable prospectus supplement relating to any subordinated debt securities the subordination terms of the securities as well as the

aggregate amount of outstanding indebtedness, as of the most recent practicable date, that by its terms would be senior to the subordinated debt securities. We will also state in such prospectus supplement limitations, if any, on issuance of additional senior indebtedness.

Conversion or Exchange Rights

Debt securities may be convertible into or exchangeable for other securities, including, for example, shares of our equity securities. The terms and conditions of conversion or exchange will be stated in the applicable prospectus supplement. The terms will include, among others, the following:

•	the conversion or exchange price;

•	the conversion or exchange period;

•	provisions regarding the ability of us or the holder to convert or exchange the debt securities;

•	events requiring adjustment to the conversion or exchange price; and

•	provisions affecting conversion or exchange in the event of our redemption of the debt securities.

Consolidation, Merger or Sale

We cannot consolidate or merge with or into, or transfer or lease all or substantially all of our assets to, any person, and we cannot permit any other person to consolidate with or merge into us, unless (1) we will be the continuing corporation or (2) the successor corporation or person to which our assets are transferred or leased is a corporation organized under the laws of the United States, any state of the United States or the District of Columbia and it expressly assumes our obligations under the debt securities and the indenture. In addition, we cannot complete such a transaction unless immediately after completing the transaction, no event of default under the indenture, and no event which, after notice or lapse of time or both, would become an event of default under the indenture, shall have occurred and be continuing. When the person to whom our assets are transferred or leased has assumed our obligations under the debt securities and the indenture, we shall be discharged from all our obligations under the debt securities and the indenture except in limited circumstances.

This covenant would not apply to any recapitalization transaction, a change of control of us or a highly leveraged transaction, unless the transaction or change of control were structured to include a merger or consolidation or transfer or lease of all or substantially all of our assets.

Events of Default

The term “Event of Default,” when used in the indenture, unless otherwise indicated, means any of the following:

•	failure to pay interest for 30 days after the date payment is due and payable;

•	failure to pay principal or premium, if any, on any debt security when due, either at maturity, upon any redemption, by declaration or otherwise;

•	failure to make sinking fund payments when due;

•	failure to perform other covenants for 60 days after notice that performance was required;

•	events in bankruptcy, insolvency or reorganization relating to us; or

•	any other Event of Default provided in the applicable officer’s certificate, resolution of our board of directors or the supplemental indenture under which we issue a series of debt securities.

An Event of Default for a particular series of debt securities does not necessarily constitute an Event of Default for any other series of debt securities issued under the indenture.

If an Event of Default with respect to any series of senior debt securities occurs and is continuing, then either the trustee for such series or the holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of such series, by notice in writing, may declare the principal amount of and interest on all of the debt securities of such series to be due and payable immediately; provided, however, unless otherwise provided in the applicable prospectus supplement, if such an Event of Default occurs and is continuing with respect to more than one series of senior debt securities under the indenture, the trustee for such series or the holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of all such series of senior debt securities of equal ranking (or, if any of such senior debt securities are discount securities, such portion of the principal amount as may be specified in the terms of that series), voting as one class, may make such declaration of acceleration as to all series of such equal ranking and not the holders of the debt securities of any one of such series of senior debt securities.

If an Event of Default with respect to any series of subordinated securities occurs and is continuing, then either the trustee for such series or the holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of such series, by notice in writing, may declare the principal amount of and interest on all of the debt securities of such series to be due and payable immediately; provided, however, unless otherwise provided in the applicable prospectus supplement, if such an Event of Default occurs and is continuing with respect to more than one series of subordinated securities under the indenture, the trustee for such series or the holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of all such series of subordinated securities of equal ranking (or, if any of such subordinated securities are discount securities, such portion of the principal amount as may be specified in the terms of that series), voting as one class, may make such declaration of acceleration as to all series of equal ranking and not the holders of the debt securities of any one of such series of subordinated securities.

The holders of not less than a majority in aggregate principal amount of the debt securities of all affected series of equal ranking may, after satisfying certain conditions, rescind and annul any of the above-described declarations and consequences involving such series.

If an Event of Default relating to events in bankruptcy, insolvency or reorganization of us occurs and is continuing, then the principal amount of all of the debt securities outstanding, and any accrued interest, will automatically become due and payable immediately, without any declaration or other act by the trustee or any holder.

The indenture imposes limitations on suits brought by holders of debt securities against us. Except for actions for payment of overdue principal or interest, no holder of debt securities of any series may institute any action against us under the indenture unless:

•	the holder has previously given to the trustee written notice of default and continuance of such default;

•	the holders of not less than a majority in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of the affected series of equal ranking have requested that the trustee institute the action;

•	the requesting holders have offered the trustee reasonable indemnity for expenses and liabilities that may be incurred by bringing the action;

•	the trustee has not instituted the action within 60 days of the request; and

•	the trustee has not received inconsistent direction by the holders of a majority in principal amount of the outstanding debt securities of the affected series of equal ranking.

We will be required to file annually with the trustee a certificate, signed by one of our officers, stating whether or not the officer knows of any default by us in the performance, observance or fulfillment of any condition or covenant of the indenture.

Registered Global Securities and Book Entry System

The debt securities of a series may be issued in whole or in part in book-entry form and may be represented by one or more fully registered global securities or in unregistered form with or without coupons. We will deposit any registered global securities with a depositary or with a nominee for a depositary identified in the applicable prospectus supplement and registered in the name of such depositary or nominee. In such case, we will issue one or more registered global securities denominated in an amount equal to the aggregate principal amount of all of the debt securities of the series to be issued and represented by such registered global security or securities. This means that we will not issue certificates to each holder.

Unless and until it is exchanged in whole or in part for debt securities in definitive registered form, a registered global security may not be transferred except as a whole:

•	by the depositary for such registered global security to its nominee;

•	by a nominee of the depositary to the depositary or another nominee of the depositary; or

•	by the depositary or its nominee to a successor of the depositary or a nominee of the successor.

The prospectus supplement relating to a series of debt securities will describe the specific terms of the depositary arrangement involving any portion of the series represented by a registered global security. We anticipate that the following provisions will apply to all depositary arrangements for registered debt securities:

•

ownership of beneficial interests in a registered global security will be limited to persons that have accounts with the depositary for such registered global security, these persons being referred to as “participants,” or persons that may hold interests through participants;

•

upon the issuance of a registered global security, the depositary for the registered global security will credit, on its book-entry registration and transfer system, the participants’ accounts with the respective principal amounts of the debt securities represented by the registered global security beneficially owned by the participants;

•	any dealers, underwriters, or agents participating in the distribution of the debt securities represented by a registered global security will designate the accounts to be credited; and

•

ownership of beneficial interest in such registered global security will be shown on, and the transfer of such ownership interest will be effected only through, records maintained by the depositary for such registered global security for interests of participants, and on the records of participants for interests of persons holding through participants.

The laws of some states may require that specified purchasers of securities take physical delivery of the securities in definitive form. These laws may limit the ability of those persons to own, transfer or pledge beneficial interests in registered global securities.

So long as the depositary for a registered global security, or its nominee, is the registered owner of such registered global security, the depositary or such nominee, as the case may be, will be considered the sole owner or holder of the debt securities represented by the registered global security for all purposes under the indenture. Except as stated below, owners of beneficial interests in a registered global security:

•	will not be entitled to have the debt securities represented by a registered global security registered in their names;

•	will not receive or be entitled to receive physical delivery of the debt securities in the definitive form; and

•	will not be considered the owners or holders of the debt securities under the relevant indenture.

Accordingly, each person owning a beneficial interest in a registered global security must rely on the procedures of the depositary for the registered global security and, if the person is not a participant, on the procedures of a participant through which the person owns its interest, to exercise any rights of a holder under the indenture.

We understand that under existing industry practices, if we request any action of holders or if an owner of a beneficial interest in a registered global security desires to give or take any action that a holder is entitled to give or take under the indenture, the depositary for the registered global security would authorize the participants holding the relevant beneficial interests to give or take the action, and the participants would authorize beneficial owners owning through the participants to give or take the action or would otherwise act upon the instructions of beneficial owners holding through them.

We will make payments of principal and premium, if any, and interest, if any, on debt securities represented by a registered global security registered in the name of a depositary or its nominee to the depositary or its nominee, as the case may be, as the registered owners of the registered global security. None of us, the trustee or any other agent of ours or the trustee will be responsible or liable for any aspect of the records relating to, or payments made on account of, beneficial ownership interests in the registered global security or for maintaining, supervising or reviewing any records relating to the beneficial ownership interests.

We expect that the depositary for any debt securities represented by a registered global security, upon receipt of any payments of principal and premium, if any, and interest, if any, in respect of the registered global security, will immediately credit participants’ accounts with payments in amounts proportionate to their respective beneficial interests in the registered global security as shown on the records of the depositary. We also expect that standing customer instructions and customary practices will govern payments by participants to owners of beneficial interests in the registered global security held through the participants, as is now the case with the securities held for the accounts of customers in bearer form or registered in “street name.” We also expect that any of these payments will be the responsibility of the participants.

If the depositary for any debt securities represented by a registered global security is at any time unwilling or unable to continue as depositary or stops being a clearing agency registered under the Exchange Act, we will appoint an eligible successor depositary. If we fail to appoint an eligible successor depositary within 90 days, we will issue the debt securities in definitive form in exchange for the registered global security. In addition, we may at any time and in our sole discretion decide not to have any of the debt securities of a series represented by one or more registered global securities. In that event, we will issue debt securities of the series in a definitive form in exchange for all of the registered global securities representing the debt securities. The trustee will register any debt securities issued in definitive form in exchange for a registered global security in the name or names as the depositary, based upon instructions from its participants, shall instruct the trustee.

We may also issue bearer debt securities of a series in the form of one or more global securities, referred to as “bearer global securities.” We will deposit these securities with a common depositary for Euroclear System and Cedel Bank, Société Anonyme, or with a nominee for the depositary identified in the prospectus supplement relating to the series. The prospectus supplement relating to a series of debt securities represented by a bearer global security will describe the applicable terms and procedures. These will include the specific terms of the depositary arrangement and any specific procedures for the issuance of debt securities in definitive form in exchange for a bearer global security, in proportion to the series represented by a bearer global security.

Discharge, Defeasance and Covenant Defeasance

We can discharge or decrease our obligations under the indenture as stated below.

We may discharge obligations to holders of any series of debt securities that have not already been delivered to the trustee for cancellation and that have either become due and payable or are by their terms to become due

and payable, or are scheduled for redemption, within sixty (60) days. We may effect a discharge by irrevocably depositing with the trustee cash or U.S. government obligations, as trust funds, in an amount certified to be enough to pay when due, whether at maturity, upon redemption or otherwise, the principal of, premium and interest, if any, on the debt securities and any mandatory sinking fund payments.

Unless otherwise provided in the applicable prospectus supplement, we may also discharge any and all of our obligations to holders of any series of debt securities at any time, which we refer to as defeasance. We may also be released from the obligations imposed by any covenants of any outstanding series of debt securities and provisions of the indenture, and we may omit to comply with those covenants without creating an event of default under the trust declaration, which we refer to as covenant defeasance. We may effect defeasance and covenant defeasance only if, among other things:

•

we irrevocably deposit with the trustee cash or U.S. government obligations, as trust funds, in an amount certified to be enough to pay at maturity, or upon redemption, the principal, premium and interest, if any, on all outstanding debt securities of the series;

•

we deliver to the trustee an opinion of counsel from a nationally recognized law firm to the effect that the holders of the series of debt securities will not recognize income, gain or loss for U.S. federal income tax purposes as a result of the defeasance or covenant defeasance and that defeasance or covenant defeasance will not otherwise alter the holders’ U.S. federal income tax treatment of principal, premium and interest, if any, payments on the series of debt securities; and

•

in the case of subordinated debt securities, no event or condition shall exist that, based on the subordination provisions applicable to the series, would prevent us from making payments of principal of, premium and interest, if any, on any of the applicable subordinated debt securities at the date of the irrevocable deposit referred to above or at any time during the period ending on the 91st day after the deposit date.

In the case of a defeasance by us, the opinion we deliver must be based on a ruling of the Internal Revenue Service issued, or a change in U.S. federal income tax law occurring, after the date of the indenture, since such a result would not occur under the U.S. federal income tax laws in effect on such date.

Although we may discharge or decrease our obligations under the indenture as described in the two preceding paragraphs, we may not avoid, among other things, our duty to register the transfer or exchange of any series of debt securities, to replace any temporary, mutilated, destroyed, lost or stolen series of debt securities or to maintain an office or agency in respect of any series of debt securities.

Modification of the Indenture

The indenture provides that we and the trustee may enter into supplemental indentures without the consent of the holders of debt securities to:

•	secure any debt securities and provide the terms and conditions for the release or substitution of the security;

•	evidence the assumption by a successor corporation of our obligations;

•	add covenants for the protection of the holders of debt securities;

•	add any additional events of default;

•	cure any ambiguity or correct any inconsistency or defect in the indenture;

•

add to, change or eliminate any of the provisions of the indenture in a manner that will become effective only when there is no outstanding debt security which is entitled to the benefit of the provision as to which the modification would apply;

•	establish the forms or terms of debt securities of any series;

•	eliminate any conflict between the terms of the indenture and the Trust Indenture Act of 1939;

•

evidence and provide for the acceptance of appointment by a successor trustee and add to or change any of the provisions of the indenture as is necessary for the administration of the trusts by more than one trustee; and

•

make any other provisions with respect to matters or questions arising under the indenture that will not be inconsistent with any provision of the indenture as long as the new provisions do not adversely affect the interests of the holders of any outstanding debt securities of any series created prior to the modification.

The indenture also provides that we and the trustee may, with the consent of the holders of not less than a majority in aggregate principal amount of debt securities of all series of senior debt securities or of Subordinated Securities of equal ranking, as the case may be, then outstanding and affected, voting as one class, add any provisions to, or change in any manner, eliminate or modify in any way the provisions of, the indenture or modify in any manner the rights of the holders of the debt securities. We and the trustee may not, however, without the consent of the holder of each outstanding debt security affected thereby:

•	extend the final maturity of any debt security;

•	reduce the principal amount or premium, if any;

•	reduce the rate or extend the time of payment of interest;

•	reduce any amount payable on redemption or impair or affect any right of redemption at the option of the holder of the debt security;

•	change the currency in which the principal, premium or interest, if any, is payable;

•	reduce the amount of the principal of any debt security issued with an original issue discount that is payable upon acceleration or provable in bankruptcy;

•	alter provisions of the relevant indenture relating to the debt securities not denominated in U.S. dollars;

•	impair the right to institute suit for the enforcement of any payment on any debt security when due;

•	if applicable, adversely affect the right of a holder to convert or exchange a debt security; or

•	reduce the percentage of holders of debt securities of any series whose consent is required for any modification of the indenture.

The indenture provides that the holders of not less than a majority in aggregate principal amount of the then outstanding debt securities of any and all affected series of equal ranking, by notice to the relevant trustee, may on behalf of the holders of the debt securities of any and all such series of equal ranking waive any default and its consequences under the indenture except:

•	a continuing default in the payment of interest on, premium, if any, or principal of, any such debt security held by a nonconsenting holder; or

•	a default in respect of a covenant or provision of the indenture that cannot be modified or amended without the consent of the holder of each outstanding debt security of each series affected.

Concerning the Trustee

The indenture provides that there may be more than one trustee under the indenture, each for one or more series of debt securities. If there are different trustees for different series of debt securities, each trustee will be a trustee of a trust under the indenture separate and apart from the trust administered by any other trustee under

that indenture. Except as otherwise indicated in this prospectus or any prospectus supplement, any action permitted to be taken by a trustee may be taken by such trustee only on the one or more series of debt securities for which it is the trustee under the indenture. Any trustee under the indenture may resign or be removed from one or more series of debt securities. All payments of principal of, premium and interest, if any, on, and all registration, transfer, exchange, authentication and delivery of, the debt securities of a series will be effected by the trustee for that series at an office designated by the trustee.

If the trustee becomes a creditor of ours, the indenture places limitations on the right of the trustee to obtain payment of claims or to realize on property received in respect of any such claim as security or otherwise. The trustee may engage in other transactions. If it acquires any conflicting interest relating to any duties concerning the debt securities, however, it must eliminate the conflict or resign as trustee.

The holders of a majority in aggregate principal amount of any and all affected series of debt securities of equal ranking then outstanding will have the right to direct the time, method and place of conducting any proceeding for exercising any remedy available to the trustee concerning the applicable series of debt securities, provided that the direction:

•	would not conflict with any rule of law or with the relevant indenture;

•	would not be unduly prejudicial to the rights of another holder of the debt securities; and

•	would not involve any trustee in personal liability.

The indenture provides that in case an Event of Default shall occur, not be cured and be known to any trustee, the trustee must use the same degree of care as a prudent person would use in the conduct of his or her own affairs in the exercise of the trustee’s power. The trustee will be under no obligation to exercise any of its rights or powers under the indenture at the request of any of the holders of the debt securities, unless they shall have offered to the trustee security and indemnity satisfactory to the trustee.

No Individual Liability of Incorporators, Stockholders, Officers or Directors

The indenture provides that no incorporator and no past, present or future stockholder, officer or director of ours or any successor corporation in their capacity as such shall have any individual liability for any of our obligations, covenants or agreements under the debt securities or the indenture.

Governing Law

The indenture and the debt securities will be governed by, and construed in accordance with, the laws of the State of New York.

DESCRIPTION OF WARRANTS

We may issue warrants for the purchase of common stock, preferred stock and/or debt securities in one or more series. We may issue warrants independently or together with common stock, preferred stock and/or debt securities, and the warrants may be attached to or separate from these securities. While the terms summarized below will apply generally to any warrants that we may offer, we will describe the particular terms of any series of warrants in more detail in the applicable prospectus supplement. The terms of any warrants offered under a prospectus supplement may differ from the terms described below.

We will file as exhibits to the registration statement of which this prospectus is a part, or will incorporate by reference from reports that we file with the SEC, the form of warrant agreement, including a form of warrant certificate, that describes the terms of the particular series of warrants we are offering before the issuance of the related series of warrants. The following summaries of material provisions of the warrants and the warrant

agreements are subject to, and qualified in their entirety by reference to, all the provisions of the warrant agreement and warrant certificate applicable to the particular series of warrants that we may offer under this prospectus. We urge you to read the applicable prospectus supplements related to the particular series of warrants that we may offer under this prospectus and the complete warrant agreements and warrant certificates that contain the terms of the warrants.

We will describe in the applicable prospectus supplement the terms of the series of warrants being offered, including:

•	the offering price and aggregate number of warrants offered;

•	the currency for which the warrants may be purchased;

•	if applicable, the designation and terms of the securities with which the warrants are issued and the number of warrants issued with each such security or each principal amount of such security;

•	if applicable, the date on and after which the warrants and the related securities will be separately transferable;

•

in the case of warrants to purchase debt securities, the principal amount of debt securities purchasable upon exercise of one warrant and the price at, and currency in which, this principal amount of debt securities may be purchased upon such exercise;

•

in the case of warrants to purchase common stock or preferred stock, the number of shares of common stock or preferred stock, as the case may be, purchasable upon the exercise of one warrant and the price at which these shares may be purchased upon such exercise;

•	the effect of any merger, consolidation, sale or other disposition of our business on the warrant agreements and the warrants;

•	the terms of any rights to redeem or call the warrants;

•	any provisions for changes to or adjustments in the exercise price or number of securities issuable upon exercise of the warrants;

•	the dates on which the right to exercise the warrants will commence and expire;

•	the manner in which the warrant agreements and warrants may be modified;

•	a discussion of any material U.S. federal income tax consequences of holding or exercising the warrants;

•	the terms of the securities issuable upon exercise of the warrants; and

•	any other specific terms, preferences, rights or limitations of or restrictions on the warrants.

Each warrant will entitle the holder to purchase the securities that we specify in the applicable prospectus supplement at the exercise price that we describe in the applicable prospectus supplement. Holders of the warrants may exercise the warrants at any time up to the specified time on the expiration date that we set forth in the applicable prospectus supplement. After the close of business on the expiration date, unexercised warrants will become void.

Holders of the warrants may exercise the warrants by delivering the warrant certificate representing the warrants to be exercised together with specified information, and paying the required amount to the warrant agent in immediately available funds, as provided in the applicable prospectus supplement. We will set forth on the reverse side of the warrant certificate and in the applicable prospectus supplement the information that the holder of the warrant will be required to deliver to the warrant agent.

Upon receipt of the required payment and the warrant certificate properly completed and duly executed at the corporate trust office of the warrant agent or any other office indicated in the applicable prospectus

supplement, we will issue and deliver the securities purchasable upon such exercise. If fewer than all of the warrants represented by the warrant certificate are exercised, then we will issue a new warrant certificate for the remaining amount of warrants. If we so indicate in the applicable prospectus supplement, holders of the warrants may surrender securities as all or part of the exercise price for warrants.

Unless we provide otherwise in the applicable prospectus supplement, the warrants and warrant agreements will be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the State of New York.

DESCRIPTION OF DEPOSITARY SHARES

The following is a general description of the depositary shares that we may offer from time to time. The particular terms of the depositary shares being offered and the extent to which such general provisions may apply will be set forth in the applicable prospectus supplement.

General. We may issue receipts for depositary shares, each of which will represent a fractional interest of a share of a particular series of a class of our preferred stock. We will deposit the shares of preferred stock of any series represented by depositary shares with a depositary under a deposit agreement. We will identify the depositary in a prospectus supplement. Subject to the terms of the deposit agreement, if you own a depositary share, you will be entitled, in proportion to the fraction of the share of preferred stock represented by your depositary share, to all of the rights and preferences to which you would be entitled if you owned the share of preferred stock represented by your depositary share directly (including dividend, voting, redemption, subscription and liquidation rights).

The depositary shares will be represented by depositary receipts issued pursuant to the applicable deposit agreement. Immediately following the issuance and delivery of our preferred stock to the depositary, we will cause the depositary to issue, on our behalf, the depositary receipts. Upon request, we will provide you with copies of the applicable form of deposit agreement and depositary receipt.

Dividends and Other Provisions. If you are a “record holder” (as defined below) of depositary receipts and we pay a cash dividend or other cash distribution with respect to the preferred stock represented by your depositary share, the depositary will distribute all cash dividends or other cash distributions it receives in respect of the preferred stock represented by your depositary receipts in proportion to the numbers of depositary shares you owned on the record date for that dividend or distribution.

If we make a distribution in a form other than cash, the depositary will distribute the property it receives to you and all other record holders of depositary receipts in an equitable manner, unless the depositary determines that it is not feasible to do so. If the depositary decides it cannot feasibly distribute the property, it may sell the property and distribute the net proceeds from the sale to you and the other record holders. The amount the depositary distributes in any of the foregoing cases may be reduced by any amounts that we or the depositary is required to withhold on account of taxes.

A “record holder” is a person who holds depositary receipts on the record date for any dividend, distribution or other action. The record date for depositary shares will be the same as the record date for the preferred stock represented by those depositary receipts.

Withdrawal of Preferred Stock. If you surrender your depositary receipts, the depositary will be required to deliver certificates to you evidencing the number of shares of preferred stock represented by those receipts (but only in whole shares). If you deliver depositary receipts representing a number of depositary shares that is greater than the number of whole shares to be withdrawn, the depositary will deliver to you at the same time a new depositary receipt evidencing the fractional shares.

Redemption of Depositary Shares. If we redeem a series of shares of preferred stock represented by depositary receipts, the depositary will redeem depositary shares from the proceeds it receives after redemption of the preferred stock. The redemption price per depositary share will be equal to the applicable fraction of the redemption price per share payable with respect to that series of shares of preferred stock. If fewer than all the depositary shares are to be redeemed, the depositary will select shares to be redeemed by lot, pro rata or by any other equitable method it may determine. After the date fixed for redemption, the depositary shares called for redemption will no longer be outstanding. All rights of the holders of those depositary shares will cease, except the right to receive the redemption price that the holders of the depositary shares were entitled to receive upon redemption. Payments will be made when holders surrender their depositary receipts to the depositary.

Voting the Preferred Stock. When the depositary receives notice of any meeting at which the holders of preferred stock are entitled to vote, the depositary will mail information contained in the notice to you as a record holder of the depositary shares relating to the preferred stock. As a record holder of the depositary shares on the record date (which will be the same date as the record date for the preferred stock), you will be entitled to instruct the depositary as to how you would like your votes to be exercised. The depositary will endeavor, insofar as practicable, to vote the number of shares of preferred stock represented by your depositary shares in accordance with your instructions. We will agree to take all reasonable action that the depositary may deem necessary to enable the depositary to do this. If you do not send specific instructions the depositary will not vote the preferred stock represented by your depositary shares.

Liquidation Preference. In the event of our liquidation, dissolution or winding up, whether voluntary or involuntary, you will be entitled, as a record holder of depositary shares, to the fraction of the liquidation preference accorded each applicable share of preferred stock, as has been set forth in a prospectus supplement.

Amendment and Termination of the Deposit Agreement. We and the depositary may amend the form of depositary receipt and any provision of the deposit agreement at any time. However, any amendment which materially and adversely alters your rights as a holder of depositary shares will not be effective unless the holders of at least a majority of the depositary shares then outstanding approve the amendment. The deposit agreement will only terminate if:

•	we redeem all outstanding depositary shares; or

•

we make a final distribution in respect of the related preferred stock to which the depositary shares and agreement relate, including in connection with any liquidation, dissolution or winding up and the distribution has been distributed to the holders of depositary shares.

Resignation and Removal of Depositary. The depositary may resign at any time by delivering notice to us of its election to do so. Additionally, we may remove the depositary at any time. Any resignation or removal will take effect when we appoint a successor depositary and the successor accepts the appointment. We must appoint a successor depositary within 60 days after delivery of the notice of resignation or removal. A successor depositary must be a bank or trust company having its principal office in the U.S. and having a combined capital and surplus of at least $50 million.

Charges of Depositary. We will pay all transfer and other taxes and governmental charges arising solely from the existence of the depositary arrangements. We will pay charges of the depositary in connection with the initial deposit of the preferred stock and issuance of depositary receipts, all withdrawals of preferred stock by owners of the depositary shares and any redemption of the preferred stock. You will pay other transfer and other taxes, governmental charges and other charges expressly provided for in the deposit agreement.

Miscellaneous. The depositary will forward to you all reports and communications from us that we are required, or otherwise determine, to furnish to the holders of the preferred stock.

Neither we nor the depositary will be liable under the deposit agreement to you other than for the depositary’s gross negligence, willful misconduct or bad faith. Neither we nor the depositary will be obligated to

prosecute or defend any legal proceeding in respect of any depositary shares or preferred stock unless satisfactory indemnity is furnished. We and the depositary may rely upon written advice of counsel or accountants, or upon information provided by persons presenting preferred stock for deposit, holders of depositary receipts or other persons believed to be competent and on documents believed to be genuine.

DESCRIPTION OF UNITS

We may issue, in one more series, units consisting of common stock, preferred stock, debt securities and/or warrants for the purchase of common stock, preferred stock and/or debt securities in any combination in such amounts and in such numerous distinct series as we determine. While the terms we have summarized below will apply generally to any units that we may offer under this prospectus, we will describe the particular terms of any series of units in more detail in the applicable prospectus supplement. The terms of any units offered under a prospectus supplement may differ from the terms described below.

We will file as exhibits to the registration statement of which this prospectus is a part, or will incorporate by reference from reports that we file with the SEC, the form of unit agreement that describes the terms of the series of units we are offering, and any supplemental agreements, before the issuance of the related series of units. The following summaries of material terms and provisions of the units are subject to, and qualified in their entirety by reference to, all the provisions of the unit agreement and any supplemental agreements applicable to a particular series of units. We urge you to read the applicable prospectus supplements related to the particular series of units that we may offer under this prospectus, as well as any related free writing prospectuses and the complete unit agreement and any supplemental agreements that contain the terms of the units.

Each unit will be issued so that the holder of the unit is also the holder of each security included in the unit. Thus, the holder of a unit will have the rights and obligations of a holder of each included security. The unit agreement under which a unit is issued may provide that the securities included in the unit may not be held or transferred separately, at any time or at any time before a specified date.

We will describe in the applicable prospectus supplement the terms of the series of units being offered, including:

•	the designation and terms of the units and of the securities comprising the units, including whether and under what circumstances those securities may be held or transferred separately;

•	any provisions of the governing unit agreement that differ from those described below; and

•	any provisions for the issuance, payment, settlement, transfer or exchange of the units or of the securities comprising the units.

The provisions described in this section, as well as those described under “Description of Capital Stock,” “Description of Debt Securities” and “Description of Warrants” will apply to each unit and to any common stock, preferred stock, debt security or warrant included in each unit, respectively.

Each unit agent will act solely as our agent under the applicable unit agreement and will not assume any obligation or relationship of agency or trust with any holder of any unit. A single bank or trust company may act as unit agent for more than one series of units. A unit agent will have no duty or responsibility in case of any default by us under the applicable unit agreement or unit, including any duty or responsibility to initiate any proceedings at law or otherwise, or to make any demand upon us. Any holder of a unit may, without the consent of the related unit agent or the holder of any other unit, enforce by appropriate legal action its rights as holder under any security included in the unit.

We, and any unit agent and any of their agents, may treat the registered holder of any unit certificate as an absolute owner of the units evidenced by that certificate for any purpose and as the person entitled to exercise the rights attaching to the units so requested, despite any notice to the contrary.

PLAN OF DISTRIBUTION

We may sell the securities offered by this prospectus in any one or more of the following ways from time to time:

•	directly to investors, including through a specific bidding, auction or other process;

•	to investors through agents;

•	directly to agents;

•	to or through brokers or dealers;

•	to the public through underwriting syndicates led by one or more managing underwriters;

•	to one or more underwriters acting alone for resale to investors or to the public; and

•	through a combination of any such methods of sale.

We may also in sell the securities offered by this prospectus in “at the market offerings” within the meaning of Rule 415(a)(4) of the Securities Act, to or through a market maker or into an existing trading market, on an exchange or otherwise;

The accompanying prospectus supplement will set forth the terms of the offering and the method of distribution and will identify any firms acting as underwriters, dealers or agents in connection with the offering, including:

•	the name or names of any underwriters, dealers or agents;

•	the purchase price of the securities and the proceeds to us from the sale;

•	any over-allotment options under which underwriters may purchase additional securities from us;

•	any underwriting discounts and other items constituting compensation to underwriters, dealers or agents;

•	any public offering price;

•	any discounts or concessions allowed or reallowed or paid to dealers; and

•	any securities exchange or market on which the securities offered in the prospectus supplement may be listed.

Only those underwriters identified in such prospectus supplement are deemed to be underwriters in connection with the securities offered in the prospectus supplement. Any underwritten offering may be on a best efforts or a firm commitment basis.

The distribution of the securities may be effected from time to time in one or more transactions at a fixed price or prices, which may be changed, at varying prices determined at the time of sale, or at prices determined as the applicable prospectus supplement specifies. The securities may be sold through a rights offering, forward contracts or similar arrangements. In any distribution of subscription rights to stockholders, if all of the underlying securities are not subscribed for, we may then sell the unsubscribed securities directly to third parties or may engage the services of one or more underwriters, dealers or agents, including standby underwriters, to sell the unsubscribed securities to third parties.

In connection with the sale of the securities, underwriters, dealers or agents may be deemed to have received compensation from us in the form of underwriting discounts or commissions and also may receive commissions from securities purchasers for whom they may act as agent. Underwriters may sell the securities to or through dealers, and the dealers may receive compensation in the form of discounts, concessions or commissions from the underwriters or commissions from the purchasers for whom they may act as agent.

We will provide in the applicable prospectus supplement information regarding any underwriting discounts or other compensation that we pay to underwriters or agents in connection with the securities offering, and any discounts, concessions or commissions which underwriters allow to dealers. Underwriters, dealers and agents participating in the securities distribution may be deemed to be underwriters, and any discounts and commissions they receive and any profit they realize on the resale of the securities may be deemed to be underwriting discounts and commissions under the Securities Act of 1933. Underwriters and their controlling persons, dealers and agents may be entitled, under agreements entered into with us, to indemnification against and contribution toward specific civil liabilities, including liabilities under the Securities Act.

Unless otherwise specified in the related prospectus supplement, each series of securities will be a new issue with no established trading market, other than shares of common stock of Headwaters, which are listed on the NYSE. Any common stock sold pursuant to a prospectus supplement will be listed on the NYSE, subject to official notice of issuance. We may elect to list any series of debt securities or preferred stock, on an exchange, but we are not obligated to do so. It is possible that one or more underwriters may make a market in the securities, but such underwriters will not be obligated to do so and may discontinue any market making at any time without notice. No assurance can be given as to the liquidity of, or the trading market for, any offered securities.

In connection with an offering, the underwriters may purchase and sell securities in the open market. These transactions may include short sales, stabilizing transactions and purchases to cover positions created by short sales. Short sales involve the sale by the underwriters of a greater number of securities than they are required to purchase in an offering. Stabilizing transactions consist of bids or purchases made for the purpose of preventing or retarding a decline in the market price of the securities while an offering is in progress. The underwriters also may impose a penalty bid. This occurs when a particular underwriter repays to the underwriters a portion of the underwriting discount received by it because the underwriters have repurchased securities sold by or for the account of that underwriter in stabilizing or short-covering transactions. These activities by the underwriters may stabilize, maintain or otherwise affect the market price of the securities. As a result, the price of the securities may be higher than the price that otherwise might exist in the open market. If these activities are commenced, they may be discontinued by the underwriters at any time. Underwriters may engage in overallotment. If any underwriters create a short position in the securities in an offering in which they sell more securities than are set forth on the cover page of the applicable prospectus supplement, the underwriters may reduce that short position by purchasing the securities in the open market.

Underwriters, dealers or agents that participate in the offer of securities, or their affiliates or associates, may have engaged or engage in transactions with and perform services for, us or our affiliates in the ordinary course of business for which they may have received or receive customary fees and reimbursement of expenses.

LEGAL MATTERS

The validity of any securities offered by this prospectus will be passed upon for us by Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman LLP, San Francisco, California and New York, New York.

EXPERTS

The consolidated financial statements of Headwaters Incorporated appearing in Headwaters Incorporated’s Annual Report (Form 10-K) for the year ended September 30, 2008 and the effectiveness of Headwaters Incorporated internal control over financial reporting as of September 30, 2008, have been audited by Ernst & Young LLP, independent registered public accounting firm, as set forth in their reports thereon included therein, and incorporated herein by reference. Such consolidated financial statements are incorporated herein by reference in reliance upon such reports given on the authority of such firm as experts in accounting and auditing.