                                                                Exhibit 99.1

[GRAPHIC OMITTED]

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE TUESDAY JUNE 11, 2002 at 4:00 PM EDT
----------------------------------------------------------

Contacts:
Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Kelly Lindenboom (media)
617-679-7405
Gina Brazier (investor)
617-551-3611

              MILLENNIUM INITIATES PIVOTAL PHASE III CLINICAL TRIAL
         COMPARING VELCADE(TM)(bortezomib) for Injection WITH HIGH-DOSE
                 DEXAMETHASONE IN PATIENTS WITH MULTIPLE MYELOMA
          - Unique mechanism of action - inhibition of the proteasome -
       represents potential new hope for patients with multiple myeloma -

Cambridge, MA, June 11, 2002 - Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (Nasdaq: MLNM)
today announced the initiation of a pivotal phase III clinical trial of VELCADE
(formerly known as MLN341, LDP-341 and PS-341) in patients with multiple
myeloma, the second most common hematologic cancer.  The company also announced
they have filed the trade name VELCADE, for trademark registration, and will use
VELCADE as the naming convention for MLN341.  The trade name will be subject to
approval by the FDA and other regulatory authorities during the NDA/MAA
submission and approval process. The randomized open-label, multi-center,
international phase III trial will compare VELCADE with high-dose dexamethasone,
a commonly used therapy, to assess the efficacy and safety of VELCADE in
patients with multiple myeloma whose disease has progressed after one to three
prior therapeutic regimens.

"The initiation of this pivotal phase III trial not only represents an important
milestone in the development of the lead compound of our oncology franchise,
but an important company goal as well," said John Maraganore, Ph.D., senior
vice president, strategic product development at Millennium Pharmaceuticals.
"The recent fast track designation of VELCADE coupled with the start of this
trial further validates our commitment to developing breakthrough therapeutic
products."

The phase III trial is being planned for over 60 sites in the United States,
Canada and Europe in approximately 600 patients with multiple myeloma whose
disease has progressed despite one to three previous therapies.  Patients will
be randomly assigned to receive either VELCADE(TM)(bortezomib) for Injection or
high-dose dexamethasone.   The primary endpoint of the study is time-to-disease
progression with secondary endpoints including measurements of clinical benefit,
quality of life, survival and response rates.  The safety of the two drugs also
will be compared.  Patients in the phase III trial receiving high-dose
dexamethasone whose disease continues to progress will be able to receive
VELCADE in a companion single-arm clinical trial of VELCADE.

VELCADE is designed to specifically block proteasomes, which are enzyme
complexes in the cell responsible for breaking down a variety of proteins,
including many that regulate cell division.  Laboratory studies have suggested
that by inhibiting the proteasome, VELCADE in cancer cells disrupted regulating
proteins and ultimately induced apoptosis (programmed cell death).

"The preliminary phase II study results in patients with multiple myeloma have
encouraged us to move forward with this pivotal phase III study. With its new
and unique mechanism of action, inhibiting the proteasome, VELCADE represents a
possible new approach in the fight against multiple myeloma," said principal
study investigator Kenneth Anderson, M.D., from Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in
Boston, MA. "Patients battling multiple myeloma, a disease with an average
patient survival time of three to five years, need new treatment options."

Recent Clinical Data
Preliminary data presented at the recent American Society of Clinical Oncology
(ASCO) meeting from the first cohort of a phase II trial of VELCADE in patients
with multiple myeloma whose disease has relapsed and was progressing following
multiple prior therapies, included the following results:
o     Overall, 77 percent of patients (54 of 70 evaluable patients) in the study
      experienced stabilization of the disease or a reduction in their (M)
      protein levels, a substance in the blood that physicians use to evaluate
      multiple myeloma tumor burden, after receiving VELCADE for up to 24 weeks;
           o  Specifically, 20 percent (14 out of 70 evaluable patients)
              had a greater than 90 percent reduction in their (M) protein
              levels; and
           o  47 percent of patients (33 out of 70 evaluable patients) had at
              least a 25 percent reduction;
o     Overall, for the population in this study, the median time to progressive
      disease (TTP) was greater than 6.2 months, with the majority of patients
      still not experiencing progressive disease.

Side effects were manageable and predictable and included fatigue, diarrhea,
reduced platelets and peripheral neuropathy.

In addition, in preliminary data from two ongoing phase I studies of VELCADE(TM)
(bortezomib) for Injection in patients with advanced solid tumors, VELCADE in
combination with the common chemotherapies Gemzar(R)(gemcitabine) and
Camptosar(R)(irinotecan hydrochloride injection) was well-tolerated, with
patients experiencing manageable and predictable side effects including
reduced platelets, diarrhea and neutropenia.  Certain patients in these trials
with pancreatic, lung and colorectal cancers also experienced early signs
of potential anti-tumor activity.  VELCADE is also being combined with
Taxotere(R)(docetaxel) in three phase I/II studies in patients with prostate,
lung and breast cancer.

For more information about VELCADE clinical trials, patients and physicians
can contact Millennium's Medical Information Center at (800) 589-9005.

About Multiple Myeloma
Multiple myeloma is a cancer of the blood in which white blood cells called
plasma cells, normally responsible for the production of antibodies (proteins
that fight infection and disease), are overproduced in the bone marrow - the
tissue inside the bone that manufactures all blood cells.  The proliferation of
these abnormal plasma cells, known as myeloma cells, causes decreased production
of normal red and white blood cells, and of normal disease-fighting antibodies,
as well as destruction of bone leading to numerous fractures. The malignant
plasma cells produce a paraprotein, (M) protein, that is responsible for many
of the complications of the disease, including kidney failure.

Multiple myeloma is the second most common cancer of the blood and although the
disease is predominantly a cancer of the elderly (the peak age of onset is 65
to 70 years of age), recent statistics indicate both increasing incidence and
younger age of onset.  About 11,200 people in the United States (5,800 men and
5,400 women) are expected to die of multiple myeloma this year.  The disease is
about twice as common in males as females.  Among African Americans, multiple
myeloma is one of the top 10 leading causes of cancer death.

Millennium's Oncology Franchise
Millennium is committed to pursuing oncology as a core franchise area,
dedicating significant resources and capabilities in the areas of technology,
scientific expertise and strategic business development. To this end,
Millennium has already produced a deep oncology pipeline that ranges from
multiple novel targets to commercialized therapeutic and diagnostic products.
VELCADE(TM)(bortezomib) for Injection, a first-in-its-class small molecule,
designed to inhibit the proteasome, has received fast track designation from
the FDA and is currently in phase III clinical trials for multiple myeloma
and phase I trials for solid tumors.  Among the most advanced clinical
compounds in addition to VELCADE are MLN591, an anti-PSMA antibody currently
in phase I clinical trials for advanced prostate cancer and MLN576 (XR11576),
a small molecule with DNA-targeting activity in phase I trials for solid tumors.
In addition, MLN518, a first-in-class RTK inhibitor has received fast track
designation from the FDA and recently entered phase I trials for acute
myeloid leukemia.  The Campath(R)(alemtuzumab) monoclonal antibody, a
therapeutic developed from a former joint venture of Millennium and ILEX
Oncology, Inc., is commercially available in both the United States and a
number of European countries. A Millennium alliance partner and licensee is
in the process of developing and commercializing Melastatin(R), a melastatin
detection product for melanoma developed through our predictive medicine
efforts.

About Millennium
Millennium Pharmaceuticals, Inc., a leading biopharmaceutical company, applies
its comprehensive and integrated science and technology platform for the
discovery and development of breakthrough therapeutic and predictive medicine
products with a goal of delivering personalized medicine.  Millennium is
primarily focusing its research, development and commercialization activities
in four key areas: cardiovascular, oncology, inflammation and metabolic
diseases. Through the industrialization of its gene-to-patient platform,
Millennium is striving to accelerate the process of drug discovery and
development. Headquartered in Cambridge, Mass., Millennium currently employs
more than 2,000 people.

This press release contains "forward-looking statements," including statements
about our growth and future operating results, discovery and development of
products, potential acquisitions, strategic alliances and intellectual property.
Various risks may cause Millennium's actual results to differ materially,
including: adverse results in our drug discovery and clinical development
processes; failure to obtain patent protection for our discoveries; commercial
limitations imposed by patents owned or controlled by third parties; our
dependence upon strategic alliance partners to develop and commercialize
products and services based on our work; difficulties or delays in obtaining
regulatory approvals to market products and services resulting from our
development efforts; and the requirement for substantial funding to conduct
research and development and to expand commercialization activities. For a
further list and description of the risks and uncertainties we face, see the
reports we have filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission. We disclaim
any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements,
whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

                                       ###

Gemzar(R)is registered trademark of Eli Lilly and Company. Camptosar(R)is a
registered trademark of Pharmacia Corporation. Taxotere(R) is a registered
trademark of Aventis Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Campath(R)is a registered trademark
of ILEX Pharmaceuticals, L.P.