Exhibit 99.1

SPACEHAB, Inc.
12130 Highway 3, Bldg. 1
Webster, Texas 77598-1504
1.713.558.5000
fax: 1.713.558.5960
www.spacehab.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

SPACEHAB ANNOUNCES RECEIPT OF NASDAQ STAFF DEFICIENCY LETTER

Houston, Texas, October 6, 2006 — SPACEHAB, Incorporated (NASDAQ/NMS: SPAB), a leading provider of commercial space services, announced today that the Company’s common stock has closed for more than 30 consecutive trading days below the minimum $1.00 per share requirement for continued inclusion on the Nasdaq National Market under Marketplace Rule 4310(c)(4).

In accordance with Nasdaq rules, the Company has been afforded 180 calendar days, or until April 2, 2007, to regain compliance with the minimum bid price requirements. If at anytime before April 2, 2007 the bid price of the Company’s common stock closes at $1.00 per share or more for a minimum of 10 consecutive trading days, Nasdaq will provide written notification that the Company complies with Marketplace Rule 4310(c)(8)(E).

About SPACEHAB, Incorporated

SPACEHAB, Incorporated (www.spacehab.com) is a leading provider of commercial and government space services with three primary business units. The Flight Services business unit develops, owns, and operates habitat and laboratory modules and cargo carriers aboard NASA’s Space Shuttles for Space Station resupply and research purposes. SPACEHAB’s Astrotech subsidiary provides payload processing support services for both commercial and government customers at company-owned facilities in Florida and California. The Company’s Government Services business unit supports NASA’s Johnson Space Center providing configuration management, product engineering, and support services for both the Space Station and Space Shuttle programs. Additionally, through The Space Store, Space Media provides space merchandise to the public and space enthusiasts worldwide (www.thespacestore.com).

The statements in this document may contain forward-looking statements that are made pursuant to the Safe Harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements are subject to risks, trends, and uncertainties that could cause actual results to be materially different from the forward-looking statement. These factors include, but are not limited to, continued government support and funding for key space programs, product performance and market acceptance of products and services, as well as other risk factors and business considerations described in the company’s Securities & Exchange Commission filings including the annual report on Form 10-K. Any forward-looking statements in this document should be evaluated in light of these important risk factors. The Company assumes no obligation to update these forward-looking statements.

FOR MORE INFORMATION:
Kimberly Campbell
Vice President
Corporate Marketing and Communications
SPACEHAB, Inc.
713.558.5049
campbell@spacehab.com

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