Exhibit 99.1
Needham&CompanyHDDInvestorDayQ32008KevinFairbairnJeffAndresonChiefExecutiveOfficerChiefFinancialOfficer

CautionaryDisclaimerDuringthecourseofthispresentation,wewillcommentuponfutureeventsandmaymakeprojectionsaboutourfuturefinancialperformance,includingstatementsrelatedtoourexpectedsales,productshipmentsandacceptance,grossmargin,operatingexpense,profit,cashflowandincometaxexpense.Wewilldiscussourbusinessstrategy,ourproducts,themarketsourproductsaddress,ourpositioninthosemarkets,expectedmarketacceptanceofthoseproductsandproductioncapacity.Wewishtocautionyouthatthes eareforwardlookingstatementsthatarebaseduponourcurrentexpectations,andthatactualresultscoulddiffermateriallyasaresultofvariousrisksanduncertainties,including,withoutlimitation,thefollowing:inabilitytodevelopanddelivernewproductsasplanned;inabilitytoaccuratelyforecastthedemandforourproductsandservices;thepossibilitythatordersinbacklogmaybecancelled,delayedorrescheduled;inabilitytoachievegrossmarginandexpensegoalsandotherriskfactorsdiscussedindocumentsfiledbyuswiththeSecuritiesandExchangeCommission,includingo urAnnualReportonForm10-KandQuarterlyReportsonForm10-Q.Weundertakenoobligationtoupdatetheforward-lookingstatementsmadeduringthispresentation.

UniqueValuePropositionIntevacEquipmentHighProductivityToolsforAdvancedTechnologyApplications?HardDiskDriveIndustry-200Lean®?SemiconductorIndustry-LeanEtch™IntevacPhotonicsLeaderinEnabling,CompactandCostEffectiveDigitalOpticalProducts?LowLightSensorsandCameras?MiniatureRamanInstruments?Near-EyeMicroDisplays

IntevacTodayzEquipmentMarketLeaderMagneticMediaDiskMarketProvidesSignificantRevenueOpportunityIVAC-AdditionalcapacityShare65%-TechnologyupgradeszExpandingintoNewEquipmentMarketsMagneticMediaDiskMarketLeaderDielectricEtch$2BMarketzGrowingPhotonicsBusinessHighlyDifferentiatedProductTechnologyzStrongBalanceSheet$5.35PerShareinCash$8.33PerShareinTangibleBookValuezRecordofOperationalExcellenceFourStraightYearsofMarginImprovement

MultipleGrowthOpportunitiesGoal:30%CAGRActual:56%CAGR(2003-2007)NewEquipmentMagneticMarketsMediaPhotonicsToday20102012

ExpandingIntevacEquipmentBusinessExpandApplicationsonExistingProducts200LeanDepositionSystem200LeanEtchSystemforPatternedMedia??2009Product??UltimatelyDoublesMarketStarting2010ExpandAddressedMarkets200LeanEtchSemiconductor??InitialFocusonMemoryMarket??2008/2009Qualification??2009H2ProductRamp

MediaGrowthandTechnologyDriveIntevacHDDBusiness1,6001,4001,2001,000800UnitsinMillions600400200Consumer0Notebook2006200720082009201020112012ServerDeskTopPerpendicularPatternedMediaMediaCapacity&LegacySystemReplacementsSource:TrendFocusApril2008145More200LeanToolsRequiredBy2012+PatternedMediaUltimatelyDoublesMarket

MediaTechnologyRoadmap10000250Gb/in2=320GB/Platter3.5InchDisk1000)2(Gbit/inDensity100Areal101200120022003200420052006200720082009201020112012Source:SemiconductorInternational,5/22/2008

200LeanMagneticMediaManufacturingSystemLeadingSystemforDiskProductionHighestOutputPerSquareFoot200LeanGenIIMajorUpgrade?25%HigherOutput?ImprovedPerformanceMetricsExtendabletoIndustry’sTechnologyRoadmap?HAMR?PatternedMedia

PatternedMediaManufacturingCleanMagneticMediaDepositionIntevac200Lean(Deposition)NewManufacturingPrimeMediaSurfaceStepsforPatternedMediaIntevacLithoPrime™ApplyPatterntoMediaImprintLithographyEtchPatternintoMediaTestLubeDiskBurnishIntevac200Lean(Etch)IntevacAccuLuber™

LeanEtchEnablingTechnology,DoubletheThroughputEnablingEtchTechnologyfor45nmandBeyondAddressingNeedforSignificantProductivityImprovementsDesignedWith“LeanThinking”PrinciplesUniversalEtchSystem

IntevacPhotonicsIntevacVisionSystemsCameras&SensorsDeltaNuMicro-Display&ImageUniqueTechnologyforCompactRamanCaptureProductsforLowLightImagingSpectroscopySystemsforHead-MountedVisionReal-TimeMaterialIdentification?MilitaryHead-Mounted?MilitaryNightVision&?MicroscopyVision(Day/Night)Surveillance?MedicalDiagnostics?Training&Simulation?Spectroscopy?IndustrialInspection?Medical&Veterinarian?Microscopy?HAZMAT?InspectionScientificResearch?

IntevacPhotonicsEnablingTechnologyforMilitaryApplicationsNear-EyeDisplayGoggleMicroDisplays100KUnitsDigital-EnhancedNightVisionDeltaNuStand-OffPortableRaman$600MLegacyMarketChemical,BiologicalThreatDetectionLIVARCamerasNightVisionSurveillanceCameras&SystemsLong-RangeViewing,RangeDetectionGround&AirborneUAV,UGVSurveillance

RecordofOperationalImprovementExpandingMarginsinFluctuatingMarketConditions$30050%$25045%%M)Margin$$20040%(RevenuesGross$15035%$10030%$5025%$020%200220032004200520062007LTMSingaporeManufacturing14PercentagePointsAddedtoGrossMarginOnSameRevenues:LTMvs.FY2005

InvestmentRationaleEquipmentMediaCapacityandTechnologyTransition?$2BDielectricEtchMarketSignificantGrowthPhotonicsOpportunitiesGrowingProductRevenuesGovernmentandOEMHighlyDifferentiatedProgramsApproachingTechnologyProductsVolumeRampManagementTeamwithProvenTrackRecordStrongBalanceSheetGlobalInfrastructure

Needham&CompanyHDDInvestorDayQ32008KevinFairbairnJeffAndresonChiefExecutiveOfficerChiefFinancialOfficer