Exhibit 99.1

CAREMARK STATEMENT

NASHVILLE, TN – January 4, 2007—Caremark Rx, Inc. (NYSE: CMX) acknowledges notification of a filing on January 3, 2007 by Express Scripts with the Federal Trade Commission and with the Antitrust Division of the United States Department of Justice under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976. This filing is related to the unsolicited proposal from Express Scripts to Caremark dated December 18, 2006.

On November 1, 2006, Caremark executed a merger agreement with CVS Corporation which provides for the combination of the two companies in a transaction structured as a merger of equals. Caremark is bound by the terms of this merger agreement. On December 20, 2006, the initial waiting period for the CVS/Caremark merger as required by the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act of 1976 expired without a Request for Additional Information from the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (commonly referred to as a “second request”). Caremark and CVS have also filed a joint proxy with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

As previously indicated, Caremark’s Board of Directors is reviewing the terms of the proposal submitted by Express Scripts on December 18, 2006, in a manner consistent with its obligations under the CVS merger agreement and applicable Delaware law.

Contacts:

Investor Relations:

Craig Hartman, Caremark Rx, (615) 743-6653

Media Relations:

Steve Lipin/Nina Devlin, Brunswick Group, (212) 333-3810

Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This document contains certain forward-looking statements about Caremark and CVS. When used in this document, the words “anticipates”, “may”, “can”, “believes”, “expects”, “projects”, “intends”, “likely”, “will”, “to be” and any similar expressions and any other statements that are not historical facts, in each case as they relate to Caremark, CVS or the combined company or the transaction, are intended to identify those assertions as forward-looking statements. Such statements include, but are not limited to, statements about the benefits of the merger, information about the combined company, including expected synergies and projected revenues and cash flows, combined operating and financial data, including future financial and operating results, the combined company’s objectives, plans and expectations, the likelihood of satisfaction of certain closing conditions and whether and when the merger will be consummated. These statements are based upon the current beliefs and expectations of management of Caremark and CVS and are subject to a number of factors that could cause actual outcomes and results to be

materially different from those projected or anticipated. These forward-looking statements are subject to numerous risks and uncertainties. The following factors, among other things, could cause actual results to differ from the forward-looking statements in this document: (1) the companies may be unable to obtain stockholder or regulatory approvals in a timely manner, if at all; (2) the businesses of Caremark and CVS may not be integrated successfully or as quickly as expected; (3) cost savings and any other synergies or cash flows from the merger may not be fully realized or may take longer to realize than expected; (4) the transaction may involve unexpected costs; (5) the businesses and results of operations of Caremark and CVS may suffer as a result of uncertainty surrounding the transaction; and (6) the industry may be subject to future regulatory or legislative action. Other unknown or unpredictable factors also could have material adverse effects on future results, performance or achievements of the two companies. In light of these risks, uncertainties, assumptions and factors, the forward-looking events discussed in this document may not occur. You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements which speak only as of the date stated, or if no date is stated, as of the date of this press release. Risk factors affecting the businesses of each of Caremark and CVS are set forth in, and may be accessed through, each company’s filings with the SEC. These and other factors relating to the merger are available in the joint proxy statement/prospectus filed with the SEC.

Important Information for Investors and Stockholders

Caremark and CVS filed a joint proxy statement/prospectus with the SEC in connection with the proposed merger. Caremark and CVS urge investors and stockholders to read the joint proxy statement/prospectus and any other relevant documents filed by either party with the SEC because they contain important information.

Investors and stockholders are currently able to obtain the joint proxy statement/prospectus and other documents filed with the SEC free of charge at the website maintained by the SEC at www.sec.gov. In addition, documents filed with the SEC by Caremark will be available free of charge on the investor relations portion of the Caremark website at www.caremark.com. Documents filed with the SEC by CVS will be available free of charge on the investor relations portion of the CVS website at http://investor.cvs.com. Investors and stockholders may obtain a detailed list of names, affiliations and interests of participants in the solicitation of proxies of Caremark stockholders to approve the merger at the following address: Innisfree M&A Incorporated, 501 Madison Avenue, 20th Floor, New York, New York 10022.

Caremark, and certain of its directors and executive officers may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from its stockholders in connection with the merger. A description of the interests of Caremark’s directors and executive officers in Caremark is set forth in the proxy statement for Caremark’s 2006 annual meeting of stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on April 7, 2006. CVS, and certain of its directors and executive officers may be deemed to be participants in the solicitation of proxies from the stockholders of CVS in connection with the merger. A description of the interests of CVS’s directors and executive officers in CVS is set forth in the proxy statement for CVS’s 2006 annual meeting of stockholders, which was filed with the SEC on March 24, 2006.

If and to the extent that any of the Caremark or CVS participants will receive any additional benefits in connection with the merger that are unknown as of the date of this filing, the details of those benefits are described in the definitive joint proxy statement/prospectus relating to the merger. Investors and stockholders can obtain more detailed information regarding the direct and indirect interests of Caremark’s and CVS’s directors and executive officers in the merger by reading the definitive joint proxy statement/prospectus.