                              ROYAL BANK OF CANADA

                                  US$8,000,000

                    SENIOR GLOBAL MEDIUM-TERM NOTES, SERIES A

    Principal Protected Global Index Basket-Linked Notes, due October 29 2010

                                 TERMS AGREEMENT
                                 ---------------

                                                               October 26, 2005

RBC CAPITAL MARKETS CORPORATION
1 Liberty Plaza
165 Broadway
New York, New York 10006

Ladies and Gentlemen:

         Royal Bank of Canada, a Canadian chartered Bank (the "Bank"), proposes,
subject to the terms and conditions stated herein and in the Distribution
Agreement, dated January 26, 2005 (the "Distribution Agreement"), between the
Bank on the one hand and RBC Capital Markets Corporation, RBC Dain Rauscher Inc.
and any other party acting as Agent thereunder on the other, to issue and sell
to you the securities specified in the Schedule hereto (the "Purchased
Securities"). Each of the provisions of the Distribution Agreement not
specifically related to the solicitation by the Agents, as agents of the Bank,
of offers to purchase Securities is incorporated herein by reference in its
entirety, and shall be deemed to be part of this Terms Agreement to the same
extent as if such provisions had been set forth in full herein. Nothing
contained herein or in the Distribution Agreement shall make any party hereto an
agent of the Bank or make such party subject to the provisions therein relating
to the solicitation of offers to purchase Securities from the Bank, solely by
virtue of its execution of this Terms Agreement. Each of the representations and
warranties set forth therein shall be deemed to have been made at and as of the
date of this Terms Agreement, except that each representation and warranty that
refers to the Prospectus or the Shelf Prospectus (as therein defined) in Section
1 of the Distribution Agreement shall be deemed to be a representation or
warranty as of the date of the Distribution Agreement in relation to the
Prospectus or the Shelf Prospectus, and also a representation and warranty as of
the date of this Terms Agreement in relation to the Prospectus or the Shelf
Prospectus, as the case may be, each as amended or supplemented to the date
hereof and each as amended or supplemented relating to the Purchased Securities
that are the subject of this Terms Agreement. Unless otherwise defined herein,
terms defined in the Distribution Agreement are used herein as therein defined.

         A supplement to each of the Prospectus and the Shelf Prospectus, each
in the form heretofore delivered to you is now proposed to be filed with the
Commission pursuant to General Instruction II.K., in the case of the Prospectus,
and with the AMF pursuant to Quebec Securities Laws, in the case of the Shelf
Prospectus.

         Subject to the terms and conditions set forth herein and in the
Distribution Agreement incorporated herein by reference, the Bank agrees to
issue and sell to you, and you agree to purchase from the Bank at the time and
place and at the purchase price set forth in the Schedule hereto, the principal
amount of Purchased Securities set forth in the Schedule hereto. You further
agree that any Purchased Securities offered and sold by you to initial
purchasers will be offered and sold at the price to public, and in accordance
with the provisions relating to commissions and fees, if any, set forth in the
Schedule hereto, unless you and the Bank otherwise agree.

         If the foregoing is in accordance with your understanding, please sign
and return to us two counterparts hereof, and upon acceptance hereof by you,
this letter and such acceptance hereof, including the provisions of the
Distribution Agreement incorporated herein by reference, shall constitute a
binding agreement between you and the Bank.

                                    Very truly yours,

                                    ROYAL BANK OF CANADA

                                    By: /s/ Jim Archer-Shee
                                       -----------------------------------
                                        Name:  Jim Archer-Shee
                                        Title: Executive Vice-President,
                                               Corporate Treasury and Treasurer

                                    By: /s/ David Power
                                       -----------------------------------
                                        Name:  David Power
                                        Title: Vice-President, Marketing and
                                               Execution

Accepted as of the date hereof:

RBC CAPITAL MARKETS CORPORATION

By:  /s/ Steven Milke
   ----------------------------
     Name:  Steven Milke
     Title: Managing Director

                                                    SCHEDULE TO TERMS AGREEMENT

TITLE OF PURCHASED SECURITIES:

Principal Protected Global Index Basket-Linked Notes, Due October 29, 2010

AGGREGATE PRINCIPAL AMOUNT:

US$8,000,000

PRICE TO PUBLIC:

100% of the principal amount of the Purchased Securities

PURCHASE PRICE BY AGENTS:

96.75% of the principal amount of the Purchased Securities

COMMISSION:

3.25% of the principal amount of the Purchased Securities

FORM OF PURCHASED SECURITIES:

Book-entry only form represented by one or more global securities deposited with
The Depository Trust Company ("DTC") or its designated custodian, to be made
available for checking by the Representatives at least twenty-four hours prior
to the Closing Date at the office of DTC.

SPECIFIED FUNDS FOR PAYMENT OF PURCHASE PRICE:

Federal (same-day) funds

CLOSING DATE:

10:00 a.m. (New York City time), October 31, 2005

CLOSING LOCATION:

Sullivan & Cromwell LLP
125 Broad Street
New York, New York 10004

INDENTURE:

Indenture dated as of October 23, 2003, between the Bank and JPMorgan Chase
Bank, N.A., as Trustee.

MATURITY DATE:

October 29, 2010

INTEREST RATE:

No interest will be paid on the Purchased Securities

PRINCIPAL REPAYMENT TERMS:

The Purchased Securities at maturity pay an amount in cash based on the
performance of a substantially equally weighted portfolio of five indices: S&P
500 Index(R), Dow Jones EURO STOXX 50(R) Index, Nikkei 225 Index(R), FTSE 100
Index, and S&P/ASX 200 Index(R). The Purchased Securities offer full principal
protection and 100% participation in any appreciation of the Index Portfolio, as
further described in the Pricing Supplement, dated October 26, 2005, to the
Prospectus. The terms of the Purchased Securities as described therein are
hereby incorporated by reference.

REDEMPTION PROVISIONS:

No provisions for redemption

SINKING FUND PROVISIONS:

No sinking fund provisions

DEFEASANCE PROVISIONS:

No defeasance provisions

DOCUMENTS TO BE DELIVERED:

The following document referred to in the Distribution Agreement shall be
delivered as a condition to the Closing:

The officers' certificate referred to in Section 5(l)

NAME AND ADDRESS OF AGENT:

RBC Capital Markets Corporation
1 Liberty Plaza
165 Broadway
New York, New York 10006

OTHER TERMS:

None